Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PUAs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,717 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

You see the problem with this is I like nerds in their natural state. I like most people male and female when the're natural, nerds would do so much better if they just went with who they are, not who they think women want them to be.

I think the life experience of most nerds would tend to disagree. It's not enough to be who you are, you have to grow as a person too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Earthhorse wrote: »
    Before I answer that, let me first tell you about my adventures climbing cliffs.

Ya see...

Now ya got me, big boy.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭RedXIV

You can't reach me from there.....oh wait, you're under the desk again aren't you:D!

I'm just building foundations for future encounters :D
    You see the problem with this is I like nerds in their natural state. I like most people male and female when the're natural, nerds would do so much better if they just went with who they are, not who they think women want them to be.

You sound like a really nice person, but a tad naive. I doubt you've had problems in your life with getting guys or you wouldn't say something like the above.

Take it from a nerd for years. Being yourself when your a nerd, doesn't work. Suprisingly, women don't want to know about the inner workings of a CPU. They also had no interest in who the best member of the X-men was. (blatently Wolverine)

I like video games, I like cartoons, and i heartily enjoy maths problems. But as Wibbs put it a thousand times before, You highlight your good points and ignore your bad. Nerds don't understand this just yet. :D I didn't for years

Now ya got me, big boy.....
    RedXIV wrote: »
    I'm just building foundations for future encounters

See that, Red-ex-one-vee? Learn from a pro.

Using my radical seduction methods you can seduce any woman in six posts or less.
    They also had no interest in who the best member of the X-men was. (blatently Wolverine)

Wrong again! Cyclops was clearly the glue that held them together.

I'm just building foundations for future encounters :D

You sound like a really nice person, but a tad naive. I doubt you've had problems in your life with getting guys or you wouldn't say something like the above.

Take it from a nerd for years. Being yourself when your a nerd, doesn't work. Suprisingly, women don't want to know about the inner workings of a CPU. They also had no interest in who the best member of the X-men was.

I like video games, I like cartoons, and i heartily enjoy maths problems. But as Wibbs put it a thousand times before, You highlight your good points and ignore your bad. Nerds don't understand this just yet. :D I didn't for years

You know what? I'm not naive, just not hung up on looks, I consider that a plus point in my character. I heartily approve of cartoons, comic book collections and x-men. I'm not riveted by the inner workings of a CPU but I'm not so shallow that it would put me off anyone. I love the xbox360.

I've never been offhand when a guy approaches me when I can see its taken some nerve and personal effort. I've made many friends like that, and some partners. Any woman who'll judge a man by how he see's himself is a fool, the best men are reflected in the special things we see in them .

No matter what their nerdy hobbies are, they're collections are, their jobs are or what they look like.

You know what? I'm not naive, just not hung up on looks, I consider that a plus point in my character. I heartily approve of cartoons, comic book collections and x-men. I'm not riveted by the inner workings of a CPU but I'm not so shallow that it would put me off anyone. I love the xbox360.

I've never been offhand when a guy approaches me when I can see its taken some nerve and personal effort. I've made many friends like that, and some partners. Any woman who'll judge a man by how he see's himself is a fool, the best men are reflected in the special things we see in them .

No matter what their nerdy hobbies are, they're collections are, their jobs are or what they look like.

Then i stand and take my (metaphorical) hat off to you. You truely are a rare specimen if everything you've written above it true. If every woman was like you, there wouldn't be a PUA scene all over the world. Unfortunately, you are in a minority (please! no arguments of how you have 100s of friends who are practically mother threasa, I've approached 1000s of women)

Don't underestimate what you have there lass, and please god don't lose it. In fact, start giving lessons to the other women out there :D

EDIT: Cyclops?!?! He was a giant pain in the arse!!! He did nothing but whinge in 60 years of comics?!?

Then i stand and take my (metaphorical) hat off to you. You truely are a rare specimen if everything you've written above it true. If every woman was like you, there wouldn't be a PUA scene all over the world. Unfortunately, you are in a minority (please! no arguments of how you have 100s of friends who are practically mother threasa, I've approached 1000s of women)

Don't underestimate what you have there lass, and please god don't lose it. In fact, start giving lessons to the other women out there :D

EDIT: Cyclops?!?! He was a giant pain in the arse!!! He did nothing but whinge in 60 years of comics?!?

You're approaching the wrong women is all. Maybe I am niave because I truly believe that most men and most women are nice decent people. I never expect anyone to be any less, and I'm rarely disappointed.

Cyclops rocks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Get a room!

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    Get a room!

I thought you and I had one Iva.....

I'm not naive, just not hung up on looks, I consider that a plus point in my character.

It is, yeah, and it's cool you are who you are. One thing Neill Strauss (who wrote the game) emphasises is that PUA techniques are just a way of letting a girl get to know you. It's swell that you like nerds and admire any guy who has the guts to approach you.

Now, how many nerds do you think approach girls? If PUA techniques increase that number that can only be a good thing, right? (HINT: This is a trick question).

In the hands of a decent writer he's a lot less whiny. Wolverine? Meh, the character writes itself.

You're approaching the wrong women is all. Maybe I am niave because I truly believe that most men and most women are nice decent people. I never expect anyone to be any less, and I'm rarely disappointed.

*shrug* the women i approach may be more judgemental on a night out alright but alot of them are very nice people. The difference is that most of these girls, i know wouldn't have responded well to an approach i made 4 or 5 years ago. Why? because i hadn't the social cop on to deal with them. People enjoy talking to people that interest them. They don't usually want to talk about something that bores them and they definitely don't want to have to work at a conversation.

An ex of mine springs to mind. This girl was so nice, she went out of her way to help everyone. She was saint potential. Had the hardest time getting her to talk to me on a night out though. Even though i KNEW she was a really nice girl, it still felt like i was being tested when i was talking to her.

Edit:
    Earthhorse, that's the most devilishly ingenious loophole of a question. Be proud.

And Wolverine has such good one liners though!!

It is, yeah, and it's cool you are who you are. One thing Neill Strauss (who wrote the game) emphasises is that PUA techniques are just a way of letting a girl get to know you. It's swell that you like nerds and admire any guy who has the guts to approach you.

Now, how many nerds do you think approach girls? If PUA techniques increase that number that can only be a good thing, right? (HINT: This is a trick question).

In the hands of a decent writer he's a lot less whiny. Wolverine? Meh, the character writes itself.

If I see a guy who could be described as nerdy considering approaching me, I approach him. Does us both good, I don't assume everyone who talks to me is on the pull and if a guy has the confidence to chat the nerdy types are usually better company that the guys with necks bigger than their heads. Nerds don't seem to have a problem approaching me, so I dont really know the answer to your question.:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

I thought you and I had one Iva.....

yes. yes we do.

me

*shrug* the women i approach may be more judgemental on a night out alright but alot of them are very nice people. The difference is that most of these girls, i know wouldn't have responded well to an approach i made 4 or 5 years ago. Why? because i hadn't the social cop on to deal with them. People enjoy talking to people that interest them. They don't usually want to talk about something that bores them and they definitely don't want to have to work at a conversation.

An ex of mine springs to mind. This girl was so nice, she went out of her way to help everyone. She was saint potential. Had the hardest time getting her to talk to me on a night out though. Even though i KNEW she was a really nice girl, it still felt like i was being tested when i was talking to her.

The best conversations are worth working at.

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    yes. yes we do.

me

I'm hooked.

The best conversations are worth working at.

Ah here i disagree, the best conversations are the ones you don't even have to think about. The ones that just eat hours. You get a convo like that going, you're on to a winner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Hehe, I was talking to a boardser the other day on messaging about this topic and got me wondering if it was being discussed publicly. :)

The "success with women" movement can act a wonderful catalyst for men to take action and improve not only their relationships with women, but life in general. However, if you start taking on the identity of a "pick up artist" chances are you will start to focus all your attention on seeking validation for your "skill", rather than actually making connections with people. Futhermore, misogynistic beliefs and an inflated ego tend to manifest.

You can always pick up authentically, without the need of a false persona or using jargon and the "routines" that you read about on these sites. Thankfully, ever since Strauss' "The Game" exposed the community to the general public, the "natural" approach seems to be the direction this movement is taking, though the "PUA" dream still has its followers.

I can see this getting larger by the year, and is possibly a direct consequence to this post-feminist reality we live in.

If I see a guy who could be described as nerdy considering approaching me, I approach him.

If there was a tips-hat smiley I would post it now.

/tips hat

You're part of the solution but you're not always going to know when someone's considering approaching you.
    Nerds don't seem to have a problem approaching me, so I dont really know the answer to your question.:)

Nerds generally don't approach women. Are you using the same nerds I am using?

Ah here i disagree, the best conversations are the ones you don't even have to think about. The ones that just eat hours. You get a convo like that going, you're on to a winner

True, true, but the easy ones are when you have things in common. Me, I like a bit of intellectual banter, bit of give and take, opinions and suchlike...

It's possible we have different ideas of what it means to "work" at a conversation. I'm talking about dragging actual words out of the other person. Not forcefully engaging the brain. That i would associate with the "eating up hours" type of convo.

Freak Scenery, you've successfully condensed the last 4 pages into one post. Wish i could have done that :D

If there was a tips-hat smiley I would post it now.

/tips hat

You're part of the solution but you're not always going to know when someone's considering approaching you.

Nerds generally don't approach women. Are you using the same nerds I am using?

I use dynonerd. Any guy will approach you if you are indeed approachable. I just chat, they chat back. Its not rocket science. If someone is nervous I look for common ground, or else uncommon ground for a bit of an argument...you can usually spot a guy working up courage, and its only manners to give him a bit of encouragement.:)

It's possible we have different ideas of what it means to "work" at a conversation. I'm talking about dragging actual words out of the other person. Not forcefully engaging the brain. That i would associate with the "eating up hours" type of convo.

Freak Scenery, you've successfully condensed the last 4 pages into one post. Wish i could have done that :D
    Y'know if someone went to the effort of approaching me and striking up a conversation, I would be very bad mannered to make him drag words out of me. The PUA however would be told he's wasting his time.

Hehe, I was talking to a boardser the other day on messaging about this topic and got me wondering if it was being discussed publicly. :)

*whistles*

It's weird but I think PUA has gone mass market, it's like a meme working it's way through society right now. It's amazing how often it's pursued me in the last six months! A friend thrust The Game on me earlier in the year (and it is a fascinating read). Just as I finished that I turned on VH1 one night to discover Mystery had his own reality show.

I posted a video to YouTube last week and one of the related videos is of Neill Strauss demoing a technique - despite the fact that my vid had nothing to do with PUA, women, tricks or anything of the sort. Not to mention a hundred other things.
    Any guy will approach you if you are indeed approachable.

You'd be surprised how many guys aren't approaching you. It's different for girls. Obviously some nerds will be amongst those who chat you up over time. But generally speaking they are not the ones out there chatting girls up. This community did not spring up in a vacuum.
    you can usually spot a guy working up courage

Not if he's sitting at home plucking up the courage to go out.

Y'know if someone went to the effort of approaching me and striking up a conversation, I would be very bad mannered to make him drag words out of me. The PUA however would be told he's wasting his time.

Ah but how do you spot the difference? or do you only talk to nervous people? :D

You'd be surprised how many guys aren't approaching you. It's different for girls. Obviously some nerds will be amongst those who chat you up over time. But generally speaking they are not the ones out there chatting girls up. This community did not spring up in a vacuum.

Not if he's sitting at home plucking up the courage to go out.
    Ah but how do you spot the difference? or do you only talk to nervous people? :D

Pick up artists usually give themselves away, especially if they think they're good at it... Like I said I like the nerds, better company, so I guess I give nerds more encouragement. I'd hate to think I missed out on meeting interesting people because they'd be afraid of rejection, but I guess it happens..

All I can say to nerds at home is, go out. Not all girls are shallow soap lovers obsessed with Victoria Beckam. I just met a girl - another boardsie - who looks like a model. She actively avoids the goodlooking smooth type, usually not such good company. Nice girls are out there, but if you don't go out you won't meet them.

Lastly, any girl worth knowing would never dismiss a guy because he's shy or nervous, if a girl behaves like that, run and dodge the bullet, not worth it anyway.

Pick up artists usually give themselves away, especially if they think they're good at it...

Really?

Well, stop me if you've heard this one before, but I was out climbing cliffs with some mates and then...

Aspiring Pick up artists usually give themselves away, especially if they think they're good at it.

Small correction there. :D as i said earlier, sign of a pro is that you never know he was one

Really?

Well, stop me if you've heard this one before, but I was out climbing cliffs with some mates and then...
    '

I'm hooked, take me I'm yours:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,736 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Don't nerds approach women and get told to fu<k off henceforth avoiding approaching women full stop?

Women can react in a very nasty manner to someone approaching them that doesn't look right.

kowloon wrote: »
    Don't nerds approach women and get told to fu<k off henceforth avoiding approaching women full stop?

Women can react in a very nasty manner to someone approaching them that doesn't look right.

Sure some women do, but they're not worth knowing if they're that shallow. I've never told a guy to flup off if he just seemed like a regular guy. Gropers and such I've told to flup off, but not regular guys, even if I wasn't interested, I wouldn't cut a guy down. I reckon it takes too much courage for some guys to make the first move to deserve that.