Isnt Ireland Filthy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

I was in Paris this weekend, came home Sunday and headed into town on Monday morning. I knew Dublin was filthy but jesus christ I didn't really how bad it was. Its a disgrace. Seems to be a combination of irish apathy and folk not doing there work properly.

EDIT: Meant to say as well its not just litter making the place look awful, I have noticed lately when they dig up the roads they just throw tar over it and leave it like that, so the roads look crap as your going along, concrete, tar, concrete, tar etc. Awful. Things should be done properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

It makes me livid to see parents encouraging their kids to throw their wrappers on the ground!!! Jeees!!!!!!! If I did that as a kid, I would have had a swift boot up the backside ... and rightly so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,001 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I live in the countryside and the amount of litter **** that throw out of their cars its just UNBELIEVABLE.

What annoys me even more is that the vast amount of traffic on these roads near me are either nature walkers (I live near Glendalough) or locals...WTF???

I've been all over Europe and utterly no question - Ireland is the most littered nation by a mile, except maybe parts of Norn Ireland ironically.
    Its disgusting and something I really would applaud the Green's if they introduced serious fines or name and shaming of idiot scumbags caught littering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Reesy

Hi, one reason the country is still so dirty is that people (some posters here included, it seems) don't report tippers to the authorities or challenge litterers. I reported one fly-tipper to the council person who told me that she'd recently prosecuted a Garda for littering!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

ART6 wrote: »
    I have a friend who, some time ago, saw a passing car passenger toss half consumed fast food and packaging out of the window. When the car stopped at the traffic lights my friend toosed the lot in the window with the remark "I think ye droppped this?" I've always admired his neck!

My other half always does things like that - chasing after peole who litter to tell them they dropped something & once threw the rubbish in the window of a car. The shocked faces are priceless.
    The thing that annoys me the most are cigarette butts - the roads are full of them. And quite often right beside bins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

I saw a lad walking through a fairly busy town recently, he dropped some rubbish and a Traffic Warden who saw him from across the road, let a roar at him to pick it up. The lad was mortified, as the warden stood over him as he picked it up and put it in the nearby bin.

Fair play to the Warden.

I smoke, and as you can't smoke ANYWHERE, except outside, it would be great if there were more of the wall mounted ashtrays around. If I'm stuck I'll try to find a drain to chuck it down, but thats not right either. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Phantasm

I hail from one of Ireland's tidiest towns, thank you very much :cool:

[/elvis]

But seriously, every country has their share of dirty towns, no?
    I wouldn't say we're too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,187 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I go out hunting in the hills and find rubbish, some of it the type that doesn't blow in the wind, a mile from the nearest dirt track, never mind a proper road.
    Ireland is a disgrace. A certain country i've been in has roads you could eat off, they also cane people. Coincidence? I think not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 64 ✭✭adam.number2

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

No
    Excellent first post. Is this in response to the thread title of the previous post?

Ireland is mank, as people are not educated/brought up to respect themselves, their fellow countrymen, non-fellow country man, animals, their surroundings...... you see where I'm going. Also not strict enough when it comes to punnishing those who get out of line!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,308 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

f*ck em. Let them cycle in England.

Yup.

It's the pikeys down my way, country road splitting our land has become a tip since the caravans arrived about two years.

The oul lad rang the council about bags bumped over our ditch and they threatened to prosecute him for littering if he didn't remove them.:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Littering drives me insane. Recently, I had murder with 3 scumbags who were eating McDonalds in their car and dumped the remnants out the car window which was about 2 feet from the bin. I marched over like a crazy bitch and asked them why they couldn't walk to the bin. They told me to fuck off and I stood there and said if you don't put that in the bin Im gonna do something I will seriously regret. Unbelievably, they apologised and put their rubbish in the bin.:rolleyes:Its just pure laziness..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Manufacturers should design packaging that would look nice as litter tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

simu wrote: »
    Manufacturers should design packaging that would look nice as litter tbh.

now thats what i call thinking outside the box lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

Phaetonman wrote: »
    Its not filthy. You should visit more countries if you think Ireland is filthy.

Living in denial?

what other countries are you thinking of?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

I have a lane at the back of my house which we own which is not being used but the other day I saw a neighbour of mine dumping stuff there.
    Well it wasnt my neighbour he had paid for some Polish guys to dump it for him.
    So I went over and asked him what the hell he was doing and he said he was dumping his stuff there because no one used the lane.
    I told him it was illegal no matter where he dumped it and I told him to move it quickly because it was my property.
    The cheek of people though they think they can get away with it when people are not looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭robototitico

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Napoli

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 TheBouldNaoise

Ireland is a dump - no country beats us for lack of civil pride. Major embarrassment driving around the west recently with friends from abroad. The country is a so manky that we don't even notice anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

one thing that p*sses me off is people that throw bags of rubbish next to bottle banks WTF they know full well that its not supposed to go there and that no c*nt is going to pick it up for them.
    also when you drive out to the countryside and some bol*ox has hoofed a mattress or washing machine into the ditch:mad:
    Touristwise this country has got two things going for it: the countryside(and we fck litter everywhere) and the fabled irish welcome..... no wonder people are going elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭legendal

stevoman wrote: »
    here's a pic of carlow i got from the internet. typical of every town in ireland.
    To be fair, and this town has many problems trust me, litter isn't a big problem in Carlow. That picture isn't representative of what Carlow's like, if you saw an empty bag of crisps on the street here it would stand out because of how clean the place is generally. If only every other problem in Carlow was as well-dealt with... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Chicken Run

It's because you have to pay to go to the tip now - even taking your recycling it's €4.50 just to go in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Ireland is disgustingly filthy.

Waterford city after the clubs have closed is reminicent of Third world country rubbish standards. Its shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

Ireland is disgustingly filthy.

Waterford city after the clubs have closed is reminicent of Third world country rubbish standards. Its shocking.

to be fair ,im from that city and it is bad.the reason it looks bad is cause all the pubs and fast food places are close together in a small square area,everything tends to be thrown there.but its always sparkling the next morning thanks to the lads from the coperations efforts.but yeah ,the town is full of idiots who think its alright to litter.

as one other poster pointed out ,he/shes travelled alot.so have i , and i have to agree ,ireland is the worst country for littering ever,i was in denmark a few weeks ago ,and i couldnt spot one scrap of litter on the ground,fair play to them,its all about the pride.

put it this way ,i nearly gave my mate a smack a few weeks ago ,couldnt believe he was so stupid and ignorant,i was looking at him in disbelief, was driving up to dublin and he was eating a roll/sandwich when he was finished he threw the wrapper out the window.i was like what the fcuk,wait till we stop and put it in a bin.his excuse?ah sure its only the countryside. i gave him a rollocking and turned around and made him pick it up,fcuks sake,have a bit of pride in YOUR country will ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

Wook wrote: »
    Living in denial?

what other countries are you thinking of?

Italy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I hate people who litter, it is so unnecessary. However I have seen worse. The US for instance, I have never been to New york as the OP has but I know it is filthy because my wife is American. Oh sure the main areas like Manhatten will be clean but outside will probably not be.
    chicago is the same, that is a city I spend a lot of time in and the main downtown loop and areas like that are very clean BUT when you leave those areas it becomes just like Dublin and often worse.

There is a LOT of trash on American highways and interstates.

I am not defending out dirty people but it is not as bad as people say and I remember it being much worse.

Apart from getting people to take pride, we need more gardai, litter wardens and bins on the street and the bins need to be actually emptied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Montreal was worse than Dublin for litter. A lot of homeless people on the streets too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Sadly, the majority of the opinions expressed in this thread are very true. Ireland is filthy. Though, I do disagree with one poster who said that Dublin City Centre was the dirtiest. It really isn't. The council workers keep it fairly tidy, with street sweepers and regularly emptying the bins around the city. I know it's still not tidy to the standard of other European cities but it's a damn sight better than other Irish towns and cities. I travel all over the country and the two filthiest places I've seen are Clonmel and Waterford City. And the one thing that's struck me about each place is the fact that you don't see street sweeping machines or council workers out cleaning the place up. (though I imagine it must be done occasionally) Kilkenny is relatively tidy, Mayo and Galway are pretty nice too. And Limerick and Cork aren't in too bad of a state either but Dublin certainly isn't worse than any of them.

As for rural, countryside ditch dumping, I think this happens everywhere sadly. People who throw rubbish out of car windows are filthy, dirty pr!cks. Littering actually makes my skin crawl. I can't believe it when I see people blatantly drop their rubbish on the ground. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 dennisc24

Italy.

I have to agree, Italy is absolutely filthy. I was completely shocked by it!! The whole country is rotten. Drive through Slovenia which is like a litter-free Utopia, and then cross the border into Italy and 50m in, your eyes are just in shock. That's just the countryside like. But the suburbs of cities are full of litter too - they seem to keep on top of it in the city centres for the tourists. And the Italians seem to have some fascination with grafitti over there. It's everywhere, and some is quite good :pac: but not much of it.

One thing about Ireland's roads that make the countrysides look so dirty (the cities have no excuse) is the fact that we have ditches everywhere. Someone throws their rubbish out the window of the car and the wind blows it into the ditch and it stays there. On mainland Europe, there are almost no ditches, just road then field. So if they do throw rubbish out the window, the wind just blows it across the field. I've noticed in the few places that have ditches, there is rubbish stuck in them. So it's not just Ireland that has this disgusting habit (though more of us may have it than elsewhere), but the ditches do highlight it a lot more. Although nowhere else have I seen the phenomenon of a forest furnished with washing machines, matresses and black bags. That's just sick. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

Phaetonman wrote: »
    Its not filthy. You should visit more countries if you think Ireland is filthy.

And with this attitude, towns will never be clean. There's no use comparing towns and cities to Kolkata, then giving ourselves a pat on the back.