IL Trap Press Conference

123457»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

Theres a short video on breakingnews.ie if thats any good to ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

shane86 wrote: »
    Im delighted, and for the first time in years quietly confident. Think we got the better Italian over the English. Capello was on again last week, ffs he still cant even speak enough English to get by a short interview. (and by enough I mean he didnt actually speak any English :confused: )

Capello can speak decent English, he just refuses to in front of the media because he was set up in Spain by a few club officials at Real which led to him saying some highly insulting things about Torres apparently (they exploited his low vocabulary and fed him derogatory terms when he was looking for footballing ones). at least that's what he says himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,149 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

The highlight of the whole conference for me was when the Cork lad was asked to repeat his question. It was the only time during the whole thing that the translator had to translate a whole sentence!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AHzHTeVgK1s - interview with Eircom.net

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7LZCeinsmyo - short of the press conference

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wk28mwc5hlE - Trap arrives at press conference & Johnny D tries to kiss him - rejected!!! @ 0:14

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

The Herald got some interesting quotes from Trap this morning. He said that after watching the DVD's of Ireland games, McGeady is the player that impressed him the most. His age and determination to succeed is in his favour. He said he was an old fashioned player. There's a bit more to it if anyone has the quotes.

Pity himself and O'Dea will miss the training camp and Serbia game because of Rangers winning last night. McGeady said a couple of months ago that he'd pull out of the Celtic squad if they had a post season friendly in Japan because he wanted to play join up with the Ireland squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

jameshayes wrote: »
    Trap arrives at press conference & Johnny D tries to kiss him - rejected!!! @ 0:14
    Awkward :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Capello can speak decent English, he just refuses to in front of the media because he was set up in Spain by a few club officials at Real which led to him saying some highly insulting things about Torres apparently (they exploited his low vocabulary and fed him derogatory terms when he was looking for footballing ones). at least that's what he says himself.

Id nearly rather Stan back than this overhyped clown.

Mark my words, the British tabloid knives will be out by the February qualifiers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

eirebhoy wrote: »
    Pity himself and O'Dea will miss the training camp and Serbia game because of Rangers winning last night. McGeady said a couple of months ago that he'd pull out of the Celtic squad if they had a post season friendly in Japan because he wanted to play join up with the Ireland squad.
    Will he be available for the Columbia game?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

Very snappy suit Mr. Trappatoni

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Mark my words, the British tabloid knives will be out by the February qualifiers.

Just shows how much you know about football. **** the british tabloids! Who gives a **** about them except people too stupid to read the broadsheets?

Trap is a gentleman and a very good manager. His only weak point is his penchant for holy water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

cheers lads, just watched it on you tube now

wasn't even aware he was doing a press conference untill i seen this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

Very impressed with his grasp of english. Didnt realise Frank Stapelton was on the coaching staff.

Just shows how much you know about football. **** the british tabloids! Who gives a **** about them except people too stupid to read the broadsheets?

:pac: :pac:

I personally dont care what they say.

However, he is another Van Basten, he lets petty vendetta and personal grudges get in the way, and Id hate if we had got him.

But as said about Trap, tbh the hairs on my neck went up when he was speaking :p Have a great feeling about this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Ye see the rags criticising him because he's back in Italy this weekend and not over watching the Irish players in the EPL :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

you on about Trappatoni or Capello?

Capello. Overrated.

Just to clear that one up :) Trap is the business, Ive a good feeling about it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

jameshayes wrote: »
    Johnny D tries to kiss him
    Always suspected Delaney had more in common with Oscar Wilde than just looks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Delaney's a writer too? :eek: