Do you like your name?

• 30-04-2008 10:43PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭

Just curious, and if not, what would you like to be called?. Alan is an -ok- male name. My Mum said that had I been a girl , I'd have been Olga.....which would have upset me!

Regards
    A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,664 ✭✭✭✭cson

More of an AH thread than a LL one?

FTR, I hate the fact that my parents only had to open up page one of the big book of baby names to pull out 'Paul'. Fecking non-creative feckers. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

I think my name is quite nice, but I'm not sure if it suits me.

I don't know if I've ever really felt like a Christine.

I think I would have preferred something a bit more old fashioned, like Evelyn. Suppose it's too late now though :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭DJ_Spider

+1 for the Paul name! Apparently I was named by my sister who was in love with paul newman at the time, but her excuse was that it can't be shortened! As I was adopted, my adoptive parents decided to keep the name my birth mother would have called me. But that is a closely guarded secret and if I told you I would have to kill you! :p

I have always wondered if I had a more common name that could be shortened like robert, patrick, david, or michael. Maybe because mine can't!

My name is awful but I love it because my parents gave it to me, and so I can't imagine having another.
    I think Blase is the best name ever for a boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I love my name, i'm David, but it's shortened to Dave. i'm only called David when i'm in trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Two of the best guy's names ever:

batman-suparman-02a.jpg

1511153760_3e41b28a33_o.jpg

We used to knock great craic out of ringing up all the William and Richard Powers we could find in the phonebook and asking them if they'd allow their name to be used in an Adult movie :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

I like my name. Jeremiah's got a good puritanical Old Testement feel to it. I'm from a loooong line of Jeremiah's on my father's side of the family. It used to be more common in Ireland and the USA years ago, but not so much now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

Definately a AH thread. Over you go so!

Jules

Allotta Fagina ftw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

S'okay I guess. My name is Brian btw. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I hate my name. Not only do I hate it (its actually my middle name), but it was what my Dad was called when he was younger, and he hated it so much that changed it (kinda - more like an official alias). Why my parents called me it is beyond me.

Now I have 3 names (well, 4. another is just an abbreviation). They consist of my first name (used since I started college, used by friends through college), my middle name (used since forever - only used by old school friends and drinking friends) and the same name that my Dad changed his to (used by friends, family, and friends of family).

The situation is pretty damn confusing whenever members of the above groups meet each other and refer to me under different names, but I have a pretty good head start when it comes to credit card fraud

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭wordofmouth

I'm happy with mine to be honest you could do worse then Tom..
    Course i could do Better!
    Dr. Steel would be pretty cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Liam. It's alright, too many people call me Leeeeem though. Backwards f*ckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭deaddonkey

not a fan of John

some people call me donk though

which is cool :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭bleg

RedXIV wrote: »
    I love my name, i'm David, but it's shortened to Dave. i'm only called David when i'm in trouble

but i'm called dathai too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

I love my name because the other option was Emmet which is totally Gay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭smellybiker

Worst name in history - Noelle - and i've got it. there are too many reasons why this name is the worst ever. like when people so imaginatively spell it - nowell, noel (no that's the male version you plonk), nowel, noele oh there's too many to mension. or every xmas, you always get not just one or two people but about twenty singing THAT song --- AS IF NO ONE HAS EVER THOUGHT OF SINGING THAT SONG TO ME BEFORE!! what i really hate though is when people don't know how to pronounce it - it's 2 bloody syllables - no and elle but some ejits say norell or worse still noeleen which sounds and is spelt completely different.

i've always wanted to be called anne for some reason - plain and simple - no complications (or songs attached)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

RonMexico wrote: »
    I love my name because the other option was Emmet which is totally Gay

LOL :D

My name is Amy. My mother pulled it from The A Team apparently.

I like it, except when people "shorten" it to aims, amis or aimsey. You're not shortening it sunshine! :mad::rolleyes:

All the same, I can't imagine being called anything else, nor would I want to be. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Worst name in history - Noelle - and i've got it. there are too many reasons why this name is the worst ever. like when people so imaginatively spell it - nowell, noel (no that's the male version you plonk), nowel, noele oh there's too many to mension. or every xmas, you always get not just one or two people but about twenty singing THAT song --- AS IF NO ONE HAS EVER THOUGHT OF SINGING THAT SONG TO ME BEFORE!! what i really hate though is when people don't know how to pronounce it - it's 2 bloody syllables - no and elle but some ejits say norell or worse still noeleen which sounds and is spelt completely different.

i've always wanted to be called anne for some reason - plain and simple - no complications (or songs attached)
    I'm guessing you were born around Christmas with that name? I know a Christina that was born on christmas day, and 2 Stephens that were born on stephen's day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Don't mind it really, except people always spell it -aeme, bah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 happyface

sometimes i like my name and others i don't. its really easy to remember but its annoying cos of the jokes involved, I mean Paddy English what were my parents thinking???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Ruairí, delighted with it. Except it gets spelled Rory too often. "No, its R-u-a.."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Richard, which is grand imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Run faster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Mine's Neil. Quite happy with it through school as there was no one else with it. Then I went to college and there were three other feckers called Neil in the same class! Now I know how the Davids/Johns/Pauls of the world feel.

Max Power ftw though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Mark

Plain, simple, yet I'm quite fond of it! Started meeting a lot of other Mark's recently though - before I was the only one and felt bad for the four David's in my class...

🤪

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Jigsaw wrote: »
    Richard, which is grand imo.

Like another poster said, I'm only ever called Richard when I'm in trouble/herself is píssed at me.

Not too common a name either which is nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Texas Red

Don't really mind my name being Richard ( everyone calls me Rick ) .... but Angus has a really nice ring to it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

rb_ie wrote: »

Like another poster said, I'm only ever called Richard when I'm in trouble/herself is píssed at me.

Not too common a name either which is nice.

You're Dick?

This explains much :D