Did you ever smash something in temper and regret it later?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Rob_l

A friend of mine lets call him ian is forever doing stupid things while annoyed his last one was he got off the phone from his missus and was annoyed so threw his phone at the wall hit a lamp someone who was dead had given to his missus, so he picked up his phone again and threw it once more in anger this time it hit the wall and smashed so he kicked the wall finally breaking his foot.

Oh how I laughed at his pain :D:cool:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Smashed my gameboy many many years ago when I couldn't pass a level :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Yep, I do this all the time.

Tons of electronic crap has been smashed to pieces because I'd get pissed off at it, Game controllers, gameboys, walkmans, mp3 players, remote controls, keyboards, etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I have self-control, so I can't remember any smashing incident I've ever had. But there are plenty of incidents from childhood. A house of four brothers, there was inevitably a lot of fights. When one person lost their temper during a fight (as would inevitably happen), protocal dictated that the other person lock themselves in a toilet till it all calmed down.

One particular time, brother A lost his temper and brother B locked himself in the toilet. So brother A runs upstairs to brother B's bedroom, grabs a guitar and smashes it, rock n' roll style, on the ground. Delighted with his handiwork, he summons brother B out of the toilet. Brother B then points out that he had in fact borrowed brother A's (identical) guitar that morning, and brother B's guitar was sitting downstairs, unsmashed. Cue much laughing from brother B and a quick trip to be locked in the toilet again.

I keep my temper under wraps because I like my behaviour when it gets the better of me.
    I think ramming the family car into our house until I calmed down. Was probably the worst tantrum I ever had.
    In fairness I was a hormonal teenager at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Tunnel B1 disc for PS1. Frisbeed for a while with a friend. No regrets.

Another coincidentally frisbee related one was when the same friend and I were rambling through some muddy fields near a building site (ah to be 12 again). We found a hubcap and had a contest to see who could throw it further. I went first. The wind whipped it up and it hit a builder's car as he was leaving work. No damage that I could see. His car was a junker already and I think he knew there was no way I could have done it on purpose so he let it slide. There were no more hubcap frisbee shenanigans that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

An old joystick for my Commodore Amiga.

Some phones as well. Mostly Siemens phones which are annoying as f**k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

Remember way back when was playing transformers with friends in the front garden which was paved concrete, one of the lads said he'd let me play with his megatron if i gave him my galvatron so i went to get it but when i came out he had given the megatron to someone else to play with, i got so angry i smashed my galvatron off the ground. Not quite smidireens but i think an arm and a leg were off either way he was FUBAR went completely mental when i realised what i had done and started screamin and crying freakin out. that must be 20 years ago and i still remember and regret it very clearly.

I still get extremely pissed off when i make plans to do something in a particular way or lay out the way i'm going to do it or organise something and someone changes it without including/consulting me. I just channel the energy better now and smash them instead of feckin up my stuff. :D

I think i may have mild OCD cos i really really like things done my way and even though other ways will do i get damn frustrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

ye probobly wont beleive me but iv smashed myself through (just let me count) 8 phones in the last year and a half!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I once smashed a Sega Megadrive joypad off the ground. Not done it since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Lots when I was a child, but nothing much in recent years.

Last one was a mobile phone thrown at a wall during a bout of nicotine withdrawal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Ha ha the thread of my life.

Well I do this all the time, my hand has just healed after I broke it and had to pick plastic out of it when I punched through my laptops screen.

I get angry alot.

I never have a phone, I must have smashed dozens, many broken hi-fi's, games controllers, walls whatever I've broken it.

Its a pretty big problem and I'd say its due to stress, that and I hate my father.

Oh well.

I'll get help eventually...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Managed to throw a snooker ball through the door of the washing machine when i was a child. Don't ask me how, cos i don't know! Can't remember it at all but am reminded from time to time when having reminiscent chats with the folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,072 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Moonbaby wrote: »
    I keep my temper under wraps because I like my behaviour when it gets the better of me.
    I think ramming the family car into our house until I calmed down. Was probably the worst tantrum I ever had.
    In fairness I was a hormonal teenager at the time.

So, did you ram the car into the house, reverse and then ram again? Hope whatever got you into a tantrum was worse than being grounded or something, although I'd find it hard to find what your parents could do that would have someone simultaneously smash together the two most expensive things people own.

astrofool wrote: »
    So, did you ram the car into the house, reverse and then ram again? Hope whatever got you into a tantrum was worse than being grounded or something, although I'd find it hard to find what your parents could do that would have someone simultaneously smash together the two most expensive things people own.

I did say I was a teenage redhead.
    My dad was taking his time coming out to drive me somewhere.
    He got into the car and said nothing.
    I didn't actually damage the house, I didn't have much of a run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

When I was a kid I flung one of those "unbreakable" watches at the wall in anger. The screen promptly cracked and filled with black and couldn't have been arsed getting it fixed.

Have broken 1 computer mouse thanks to poker.

I've flung plenty about in anger but most are small and unbreakable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Acid_Violet

A table, I was 7.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭professorpete

Motosam wrote: »
    Ha ha the thread of my life.

Well I do this all the time, my hand has just healed after I broke it and had to pick plastic out of it when I punched through my laptops screen.

I get angry alot.

I never have a phone, I must have smashed dozens, many broken hi-fi's, games controllers, walls whatever I've broken it.

Its a pretty big problem and I'd say its due to stress, that and I hate my father.

Oh well.

I'll get help eventually...

No way this dude is me a few years ago!! it's due to stress, hate my whoever, yada yada... I'm an a$$hole....

Yeah I broke my hand punching the wall while arguing with my girlfriend, actually smashed it.. I very nearly lost the girl I love over that... also I play drums, and am very, very lucky that I can still play.... regretted it? oh yes...got help? definitely!!! actually I should be thinking of renewing my subscription to anger management classes as I wound up in the hospital again recently with a suspected broken foot after taking to the hoover with great gusto!!!

smashed phones, remote controls, doors cracking off the hinges.... the most recent and regrettable one since the hand breaking was while chucking the remote in a rage - it landed on herself's vintage retro antique lamp, given to her by someone special... smashed idir smidirini....

none since then.. it's not worth it, especially when you wreck someone else's stuff... or your own person.....or when you're that angry and someone else is around...it gets dangerous...

happy smashing!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Managed to throw a snooker ball through the door of the washing machine when i was a child. Don't ask me how, cos i don't know! Can't remember it at all but am reminded from time to time when having reminiscent chats with the folks.

That reminds me, I've snapped quite a few pool cues over the last couple of years. We have a pool table in the house and whenever I'm in a bad mood I play to relax, but occasionally it just p!sses me off more when I miss shots and I've snapped five or six cues by smashing them across the table in frustration in stupid executioner-beheading-a-prisoner style strokes :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

orestes wrote: »
    That reminds me, I've snapped quite a few pool cues over the last couple of years. We have a pool table in the house and whenever I'm in a bad mood I play to relax, but occasionally it just p!sses me off more when I miss shots and I've snapped five or six cues by smashing them across the table in frustration in stupid executioner-beheading-a-prisoner style strokes :o

Heh that reminds me, my cousin annoyed me so much one time playing pool that I whacked him on the head with the cue. Broke it in half too! He cried, I was eight, he was 14.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭DonalN

I was about ten when a friend dropped one of those heavy cast iron 'gully' covers onto my foot. He started to run away, so I picked up the closest rock and fired it at him. Landed right on his noggin and he had to go to hospital for a couple of stiches. The next day we were mates again and went out looking for the rock with the blood on it! I remember having a good laugh at the bald spot on his head where the stiches were.

Same fella was annoying me one day in school so I tripped him as he was running by, and he broke his coller bone. Oops! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,720 ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Smashed a door once and a Packard Bell pc. Never actually completely broken a phone but not for a lack of trying. Thrown a few things at people as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

No way this dude is me a few years ago!! it's due to stress, hate my whoever, yada yada... I'm an a$$hole....

Yeah I broke my hand punching the wall while arguing with my girlfriend, actually smashed it.. I very nearly lost the girl I love over that... also I play drums, and am very, very lucky that I can still play.... regretted it? oh yes...got help? definitely!!! actually I should be thinking of renewing my subscription to anger management classes as I wound up in the hospital again recently with a suspected broken foot after taking to the hoover with great gusto!!!

smashed phones, remote controls, doors cracking off the hinges.... the most recent and regrettable one since the hand breaking was while chucking the remote in a rage - it landed on herself's vintage retro antique lamp, given to her by someone special... smashed idir smidirini....

none since then.. it's not worth it, especially when you wreck someone else's stuff... or your own person.....or when you're that angry and someone else is around...it gets dangerous...

happy smashing!!!

Well I'm not an asshole, I only break things that affect me, never others stuff.

And yes my father was crap, I dont think I should be ashamed of that.

Now I'll start to agree with you, I think its due to stress, I've taken a year out and all, just to calm down.
    I do worry though I will end up the same again with the stress of going back to college (no its not a dossers course, yes I have to foot the bill myself) and end up taking another year.

Hopefully whatever help I get will keep me calm and teach me a few ways to deal with this crap, other than going ape sh1t :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

never smashed anything in anger/frustration/teenage angst etc etc etc

self-control ftw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i broke my little brothers arm in a temper when we were kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Poker is awesome for this. I've smacked a key board off the wall a few times. Thankfully I've never broken anything beyond repair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I broke 2 bones in my hand last year when my boss was talking when i didnt want to listen.

I punched the concrete wall.

It stung a little.

In a cast for 2 months.

Felt like a right bollox.

He never bothered me agai though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

snapped a laptop in half because it was dropping its connection all the time, wasn't cheap either bought it for 1000 sold it broken for 80 :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,289 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

out of frustration I put a hole in the wall playing Gears of War and couldnt get passed a certain point.

Was great fun covering that in!