Do men actually want marriage and kids?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Someday I'll do marriage and kids

Have the house and gf so on the right path :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Wibbs wrote: »
    Solution IMHO? Figure yourself out first. Who you are, what you want what you need and what your boundaries are and what expectations of yourself you need to get straight in your head.

I dunno. That sounds kinda difficult. Isn't there some kind of ointment you can give me instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

yes. I want to be married and have about 4 children.

I'll die a sad unfulfilled man if i dont have at least one sprog. :(

tic toc tic toc tic toc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Or do they just agree to it because society/their girlfriends expect it? Wouldn't you rather spend your life playing the field?

Im sure some women aren't all that interesting in marrying someone either.

Personally I think theres nothing sadder than an aging lothario, you see them on their own in nightclubs trying to cut into women half his age. Id rather be at home in my slippers to be honest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Yes I would love to be married with kids, just broke up with herself after a good few years together so maybe not for another couple of years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

What happens when you get old and you cant paly the field anymore ? I can understand peoples decision not to have any but to be a sad old man alone ,with no kids around is not very appealing imo .

Just as well , i have two kids and still relaitivly young :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

snyper wrote: »
    tic toc tic toc tic toc
    You're not a woman!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Over here, or at least in the city i live, it's abnormal to NOT get married at a young age.. A girl i work with is 24 and got married at 21, they were engaged after 6 weeks.

All of her friends are the same age, ALL of them are married.

I work in a jewellry store and you should see the age of the people who come in to look at rings... The majority of which range from late teens to early 20's.

Here, if you're with someone for 2 years and you're not engaged, then there's something wrong with the relationship. My ex, who's canadian and also 24, was engaged twice before me.

It's just pure crazyness... When a young couple come in to look at rings all i want to do is slap them in the face and tell them to cop on!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Dudess wrote: »
    You're not a woman!

.. no but im getting older and balder by the minute

.. i want to be young enuff to have grandchildren :(

Or do they just agree to it because society/their girlfriends expect it? Wouldn't you rather spend your life playing the field?

What makes you think all women do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

If you play the field for the rest of your life, there comes a time when you cease to be a stud and become a dirty old perv:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

I'd like to be married and have children someday.

as with everything else in life, some do and some don't. There is no black and white where this question is concerned.

I know when I met My husband, he was going through a very messy divorce and I had been single for a year having left a four year relationship.

I said to him straight out ... " Look I'm not getting any younger ( I was 27 at the time ) I've just wasted 4 years on the wrong man and I don't want to waste another four, i want marriage I want Kids, you In or out ? "

LOL We had only been seeing eachother a few weeks,
    but i think we both just knew we would work out. he said yes and here we are 8 years down the line still happy as pigs in muc.

I think It's more to do with the right partner, I think men like to play the field ( as do a lot of women now these days) but if they meet the 'right' girl then they just find themselves wanting the rest. .... just my opinion.

Wow. Fair play. No offence, but if I was asked that after a few weeks, Id run a mile!! Faiorr play though, u knew what u wanted and u werent fukkin around, went straight for the jugular, thats a good thing.

I think peoples opinions on this depend on their circumstances. If u never meet someone who truly makes u feel great the why would u be married? And on the other hand, if u meet that person, why wouldnt u.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

If u never meet someone who truly makes u feel great the why would u be married? And on the other hand, if u meet that person, why wouldnt u.

Exactamundo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭rogue-entity

Married... maybe, something I might consider in years to come.
    Kids? Not today, not ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Marrige is deemed unpopular by a lot todays young people which is why millions just live together instead .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

If u never meet someone who truly makes u feel great the why would u be married? And on the other hand, if u meet that person, why wouldnt u.

Despite his horrible use of textspeak Niall1984 has travelled through time to share this important insight with us. May it's wisdom come to us in our time of need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

Holsten wrote: »
    Yeah I deffo want kids, a few of them!

Not sure about marrage though.

Surely having kids is a much bigger responsibility than marriage? Why do you want kids but not marriage?
    Not really, it's something you get out of your system when you're young.

Are you young?
    bluewolf wrote: »
    What makes you think all women do?
    What do you mean? I don't think all women want to get married.

Most of the answers say because you don't want to be old and alone. Is that really a good reason? Also, alot of married people seem to cheat on each other. I even had an offer of marriage where the bloke in question said he would cheat on his wife if she bored him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Christ, I'd love a son.

How so many folk can feck off once their kid is born and leave the ma a single parent is beyond me.

what's wrong with a daughter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RubyXI

Is this thread implying that women actually want marriage and kids??? :eek:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

I'm not sure about either, I don't know if I can handle the responsibility of a child, I've a hard enough time giving the dog some of my time.
    Marriage again i'm not too bothered about i'd prefer just to live together.

The Gf wants both of the above so we've got some interesting times ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Well, being single and playing the field is great when you're in you 20s and 30's, when there's lots of available women out there.

But, it's not so great, as the pool of decent women interested in you starts to dwindle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Lockstep

what's wrong with a daughter?

Uh nothing.

Just like a lot of people, I do have a preference for what my first kid would be.

Marriage is a tougher cookie. I was going out with a girl when after a few months she started talking about marriage, we were 17 so I was a little freaked out by it. Should I get married I'd prefer to be a more stable position to help with the kid.

Blisterman wrote: »
    Well, being single and playing the field is great when you're in you 20s and 30's, when there's lots of available women out there.

But, it's not so great, as the pool of decent women interested in you starts to dwindle.

so if decent women were continually interested in you, you would not want to get married?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Blisterman

so if decent women were continually interested in you, you would not want to get married?

Look at Hugh Hefner. Of course not.

I would like to have kids though eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

I would say that the grouping is split 60/40 in favour of men who want to get married versus men who get married because their girlfriend wanted it. Us men are incredibly blasé about alot of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I'd never put any pressure on a guy to get married - why would any girl do that? I know so many of them do, but why?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

well, i have no interest in getting married or having kids so i am hoping men feel the same.

mind you, a male friend of mine recently turned 40 and has been dropping serious hints about wanting to get married. He recently went home to his home country and proposed to some girl he has been seeing on and off for the last 3 years but whom he actually hasnt seen in nearly a year.

they are getting married at the end of year :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Dudess wrote: »
    I'd never put any pressure on a guy to get married - why would any girl do that? I know so many of them do, but why?

Hmm, I could never be properly happy if I thought I had coerced someone into marriage!

But luckily neither of us want to get married. Can't help thinking if I fallen in love with a guy who REALLY wanted to get married I would probably do so for his sake...:confused: