Irish Sayings!! Please Add your favourites...

• 17-04-2008 10:59AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29

Thought it migt be interesting to start a thread on our favourite sayings/proverbs etc.... heres a few to get the ball rolling..

When talking about a farmer ahving lots of land he replied....

"Lots of land..?? What grass I have is not the wiping twice of a lads ar*e"!!!

When talking about someone who likes a drop of porter..

"He'd drink it outta the hollow of a cow sh*t"!

When dying from a hangover..

"Im as sick as a plane to Lourdes"!

Come on.....add yer favourites...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,595 ✭✭✭patmac

May the curse of Mary Malone and her 9 blind illegitimate children chase you so far across the hills of damnation that the good Lord himself won't be able to see you without the aid of a telescope. (tis a saying like not personal abuse)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭randombar

If brains were chocolate his wouldnt fill a smarty!

I have a mouth like ghandi's flip flop

I'm as sick as a small hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

2 of my favourites :

That lad is about as sharp as a golf ball !!

The tide wouldn't take her out !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭NeVeR

When people say "Thats Deadly" meaning good/great....

I used that while working in Canada.. They didnt have a clue what i was on about.. they thought the thing i was talking about was harmful when i used the word "Deadly"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭h57xiucj2z946q

ask me bollix

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Man in reference to women they find unattractive

I wouldn't touch her with yours

If I had a garden full of mickeys I wouldn't let her look over the wall

She has a face like a melted welly

She has a face like a jigsaw

Oh and this one I just saw in afterhours
    she has a fanny like a wizard's sleave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

A girl playing match maker for her shy friend:

"Heeere yun'fella, will ye mee' hurrr?"

It just oozes class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,524 ✭✭✭Homer

Can't believe no one has got in with "Yore Ma" yet :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

A thread like this pops up every few months....i love em. It is interesting to note though that many of the phrases suggested are about as irish as a strawberry daquiri !

"I wouldn't touch her with yours" / "I have a mouth like ghandi's flip flop" / "That lad is about as sharp as a golf ball"

Don't get me wrong..i like them...i use them, but specifically Irish ? No.

It's the real irish one which are by far the most interesting !

Let the abuse begin.....

I am pie wrote: »
    A thread like this pops up every few months....i love em. It is interesting to note though that many of the phrases suggested are about as irish as a strawberry daquiri !

"I wouldn't touch her with yours" / "I have a mouth like ghandi's flip flop" / "That lad is about as sharp as a golf ball"

Don't get me wrong..i like them...i use them, but specifically Irish ? No.

It's the real irish one which are by far the most interesting !

Let the abuse begin.....

Ah away and feck off with yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭DubArk

They’ve a face on them like a boiled bucket of Sh*te! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 TradLad

Keep em coming folks, would like to gather a collection of Irish Sayings...all are funny but aiming specifically at Irish ones... Like the "Yun Fella, Will ya meee huuurrrr" Class!!! Can see a farmers daughter with welly makes below her knee blushing fiercely at the parish hall disco!!! Keep em coming................................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭dvega

What about me wantin to kiss you

I swear on my uncle micks photo

A lad asking his friend about his previous night's escapades with the young lady he took home:

"So did ye get yore hole or wha'?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Boys on a night out:
    "id do her anyday"
    "jeez id ride that one sideways"

On sex:
    "rode her raw"
    "dropped it in her"
    "dropped the paw"

Abusive:
    "go feck yourself"
    "sher youre nothin but a bollocks anyway"

In general:
    calling people "boss"
    calling girls "young1s" and boys "youngfellas"
    Describing people as "you know sher, your-one with the _______"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Would you look at the head of your wan and the price of turnips.

You can go and have a hard sh1t for yourself.

I will in me bollix.

I must have a shower, sh1t and a shave. Not recomended

A lady with ill-fitting panties:

"Me nickers are ridin' me"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,147 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

"He's so tight he'd peel an orange in his pocket"

"A loada me hoop"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

On an ugly bird

Wouldnt ride her into battle

The south armagh sniper wouldnt take her out

If i had a box o cocks i wouldnt give her one

On an unlucky suitor
    If ya fell into a bucket o tits you'd come up sucking your thumb

On some one with big teeth:

He'd thin turnips through a tennis racket

He'd eat an apple through a letter box!

On meaness:

He wouldnt give his sh*t to the crows

He wouldnt give you the steam off his p*ss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

'As tight as a ducks arse'

'As rough as a goats hole'

On riding an ugly bird your excuse is:
    'You don't look at the mantlepiece when you're pokin the fire'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Get up the yard, there's a smell of Benjy off ya.

On a lad who fancies himself:
    Sure you'd be a horse of a man if you could sleep standing.
    or
    Sure you'd be a horse of a man if you could sh1te walking.

On a person who is gravely ill:

He's dead only to stiffen!

Someone who is not strong:

He's as weak (wake) as a June robin!

On a fella who is well endowed:

He could beat (bate) asses out of a quarry with it!

On some one who is small and fat (barrell-like)

If he wore wellingtons they'd cut the ar*e off him!

Some one who is mean:

He'd live in yer ear!

On someone large:

He's as big sitting as he is standing!

On someone taken after a parent/aunt/uncle/relative (typically when its an undesirable trait):

He didn't lick that off the grass!!

Keep em coming folks!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭dak

" Thats a holy Terror "

" Ah Jakers "

" That Fierce"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

"Would ya ever ask the butt end of me bollix" - in other words NO.

Out of me tits - drunk plus the rest.

this was mentioned similarly above. My granny said this to my mother about me one day when I was feeling ill.

"Sure look at him. He's the colour of a boiled sh i te so he is"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

"tell the truth and shame the divill"
    "the head on him and the price of turnips"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

" she has a face like a badgers arse"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

"Well Holy God"
    "You've a face on ya like a wet week"
    "May the devil scald ya"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭do you love it?

"it was like throwing a sausage up o connell st!"