Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PUAs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,736 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I read a bit of the site earlier, it seems I'm going about it all wrong :pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭RedXIV

OK i agree, the story is cringe worthy but i doubt you've seen one of the pro's if what you said is true.

For starters, when you mentioned that there was a guy completely chatting up your mate, thats NOT what they say to do in the book.

Also, alot of it isn't geared towards women that are already plastered. It works in shops, on the street, anywhere.

Also, there's not much adaptation needed to that story to make it something that drunk people would listen to. you just need to involve the people more. Make it like a group activity :D Yes the original idea came from the states, and it works in the states, we know that, so all you have to do is adapt it for over here.

And it's actually not that hard.

I've seen guys do this and these guys were definitly pros, it's actually amazing to watch

Madam allabouteve was supposed to wear a short skirt and come out with me tonight, I was going to take the excess attention off her hands by clubbing them over the head with my plaster cast and getting them when they're down. But she has let me down, so any pua's needing practice can get in touch and I'll rate them out of ten.......:)

Is that an open invitation for a date?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

RedXIV wrote: »
    Is that an open invitation for a date?

Just offering a rating service...I will rate on any criteria required e.g.
    Smoothness
    Believeability
    Likelyhood of a score

But purely in a theoretical sense you understand:)

Smoothness
    Believeability
    Likelyhood of a score

But everyone is going to fail immediately on believeablity, surely?

*scratches head* where can i find the loophole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,736 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Smoothness
    Believeability
    Likelyhood of a score

I've been warned about people like you!

But everyone is going to fail immediately on believeablity, surely?

*scratches head* where can i find the loophole?
    kowloon wrote: »
    I've been warned about people like you!

Yes, dunno and Hell Yeah!!!!!!

Smoothness
    Believeability
    Likelyhood of a score

I'd actually love to see you out with one of the pro's. wonder if you'd get taken home or not :D

He'd get nowhere buddy, I can smell that crap a mile off, me, I like the quiet baldies, preferable older, I love gratitude I do.....:D

Ah but the most important aspect about dealing with a pro is you wouldn't even know you were dealing with one :D watch out for them baldies, all PUA's in disguise ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

OK i agree, the story is cringe worthy but i doubt you've seen one of the pro's if what you said is true.

For starters, when you mentioned that there was a guy completely chatting up your mate, thats NOT what they say to do in the book.

Are you talking about the "GAME" book. I read your man Neil Strauss stuff when he used to write for Rolling Stone, its definitely interesting, I had a look at the book, you've read it I presume? I got about a chapter in and he was explaining attracting a woman like it was putting together a decking unit using a crane and a team of donkeys. HOW could that ever come off as natural, I learned my nine times tables in 6th class and rhyme them off pretty quick but I still have to think about it and its not a natural thing to do. Conversations flow naturally with people, trying to direct them or dominate them by being something other than yourself is completely false IMO.
    Also, alot of it isn't geared towards women that are already plastered. It works in shops, on the street, anywhere.

I know this, but its all geared towards specific settings and things which he analyses and picks apart like a PC mechanic talking about the latest Dell.
    Also, there's not much adaptation needed to that story to make it something that drunk people would listen to. you just need to involve the people more. Make it like a group activity :D Yes the original idea came from the states, and it works in the states, we know that, so all you have to do is adapt it for over here.

Approaching someone with "Hey! have you ever seen a flashing light before death in the moment? let me tell you about this..." like your mans story is not natural, any convo started like that will IMO hit a dead end pretty quick... convos start naturally and flow and move with the peoples personality...

And it's actually not that hard.

I edited my post as you replied give it a read, I totally agree with you here...

I've seen guys do this and these guys were definitly pros, it's actually amazing to watch

Yeah Its good when it works naturally, but using a number of steps to get a womans number... eh... I dunno. Its good to watch though, better to actually DO it normally though

*edit*

As more people, foolish men inparticular start attempting this step-by-step phase thing that they advocate, the more women are going to start laughing it off as stupid and pathetic (which it is/will become), and eventually the people who are up-front, naturally witty and not false will the only ones who will attract these obviously cynical, and rightly so women.

Ah but the most important aspect about dealing with a pro is you wouldn't even know you were dealing with one :D watch out for them baldies, all PUA's in disguise ;)

Not buying it. I would have to be completely plastered not to spot them from 6 feet, and any girl with an ounce of cop or some healthy cynicism would cop on immediately. Might work with the desperate or teenagers, but never would work on me.

Yup, i can see ya know your stuff anyway. You're right, Convo does have to be free flowing, at the end of the book, Neil Strauss realises this and thats why he breaks away from the others.

Different people get different things from this resources. Me? i realised a few things about confidence, how people think and why being a nice guy/doormat, will get you nowhere, another guy i know took it and basically believes every women out there is a slut inside.

Different strokes for different folks. Its an entertaining read and if you take it with a pince of salt and the aim of self improvement rather that social magnatism, you can actually learn alot. In the "Rules of the Game" book he released recently, he has a 30 day challenge that was not only fun but educational.

Guess the point i'm trying to make is, that yup, your right, being natural is the way to do it, but learning some of this stuff to help make you BETTER at being comfortable and natural in these situations is a perfectly viable option

^ Shhh... (edit, commenting on girl interrupted.)the truth has spoken. This stuff will die a death after two attempts for most men. Even the fact they advocate wearing certain clothes is like giving them a uniform, or a forehead tatoo with "UNNATURAL NERD ATTEMPTING TO BE SMOOTH WOMEN, STAY BACK, I WILL TALK TO YOU ABOUT MY SUPERCOOL WILD LIFESTYLE... then return to my IT job."

Not buying it. I would have to be completely plastered not to spot them from 6 feet, and any girl with an ounce of cop or some healthy cynicism would cop on immediately. Might work with the desperate or teenagers, but never would work on me.

I wonder, what exactly do you think a PUA looks like? what are their identifying traits? if it's simply confidence to talk to women, then your lumping them together with all manner of people.

Do you truly believe that all of these guys that have read this stuff are simply after one night stands with as many people as possible?

Alot of people use it simply to make themselves more comfortable with the opposite sex. if they are successful, then they are (in their own minds anyway) PUA's and probably not the stereotype you imagine

EDIT: also, most of this stuff is geared at intelligent women. There's alot of psychology involved in this and the smarter you are, the more you think about it, the more it works.

I wonder, what exactly do you think a PUA looks like? what are their identifying traits? if it's simply confidence to talk to women, then your lumping them together with all manner of people.

Do you truly believe that all of these guys that have read this stuff are simply after one night stands with as many people as possible?

Alot of people use it simply to make themselves more comfortable with the opposite sex. if they are successful, then they are (in their own minds anyway) PUA's and probably not the stereotype you imagine

Look if a guy is using this stuff to make himself more comfortable approaching women then that's great, fair play. If a guy (no matter what he looks like) approaches me and runs through his lines or comes accross as practised or too smooth, I'm not interested. And you can spot the one night stand guys through fog.

Yup, i can see ya know your stuff anyway. You're right, Convo does have to be free flowing, at the end of the book, Neil Strauss realises this and thats why he breaks away from the others.

Maybe I need to re-read it, I didnt know how it ended I started laughing after he used fourteen acronyms in the space of three sentences in about the third chapter, it was crazy.
    REDXIV wrote:
    Different people get different things from this resources. Me? i realised a few things about confidence, how people think and why being a nice guy/doormat, will get you nowhere,

Ah yeah, but did you not know this before hand and just needed the confidence really to actually not be a doormat... So the fact he said certain things was sort of irrelevant because there are different ways to gain confidence other than throwing on a custome (which it basically is)
    another guy i know took it and basically believes every women out there is a slut inside.

Hmmm... the word slut is idiotic, all women and men want to have sex, its basically instinct, refering to a woman who enjoys sex as a slut is demeaning IMO. I said this in my first post here.
    Different strokes for different folks. Its an entertaining read and if you take it with a pince of salt and the aim of self improvement rather that social magnatism, you can actually learn alot. In the "Rules of the Game" book he released recently, he has a 30 day challenge that was not only fun but educational.

I suppose I dont really understand this kind of stuff correct because I've never had a 'problem' with talking to women, or men, or dogs for that matter.

Pen1987 wrote: »
    Maybe I need to re-read it, I didnt know how it ended I started laughing after he used fourteen acronyms in the space of three sentences in about the third chapter, it was crazy.

Def worth getting the end, kinda puts your faith back in humanity at the end and he realises learning lines off is useless

Ah yeah, but did you not know this before hand and just needed the confidence really to actually not be a doormat... So the fact he said certain things was sort of irrelevant because there are different ways to gain confidence other than throwing on a custome (which it basically is)

I had a vague idea i suppose but alot of things did click after i read the book.
    I had a mate of mine who was amazing with women, and i never got any but i could tell i was treating them all better than he was. It confused and irritated me. I only really copped on why through a combo of this book with others and going a bit mad in college :D
    I have to say, while the idea of a costume doesn't appeal to me, even going out wearing a hat at xmas makes it very easy to get attention. It works but its not something i favour.

Hmmm... the word slut is idiotic, all women and men want to have sex, its basically instinct, refering to a woman who enjoys sex as a slut is demeaning IMO. I said this in my first post here.

Maybe slut isn't the word i'm looking for. Perhaps what i mean is that he believes women, single, engaged or married are all waiting for the chance to sleep with him. That all women are basically going to sleep with anyone at anytime and it's all about him getting them to accept that

I suppose I dont really understand this kind of stuff correct because I've never had a 'problem' with talking to women, or men, or dogs for that matter.
    Take it from someone who had a horrendous time in school with it. The problem does exist :D And while the solution is now blatently obvious to me and obviously has been all your life, alot of people still dont get it

redxiv wrote: »

Maybe Slut Isn't The Word I'm Looking For. Perhaps What I Mean Is That He Believes Women, Single, Engaged Or Married Are All Waiting For The Chance To Sleep With Him. That All Women Are Basically Going To Sleep With Anyone At Anytime And It's All About Him Getting Them To Accept That

Roflmao!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,717 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I don't really think the techniques are nearly as much about learning off lines as people here seem to think. I wouldn't really be critical of their techniques, most of which will probably work if practised enough, more the lifestyle they add up to, which is on the empty side.

As for girls who think they're immune to them, I imagine they make the best "targets"!

Moonbaby wrote: »
    Roflmao!!

:D laugh all you like, thats genuinely how he thinks. and whats worse, is he can sometimes convince women to do the same

Earthhorse wrote:
    As for girls who think they're immune to them, I imagine they make the best "targets"!

Bingo ;)

Maybe slut isn't the word i'm looking for. Perhaps what i mean is that he believes women, single, engaged or married are all waiting for the chance to sleep with him. That all women are basically going to sleep with anyone at anytime and it's all about him getting them to accept that

That so funny, the word for your friend is optimist, and the word for his attitude is mysoginist:)

Bingo ;)

Oh Please!

Oh Please!

Sorry, that one was just for you coz i knew you'd be back :D

His attitude may very well be that of a misogynist but think of it this way; if you're a grifter you've gotta believe everybody's a sucker. If you're a pick up artist you gotta believe everyone wants to be picked up. It saves you having to distinguish between easy and hard targets (though I imagine they excel at that too). You just assume everyone's game and it's no longer something you need to worry about.

Sorry, that one was just for you coz i knew you'd be back :D

Smartarse:)
    Earthhorse wrote: »
    His attitude may very well be that of a misogynist but think of it this way; if you're a grifter you've gotta believe everybody's a sucker. If you're a pick up artist you gotta believe everyone wants to be picked up. It saves you having to distinguish between easy and hard targets (though I imagine they excel at that too). You just assume everyone's game and it's no longer something you need to worry about.

A target? Like with a big red dot in the middle of the forehead? Or is it a question mark?:)

Smartarse:)

Or am i gaming you? will you ever know? :D

A target? Like with a big red dot in the middle of the forehead? Or is it a question mark?:)

You suggesting we only go after the Hindu women????

^ Shhh... (edit, commenting on girl interrupted.)the truth has spoken. This stuff will die a death after two attempts for most men. Even the fact they advocate wearing certain clothes is like giving them a uniform, or a forehead tatoo with "UNNATURAL NERD ATTEMPTING TO BE SMOOTH WOMEN, STAY BACK, I WILL TALK TO YOU ABOUT MY SUPERCOOL WILD LIFESTYLE... then return to my IT job."

You see the problem with this is I like nerds in their natural state. I like most people male and female when the're natural, nerds would do so much better if they just went with who they are, not who they think women want them to be.

Before I answer that, let me first tell you about my adventures climbing cliffs.

Ya see...

Or am i gaming you? will you ever know? :D

You can't reach me from there.....oh wait, you're under the desk again aren't you:D!