Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCU Gym

• 29-02-2008 11:54PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭

How much is it for a non student to become a meber? And any comments? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Depends on whether you're a graduate or not. Think it was around e450 for me as a former student. Found it difficult to get access to weights there so have bought some to use at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭hunter164

Thanks I'm not a graduate I'm 16 are the instructors good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭WhistlingDixie

DCU gym prices.

I'd say the instructors are good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Tbh, it's not worth it unless you have access to the elite gym. There's an overload of machines and a distinct lack of free weights. €540 plus the initial joining fee of €100 is pretty steep.

Are you involved in any sports clubs etc? If you are, maybe they could organise some sort of deal/already have something in place. Another option is to get yourself a chinning bar and a set of weights (like this one here or in Argos).

An Citeog wrote: »
    Tbh, it's not worth it unless you have access to the elite gym. There's an overload of machines and a distinct lack of free weights. €540 plus the initial joining fee of €100 is pretty steep.

Are you involved in any sports clubs etc? If you are, maybe they could organise some sort of deal/already have something in place. Another option is to get yourself a chinning bar and a set of weights (like this one here or in Argos).

I can't agree with you dude: the free weights are good - everything you need. The machines are good too.

"overload"??? If you mean that there are too few machines, I can't agree with you on that one either - people only take a minute to do a set, and when they rest you can ask them to get up to let you have a turn - gym ettiquitte (sp?).

I would however discourage anyone else from joining because it's nice and quiet as it is now, lol.

As for the price, well I agree with you that it's approaching expensive, but it does include a nice pool and steam/sauna rooms and a jacussi. As a student though, for 230 euro a year it's great value!

I can't agree with you dude: the free weights are good - everything you need. The machines are good too.

"overload"??? If you mean that there are too few machines, I can't agree with you on that one either - people only take a minute to do a set, and when they rest you can ask them to get up to let you have a turn - gym ettiquitte (sp?).

I would however discourage anyone else from joining because it's nice and quiet as it is now, lol.

As for the price, well I agree with you that it's approaching expensive, but it does include a nice pool and steam/sauna rooms and a jacussi. As a student though, for 230 euro a year it's great value!

No squat rack, no Olympic bars for deadlifting and plenty more faults. For the average person who goes in and does a bit of everything, it's grand but it's far from complete. The elite gym on the other hand, *drools*

Yeah, the lack of a squat rack is a huge thing alright, and I'm far from happy about that, but I make do with the smith machine for squatting (not ideal).

Regarding the deadlifts, can you not use the bars off the benches - are they not olympic bars? I thought they were! (20 kg like). If I was brave enough to do the deadlifts again (having tweaked my lower-back twice doing them before :eek:), I'd use them.

Yeah, I'd like to get into the elite gym too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

The purpose of the new gym was to get more of the ordinary gym users into it. As such it has always been more cardeo based. I don't think its something that it can be criticised over as anyone who joins should have noticed this.

Yeah the elite gym is a fantastic facility. It's been brought up here before so I won't get into it but if you're involved in any athletic type of club you can gain access through it.

I believe the op is too young to get access to elite gym anyway so theres no worries for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Evangelion

Donr join DCU gym, waste of money. It's mediocre at best. During exams when it's empty is ok.

Join Northwood in Santry, not that far from DCU, much cheaper, and an infinatly better facility. It is missing spin classes, but if your not looking for that, it's the best option.

AFAIK, the elite performance is restricted to atheletes who represent DCU, but also play at the highest level in their sport i.e. intercounty/international. Unless it's changed in the last 2 years

I play 16s hurling for Dublin would that get me in?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,942 ✭✭✭GavMan

hunter164 wrote: »

I think your age might hold you back.
    aside i think its for DCU students only

No squat rack
    Use the the bench press equipment like every other person in the world or the smiths machine as a last resort

no Olympic bars for deadlifting
    Any standard bar will do straight bar will do you.

TBH, i think you're nit picking at this stage. Off peak you have the run off the place and again any time after about 7.30pm. The swimming pool an excellent facility as is the jacuzzi and plunge pool. Dressing rooms are nice and well kept too.
    If your specific needs are better met in the elite gym, prove your worth to the sports club and the will give you access. All you need is a letter from a sports club saying your on the first team squad of the particular discipline and you'll get access.
    Anyone who suggests joining northwood is mental. Any of the Den Dunne outfits are notorious for being JAMMERS alot of the time.

nah all da dublin players use it n so do dubs minors so was jus wundrin

What's wrong with the youth of today with their f**king text-speak and weird spelling sh*t. FFS. :mad:

Sorry was in a rush

It's ok, I'm just a narky old man tonight, lol. Reminds me of my young-fella's msn conversations which drive me mad. He's 16 too so it must be the norm now.

Ye it's quicker

OK get your ass to DCU for a nice education after your Leaving dude, and use the elite gym when you're not busy scoring for the Dubs against the Culchies. lol

So anymore suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

Yep pretty sure theres an age limit. 18 iirc. The elite gym would prob be a bit overkill for a 16 year i would have thought but there are some feckin massive 16 year olds these days!

Why are you asking about the DCU gym out of curiosity? Local lad?

GavMan wrote: »
    TBH, i think you're nit picking at this stage. Off peak you have the run off the place and again any time after about 7.30pm. The swimming pool an excellent facility as is the jacuzzi and plunge pool. Dressing rooms are nice and well kept too.
    If your specific needs are better met in the elite gym, prove your worth to the sports club and the will give you access. All you need is a letter from a sports club saying your on the first team squad of the particular discipline and you'll get access.
    Anyone who suggests joining northwood is mental. Any of the Den Dunne outfits are notorious for being JAMMERS alot of the time.

I probably am, but I'm just echoing what's already been said in this thread.

Tbh, I've been studying abroad for the last year and a half or so, so haven't ever seen the plunge pool and the free weights usen't to be in the studio room.

Anyway, it's never really bothered me. Elite gym access ftw!;)

Ye DCU's the closest gym to me, easy to get to.

My suggestion would be to go into the gym and ask the staff. I'm pretty sure you're old enough to join and the worst they can do is say when you ask for elite gym access.

Ye I'm planning on getting membership for me 16th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

TBH, i think you're nit picking at this stage.

How is complaining about the fact that there's no squat rack and a severe lackage of olympic bars nit picking??

If you're any way into weights these are a must, I know they were the main reasons I didn't join.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

So has the DCU gym gotten any better?
    I'm thinking of joining it this year, the rubbish between the normal and elite gym though has me debating whether to join or not.
    Most likely gonna go back to playing american football so *might* be able to get access to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Have you ever had a look inside the elite gym Will?? I've seen pics of it before, it looks absolutely deadly!! I would be very jealous if you got access!!!

Nope not seen it, been on INTRA since March. When I go back will have a mooch about and ask to be shown around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Phillylad

I'm starting in dcu now on monday... Whats the story with getting into the gym... How much is the membership for the students.... Thanks

Reading the other posts may help, called research... might be required to do some in college dude :pac:

http://www.dcu.ie/dcusport/member_fees.shtml