D4 Slang

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭board om

Cool_CM wrote: »
    I refuse to associate with anybody who uses the term "Joe Maxi"

this didnt originate in D4 either. this was a skanger term about 15 years ago that is now used by anyone, not strcitly D4.

the same with tobler, that was a scanger term years ago as well, now its a free for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,162 ✭✭✭BKtje

Guess you and i will never associate so. I've been known to call it that.

Infact i've used most of the words in this thread at some point or another but never really commonly. A lot of the time i use it to half take the piss.

Meh, either way it doesnt bother me what anyone thinks of the way i do or don't speak.

(some of the things said here are hilarious though and i've never even heard, must find a way to use em ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

biko wrote: »
    Never heard of those

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,575 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Fanny **** wrote: »
    Btw so much sh!te you hear wannabe D4's spouting is not D4 or Dublin, most of it I've heard years ago and heard it for the first time either in England or on English TV. Dublin rhyming slang? WTF, all it is is robbed from Cockneys, D4 rhyming slang = cockney rhyming slang but with more soggy biscuit

nail, head etc.

What FW said coupled with too much american californian spoiled beverly hills rich kid television.

its s bd s txt spk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭dumbyearbook

Cockney rhyming slang originates from the East end of London,
    funnily enough many of those who spoke it were of Irish origin
    and used it as a form of underclass code when speaking in front
    of their employers or the police. It's more Irish than you may think.

As a south Dubliner, I've a right pain in my Davinas listening to some
    of the whingers on this thread - there are some James Blunts
    who should trot back to the bog or their council estates. :)

I went to a boarding school in the west of Ireland (SJC tuam) in a town famed for its high propotion of travellers ( the town now not the boarding school....) and there was loads of slang that was straight from travellers and how they talk so its kinda like the D4s copying the west end poor of London and dressing it up as a sort of cool- was the same in school.

Oh the irony of these parents sending their kids off to school only for them to return speaking like a traveller.

Words included.......some are just normal all over the country some are'nt though

'Jills' - ones integrity ' Hes buzzin off your giles ' = he is taking the pi** outta you

'Chise' - Nothing
    'Lush' - beer
    'Redies' = Money
    'Scan' - dude
    'Shades' - Gardai
    'Jammer' - car
    'Duke' Poket on a pool table
    'Blowhorn' = CB radio
    'Steam' - banter/crack
    'Steamers' - a cig
    'Budgie' - girlfriend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

'Chise' - Nothing
    'Lush' - beer
    'Redies' = Money
    'Scan' - dude
    'Shades' - Gardai
    'Jammer' - car
    'Blowhorn' = CB radio
    'Steam' - banter/crack
    'Steamers' - a cig
    'Budgie' - girlfriend

Apart from jam jar for car, never heard any of the above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Dudess wrote: »
    It's not a word I'd use unless I had really, really good reason to do so.
    Agreed, ladies can call a c*nt a c*nt, but as it sounds harsher from a lady, be sure it actually is a c*nt you're referring to, don't use it lightly dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭sinlessgunner

I don't know about the slang as such but I work in Dun Laoghaire (I know, not very posh) but I get the bus and theres always orange blonde idiots on it with Uggs on going "OH MY GOD! That guy was like soooo hawt. Do you remember him Lorna? OH MY GOD I can't believe you don't like remember him....he was on the dorsh (dart) from Blackrock and he was like sooo checking me out......" and similar conversations.

At this point my blood boils over and I stick some death metal in my ears to soothe the pain ha! It's the stupid fake American accent that drives me insane. Slang doesn't bother me except for the odd OTT saying but that bloody accent.........:mad:

'Chise' - Nothing
    'Lush' - beer
    'Redies' = Money
    'Scan' - dude
    'Shades' - Gardai
    'Jammer' - car
    'Blowhorn' = CB radio
    'Steam' - banter/crack
    'Steamers' - a cig
    'Budgie' - girlfriend

Heard most of these in Limerick, not in D4

Think you're a bit confused as to where D4 is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Agreed, ladies can call a c*nt a c*nt, but as it sounds harsher from a lady, be sure it actually is a c*nt you're referring to, don't use it lightly dude
    Absolutely. I don't care how un-PC I'm being: swearing sounds worse from women. I only swear when it's really warranted, in particular when it comes to the c-word. That said, I think it's silly to get offended by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Dudess wrote: »
    Absolutely. I don't care how un-PC I'm being: swearing sounds worse from women. I only swear when it's really warranted, in particular when it comes to the c-word. That said, I think it's silly to get offended by it.
    thats right yeh

stevec wrote: »
    Heard most of these in Limerick, not in D4

Think you're a bit confused as to where D4 is.

eh read my post (first bit)....there galway sayings from my experience, i know some are used around the country, PS i know where D4 is ive lived D4 and now D18 too thanks. Born south side as it happens (im from mayo though.)

(PPS I was just posting on the irony of the london-slang and D4 slang v the Tuam thing and the travelllers slang! Your playin catch up sunshine :rolleyes: )

eh read my post (first bit)....there galway sayings from my experience, i know some are used around the country, PS i know where D4 is ive lived D4 and now D18 too thanks. Born south side as it happens (im from mayo though.)

(PPS I was just posting on the irony of the london-slang and D4 slang v the Tuam thing and the travelllers slang! Your playin catch up sunshine :rolleyes: )

Sorry, my bad - I actually agree with what you posted

My fingers, however, felt they had to disagree due to too many pints in the system and therefore somehow caused that reply to appear:rolleyes:

apologies:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭johnp

board om wrote: »
    none of these are american or D4. they are just sayings people use, and pretty crap sayings. 'tobler' has been around for years and it definitly didnt start with D4 or wannabe amercians, it was actually a scanger saying years ago. the rest of them are just realy, really crap attempts at cockney rhyming.

i think these would be the correct D4 terms for those sayings:
    to be alone - on your lonesome.
    beers - would be Lager or Bruskies.
    luas - would actually be the Dart becuase the luas doesnt go anywhere near D4.
    mortified - would still be mortified, becuase it is a D4 saying itself. leave 'scarlet' to the scangers.
    carlsberg - who drinks carlsberg in D4?
    Heineken - Heino or Heinys

I know this is a lighthearted thread, but the Luas goes pretty damned close to D4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

...so its kinda like the D4s copying the west end poor of London...

I presume you meant "East-end"...

Also, there's no "kinda" about it... That's exactly what it is...

what about caalling money 'wedge' or 'benjamins'? i know 'benejamins' would obviously be more american but what about 'wedge'? is that used anyway outside D4?

by the way 'jam jar' as car is another old knacker saying that has progressed over the years to D4 slang. along with 'joe maxi'.

johnp wrote: »
    I know this is a lighthearted thread, but the Luas goes pretty damned close to D4.

yeah, but not close enough to be associated with D4. the nearest stop is a fair old walk away. if someone asked you how to get to D4 you wouldnt point them in the direction of the Luas. (well not unless they were american tourists and you were trying to get them lost on purpose so you decied to send them to tallaght instead). on the other hand the dart goes right through D4. so i will stand by my original statement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭Duffman

Cool_CM wrote: »

On a related note: from http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/04/11/cab_innit/
    London teen orders 'cab, innit'

Retail display supplier duly obliges
    Published Friday 11th April 2008 07:46 GMT

A 19-year-old Saaarf London girl has been advised to use the Queen's English on the phone after her hunt for a cab to whisk her to Bristol airport ended less than satisfactorily.

According to the Daily Mail, the unnamed teen rang directory enquiries two weeks ago and initially requested a number for a "Joe Baxi" firm. The nonplussed operator told her she couldn't find anyone by that name, to which the lass replied: “It ain’t a person, it’s a cab, innit.”

The enlightened operator duly put her through to Bishop’s Stortford-based retail display supplier Displaysense, where she "spoke to an equally bemused saleswoman" before thundering: “Look love, how hard is it? All I want is your cheapest cab, innit. I need it for 10am. How much is it?”

The answer was £180, and with the deal done by credit card, Displaysense obliged by delivering a display cabinet to her door the next morning.

Cue second phone chat with Displaysense. The company's marketing manager, Steve Whittle, recounted: "We thought it was a joke at first but the girl was absolutely livid. Because she spoke in 'Ali G' style slang, her order was mixed up somewhat. She was absolutely baffled as to why she had a big glass display cabinet delivered outside her house, when all she wanted was a taxi to take her on holiday.

"We apologised and gladly offered the young lady a refund on the display unit she received and suggested that maybe she should speak a bit clearer on the phone."

Whittle concluded: "We still don't know if she made it to the airport on time but she did ask our delivery driver if he could give her a lift."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

'Jills' - ones integrity ' Hes buzzin off your giles ' = he is taking the pi** outta you

'Chise' - Nothing
    'Lush' - beer
    'Redies' = Money
    'Scan' - dude
    'Shades' - Gardai
    'Jammer' - car
    'Blowhorn' = CB radio
    'Steam' - banter/crack
    'Steamers' - a cig
    'Budgie' - girlfriend

HAHAHA whos this dude??? :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭aliqueenb

Irishcrx wrote: »
    Is that what that means, I had this said before at some studid south side party and i'd no idea what the hell she was on about....bitch...
    awwwwwwwwwh that is mean, i feel sorry for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

aliqueenb wrote: »
    awwwwwwwwwh that is mean, i feel sorry for you.

Because he dresses like a skanger?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭aliqueenb

no cos the girl, kinda harsh like no?

el_weirdo wrote: »
    I presume you meant "East-end"...

Also, there's no "kinda" about it... That's exactly what it is...

ya east end you get the point anyway sure the rest is just geography!

Sligo have slang too dont they?

'Shambeno' - middle class kid who acts like a skobie!

More slang from Tuam, 'OldQueen' = 'mother' i never really got that one always sounded odd!

Cheers steveC the boozy posts are the best sometimes:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

"OMG, seriously, i like actually DIED" - I had a cold

Johnny-Blue - 20 John Player Blue

ending every sentence with "No?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭peachesxcream

Haha ive heard daniel day and johnny blue...
    when i worked in a shop I actually got asked for €20 for the meteor dog and bone, I sh*t you not..! haha he sounded like such a prat!
    Lush and shades are used up here all the time (donegal..)