Garda Blitz on "L" Drivers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭twanda

I don't think the guards are cracking down as hard as they make out. I drove a good bit this this weekend. Went through many towns between dublin/meath/cavan, and not one checkpoint. :confused: Not that it would make a difference to me, as I have a full license, but it would be good to see the guards actually practice what they are preaching...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Did a good bit of mileage around Kilkenny/Laois over the past 3 days and I only saw one speed check outside Abbeyleix, but no checkpoints at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

I knew it would be all talk, haven't seen one checkpoint.

I'm sure there is a few additional checkpoints around the country but no where near a "blitz" that was mentioned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Has this blitz materialised?

The front tyres on my chariot are a bit thin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I dont know what a tracker mortgage is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭luder

I have been through 3 checkpoints over the weekend around limerick city...prob be a few more tonight too

luder wrote: »
    I have been through 3 checkpoints over the weekend around limerick city...prob be a few more tonight too

Theres your answer.

Abigayle wrote: »
    I dont know what a tracker mortgage is...

http://mortgages.blogs.ie/2007/09/26/what-is-a-tracker-mortgage/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭luder

caoibhin wrote: »
    Theres your answer.

Yes checkpoints operated by the Traffic Corp, not the ERU or a Drug Squad...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

caoibhin wrote: »
    Has this blitz materialised?

Yes squadrons of Garda bombers have been sighted over several council estates around the country, dropping hundreds of pounds of ordnance on hatchbacks carrying single occupants.
    Releases from the garda press office have reported a hit rate of 90% and claim victory in the war on the red L's...they are dispelling rumours that anti aircraft fire was a particular hazard in the Limerick area and said they have no plans to utilise the new V-2 rocket in those areas.

luder wrote: »
    Yes checkpoints operated by the Traffic Corp, not the ERU or a Drug Squad...:rolleyes:

Ah... i take cheap digs all the time. Never put much thought into them really.

Wertz wrote: »
    Yes squadrons of Garda bombers have been sighted over several council estates around the country, dropping hundreds of pounds of ordnance on hatchbacks carrying single occupants.
    Releases from the garda press office have reported a hit rate of 90% and claim victory in the war on the red L's...they are dispelling rumours that anti aircraft fire was a particular hazard in the Limerick area and said they have no plans to utilise the new V-2 rocket in those areas.

Damm huns...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

I have not seen any checkpoints around Cork City and Cork County

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Spotted my first Garda car during this crackdown and witnessed him drive through a roundabout with no care in the worldd forcing another car coming from his right to halt to a stop. What did he do? Saluted the driver and drove on. Typical.

I've noticed that there are more Garda checkpoints near disadvantaged area's... Bastids!!!!
    Are you saying that drivers in these areas should be allowed to break the law, more so than others?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭tracker-man

Disco Stu wrote: »
    Don't understand why this is such a problem here...!? Any other "western" country its required that you have a full license before being on the road by yourself... If you are accompanied by a fully licensed driver (normally with a minimum number years experience and over a certain age) they are there to act as an instructor and help you to learn how to drive properly...

I know that in switzerland, if you fail your driving test (The test is quite strict) 3 times, you are referred to a Psychologist! Just thought I'd enlighten ye all :)

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Spotted my first Garda car during this crackdown and witnessed him drive through a roundabout with no care in the worldd forcing another car coming from his right to halt to a stop. What did he do? Saluted the driver and drove on. Typical.
    I know that in switzerland, if you fail your driving test (The test is quite strict) 3 times, you are referred to a Psychologist! Just thought I'd enlighten ye all :)
    I have a mental image of a queue of Gardaí drivers outside the clinic. :D

Are you saying that drivers in these areas should be allowed to break the law, more so than others?

No he's saying that the Gardai are putting more of an effort in working class areas then middle/upper class areas.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

The psychologist's job is then to determine if you are fit to drive or not. If the answer is 'yes' then you get a 4th and final shot at the test. If the answer is 'no' then you can never get a Swiss drivers licence.

The Irish 'system' is a joke. I'm fully aware that the current sitution of our country doesn't always provide an easy way to get tested so people without public transport can get to school/collage/work without a car *and* that it was less of an issue in the past when there were fewer cars on the road, but it's still a laugh.

keen wrote: »
    No he's saying that the Gardai are putting more of an effort in working class areas then middle/upper class areas.

All the checkpoints I've ever seen are on roads between areas of population, anyway if they know that a particular road is frequented by "L" license dodgers (or drunks etc) what's wrong with that.

Personally I think checkpoints are a joke, they should be out there catching crap drivers in the act (after looking closer to home first).

All the checkpoints I've ever seen are on roads between areas of population, anyway if they know that a particular road is frequented by "L" license dodgers (or drunks etc) what's wrong with that.

Personally I think checkpoints are a joke, they should be out there catching crap drivers in the act (after looking closer to home first).

There's nothing wrong with that, I was saying what I thought the other poster ment not what I felt.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I love the way everyone is going after the 17-21 age group about wreckless driving etc..
    Unless you have the statistics of the age group involved in accidents you cant really says its that one group. Of course they will be "L" drivers considering the age, and I could bet they have nearly as much exp. as the average joe across the road if not more.

I wouldnt mind this law been enforced if they thought it out better. Like 6 months waiting time till you can do your full liecense test? Sorta stupid considering Im (and many more) ready to do it now yet I have to wait 2-3 months till I can sit it. What are they trying to achieve by doing that?
    curehead wrote: »
    i removed my L plates as to not be detected by gardai until my test
    which i have in two weeks time
    it worked there was a garda checkpoint and they waved on all cars without them

haha +1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Chaos_Path

Say, for the sake of argument, an L driver hits me and their insurer won't cover them as they decided the law didn't apply to them and they were unaccompanied and had no L plates up. Now they would have to be pursued for a civil claim for damage to the car, personal injuries etc. etc.

Of course if they decided to dump the 'I have a God-given right to drive' attitude and learnt properly they might not hit me in the first place.

That's one way it could affect me, or anyone else.

funny that, if i hit someone with my car, my insurance pays and my premium goes up.im on l-plates. i can drive just fine. you seem to have a pretty mad preconception that all l-plate drivers cant drive. werent you one at one stage?

NOT ALL L-PLATE HOLDERS CANT DRIVE.a full-licence holder ran into the back of a family members car yesterday. wasnt looking where she was going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,976 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Think you're either missing the point ore are setting up a smokescreen, car drivers (with full licenses) going back to mopeds are less likely to have accidents as they will feel much more vulnerable as they are now out of the safety cage they're used to. They will be very aware of traffic around them, and they know how easy it is to not be seen, so will ride accordingly.

The rules of the road are the same regardless what vehicle you passed your test in/on.

Assuming that the above highlighted in bold is not meant to infer that the car driver was a moped driver and is returning to mopeds I counter with:

Should a motorcyclist with a full license not get a car license then?
    They're coming off a vehicle that requires more skill and awareness to drive so therefore are they not better drivers? Car drivers have a lesser appreciation of ground conditions due to the stability of four wheels and can get themselves into trouble on a scoot of any size.
    There's a view that mopeds are a lower form of transport and their correct use is not taken seriously. I propose the free M licence be scrapped.

kowloon wrote: »
    Assuming that the above highlighted in bold is not meant to infer that the car driver was a moped driver and is returning to mopeds I counter with:

It used to be the case (in the UK 1970's or earlier) where most of us had the moped (& L plates) first.

It proved to be a good way for some to try for the Darwin awards as well. :(

For those who have never ridden one, a period of off-road training should be manditory before using it on the open road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

I came across 2 roadblocks over the weekend on a 500km trip, they were only checking insurance/tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,575 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Can ye all please shut up about "I'm not insured if I have my L plates on backwards / drive on a motorway / am driving unacompanied / whatever."

YOU ARE LEGALLY INSURED - IF YOU CRASH, THE INSURANCE WILL PAY THIRD PARTY CLAIMS.

If I decide to drive the wrong way down the M50, pissed out of my brain, shooting other motorists as I go, I AM STILL INSURED. That's what insurance is, thats what insurance does.

The only difference is you will not be comprehensively insured, i.e. damage to yourself or your own car is not covered. I'm guessing this makes little difference as most "L" drivers are on TPFT or are named on a parents policy which is 99% TP anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

kowloon wrote: »

They're coming off a vehicle that requires more skill and awareness to drive so therefore are they not better drivers? Car drivers have a lesser appreciation of ground conditions due to the stability of four wheels and can get themselves into trouble on a scoot of any size.
    There's a view that mopeds are a lower form of transport and their correct use is not taken seriously. I propose the free M licence be scrapped.

Takes for more skill and awareness to drive a scooter than a car around a city or urban area.
    Nevertheless, they are looked down and if you don't drive assertivly, you will be pushed to the gutter! Yes, they are muppet teenagers on some of them but no more than car drivers.
    I believe the free M licence is scrapped already. They stopped giving them with B licences in October 2006 afaik. I think the EU forced them too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

There was a checkpoint on my way to work this morning. He waved me through despite my L plates. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

stevec wrote: »
    YOU ARE LEGALLY INSURED - IF YOU CRASH, THE INSURANCE WILL PAY THIRD PARTY CLAIMS.

If I decide to drive the wrong way down the M50, pissed out of my brain, shooting other motorists as I go, I AM STILL INSURED. That's what insurance is, thats what insurance does.

The only difference is you will not be comprehensively insured, i.e. damage to yourself or your own car is not covered. I'm guessing this makes little difference as most "L" drivers are on TPFT or are named on a parents policy which is 99% TP anyway.
    All correct.

The confusion arises because in some cases, the insurance company has a right to sue you for the costs incurred by them in paying out your third party claim. They can't just walk away from the insurance policy, but they can sue for certain types of negligence or a breach of contract, depending on your policy.