People not paying their way

• 18-05-2008 01:04AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Hot Dog

It has been mentioned here in passing in a few different threads that there is a lot of people who don't pay their luas fare. The objections are varied, some I have heard include "the ticket inspection service is not available in Irish" or " the luas is full of litter/Knackers/ alcos" this is offered as a full justification, not for boycott of this useful service, but rather fare avoidance

The way I see it, the honour system in use presumably keeps costs low compared to a barrier and station staff set up like on the dart. For people to take advantage of this and not pay will only reduce service quality and increase costs for those who do pay. When we consider how far behind Dublin is in terms of efficient modern public transport, fare dodgers are really helping drive what we do have into the ground. Surely, despite what ever objections about the service (which I think is acceptably clean and efficient) if its good enough to use, its good enough to pay for.

I personally have no problem paying to help bring Dublin up to the standard of other European cities, its a pity so many others see it as a chance to scab off their more virtuous country men for a free ride into town.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,371 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

Damn guilt trip :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

yeah but everyone knows its not the ticket fare that runs the luas, its the budget share thats meant to go to developing the West that does it. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Cheapskates. /shakes fist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

Who paid for the Luas? The Irish taxpayers (700m euro)
    Who profits from the Luas? A private French company called Connex.

Im not advocating dodging Luas fares ( though I will admit Ive done it a couple of times when it was so packed there was no way an inspector was getting through the crowd- sardines dont pay to be in a tin so why should humans=)
    but I do reckon there should have been a deal done where we got subsidised fares off the French company up to value of our 700m investment and then full fares when that ran out. Instead they were allowed come in and make profits from day one on an investment where the taxpayer picked up the tab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

RATM wrote: »
    sardines dont pay to be in a tin so why should humans=)

Sardines are not getting in the tin to get taken to work/the pub etc. Tell yo what, if you agree to be fed to dogs when the luas gets to town, no one will have a probem with you travelling for free.

The Europeans and others further away dont seem to have a problem paying their fares, even during rush hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Hot Dog wrote: »
    The objections are varied, some I have heard include "the ticket inspection service is not available in Irish"

It should be and if I wasn't so lazy I'm sure I could dig out some legislation about it.
    Please don't flame me, it's a reasonable request.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

micmclo wrote: »
    It should be and if I wasn't so lazy I'm sure I could dig out some legislation about it.
    Please don't flame me, it's a reasonable request.

It's a pointless thing that people just use to whinge and have an excuse for not doing something they should be done.

How many people is there in the Gealtacht areas that cant speak English? Now how about the same question for Dublin. People need to stop spending their energy looking for ways to avoid paying their way.

If sombody was giving away a free car to anyone that could read a page of an astro physics textbook in English I bet thered be no problems with people refusing to take part because it's not in Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Overheal wrote: »
    yeah but everyone knows its not the ticket fare that runs the luas, its the budget share thats meant to go to developing the West that does it. :mad:

What? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Stekelly wrote: »
    It's a pointless thing that people just use to whinge and have an excuse for not doing something they should be done.

How many people is there in the Gealtacht areas that cant speak English? Now how about the same question for Dublin. People need to stop spending their energy looking for ways to avoid paying their way.

If sombody was giving away a free car to anyone that could read a page of an astro physics textbook in English I bet thered be no problems with people refusing to take part because it's not in Irish.

I'm unable to give thanks in AH but well done all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Overheal wrote: »

Where did you read that one?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

I have no time for fare dodgers, especially the type who believe that because they are in a rush to an important meeting or the like. Others on the tram are just as important as they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

"Watch out for the Luas"

"Ahhhhh. Jaysus that was close"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Rob_l

I have a valid prepaid ticket but I find a good way to pass the dull journey time on the luas is to play the I haven't got a ticket game with the checkers and keep walking further up the luas as they get close to you, this game is especially fun when nearing your stop as they all jump off and surround you at your stop determined to get a fare dodger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Rob_l wrote: »
    I have a valid prepaid ticket but I find a good way to pass the dull journey time on the luas is to play the I haven't got a ticket game with the checkers and keep walking further up the luas as they get close to you, this game is especially fun when nearing your stop as they all jump off and surround you at your stop determined to get a fare dodger.

I got in trouble doing this once :(

RedXIV wrote: »
    I got in trouble doing this once :(

How did you get in trouble?

About trouble on the luas I was about to get on one morning but it was too packed so I decided not to after the luas left one of the ticket checkers asked me to produce I got fairly thick with him about it saying as I hadn't acctually got on he luas for a journey I didn't need one he started getting thick told me he was going to call the gaurds so I in turn told him he was harrassing me and I was going to call the gaurds and got my phone out I thought it was funny he got very stressed he didn't the funny side of it when just before the next luas approached I showed him I had a ticket laughed and walked on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,162 ✭✭✭BKtje

How can you get into trouble for doing nothing wrong, that's baffling.

Funny stories though :D

How did you get in trouble?

I was playing the same game, as he was walking closer, i kept moving away. When he just about cornered me, i got off and he chased me off, i was looking behind at the guy chasing me and didn't see the second one waiting for me. got held down until i could wiggle a hand holding a ticket in front of his face. The guy swore at me for ages :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Hot Dog

Just an example

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=55965928&postcount=4

"I never pay for that junkie filled tin of scum"

Good enough to use, but not to pay for.

Sure the luas is far from perfect, its quite expensive, can be crowded and can has its share of undesirables.

But not paying will only reduce the quality further, and convince those in charge than public transport is not suitable for Dublin, and that the car is the only solution.

RedXIV wrote: »
    I was playing the same game, as he was walking closer, i kept moving away. When he just about cornered me, i got off and he chased me off, i was looking behind at the guy chasing me and didn't see the second one waiting for me. got held down until i could wiggle a hand holding a ticket in front of his face. The guy swore at me for ages :(

running is not the best way to go about it but even still they are not allowed to restrain you, could be classed as an assault I would have called the garda there and then followed by numerous complaints to the veolia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

I attempted to fare dodge on a train once and got caught. I needed to get home from university in an emergency and didn't have enough money for the whole journey so needed to dodge for a while. So I got on the train and hid in the toilet. But someone needed to use the toilet after a while so I had to get out. I went and sat down and the conductor came round. The last station we had passed was Newport but I got a bit mixed up and asked for a ticket from Newquay. Obviously my cover was blown and I got kicked off.

running is not the best way to go about it but even still they are not allowed to restrain you, could be classed as an assault I would have called the garda there and then followed by numerous complaints to the veolia

Yeah i know, i had sampled an intoxicating liquor so i wasn't in the most logical frame of mind. and i was too busy accepting high fives and slaps on the back from the guys i was with to pursue the matter. ah the immaturites of youth. wouldn't bother now, too sensible :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

I would always pay for a ticket, but most of the time i would buy a children's ticket, the ticket collectors never questioned me, i pass off for looking younger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

thereve been times when i was SO tempted to just hop onto the luas (off a train at heuston, needed to catch the last dart, next luas would get me there too late) but JUST managed to get a ticket in time. & each time ive been tempted theres actually been an inspector on it :p

lucky for me im honest :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,181 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Smartcard... so much easier than faffing around at the ticket queue and it can work out a wee bit cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

Actually, whats the punishment for not having a ticket? i've only seen people scumbags being thrown off at the next stop. They just wait for the next one and do the same...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

what's a smartcard?

sometimes i don't pay if there's a really long queue and i just couldn't be bothered waiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,181 ✭✭✭✭L1011

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Bloody hell, there's always going to be dishonesty for anything that uses the honour system, get over it! Most people pay their way
    The Europeans and others further away dont seem to have a problem paying their fares, even during rush hour.

Has there been some sort of audit done that exposed this fact?

Am I missing something here? Is fare dodging endemic in Irish society or something?

I don't know what % of people avoid paying, but I would have thought it was about the average amount in Europe.

BTW, I've never done it, but I would have thought it would be dead easy to avoid the inspectors... When you see one get on, just get off at the next stop and hop on the next LUAS :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

DaveMcG wrote: »
    Has there been some sort of audit done that exposed this fact?

Am I missing something here? Is fare dodging endemic in Irish society or something?

I don't know what % of people avoid paying, but I would have thought it was about the average amount in Europe.
    Ever seen those machines in Canada/USA/ lots of countries with papers in them?
    You put in your money, lift the lid and take ONE paper.
    And everyone only takes one.

In Ireland that machine would be empty in seconds.