Trapp's first Squad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

jameshayes wrote: »
    No Paddy Kenny?!?!

Id sooner chance giving Enda Kenny a game.

Hmm, I wonder what the story with Stephen Ireland is? meh, end of the season, maybe he wants a few weeks off and will join up for the Norway game. Hope we hear something soon anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Ah sure, just let Stevie stroll back on his own accord....''back for the norway game Gio''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭KERPAL

Scannels a good player, i thought i was seeing double, Anderson-esque

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Ah sure, just let Stevie stroll back on his own accord....''back for the norway game Gio''

Our Lord and Jesus divine saviour Roy Keane did it for years in friendlies. And S Ireland will likely be a more prolific goalscorer than Keane if he does return. It is hardly ideal but tbh when you have a player like Ste Ireland sometimes the old thing of no man is bigger than the team doesnt really ring true. He might be acting the bollix, but in this case it may be better to give the whinger what he wants. Sven really wanted him playing international football, but unfortunately right now whether S Ireland plays for us is very far down Svens list of priorities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Maby if Sven takes over Benfica, he will buy Ireland?

Man I like Ireland, but I don't feel he should just stroll back to the team when he sees fit. Its not like he's done enough to just walse in and out of the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,149 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I'm going to bit my tongue on the Stephen Ireland thing for my own sake.

Delighted to see Weso, Damien Delaney, Glenn Whelan and Garvan in there. Don't rate Alex Bruce at all though. Overall it's a good first squad by Trap an dbe nice to see some of the new faces in action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

I usually wouldent start the attacks on Robbie as i think hes quality but with Ireland he tries to do too much (and ends up failing) as the players around him arent as good as those at his club. However why did sky just announce he wouldnt be going to the training camp? I mean the SPL, Playoff and CL players are V.Understanble but the captain whos season is over? makes no sense to me. hes not injured is he?
    He arranged his stag to Las Vegas last year I think.

Good to see Trap going for the more technically gifted midfielders. They've either got the ability to play a 50 yard pass with ease, they've got the ability to beat a player or they're Liam Miller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

shane86 wrote: »
    Hmm, I wonder what the story with Stephen Ireland is? meh, end of the season, maybe he wants a few weeks off and will join up for the Norway game. Hope we hear something soon anyway.

I think his Granny died :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,149 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Evil_Clown wrote: »
    I think his Granny died :D

My first opportunity to use this - :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

Xavi6 wrote: »
    My first opportunity to use this - :rolleyes:

Is that Towelie from South park :p ^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

A disgrace Liam Lawrence was not included in the panel.

It is a it unnerving that we only have two top-flight strikers in the squad. If Kevin Doyle isn't picked up by a Premier League side in the summer, this could be Daryl Murphy's big chance to break into the starting 11.

Doyle will probably be off to Sunderland though. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,989 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Weso YESSSSSSSSSSSS.:p Imagine he started and scored. Feckin' hero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

shane86 wrote: »

My sources say no means no. He doenst want to play and thats that. He only met Traps because Sven made him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭vote4pedro

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    Well... Scannel really impressed me tonight. I watched all 120mins of Bristol City vs Palace and he is a bundle of energy with amazing pace and a lovely touch. I am very exited by his potential i just hope he plays alot of football and gets a good manager for development.

Oh and btw lads, Lee Trundle scored a peach and was brilliant tonight. I actually asked Brian Kerr in person to call him up at a training session in the Carlisle Grounds a few years back, he said "Are you joking?" and i said "Gary Doherty up front... Are YOU joking?"
    Jaysus you don't actually think Trundle could/should get a call up do you?? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

My sources say no means no. He doenst want to play and thats that. He only met Traps because Sven made him.

Sources??? Any chance of an elaboration?

To be honest he's not that good anyway... and his hair looks like mine did at my debs 11 years ago!!! And all those photo's got nice and burned!!! :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Please God let Scannel develop into a top player, let Steven Reid have a good injury free season next year, Duff hit his best form again , McGeady perfrom to his best,Stephen Kelly continue his good form , Dunne and Given to always be availible and Keane to bang in goals and not have another 2 years of fake hope and we have a chance crap please......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

Pyjamarama wrote: »
    Sources??? Any chance of an elaboration?

:

PM if you want to know