Things you wish you knew when you were finishing college...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,260 ✭✭✭Elessar

I wish I knew that life goes downhill after college. You are no longer around people of the same age and interests and you work 9-5 and have to rely on friends you knew from the past to keep you at least minimally socialised.

You work but have no real direction. People you knew drop off the radar and go their separate ways. No more partying or drinking several times a week, you're too tired and up early tomorrow. Sometimes you have nothing to do at all after work, except watch sh*tty TV or browse the same stupid sites on the internet and hope the phone rings.

Then you'll find yourself wondering what the hell you are living for anyway.

In short, I wish I knew all this and had planned accordingly, and maybe gone on to do a degree after my dip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

ah, when i left college, i wish i'd known that life would be so much easier later if i had a degree to show for myself. :(

looks a lot better when you're trying to persuade some anonymous government entity that you'd be an asset to their country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

My advice would be to continue the student lifestyle for as long as possible. You have the rest of your life to take your career/finances/future seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭cobweb

I wish i knew that i shouldnt have finished college.:pac:

You can always go back finished college for 3rd time last year at 37

oh the joy of lifelong learning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

wish i knew that this would be the best selection of available pussy you'd ever get in your life!

clubs and pubs just aint the same. :D

how did you not realise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Don't know, will have to ask my future self.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭bluedolphin

Myth wrote: »
    Been there, done that too, and have several t-shirts and hoodies (not bought) :pac:

You'll have a madly interesting year, enjoy it.

Yeah, it's a job without letting go of studenthood. I'm clinging to student life with every ounce I have! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭sinlessgunner

Felt obliged to post here. I finished in Maynooth last May after graduating with a 2:2 in Arts (English & Geography). Almost a full year on and I'm working in a County Council as a Clerical Officer. 9-5 Monday to Friday and it's the most boring, repetitive, dead end job in the world. I left college full of ambition, hope and a drive for success and already I've fallen into the rut which I always swore I would never do. College for me was amazing. I lived in the same house for 3 years with the same 6 lads that are by far the best people I ever met and had the best, most carefree time of my life.

For starters I would say never do an Arts degree. Waste of time. Do something with a more direct objective. 2: Do a post grad. You need specialisation. 3: Travel or something. Don't go straight into a career.

I'm planning to get out of this rut which is an existence not a life. Going to move to Canada in March 09. There is a big world out there, don't spend your time looking at it through an office window.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,289 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Every time you back to college the first years look younger and younger but you still would

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

This is the most depressing thread ever :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

This is the most uplifting thread ever. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭cooperguy

Im am choosing to ignore half the posts in this thread so I dont go and jump off a bridge when I hand up my final exam monday week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭damonjewel

I wish I knew..... as much fun sitting around all night smoking and getting **** faced with my mates in my flat listening to Floyd etc. I could have spent my time more usefully by shagging all the hot girls that were all around me in my college

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

I wish i knew how little the university actually care about giving you decent education and not how much money they can get out of you.

But I will miss it when all is said and done, how many jobs will let me sit on boards all day, sleep till 2pm and generally not do anything at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

rb_ie wrote: »
    After two years out of it, I'm returning to college in September (hopefully).

I'll tell you this much though, the "real world" fcking blows, college life is so much better than 9-5 bollocks and the stresses that come with it. That's what I've picked up after two years of it and plan on avoiding it again for as long as possible and enjoying college life while it lasts.

Disagree. Ive more money now. And Ive no hassle performance wise really (unlike college. An exam around every corner, staying in in good weather to study, not the life for me at all). College wasnt exactly like some 80s American comedy. For a start quite litreally every good looking unattatched bird had dropped out by November, or only showed up for exams. Most of the lookers didnt bother going to socials. One of my mates lived a pretty cool college life but he had his way paid through. The whole college social life thing never really took me, it seems to revolve around weeknights in the very worst nightclubs in Dublin (Barcode, Redz, Coppers) that primarily play dodgy culchie anthems of the Galway Girl variety. Either that or going to Crawdaddy and the like to see numerous random guitar playing sh1tes who will never make it anywhere.

I was on the 38 into town through Castleknock last night when about 16 well dressed girls about 18-19 got on, buckled, on the way to the Trinity Ball after a house session beforehand. Most of em were from Wexford. Had a waffle with them, drank some of their vodka, but jaysus, I felt like a spare part when they were pissed and singing various studenty anthems (Id a few cans in me already, was headin to Tripod), tbh the only one I knew was Fields of Athenry :confused: Never heard the vast majority of them before at all. You meet some sound people at college, but you meet a whole lot more who are pretentious, fairly boring or have bad music taste tbh. Im in contact with alot more mates from school and old workplace than college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

I was looking forward for 5.30pm on friday 19th to come around, but after reading this thread I hope it never comes! My college life will have offically ceased, I will be the holder of a B.Ed with German and will have the lovely pleasure of job hunting!:(
    Was typing a C.V/cover letter out for the first time ever in my life last night so I can start applying for jobs..must also go about getting references and referees!! Oh the fun! 20yrs old and in a professional job..Scary to say the least! Im shitless tbh with ye..all the responsibility that comes along with having my own classroom/30kiddies!:eek: It's daunting..very daunting.
    Last month I was looking at all the post-grad courses in every college and nothing appeals to me! Ahh!! Gota find something..I want to head back to college asap!!:D

Edit: oh great, this post is 1,666..must be telling me something!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

i wish i knew The answers to the exams i failed or got really **** scores in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭bluedolphin

I'm so nostalgic right now. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Jebus, there's some amount of doom and gloom here! Firstly, having a regular job isn't all that bad. At least you've money and you still have your social events at the weekend. Someone said they've got to the point where they wonder why they're alive at all - sorry to seem a bit melodramatic but that is seriously negative, depressed thinking. I mean, that's the way most people's lives are but they just get on with it without thinking like that. If that's how it's making you feel, maybe see a counsellor. I'm serious. Nobody should be thinking thoughts like that. I can see the logic of what you're saying, but that doesn't mean you should think that way. Use your evenings to exercise and get fit, do courses, volunteer etc. Use your weekends to head away somewhere. Make an effort to get to know people through work. These are the things people do to make life a bit more interesting.

What I will say though, is if you're in your early 20s, or even mid 20s, don't rush into a career. Do a post-grad, go travelling, take a few cushie jobs where you'll have a laugh and meet great people. Then when your late 20s are upon you, start the career thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

whats the point in someone telling you what you should know when finishing college. learning is half the fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭ModeSkeletor

Dudess wrote: »
    What I will say though, is if you're in your early 20s, or even mid 20s, don't rush into a career. Do a post-grad, go travelling, take a few cushie jobs where you'll have a laugh and meet great people. Then when your late 20s are upon you, start the career thing.

Is that really good advice? I am early 20's myself and a couple of weeks from completing my degree but if I waited until 30 to start a career in this area nobody would hire me as I'd probably have forgotten a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

well its a good idea if you want to start raising a family in your 30s unable to buy a house or support your kids because you're only beginning your career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Sangre wrote: »
    well its a good idea if you want to start raising a family in your 30s unable to buy a house or support your kids because you're only beginning your career.

Lol, sounds like most of the new home owners in the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

i can't believe how many people are so unhappy with having their degree! damn, i'd love to have finished college so much, it just wasn't a plausible option for me at the time, and my life plan has changed so dramatically since then. i would love to go back, and get my degree, and get paid all those extra $$$ an hour for the same job, because i've my bit of paper to back my ability up.

since dropping out of college, i have worked everything from 9-5 crappy office jobs, before going into the care/service sector which is what i really want to do, and have worked, for about 9/10months a 72hr week, i've had weeks where i only get home for less than 24hours over the weekend, done a 146hour 8day stint, and am currently working anything from a 20hr to a 40hr week, taking a big cut in pay, but am working something i genuinely enjoy doing, and having time to spend at home with my partner.

yes, ill never have the joy of one day seeing a mortgage paid off, and ill never have the new computers and consoles and widescreens and **** that people around me all seem to have and talk about. but just going out and doing a worthwhile job, and having enough cash to pay the rent and the bills, having time to spend on the people that matters in life... feck lads... if you're not happy with your 9-5s, figure it out, re-assess things. hell of a lot more to life than a paycheque.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I work during the day and go to college at night. I'll be starting another two year course in October, and after that, hopefully I'll be off to do a Ph.D.

Going back to college at night was one of my best decisions ever. I'd recommend it to anyone who is bored with their work life and would love some stimulation/college life again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Seriously what courses were some of you doing? I am up at six am each day to get to college and usually do not get home until six. A combo of ****ty bus service and engineering...Its only first year!

I believe I am going to hock this **** in or transfer to another course in another college....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

My advice would be not to leave college anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

Seriously what courses were some of you doing? I am up at six am each day to get to college and usually do not get home until six. A combo of ****ty bus service and engineering...Its only first year!

I believe I am going to hock this **** in or transfer to another course in another college....

Hey man i know the feeling looking at all those business courses with 2 classes on a tuesday and no fridays when we have(had for me) pretty much got 9to 4-5-6every day with only the break for lunch. I wouldn't let that put you off the course alone. If you like it but would like traveling to be easier i would suggest a car and if you won't ba able to afford it working for the summer take a year out to get yourself in a better financial situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

Sangre wrote: »
    whats the point in someone telling you what you should know when finishing college. learning is half the fun.

I have to say that the learning bit of uni was the only enjoyable bit for me...most of the day taken up with commute, study and all holidays working full time. Working life by comparison is fantastic - doing interesting work and being so absorbed by it that the day flies.... having no money problems.... total independence...secure future...only gets better after uni in my humble opinion, but yes there are responsibilities, but the upside is worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

*does the happy dance*

My only advice and its very specific, and it applies for in college if you are doing a film or other technical/art sort of course do as much work outside your course using the university's equipment.

I got my job because while I did the production courses assigned to me, I also did alot of filmwork on my own time, I spent my evenings in the editing suites learning the programmes, spent alot of time with the university's cameras learning the ins and outs.

Also any small productions or oddjobs in filmwork that popped up I volunteered for them and helped out

Helped alot more coming out of college then the actual degree, I got hired because I knew Final Cut, and have been going up ever since. I have friends who did just the degree buried under Real Life (tm) not finding the time to do their own filmwork nor the experiance to get work in the industry.

For those kind of courses, college is the time you get all the free time to get your craft together while the actual course just opened up your thinking to new ideas.