Arsenal Transfer Rumours And General Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Bye bye Flamini? :(

Is it just me or has Fabianski been consistently ballsocks for us?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

He's been OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Just on what PHB is saying regarding resting Fabregas next season. Maybe a midfield of Denilson and Diaby could work for some of the games against the weaker opposition. Denilson is more defensive then Cesc yes but he also has a fairly good range of passing, and i feel despite his shortcomings on the left wing, Diaby deserves a chance in his proper position to show what he's capable of. Also as said, Rosicky or even Hleb(touch wood) could play there, dont know why they havent in the past. That said i'd definitely want someone to come in to replace flamini since he seems to be gone.

Fabianski has been alright in the few games he's had, seems like he has the ability though and he should improve with more experience

Wenger needs to either start trusting Diaby in central midfield or sell him, because playing him on the left is doing nobody any favours.

It looks like PSV are going to sell their keeper Gomes, I'd love it if we went for him.

If he's as good as he is in Football Manager... Any idea of price?

He has fallen out with the powers that be at PSV, so maybe £10-15m. That's a lot for a keeper but he's only 27 and those I know who've seen him regularly rate him about as good as Buffon, Casillas and co. I've mostly only seen him in highlights and when he and Alex knocked us out of the CL last season, but he certainly looked the part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

keano_afc wrote: »

thats quite an old post mate, so we will just have to wait and see, hope he stays.

Really hope he doesnt leave, but Im getting pessimistic. It seems like such a waste to sign a young player, nurture him and then when he's hitting the form of his life, lose him on a free transfer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭LuckyCharms

Can't believe the flamini situation got to this stage , looks like he is off tho, kinda smacks of being an unloyal git if you ask me.

For next season, A quality centre back , winger and attacking midfielder is whats needed imo .Fabregas looked totally wrecked these last few weeks, badly need some cover for the chap.

Wengers track record when it comes to splashing the cash on big players may not be great, but its badly needed this summer otherwise more key players might leave the year after.

Splashing the cash is not a guarantee to success, as Arsene has said the club has to spend within its means and to be honest I agree 100%, we have just missed out on the league,if the penalty against Birmingham had not been given I believe we would have gone on and won the league and we were very unlucky in the champions league. Why are players going to leave? Flamini is leaving down to money, his contract is up and has the right to move on,I think he will be making a mistake, very very few players leave Arsenal and go on to better things, all our other players are on contracts. Arsene will spend but he will not go out and pay stupid money like some clubs have done for very average players. We will strengthen but within our means and where needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Can't believe the flamini situation got to this stage , looks like he is off tho, kinda smacks of being an unloyal git if you ask me.

If all fairness, considering how he left Marseille it's not at all surprising. If you play with fire etc.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Splashing the cash is not a guarantee to success, as Arsene has said the club has to spend within its means and to be honest I agree 100%, we have just missed out on the league,if the penalty against Birmingham had not been given I believe we would have gone on and won the league and we were very unlucky in the champions league. Why are players going to leave? Flamini is leaving down to money, his contract is up and has the right to move on,I think he will be making a mistake, very very few players leave Arsenal and go on to better things, all our other players are on contracts. Arsene will spend but he will not go out and pay stupid money like some clubs have done for very average players. We will strengthen but within our means and where needed.

No offence but the way you talk about them , you make Arsenal sound like a mid table team, saying the whole season hinged on a penalty not been given is rather naive. What exactly do you consider within your means?

You really think sunderland can go out and splash 40-60 mil this summer? They will have to if they are to progress in this league.If Arsenal are content being perennial cl qualifiers then your grand with spending within your means but if you plan on challenging seriously for the league and Cl then you need a top class squad, not just 1st 11.

The reason ye lost the league this year was not because of a penalty decision, it was down to lack of transfer activity within in January, ye ran outa legs at the crucial moment to put it bluntly.

Saying players dont go onto better things when they leave can mean 2 things , either Wenger makes them better then they are and they fall away when they leave or your talking about Arsenals status within the world game? If its the former, then in some cases your right, if its the latter then your wrong imo.If hleb goes to inter, its as step up for example.

How long do you think Fabregas and Adebeyor will be content with winning nothing?World class footballers are they way they are because of ambition, and if their current club doesn't fulfill that ambition they will find one that will( etoo is a case in point, look what he said about being trophyless at barca).

Players on contracts?Since when has a contract ever stopped a player leaving?

Lucky Charms, the way people talk about our season you would think that we are a mid table team that is need of serious cash injection which in my opinion is not needed. We have gone very very close in the league and the champions league and yes we got two very bad decisions in the champions league game, who knows what would have happened if the penalty had been given in the first leg, as for after the Birmingham game we were mentally shattered after that match and we never really recovered from that dropping stupid points at home.

As for going out and buying in January, it is an extremely hard to go out and buy during this time, possibly yes maybe we should have gone out and bought a centre back, but who was available?

We have just moved into a brand new stadium which does have a debt attached to it, yes we have extra revenue streams coming in from matchday/tv and property but let us say we do meet Flaminis wage demands, this will create unrest within the rest of the team with other players wanting the same. Arsene has decided to base his spending on money that is actually available from revenue as opposed to putting the club further in debt. As I said to you, you do not have to necessary go out and splash the cash, how much was Eduardo, Sagna, Adebayor?

I'm not talking about club status, I'm talking about in terms furthering your playing career, and not many players that have left over the last ten years have gone on to much better.

I do agree with you regarding winning things and we really have to next season, we have come so close this season and hopefully we can address this next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,166 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I'm not sure how bad what Flamini's doin' really is..

Last summer effectively his replacement was signed in Diarra from chelsea. Its all well and good talking about loyalty, but if its there, it has to go both ways. He probably wouldn't have been given a new contract if he hadn't upped his performance levels the way he did. Its a bit hard to blame him for looking out for himself, even if it does sting the club.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

The flamini situation is negligible, the guy turned out to be a money grabbing prick, these things happen but you get all this talk from the club about how there is money available for players to be purchased and when wenger doesn't buy anyone and ye end the season trophyless then ppl are gonna lay blame at his door and rightly so.

If ye don't have money to spend then why doesnt the club just admit it instead of protesting that there is a sizeable chunk available for squad investment.Your right that you don't have to spend alot of money on players as wenger has proven but eduardo still cost the best part of 9 mil.

My overall point is that if hleb goes along with flamni, 40 mil will have to be spent to strengthen the current squad and make them capable of challenging for the title.

You can count that man u n chel will stregthen in the summer as will spurs, villa, pool.There is quite a gap between being top 4 and being title contenders as liverpool found out this year.

The board have always maintained that money is available but they have never actually revealed what this figure actually is.However the sum available I beleive also would include the wages for te player comming in also. No doubt if Flamini does leave and Hleb follows him we do need to replace them, as for saying we need to go out and spend £40m, we won't spend that amount imo, high transfer price does not necessary equal quality.

Maybe i shouldn't have put an exact figure on it.Basically when i said 40 mil, i meant what it represents to me which is basically a top notch centre back, a 1st choice winger and a attacking midfielder

OPENROAD wrote: »

£25million? Wahey! We have less to spend than the relegation battlers.

Read on arsenal.com that Wenger has put Flamini's deadline back to Monday due to 'negotiation problems'. i think we all know what that means..

Flamini: "Gimmie more money".
    Wenger: "No."

Bad midfield today. Everton should be able to get something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

Galvasean wrote: »

Read on arsenal.com that Wenger has put Flamini's deadline back to Monday due to 'negotiation problems'. i think we all know what that means..

Flamini: "Gimmie more money".
    Wenger: "No."

Looks like he might be off to Milan.

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_3519560,00.html

I'd say what might be happening (and this is just random guessing) is that Wenger does want to keep him, but he's stuck within a strict wage system that the club employ.

That wage system has always been somewhat unrealistic in order for the club to maintain their competitive level. Like Flamini is one of the first central midfielders for the club, considerong Scholes is on probably on 80k a week, and Carrick and Hargreaves must be on at least 60-70k, you can see how Arsene is really fighting a very tough battle. Ballack, Essien and Lampard are all on over 100k. Gerrard is on at least 100k, and Mascherano can't be too far behind with his new contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

I read the other day that Phil Neville earns more than Fabregas.

Our wage structure will not change in the short to medium term, and we just have to accept that.The club could break the wage structure go out and spend millions on players and push the club further in debt, is that what supporters want? What will happen to Chelsea if Roman Abramovich left? Are Chelsea self sufficient? Supporters may not like it but it is important that clubs have a good financial balance sheet, as an Arsenal supporter I will be sorry to see Flamini go but I don't want him staying if that puts the club at financial risk. If we give in to his wage demands it will create unrest in the dressing room and more players will come knocking on the door saying welll if he is on £140k a week I want that. We have made further progress this season Flamini will be replaced and we will add to the squad where needed but in a prudent manner and I am happy with that as is the match day going fan.

keano_afc wrote: »
    I read the other day that Phil Neville earns more than Fabregas.

That would surprise me, do you have a link?

We have made further progress this season Flamini will be replaced and we will add to the squad where needed but in a prudent manner and I am happy with that as is the match day going fan.

Sorry, but Chelsea aren't self-sufficient, but United are. If you are the 2nd best midfielder in a top 4 club, you have to be paid at least 60k+. ffs, Wes Brown was demanding a 60k contract, and he probably got it, or close to it.

I doubt very much that Flamini is demanding 140k a week, but he's probably on peanuts right now, as he was signed as a young player.
    Phil Neville was on something like 55k when he left United, so I'd imagine he's on at least 70k now.

The club are in debt, no doubt, but the reason the wage structure isn't being broken isn't due to debt, it's due to profit margins.

PHB wrote: »
    Sorry, but Chelsea aren't self-sufficient, but United are. If you are the 2nd best midfielder in a top 4 club, you have to be paid at least 60k+. ffs, Wes Brown was demanding a 60k contract, and he probably got it, or close to it.

I doubt very much that Flamini is demanding 140k a week, but he's probably on peanuts right now, as he was signed as a young player.
    Phil Neville was on something like 55k when he left United, so I'd imagine he's on at least 70k now.

The club are in debt, no doubt, but the reason the wage structure isn't being broken isn't due to debt, it's due to profit margins.

That was my point Chelsea are not, Arsenal have a debt of approx £360m which has to be paid. None of us know what Flamini wanted but obviously it was too much for the club.I am sure he was offered a generous amount but he can earn more by going to Italy and if that is what is important to him good luck to him. That is the clubs policy and as I have said it is one that I am happy with.

As a matter of interest what is utds current debt situation.

I missed the end of the game. I see Lehmann came on on 77 minutes. What was the reason for that?

Galvasean wrote: »
    I missed the end of the game. I see Lehmann came on on 77 minutes. What was the reason for that?

Last game for the Great German.