PSNI Recruitment (Archived)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 721 ✭✭✭goodcopbadcop

stote21 wrote: »
    I can assure you all that what you wear on the day does NOT make the slightest bit of difference. If those who are marking your performance are looking at what you are wearing then they are not doing their jobs. Everyone has the green sheet. What is on that sheet is all that matters, and it says absolutely nothing about appearance. Jeans and T shirt are fine

I agree, people on here look into things too much when it comes to the clothes they wear for assessments. Some even wore suits to the initial test.

However some people find wearing a suit makes them feel like they are in a more responsible position and more confident, so it could be useful.

At the end of the day it comes down to you.

Well done Alan, you are well on the way now with things, good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Rob-117

stephen142 wrote: »
    Hey all.

Very pleassed to inform you that i have PASSED my IST :D just received my letter there today. i totally wasnt expecting it so soon, after all you guys in for the full wait.

i done my test on 19th May. and received the letter today! 29th. just 8 working days after i done the test!:D

im well chuffed, especially since this is my first time ever applying =] :D

i am so nervous about the assessment centre now though, as i dont know what to expect :p lol

Same as myself mate, it was a really thin envelope so i thought i was out.

As for the assesment just be confident, stick to your guns, don't let people bully you, try to reach an agreement that helps both people and don't tolerate racism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 colni

OMG OMG!!

i got a letter from the consensia partnership today im seriously excited about it
    ill put here what it says
    "dear .....
    Further to our recent letter advising of your Initial Selection Test result; I am very pleased to tell you hat a review of candidsate numbers progressing to the next stage of the process has been carried out. This has resulted in all candidates with a score of 51 at the Inital Selection Test now progressing to the Assessment Centre."

(i know i sound like an excited school girl but still!)

has this ever been done before?
    also i dont think this will always happen i think i was just (very*very*very) lucky

i think i need a lie down after all of this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭conor123

must be a lack of people passing the IST this year then:confused:
    i passed mine anyway. so i have AC towards end of july and still waiting on news for C13. i swear i dont know whether i coming or going these days:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭alanbelfast

Hi

Yes indeed there may be no set out dress code etc ........ahh I could go on and on and the debate will never stop. People why don't you just go to the assesment centre in a boiler suit wrecking of fish after all this job is somthing you really really want to do and are prepared to go threw a hell of a long slog to get there(maybe a year in some cases).
    Do you really wanna go in jeans??
    Honestly people i really think this debate on dress code is silly. Do you want to impress? Do you want to feel impressive? Do you want to look the best you can ?
    People yes you can go dressed in what you want but really.........
    I do hope people see sense. Is it a real problem for men to put on a suit? Is it a real problem for women to put on smart trousers and a blouse?

Enjoy your weekend people and if you really don't want to go to the expense of throwing your suits and blouses/shirts into the dry cleaners then so be it.

Alan
    Thanks Goodcop .......I do hope the med comes and goes with no probs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 stote21

I agree, people on here look into things too much when it comes to the clothes they wear for assessments. Some even wore suits to the initial test.

However some people find wearing a suit makes them feel like they are in a more responsible position and more confident, so it could be useful.

At the end of the day it comes down to you.

Well done Alan, you are well on the way now with things, good luck.

Yeh fair enough, Im the opposite, I feel more comfortable in casual dress lol. Does everyone know that the ist pass mark has been reduced to 51. They must'nt have had enough people passing, my cousin got a call today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭ciaran2008

Hey all,

I got my letter inviting me to the AC in around 8 week’s time. Does anyone know why they don’t send you your score in the IST with the letter? Does your IST come into your position in the Merit Pool? (provided you pass AC, med, vetting etc)
    I have to say I never expected a pass in the IST. Esp. considering it was my first time and I was only 17 when I took it lol.
    I seriously think my guessing paid off with the last few questions which I did not get to finish?
    Anyway a huge congrats to those who also made it back to the AC and I’m sorry to hear about those who didn’t but it seems like the majority on this thread have made it to the next stage so congrats.

ciaran2008 wrote: »
    Hey all,

I got my letter inviting me to the AC in around 8 week’s time. Does anyone know why they don’t send you your score in the IST with the letter? Does your IST come into your position in the Merit Pool? (provided you pass AC, med, vetting etc)
    I have to say I never expected a pass in the IST. Esp. considering it was my first time and I was only 17 when I took it lol.
    I seriously think my guessing paid off with the last few questions which I did not get to finish?
    Anyway a huge congrats to those who also made it back to the AC and I’m sorry to hear about those who didn’t but it seems like the majority on this thread have made it to the next stage so congrats.

Congratulations. Doing it that young must have been a bit daunting. Think most people would have had to guess a few, not enough time, but seems to pay off. More failed than passed so its quite an achievement just getting to a/c

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 --thepirate--

Hi all/PSNI,

Just got word back today that i passed the initial test(delighted)and have to attend an assessment day in belfast in July.Firstly what can I expect from the day and what will be expected of me.Also what should I wear for the day??anything I should bring with me?

Now that ive passed the initial test im kinda getting my hopes up now of actually getting this whereas before i had no expectations..
    What are my chances now?have i passed the hardest part or which is the most difficult part.

Cheers all..

Hi all/PSNI,

Just got word back today that i passed the initial test(delighted)and have to attend an assessment day in belfast in July.Firstly what can I expect from the day and what will be expected of me.Also what should I wear for the day??anything I should bring with me?

Now that ive passed the initial test im kinda getting my hopes up now of actually getting this whereas before i had no expectations..
    What are my chances now?have i passed the hardest part or which is the most difficult part.

Cheers all..

Congratulations on passing. In my opinion you have done the hard part as thats where most people fail, although the a/c isnt easy. Wear anything you like, there is no extra marks for dressing smart otherwise they would have told you to. They dont care what you look like, they are there to mark you on what you say, nothing more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭TangoVictor

stote21 wrote: »
    Congratulations on passing. In my opinion you have done the hard part as thats where most people fail, although the a/c isnt easy. Wear anything you like, there is no extra marks for dressing smart otherwise they would have told you to. They dont care what you look like, they are there to mark you on what you say, nothing more.

But dont forget you are effectively going for a Job Interview. I dont want to open a debate as this has been discussed throughly and is a heated topic. All I will say on the matter is that dress as you would for any Job Interview; at least thats the attitude I will take.

Good Luck at the AC and well done on the IST.

On a side note, very interested to hear that the pass mark for IST was lowered to 51... ummm I wonder should that be a good thing or not??

Discuss.

Interesting they are letting people with 51 through. I think the pass mark used to be 45 and it went up to 52 this year, probably to reduce the amount of people who were going through. Seems 52 was a bit too high. Didn't think they would go back on their pass mark, well done to the person who got a letter to say they had now passed, must of been a shock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Fo

Interesting they are letting people with 51 through. I think the pass mark used to be 45 and it went up to 52 this year, probably to reduce the amount of people who were going through. Seems 52 was a bit too high. Didn't think they would go back on their pass mark, well done to the person who got a letter to say they had now passed, must of been a shock

Wow, that's well lucky. I'm a bit jelous because 2 years ago i failed by 1 mark in my IST! C'est la Vie!!! :)

Can anyone clarify, is the A/C about 5 hours long?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭conor123

Fo wrote: »
    Wow, that's well lucky. I'm a bit jelous because 2 years ago i failed by 1 mark in my IST! C'est la Vie!!! :)

mine last year was about 2 hours at the most. i suppose it depends on how many people are there on the day though. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭pedro552

But dont forget you are effectively going for a Job Interview. I dont want to open a debate as this has been discussed throughly and is a heated topic. All I will say on the matter is that dress as you would for any Job Interview; at least thats the attitude I will take.

Good Luck at the AC and well done on the IST.

On a side note, very interested to hear that the pass mark for IST was lowered to 51... ummm I wonder should that be a good thing or not??

Discuss.

Lads and ladies, the dress.........
    wear whatever you feel comfortable in to the ac...
    seriously, its a hard enough day trying to think on your feet and not panic, so the last thing you need is to be wearing uncomfortable clothing, in saying that, dont go as if your going the gym or something but a nice pair of slacks and a nice shirt are perfect....
    dont like wearing a tie... dont wear one.
    feel uncomfortable in a suit jacket............ just wear a shirt.
    its not a fashion parade and if consensia wanted a specific dress code, then rest assured they would tell you...
    bottom line... your being tested on your problem solving skills and personal attributes and this is tough enough without YOU making YOURSELF uncomfortable and therefore adding to the pressure....
    anywho, best of luck bro's:D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 colni

cheers goodcopbadcop
    im waiting to see if any others got the letter on here as i know of at least one person who got the same mark as me

well chuffed tho but ill have to work hard for the next part

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭JVB

pedro552 wrote: »
    seriously, its a hard enough day trying to think on your feet and not panic, so the last thing you need is to be wearing uncomfortable clothing, in saying that, dont go as if your going the gym or something but a nice pair of slacks and a nice shirt are perfect....
    its not a fashion parade and if consensia wanted a specific dress code, then rest assured they would tell you...
    bottom line... your being tested on your problem solving skills and personal attributes and this is tough enough without YOU making YOURSELF uncomfortable and therefore adding to the pressure....

Good post pedro. I agree, what people wear is a personal choice. I wouldn't wear casual clothes to a formal assessment, but that's me. Like alanbelfast said, wear what you want, it's your assessment. Have a good weeken all and well done to the few I've been reading recently who've got through to the AC.

JVB

Fo wrote: »

My ac started at 9 and i didn't leave until just before 12. Most of the time is spent waiting between role plays.

pedro552 wrote: »

Couldnt agree more pedro. Some people just like to get all dressed up, must help their confidence or something

colni wrote: »
    cheers goodcopbadcop
    im waiting to see if any others got the letter on here as i know of at least one person who got the same mark as me

well chuffed tho but ill have to work hard for the next part

Just to let you know my cousin got the same letter as yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Maura2145

got 50 in the test. so that was dissapointing enough that they had put this pass mark up to 52 this year. Now i see one more mark and id still be in the game!

But congrats to all who have been put back in the running :) im sure yous must have been gutted when you were only a mark off initially

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Ali08

Hello!

just wondering if anyone else got a surprisingly low score for the ist? i got 21 but i answered all the questions although i guessed a few, i have passed it before and expected to get at low 40s at least.

as for the letters lettin the 51 markers through, im really pleased for youse but i think its pretty unprofessional of consensia to raise the bar to 52 this year and drop it half way through a campaign! maybe im just bitter because they didnt lower it to 21!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Maura2145

bitter cause they didnt lower it to 21! haha thats funny. maybe you didnt colour in the circles dark enough :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭PapaYankeeGirl

Hey,

Anyone else got their AC on the 9th June? Im really nervous, is only 8days away. Sooooo soon:eek::eek:. Guess I shouldnt complain. Really pleased to be through.:D

Well done and all the best to those still in the running:D

Hi

Very well done and I am sure you will be grand.
    Just rememeber all the wee tips you have gained over the forum and keep a cool clear head. Rem the key buzz words ' co operation' etc. Rem if your stuck to use the glass of water to buy you some time.
    I bet you will be celebrating by the end of June!

Enjoy your weekend people and hope you all do very very well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭PapaYankeeGirl

Hi

Very well done and I am sure you will be grand.
    Just rememeber all the wee tips you have gained over the forum and keep a cool clear head. Rem the key buzz words ' co operation' etc. Rem if your stuck to use the glass of water to buy you some time.
    I bet you will be celebrating by the end of June!

Enjoy your weekend people and hope you all do very very well

Thanks. I just hope i say the correct things. Only time will tell! :cool:

Just be yourself

Remember use a technique. One I used was the A.C.H.E one. Worked for me. I just think it gives things a beginning middle and end and gives some structure.. Thats why The ache I think is brill. Makes you accept or take responsibility.........Makes you clarify and get the facts correct........Makes you discuss how you wanna deal with the issue........Then you finish.

Sorry if this all seems typed a bit 'scatty' but it is saturday night and the vino is on board hehe.
    Alan

Ali08 wrote: »
    Hello!

just wondering if anyone else got a surprisingly low score for the ist? i got 21 but i answered all the questions although i guessed a few, i have passed it before and expected to get at low 40s at least.

as for the letters lettin the 51 markers through, im really pleased for youse but i think its pretty unprofessional of consensia to raise the bar to 52 this year and drop it half way through a campaign! maybe im just bitter because they didnt lower it to 21!!!!

You maybe missed out a circle, then that would have put the rest out of order

Hey,

Anyone else got their AC on the 9th June? Im really nervous, is only 8days away. Sooooo soon:eek::eek:. Guess I shouldnt complain. Really pleased to be through.:D

Well done and all the best to those still in the running:D

I'm the week after yourself. Really nervous too. Only good thing is that the time goes really quickly.

Good luck on the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 judgedredd

colni wrote: »
    OMG OMG!!

i got a letter from the consensia partnership today im seriously excited about it
    ill put here what it says
    "dear .....
    Further to our recent letter advising of your Initial Selection Test result; I am very pleased to tell you hat a review of candidsate numbers progressing to the next stage of the process has been carried out. This has resulted in all candidates with a score of 51 at the Inital Selection Test now progressing to the Assessment Centre."

(i know i sound like an excited school girl but still!)

has this ever been done before?
    also i dont think this will always happen i think i was just (very*very*very) lucky

i think i need a lie down after all of this

I got the same letter, I was a bit gutted losing out by 1 point but A/C here we come!