Garda Blitz on "L" Drivers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,575 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Red Alert wrote: »
    Have to say I removed them too, but then I passed my test. I'd love some serious enforcement on roundabouts. A lot of people don't get it: even if you're coming off the 'major' road, you've still to give way to traffic on the roundabout. And people need to be pulled over for failing to indicate correctly.

Roundabouts are a grey area, the only mention they get in the RTA is that you should turn left to enter them. Apart from that, there is no actual law governing their use so in effect there is nothing to enforce (except maybe dangerous driving).
    Same with indicators, scant legislation as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

stevec wrote: »
    How'd ya know she was 80? Did ya get her phone number as well?:D
    it was your ma and everyone has her number!!

(sorry but i'm too hungover to think of anythin else)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Roundabouts are a grey area, the only mention they get in the RTA is that you should turn left to enter them. Apart from that, there is no actual law governing their use so in effect there is nothing to enforce (except maybe dangerous driving).
    Same with indicators, scant legislation as well.

http://www.rotr.ie/rules-for-driving/junctions-roundabouts/roundabouts.html

Tigger wrote: »

That's a guideline, it has no basis in legislation.

The current law covering rules at roundabouts is here
    S.I. No. 182/1997:
    ROAD TRAFFIC (TRAFFIC AND PARKING) REGULATIONS, 1997

Roundabouts
    15. When entering a roundabout, a driver shall turn to the left.

Believe me, there is nothing else!
    Because of this, roundabouts are a very dodgy place to have crash - blame is normally apportioned 50/50.
    This is why Guards can't pull you for incorrect use of a roundabout.

If anyone can correct me on this, I'll gladly buy them a pint!

taidghbaby wrote: »
    (sorry but i'm too hungover to think of anythin else)
    In fairness, it was a well placed yore ma.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

In fairness, it was a well placed youre ma.:D
    my first on here......i'm a virgin no more:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

That's a guideline, it has no basis in legislation.

The current law covering rules at roundabouts is here

Believe me, there is nothing else!
    Because of this, roundabouts are a very dodgy place to have crash - blame is normally apportioned 50/50.
    This is why Guards can't pull you for incorrect use of a roundabout.

If anyone can correct me on this, I'll gladly buy them a pint!

The yield signs are usually a clue that you cant just drive straight out on to them when it suits you.

Stekelly wrote: »
    The yield signs are usually a clue that you cant just drive straight out on to them when it suits you.

meh.

maybe that's why I keep crashing:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Kiltinator

Most of us like to think we're good drivers, good in bed and have a sense of humour, but none of those are the case for the majority. We all have moments of crap driving. I passed my test almost twenty years ago and have also trained in advanced security driving skills and I'm still not 100%. Not even close.

From what I've seen bad driving is not confined to learners and young people. I live in North County Dublin and the stereotypical boy racers are by no means the worst drivers on the road. Nor are those with L-plates.

Of course people should have taken their test but the government's let it slide for so long that it's no wonder some people have taken the attitude they have. Doesn't excuse it, but I can understand it.

No question there needs to be more education (roundabouts are a mystery to some people), but the main thing we all need to exercise is good visual awareness and a bit of patience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,976 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

All this muck is why I've never bothered to get a car.
    I have a full unrestricted motorcycle license whch I've been driving on for years, yet, to drive any other vehicle I need to sit the theory test and maybe a year of having to get someone with a full license in the car with me.
    Not worth the effort.
    Given the above it irritates me that car licence holders are given a moped licence without having to do a moped test or any proficiency training whatsoever, despite mopeds, with the exception of jet powered unicyles and other vehicles of the future, being the most dangerous vehicles to drive.
    Our system was devised by idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭The Queen

AFAIK, they are 'minimum insured'. In an accident the insurance company has to pay out on a 3rd party claim. They will not pay any damages to the insured and will most likely sue them for breach of contract.

The risk is, if it happens, no insurance company will ever cover them again.

When I first started driving, I asked my insurance company would a 1st provisional driver be insured if they were driving by their selves. They said that's really a matter of law, but yes, 1st provisional drivers would be fully insured.
    Maybe if they made it that the insurance wouldn't cover you if ya were alone it would deter some of them.

I only passed a few months ago, first time around. Was waiting 8 months! Didn't drive an awful lot by myself. Thank god I got my license before that 2 years R-License thingy came in!

kowloon wrote: »
    Given the above it irritates me that car licence holders are given a moped licence without having to do a moped test or any proficiency training whatsoever, despite mopeds, with the exception of jet powered unicyles and other vehicles of the future, being the most dangerous vehicles to drive.
    Our system was devised by idiots.

Mopeds are only dangerous because they are small and easily hit by other motorists or are ridden by 16 year olds more used to pushbikes.

How many car drivers do you know who actually exercise their right to ride a moped?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

How many car drivers do you know who actually exercise their right to ride a moped?

If fuel prices keep going north, I get the feeling there'll be a lot more.

As for the supposed crackdown? Been on the road most of the w/e, mainly in the north east. Saw one cop car on the motorway, hogging the overtaking lane...no checkpoints, no random pullers and a distinct lack of L-plates.

I'm not going to criticise anyone for drving unaccompanied on L-plates, since I did it myself for a year (and I feel I learned a lot more, and gained a lot more confidence from being on my own, however illegal it was), but I have to question a system that lets those who fail what is a piece of piss test in all fairness, back on the roads the same day. I also have to question the waiting list times for tests...has the backlog honestly been cleared since last novemeber? If so then those who still haven't applied for and passed their test have nothing to be crying about, if the law is being brought to bear...
    Honestly though? More media hype bullsh*t, crackdown this, visible presence that...the gardaí are understaffed, undertrained and underfunded and simply can't deal with the volume of offenders on the roads...using the media to try and scare people off the roads is downright funny....how the hell do you expect the law to be taken seriously when it's all show and no go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

meh.

maybe that's why I keep crashing:rolleyes:

It's all good, your not the only one. Although maybe its you the womenfolk are copying. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

The Gardai are really out in force down my way this weekend and are covering all angles

I've come across 3checkpoints ... 2 of which only stopped and spoke with foreign reg cars and let everyone else through while the 3rd checkpoint asked to see my licence (1st provisional) and that of my accompanying driver ...

The first time i was ever asked for my licence at checkpoints

Wertz wrote: »
    If fuel prices keep going north, I get the feeling there'll be a lot more.

From Athlone to Tallaght, I don't think so! :eek: :pac: :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Beerlao

greenfly wrote: »
    So now i am stuck at home and have to wait for the retest until I am supposed to get into my car on my own?

ehhh..... yes. that's a bit like a medical student failing their exams and moaning "so now i am not allowed to do a triple heart bypass until i pass my repeats... IT'S SO UNFAIR I HATE YOU!!!!!!!"

you sound like Kevin from the Harry Enfield Show

are you for real?!

it's an absolute joke that anyone can drive a car unaccompanied before passing a test in the first place! unbelievable.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

<Cautiously raises hand>

But two wheels, however underpowered, are by far the quickest and cheapest way into work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,976 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

robinph wrote: »
    <Cautiously raises hand>

But two wheels, however underpowered, are by far the quickest and cheapest way into work.

Not the only one, plenty of people buy them after they've enjoyed one too many 2 hour commutes.

So, once again, there are tons of people driving mopeds who will not be required to ever pass a test or do any form of proficiency training on a vehicle that is more dangerous to drive than the one they got their car licence on.

kowloon wrote: »
    Not the only one, plenty of people buy them after they've enjoyed one too many 2 hour commutes.

So, once again, there are tons of people driving mopeds who will not be required to ever pass a test or do any form of proficiency training on a vehicle that is more dangerous to drive than the one they got their car licence on.

Think you're either missing the point ore are setting up a smokescreen, car drivers (with full licenses) going back to mopeds are less likely to have accidents as they will feel much more vulnerable as they are now out of the safety cage they're used to. They will be very aware of traffic around them, and they know how easy it is to not be seen, so will ride accordingly.

The rules of the road are the same regardless what vehicle you passed your test in/on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

I really hope all you twats who think you're going to be clever by letting your L plates 'fall off' are done by the cops in the next week, a 2 grand fine might help stick them back on.

And if you are an involved in an accident while driving unaccompanied on a provisional licence AND with no L plates up...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Chaos_Path

I really hope all you twats who think you're going to be clever by letting your L plates 'fall off' are done by the cops in the next week, a 2 grand fine might help stick them back on.

And if you are an involved in an accident while driving unaccompanied on a provisional licence AND with no L plates up...

you seem like a pleasant, understanding sort of person.

how does it affect you, if you dont mind me asking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Optimus Caesar

curehead wrote: »
    i removed my L plates as to not be detected by gardai until my test
    which i have in two weeks time
    it worked there was a garda checkpoint and they waved on all cars without them and pulled over a girl behind me with one lol

And if you have an accident, do you think you are insured?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Chaos_Path wrote: »
    you seem like a pleasant, understanding sort of person.

how does it affect you, if you dont mind me asking?

Say, for the sake of argument, an L driver hits me and their insurer won't cover them as they decided the law didn't apply to them and they were unaccompanied and had no L plates up. Now they would have to be pursued for a civil claim for damage to the car, personal injuries etc. etc.

Of course if they decided to dump the 'I have a God-given right to drive' attitude and learnt properly they might not hit me in the first place.

That's one way it could affect me, or anyone else.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

No checkpoints in the Waterford/Tramore area from what I have seen. Excellent blitz lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

And if you have an accident, do you think you are insured?

Yes. I would think so. Would you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

As far as I know a learner will be insured anywhere except on a Motorway.

Doesn't matter if they are on their 1st and have no driver with them, I know of two insurance companies who said that on the motorway they will not be insured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

I've noticed that there are more Garda checkpoints near disadvantaged area's... Bastids!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Say, for the sake of argument, an L driver hits me and their insurer won't cover them as they decided the law didn't apply to them and they were unaccompanied and had no L plates up. Now they would have to be pursued for a civil claim for damage to the car, personal injuries etc. etc.

Of course if they decided to dump the 'I have a God-given right to drive' attitude and learnt properly they might not hit me in the first place.

That's one way it could affect me, or anyone else.

Insurance companies pay out for L drivers on their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Relevant wrote: »
    So why didn't you apply for your test before now? If you are on your second provisional you've been driving for over 2 years. Why only apply for your test in the past 3 months?

Nope I haven't been driving for over two years. I got my license when I was still living in Dublin and didn't have a car, I got it really for the purposes of learning to drive. With a driving instructor. Had been getting the bus into work, from Kildare, until my hours changed and now I can't do that. So as soon as I needed to drive to work I applied. In plenty of time apparently. Why the agression?