Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PUAs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Daftendirekt

Rb wrote: »
    I'll ask. What's 'Google'?

Best source of porn on the internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭RedXIV

What was the documentary called?

I thought the Game was a great read. The whole PUA scene seems kind of creepy to me... some of the guys Strauss talks about in the book are great at picking up women using learned and rehashed routines, but can't hold a simple conversation if they don't have a prepared "script" to fall back on.

Incidentally another poster mentioned David DeAngelo. His stuff is definitely worth checking out. It focuses more on bettering yourself, rather than learning what to say by rote.

Neil Strauss released a second book called "Rules of the Game". I'd trust him alot because he did realise that learning off lines wasn't going to cut it. Worth getting your hands on if you can

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,211 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Some of the terms used in the 'community' stem from the movie TOP GUN.

Odd seeing as that is one of the gayest movies in existence.

RedXIV wrote: »
    Neil Strauss released a second book called "Rules of the Game". I'd trust him alot because he did realise that learning off lines wasn't going to cut it. Worth getting your hands on if you can

Yeah, I've heard of it. He seems like one of the few mature people on the scene. Have you read it yourself?

Yup. well most of it. the 30 day challenge in it looks quite promising. i'm waiting till i get back to college to try it out though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

What's worrying me is that so many guys seem to go to the trouble of seeking out and reading this kind of thing. Do guys really read self help books on how to string girls along? Do you practice? How? Do you do it over the internet as well as in person?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I can't imagine I'd have much respect for the intelligence of a girl who would fall for a bunch of tricks some douchebag read in a book. Unless the book in question was William Shatner's Tek War of course.

What's worrying me is that so many guys seem to go to the trouble of seeking out and reading this kind of thing. Do guys really read self help books on how to string girls along? Do you practice? How? Do you do it over the internet as well as in person?

Oh please. Like women are above it

real life is practice. every conversation you ever have is practice and yes even the conversations you have on the internet is practice. You spend your whole life practicing, even if you didn't know it.

+1 to daftendirekt also

women seem to forget all the women's magazines with "10 ways to keep your man happy!" exist and in far greater numbers than for vice versa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I'd prefer to treat women as I'd treat any other human being... if anything develops, then it develops... but I'm not going to force it.

This sort of stuff just seems creepy...

I'd prefer to treat women as I'd treat any other human being... if anything develops, then it develops... but I'm not going to force it.

You'd be suprised how hard it is to teach people how to do that.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,322 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

You'd be suprised how hard it is to teach people how to do that.
    Nail on the head. "nice" guys who are useless with women treat them like aliens to be worshipped or feared, not equals. So in the main they try to be their "friends" and act like doormats.

This whole pickup stuff works on obvious primal triggers and psychology and is money for old rope in many ways. Easier version? Know yourself and be comfortable in yourself, by learning about both the bad and good sides of your personality. Improve the bad and capitalise on the good. Find your boundaries and stick up for them, but don't be intransigent either. Meet loads of people male and female and enjoy life.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Rubbing yourself all over with warm chicken fat works much better with the ladies...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 maverickIRL

not sure about that chicken fat thing... i guess it depends on the 'quality' of girl ur trying to attract...

re learning 'tips n tricks' to attract the ladies:
    having done both sides of it (i.e. (1) techniques and (2) work on ur self
    i'd definitely recommend the 'work on ur self' path as the main one.
    but there is a place for techniques, once it's done with ethics.

A guy who's interested in becoming more attractive to a woman, has to bottom line become a better MAN which in an age when women have more balls than most men, isn't a bad thing...

what woman isn't going to like a guy who's:
    - confident in himself
    - dresses well
    - makes you feel good about urself
    - is entertaining
    - and is well schooled in making a woman feel physically
    attractive...

these are all side effect of learning techniques and working on ur self

re Top Gun, it might be a gay icon movie, but he still gets the chick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

Look, so much **** has been stirred about this kinda stuff but I think its great, finally there is a support group for guys who are out to score. Women have it so easy when they wanna score and men have it so hard, its impossible!!

I've only got my **** together since I've come to Oz and now I've finally realised what it takes to ger a woman and thats what these PUA guys are on about.

MORE THE POWER TO THEM!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

Oh please. Like women are above it
    real life is practice. every conversation you ever have is practice and yes even the conversations you have on the internet is practice. You spend your whole life practicing, even if you didn't know it.

+1 to daftendirekt also

women seem to forget all the women's magazines with "10 ways to keep your man happy!" exist and in far greater numbers than for vice versa

I don't read 'women's' magazines, watch soaps, and I avoid the 'self-help' section of bookshops with the same diligence that I avoid the 'religion and spirituality' section, so forgive my innocence.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,738 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

How much chicken fat?

I don't read 'women's' magazines, watch soaps, and I avoid the 'self-help' section of bookshops with the same diligence that I avoid the 'religion and spirituality' section, so forgive my innocence.:)

Completely forgiven, but even you must agree that for women, it's a sellers market. Even if you didn't have a clue how to deal with guys, you go out in a night club in a short skirt, you have attention. Guys have it alot harder than women seem to realise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

There's a huge sarging scene in Dublin. I personally know of someone who has consistently scored hot chicks thanks to the learned techniques. Just so happens he is also a fupping knob jockey who was a v-reg at 25 until he became obsessed with the whole "scene", pathetic if you ask me...

Miss Fluff wrote: »
    There's a huge sarging scene in Dublin. I personally know of someone who has consistently scored hot chicks thanks to the learned techniques. Just so happens he is also a fupping knob jockey who was a v-reg at 25 until he became obsessed with the whole "scene", pathetic if you ask me...

*shrug* Pathetic is a bit harsh. There are aspects in these courses that are primarily designed for self help as maverickIRL said. You can't call everyone who does this pathetic, it'd be like calling everyone who has a social disorder and is attending therapy the same. Many people use this to help them interact with other people. i know a few people who used it and are happy with girlfriends now. Said girlfriends which were attracted by these new and happier men. There's always going to be a few ar5eholes but alot of guys just want help too

v-reg, does that mean what I think it means?

In which case joining the "scene" was a life improving decision and not so pathetic given the context.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Heh, I've read some of the stuff on Fast Seduction. It's basically a mixture of self confidence, justifiable cynicism and some utterly cringeworthy tripe.

There's some genuinely good advice in there, though the concept of "sarging" and other things are completely cringeworthy and seem really unnatural to me.

It seems this site assumes you're sober enough to follow set rules.
    Don't think it would work well in an Irish setting. :pac:

kowloon wrote: »
    It seems this site assumes you're sober enough to follow set rules.
    Don't think it would work well in an Irish setting. :pac:

This is true, we adapted it when we used it :D also because irish girls have alot less time for sh1te than american girls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

This is true, we adapted it when we used it :D also because irish girls have alot less time for sh1te than american girls
    QFT.

I read some of the advice on there and am completely baffled by how that would work.

I think American girls must be stupid.

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    QFT.

I read some of the advice on there and am completely baffled by how that would work.

I think American girls must be stupid.

Not stupid, but nowhere near as cynical as Irish ones. I went off to the states in October of last year, and it's a HELL of alot easier to talk to people over there than over here. Although that might be because they couldn't drink at all

I had to drastically reduce my intake. You really notice how essential it is to be bladdered to have a good night out when you're the only sober one. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Odd seeing as that is one of the gayest movies in existence.

*sniff*

You can be my wingman...*blubber*...anytime.
    Wibbs wrote: »
    Easier version? Know yourself and be comfortable in yourself, by learning about both the bad and good sides of your personality. Improve the bad and capitalise on the good. Find your boundaries and stick up for them, but don't be intransigent either. Meet loads of people male and female and enjoy life.

Sounds a lot harder to me.
    Sherifu wrote: »
    Rubbing yourself all over with warm chicken fat works much better with the ladies...

Now this, this I can imagine myself doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

I heard about this stuff a few months back and had a look into it. Its gas. SO american. Some of the 'guru's advocate approaching women and telling them whole stories with subtle nuances about how your really protective over females and how other men look up to you as the alpha dog of the group, how youre so adventurous fun and wild to be around etc etc... quick google search and heres an example of one... Others say you should wear crazy clothes to make you stand out from others...

Bloke approaches group of women and comes out with:
    PUA wrote:
    hey guys, question! do you believe in that flash that happens in a near death experience where you see your whole life at a glance? now bear in mind i have a reason for asking but i just want to see what you think then i'll go into it. (let them start but not get too into it, after all they're going to start reliving instead of just remembering the scariest moments of their own lives if you give them too much time)
    You see the reason I'm asking is because I'm abit of an adrenaline junkie. I've done some crazy things just for the thrill of it. but in specific I was going cliff climbing with a friend. but you see the cliff we went to was way out in the middle of butt **** nowhere in a national park. so we had to hike all the way from the car to the cliff and as we're walking along the side of the cliff face i notice this HUGE cave in the rock. now i don't know if you've ever climbed a cave which can be just as hard as climbing a 300ft cliff because alot of the time you're holding your entire body against a ceiling praying that your muscles don't give out. well stupid me, saw this cave and just had to see if i can climb it. now the ceiling was rough and easy enough to grab and i dont' know if you ever get into the groove of something and then just start going abit too far into it for your own good, no? happened to me just then. i started climbing this ceiling and by now i'm 12 feet above the cave floor which is ROCK nothing spungy to cushion my fall. so i start realizing that i've maybe pushed myself too far and that i should finish this off with a grand finale and just get back to the cliff that we were already planning to climb. my muscles now are aching and i see a hold in the rock just a little higher up and out of my reach but it looks stable and an easy lunge. so i breathe calmly and lunge for this hold. GOT IT!! i just barely grabbed it with one hand, when it breaks -the rock ****ing breaks!! and i'm falling upside down maybe 15 feet to the rock floor when i catch a second of clarity and am able to swing around to meet the floor on all fours. my buddy said i looked like a cat landing on all fours like that, except a cat doesn't usually slip and bang it's knee like i did. but in all that time i was falling and trust me i would have died if i hit that floor on my back i didn't get that flash back feeling at all. i just knew i was going to die at that moment if i didnt' do something.

WILL YE GET OUT OF TOWN! That would take a solid minute and a half to recite... no matter what these PUA boyos say you will not hold a gorup of irish girls drunken attention for that length of time if they dont know you. You'd get laughed out of town.

If you dont have the self confidence to approach a woman without the need for pre-planned material and get a bit of relaxed banter, ask her for her number etc your not going to magically develop it because you suddenly change to wearing fifteen silver rings and a flashy stand-out jacket.

Fook wearing the stuff and all that pre-written stories and learning off all the lines and reactions to reactions to reactions, all you'll end up is looking unnatural, having no smooth rapport with a woman and ending up getting the cold shoulder. If you cant do it naturally, watch someone who can and see how they bounce off other personalities, not only women, then try copy their basics (come watch me if you want :P)... I've seen some of them at work, in Maynooth to be specific, he was trying all sorts with a friend of mine, completely isolated from the group and made her feel uncomfortable, when you know what hes doing it looks SO cringeworthy. I was embarassed for the poor fella. Anyway, it didnt work out for him when she stood up and took my hand and walked away without even saying a word to him in the middle of his story (she was drunk, yes)... Just proof that Irish girls dont have time/attention span to care enough to listen to this clear bull****, they are far more cynical than american, and in this instance I'm with them!

What I will say is that most men think women are not interested in meeting men or sex. Asking a girl who you get along with for her number, going out, sharing a kiss, all easy things to 'acheive' because its a mutual want, I dont think most men realise this! Women love sex just as much as men and the quicker shy blokes realise this the more sex they will have. Society does (wrongly) tell women that having sex with multiple partners is wrong and slutty, but men are heroes who do this. Complete inequality. Women tell men they meet on a night out that they wont be coming home with them because society tells them they must do this, so they feel guilty if they dont SAY this, or they'll think that the man will think shes a slut. Neither is correct IMO. If the man just ignores this and treats it like a bluff it is likely she'll just end up 'giving in' to her true (perfectly normal) desires, the amount of friends I have who meet women on a night out, kiss etc get a taxi home together then BOOM, the woman gets this well-up of guilt at the front door (oh what will my friends think, will he think Im a slut for having sex together after we just met) and two of them end up just standing at the front door kissing then he heads home thinking '****e'... and she heads inside thinking '****e', (I like him and I like sex, but I didnt have sex with him) WHY!... If she says youre not coming inside, have a bit of banter then mid-convo just ask her for her house keys, walk to the door, open it and go inside... deep down, she wants it, you want it, why wouldnt you both do it (safely)... get it done! :D there is nothing wrong with women doing this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Completely forgiven, but even you must agree that for women, it's a sellers market. Even if you didn't have a clue how to deal with guys, you go out in a night club in a short skirt, you have attention. Guys have it alot harder than women seem to realise

Madam allabouteve was supposed to wear a short skirt and come out with me tonight, I was going to take the excess attention off her hands by clubbing them over the head with my plaster cast and getting them when they're down. But she has let me down, so any pua's needing practice can get in touch and I'll rate them out of ten.......:)