black people: niggards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭Winters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

First off, I have to admit I am usually one of those people who hit the roof if I hear a racist comment or anything like that so the fact that I'm sharing this story shows just how disgusted I was by this mans behaviour.

And before people start jumping on me and giving out, I'm not being racist here. I'm just telling a story how it happened.

Anyhoo, I was in work lastweek when a Nigerian couple came in. They were probably in their forties. The lady was really nice, very soft spoken and had a really friendly personality. The shop I work in is one of those places where every single customer must be approached and taken care of so of course we all get to work.

The nice lady's husband was looking at a product so I gave him some similar ones to look at. He was very abrupt, grunting rather than talking. Anyway I was standing with my back against a row of shelves and he stood in front if me. He began to, very obviously, look down my top. So I moved a little bit away from him. He then circled me a few times, making 'hmmmm' sounds every now and again. I tried to break the tension and handed him more products to try. He asked me what age I was and I said 19. Another grunt. He then asked if I had a boyfriend. I said no and he told me I was beautiful. I kind of laughed, thanked him and continued to demo the products. He then asked me if he could be my boyfriend and I looked at his wife, smiled and tried to make a joke out of it. He said, "don't mind her, that's just a witch, you can be my girlfriend and I'll cherish you". I said I didn't want a boyfriend and he said that I should give him one good reason why he "couldn't be my boyfriend right now"! I said I'm in college, busy blah blah blah and again attempted to change the subject!

Then y'know what the pr!ck did????? :mad: He stood real close to me (he was waaaay taller than me) and started getting real pushy. He said I only didn't want him because he was black and was calling me racist in the shop in front of people!!! :eek: Basically, he said by not hooking up with him there and then, I was being racist!!!

The real sucky part is when you tell some people stories like this one, they call you racist too. So just to be safe, I'd be just as disgusted if it was an Irish man that did this! It was just the aggression at the end that was really horrible!

Anyway that's my story. Enjoy the rest of the thread. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

haha too funny. I'm off to bed and have a dream about niggard's. Ya just made my day. ;D

edit: MizzLolly :O Thats mad. Unbelievable story... not saying its not true :P. But thats just crazy.

Night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

oh oh oh... I want to see it. Is it any use besides the surprise?

Yeah it's actually a pretty good movie for it's day, available on DVD

However, I believe in the new (cleverly digitally remastered+dubbed PC) version, the dog is called 'blackie' ;)

edit: MizzLolly :O Thats mad. Unbelievable story... not saying its not true :P. But thats just crazy.

Indeed. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

MizzLolly wrote: »
    First off, I have to admit I am usually one of those people who hit the roof if I hear a racist comment or anything like that so the fact that I'm sharing this story shows just how disgusted I was by this mans behaviour.

And before people start jumping on me and giving out, I'm not being racist here. I'm just telling a story how it happened.

Anyhoo, I was in work lastweek when a Nigerian couple came in. They were probably in their forties. The lady was really nice, very soft spoken and had a really friendly personality. The shop I work in is one of those places where every single customer must be approached and taken care of so of course we all get to work.

The nice lady's husband was looking at a product so I gave him some similar ones to look at. He was very abrupt, grunting rather than talking. Anyway I was standing with my back against a row of shelves and he stood in front if me. He began to, very obviously, look down my top. So I moved a little bit away from him. He then circled me a few times, making 'hmmmm' sounds every now and again. I tried to break the tension and handed him more products to try. He asked me what age I was and I said 19. Another grunt. He then asked if I had a boyfriend. I said no and he told me I was beautiful. I kind of laughed, thanked him and continued to demo the products. He then asked me if he could be my boyfriend and I looked at his wife, smiled and tried to make a joke out of it. He said, "don't mind her, that's just a witch, you can be my girlfriend and I'll cherish you". I said I didn't want a boyfriend and he said that I should give him one good reason why he "couldn't be my boyfriend right now"! I said I'm in college, busy blah blah blah and again attempted to change the subject!

Then y'know what the pr!ck did????? :mad: He stood real close to me (he was waaaay taller than me) and started getting real pushy. He said I only didn't want him because he was black and was calling me racist in the shop in front of people!!! :eek: Basically, he said by not hooking up with him there and then, I was being racist!!!

The real sucky part is when you tell some people stories like this one, they call you racist too. So just to be safe, I'd be just as disgusted if it was an Irish man that did this! It was just the aggression at the end that was really horrible!

Sounds like a scam imo

Giruilla wrote: »
    Sounds like a scam imo

You think he was only pretending?

I hope so!! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

That video is damn scary, more scary is it happened in broad daylight in front of hundreds of people :eek:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

You think he was only pretending?

I hope so!! :cool:

He wanted to lay some Irish carpet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

my work is done... im away to bed:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Jaysis, doth protest comparably to Jigsaw!

Has anyone tried using niggard in public yet? How'd that pan out?

Jaysis, doth protest comparably to Jigsaw!

Has anyone tried using niggard in public yet? How'd that pan out?

i will!
    but my past record isnt great!!
    after spending a full day on the rip with micheal collins in the cobblestone and finding out his granny used to camp in cavan and my gran used to know his gran and send them out food/socks/rags etc... i then proceeded to say "go on michael ya feckin knacker ye.." to a big HUSH in the cobblestone,, ............. (oops messjob, phonecalls peace made)! Since that
    episode i have learnt some "cant!" and been to a coupla michaels plays, one of them was in that ballymun theattre.

anyways what im tryin to say is, fcuk the begrudgers and say what ye mean to say... ! actually i dont kbow what im tryin to say cos im langerss and haf to go to bed and be in work at 6, gnite. ill continu 2mara if its stilkl relervabnnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,575 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Mizzlolly, next time you meet a wanker like that, scream 'rape' at the top or your voice. Yours is not the first story about this I've heard, the girl actually got felt up by the fucker and still has nightmares about it.

*sorry for swearing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

These 19 year old girls with low cut tops, huh?
    Askin' for trouble...:rolleyes::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

kinda the same thing (maybe)...
    over here, ive heard a few germans say "ive been turked" or "you turked me" (obviously auf Deutsch :)) when something bad, not serious, happens to them.

ive said it to a few turkish friends of mine, and they just laughed. i actually got an sms at the end of tonights euro2008 game from someone who used to live here saying "someone just got turked"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

flanum wrote: »
    ...noticed a black guy arguing with the bar-staff over the price of a round of drinks...

Did it ever occur to you that the barman was trying to fleece the guy (or pull a quick one)?

Does anything ever occur to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Oswald Osbourne

flanum wrote: »
    i just happened to be in a pub last night

Hey look! It's that niggard guy! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

Originally Posted by flanum
    i just happened to be in a pub last night

Slow coach wrote: »
    Did it ever occur to you that the barman was trying to fleece the guy (or pull a quick one)?

Porn and cheap beer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Do people still use he word Sambo?
    I fancy a sausage sambo right now as opposed to Sambo being another word for Pickaninie.

Slow coach wrote: »

heh, nope, im just stoopid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭gixerfixer

God dam. Threads like this is the reason i love Boards.ie :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Perhaps he was being OTT trying to distract you from his wife pocketing things?
    In my experience, many strange stories from retail workers involve more than one person entering the store, and an uncomfortable encounter with one or more while the others can roam around unobserved, pocketing.

I say this not because they are black. (maybe partly because they are nigerian, and scamming/thievery is basically a national pasttime/hobby there. Anyone who has ever visited Nigeria will agree with that)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

I'd report the incident to the gardai to be honest. It sounds like this guy is a hazard to himself and others, and shouldn't be wandering the streets unsupervised. In fact he should be deported immediately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Predhead

Seems like black = Nigerian on this thread. :rolleyes:

Do the posters making reference know 100% they're Nigerian? Do you ask them first or something?

the nigerian accent is quite distinctive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Predhead wrote: »
    Seems like black = Nigerian on this thread. :rolleyes:

Do the posters making reference know 100% they're Nigerian? Do you ask them first or something?

Not all black people in Ireland are NIGERIANS!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

http://www.adversity.net/special/niggardly.htm
    "STUPIDITY has no color but ignorance sure is transparent. And ignorance showed through last week when Anthony Williams, the new black mayor of Washington, D.C., accepted the resignation of Public Advocate David Howard, who is white. Howard's offense was sounding offensive: In a staff meeting, he used a perfectly good word - ''niggardly'' - to describe the administration of a fund. Top

"Mayor Williams' pitiful explanation for accepting Howard's resignation? ''I don't think the use of [that n word] showed the kind of judgment that I like to see in our top management.''

"In other words, Howard was, in the eyes of Mayor Williams, simply an educated fool who should've known better than to use such an erudite word. A word, if you please, that sounded so racially harsh in the ears of the ignorant and confused. After all, the mayor is determined, he says, to be an arbiter of racial sensitivity, inasmuch as ''We're trying to bring our city together.''

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Predhead

FuzzyLogic wrote: »
    the nigerian accent is quite distinctive

Happen to know quite a few and talk on numerous occasions. It took me a long time before I could tell the difference between that and say a Ghanain (spl?) accent. Even still it's difficult sometimes.

I can tell the difference between a Bundoran and a Ballyshannon accent, about 2 miles apart (as the crow flies) :pac: