Joe Satriani Roll Call

• 22-05-2008 06:04PM
    Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,365 Mod ✭✭✭✭

So, who's heading to Vicar St tomorrow night? I know I am \o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭welcomeinjam

see ya there should be good :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

check

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭yevveh

I reckon a lot of guitarists are going to be severely pissed when I mention this, but did anyone see him in Musician Inc. today? He was in at 5, coulda been either a meet & greet or a watch him play guitar up close. Not sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Thephantomsmask

I am, can't wait! Ordered t shirts for myself and 2 friends which were posted over a week ago from the UK. I'll be majorly disappointed if l don't have it for tomorrow night but it's looking unlikely that l will. I just received the shirts :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

yevveh wrote: »
    I reckon a lot of guitarists are going to be severely pissed when I mention this, but did anyone see him in Musician Inc. today? He was in at 5, coulda been either a meet & greet or a watch him play guitar up close. Not sure.
    You reckon right :mad: First I heard of it...I see now that its on the site, but jeebus...you'd think they'd spread the word a little...bastids :rolleyes:

:pac: But yeah, heading for the gig, hopefully its good enough. Havent heard fantastic stuff from shows so far though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭yevveh

You reckon right :mad: First I heard of it...I see now that its on the site, but jeebus...you'd think they'd spread the word a little...bastids :rolleyes:

I only heard of it cos I popped into Musician earlier in the week, they totally should have spread it more but from the looks of it Musician had nothing to do with it except for being affiliated with Ibanez, so I doubt they really cared too much. The guys who work there don't seem like they're Satriani heads...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,365 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Oh ffs, I'm sitting about 20 feet from Musician Inc :(

Anyone up for a pre-gig beer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭18AD

Whey! I can't wait for this. 20 minutes to the end of work!

Pre-beers are a given.

Yes.
    AD.

So, where for beer? Bull and Castle with grub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,602 ✭✭✭✭ShawnRaven

I was there, amazing gig. Think he played for over 2 hours, my feet were killing me afterwards. Second row job. Waited for months for this gig to happen. Wasn't disappointed. :)

For those who didn't make it, go to the next one, he's always coming over every few years.
    VR!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

thought it was brill to i have to say.

went expecting to get a bit bored towards the end but have to say he held my attention the whole way through.

stu in the man.

i'm certain i know it but what was that cover he played in the encore?

judas101 wrote: »

i'm certain i know it but what was that cover he played in the encore?

I thought they played Crowd Chant and Summer Song as the encore? I was a litte out of it though. ;)

VR!

Aye, Summer Song then Crowd Chant. I didn't know must of the new stuff though. Some fecker in front of me was handed a pick by Stu.

Awesome gig :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 rusty-james

great gig i have to say./ the guy sis a legend. if i wasnt standing at the back in the blistering heat two foot shorter than everyone else i would have really enjoyed it.

ps, the "cover" he played was "with a little help from my friends" yes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Pedrospuds

did anyone else notice that Stum Hamm's bass solo consisted of "Going to California" by Zeppelin?

Class gig , I left a happy man

I couldn't remember what Zeppelin song it was.

Did anyone check out the support?

feylya wrote: »

Did anyone check out the support?
    Yeah, he introduced himself as Sideshow Bob...havent googled him yet to see who he is. He played blues/rock type stuff on a fretless upside down (lefty) strat type guitar. Was pretty good alright...and his bass player was the most grin-iest, happiest dude i've seen in a while :D It was a good act alright, never got any pics of him though.

Damn it, I just arrived as they were finishing. By the time I got a drink, they were gone. Ah well.

At least you didn't miss Paul Gilbert :pac: Damn shame he wasn't opening for Satch over here :( A lot of guys who went to the UK shows said Paul was so awesome he took a lot of the impact of Satch away :eek:

Ah well, he's playing here in November but it's a MCD venue so that's about all I can say..

I already have my ticket for that event :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I am so pissed off not being to make the Gig.:(

We might play some Satch for ya the next time we're in Galway :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Saoirse101

Y did people Boo Stu?:confused:

We didn't. We were saying Stu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Saoirse101

The people be side me were booing Stu..5 lads

Are you sure? It's pretty tricky to differentiate. Although, maybe they thought that was what was done...

Saoirse101 wrote: »
    The people be side me were booing Stu..5 lads

No they weren't, they were "stuuuuu!"ing him. It's an ongoing joke for years. It can also be heard on the San Francisco DVD, where Satch says "They stu him because they love him".

He even acts all pissed off when it happens, just to show that he's in on the joke. Trust me, we were all doing it too up the front. :)

The Support act's name was Ned Evett if i recall correctly.
    VR!

Did anyone see the roadie running on stage to remove Stu's kneeling foam after the bass solo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,720 ✭✭✭Praetorian

God damn! Why didn't someone tell me Joe was coming to town! :(