When the ad doesnt work....

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Permanent TSB.... "30 grand in 3 hours". Jeeeze, it sounds like PTSB are dodgy or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Chunky Monkey

Ba da bum bum bum, I'm lovin' it :D

I don't have TV and don't listen to the radio so unless I go to the cinema I'm spared the languish :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭brousuka

stepbar wrote: »
    Permanent TSB.... "30 grand in 3 hours". Jeeeze, it sounds like PTSB are dodgy or something.

Yes, this once well respected financial institutions tenets are gone down the drain imo. Using a hood(and he was actually one) is f**king disgraceful. Their marketing company should be fired forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

I hate that Ad where the gorilla leaves a stinky dump in the jacks and they need protective gear to put in the toilet duck or whatever it is.

That AIB ad with the actor is a bit odd. Very irrisponsible of the bank to give a mortgage to a lad who advertised the fact that he might be out of work for a long time if he cant get an acting gig.

11890 ... most annoying twats on tv since Hector

Permanent TSB ... if you dont pay us back we'll get the Mafia on to you!

Spar Signature Sandwiches!!!! Nothing like the slop shoved into bread in my local Spar

Oh, and theres an ad I keep seeing in the cinema about how exciting a career as a Chartered Accountant is ...
    who are they trying to fool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭gucci

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    Spar Signature Sandwiches!!!! Nothing like the slop shoved into bread in my local Spar
    That will be €5.50 please sir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

gucci wrote: »
    That will be €5.50 please sir

WooHoo ... I get a discount :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,587 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Ba da bum bum bum, I'm lovin' it :D

I don't have TV and don't listen to the radio so unless I go to the cinema I'm spared the languish :)

The guy who came up with that jingle killed himself last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,587 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

brousuka wrote: »
    Yes, this once well respected financial institutions tenets are gone down the drain imo. Using a hood(and he was actually one) is f**king disgraceful. Their marketing company should be fired forever.

Jesus, it's only an ad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

For some reason that ad makes me feel ill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

that one where this middle-aged woman puts food and stuff in her handbag, and it becomes this gooey mess...Then she just empties it, and takes the handbag and walks away...
    It's disgusting (and I don't even know what it's for).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭KNS

The B of I add (i thinks it's B of I) where the students go into the bank looking to con money from the manager. The students are asking for loans but subtitles say what they really want the money for.

Student "I need money for books"
    Subtitles "I want a computer"

Then the girl that starts rhyming "....train tracks bling bling you know what I mean...."
    Subtitles "Money for holiday" or some other sh!te

Don't think it's aired anymore, thankfully

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

Tallaaaaaaaaght, Tallaght Ford.

Collie D wrote: »
    The guy who came up with that jingle killed himself last week

He probably got fed up of people singing it to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

Max_Damage wrote: »
    Whatever happened to those Power City ads with that obnoxious tool going on '9.99 tonight...'?

I really liked those ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭MOH

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    I like the ad but I always forget what the ad is for even while the AD is on...

There's an ad they always show on Sky during matches. Basically loads of old junk flying out of the sea. It's either for bottled water or Smirnoff, I can never remember which.
    11890 ... most annoying twats on tv since Hector
    And just a straight rip-off off the English 118 118 ads, but less funny. (Is it the same company over here, cos it's very similar!)

Those two tools who used to do the Lucozade ads before Lost on RTE. Don't know if they're still there, they (and RTE's inability to broadcast a program when advertised) drove me to Sky.

Tesco had quite an unintentionally funny one in some papers on Sunday, hitting back at Lidl by showing two receipts side by side proving that Tesco are cheaper. For a carefully selected basket of 12 or 14 things. By about 60 cents. And if you actually bothered to go through the list (I was bored) all but about 4 of the things are the exact same price on both anyway. Came across as a really deparate move on Tesco's part - quick! let's find the three things we're cheaper than Lidl on and pad it with a list of stuff that costs the same and hope that people don't see through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

faceman wrote: »
    AIB have an ad campaign at the moment, where they use their real customers to give their spiel on the (radio) ad about how AIB helped them get the loan they wanted so they could start a business, buy a car, build a house etc. (At the end of the ad a voice comments that the person in the ad received a fee from AIB for taking part)

Today i hear an AIB ad with some girl who wanted to buy a car. She goes to the garage and sees this mini. Its filthy but she wants it. She says the garage owner tells her that the car is only in that morning and they havent had a look at it yet to which she tells him she doesnt care and wants a sold sticker stuck on it.

She then says how great AIB are cos they gave her a loan that she wanted.

This ad had me in stitches. So basically this airhead brasser comes along, wants to buy a car without it being checked out and gives the impression she goes to the first bank that will give her a loan. And she thinks AIB are great for that???

Anyway, it wouldnt inspire me to get a loan with AIB!!

So what ads dont work for you? What ads put you off buying the product?

I detest that AIB ad with that little bender actor lad, "doing what a love and a place to call my own, ye know!" Would love to thump the head off that lad.

The car loan ad would be aimed at knackers. They wouldn't be so aware of car loans from banks, and would think that the car-salesman is doing them a favour by setting them up on a finance plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Any crap ad on the radio for a "prestige" car.

They always yap about how successful you are, how prestigious the car is, great engineering, then shiny wheels, leather comfy seats!, not a word about the engine or anything german cars are famed for.

Just big up the image of a pompous twat in a pricey car who doesnt know why the thing costs so much, just that it does.

"Oh look 17 inch alloys! Leather!" Micras have that ****e dip****.

vorsprung durch benz prescision pricey i'm rich. < typical sods that buy for the pricetag nothing else, those cars are wasted on those idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Matt Santos

That frickin Carlsberg add!!
    "Do something Irish!"
    That little black haird fcukpig that eventually comes out with the quotes turns my stomach! The first "whu!" he comes out with while at the bar so reminds me of a person that I would just enjoy seeing gettin his cum-uppence...........
    AAAAGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!:mad:

A Guinness poster I saw once, advertising their clothes. A blonde woman has Guinness t-shirt on with the slogan, "black goes with everything" (or some-sort), and beside her stands a black dude with his arm around her.

Don't think it works all that much. Doesn't make me want to date a black fella whatsoever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭Tragamin2k2

noyeks newmans... ads that take well known songs and changes them slightly and put there own lyrics in...ugh..

OR that eircom ad a few years ago. 1 cent for 1 minute, 2 cent for 2 minutes, 3 cent for 3 minutes... WHY DIDNT THEY JUST SAY 1 CENT PER MINUTE! aaaaagh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Eviledna

The bloody southpark ads on Paramount Comedy, with a really bad impression of Cartman, and pretty much every other Paramount ad played ad nauseum:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

"Dis is Geraldine from Discount Electrical with all de best prices....."

Geraldine love, I've checked out your prices on BOSE gear and quickly deduced that the savings you made by not hiring a professional voice-actor would not be passed onto yours truly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭twanda

I hate ads that try to bull**** the consumer -

Skin care ads which make up their own scientific terms - 'introducing new xxx cream with penteperaciapitides...' you know the type...
    ..and shampoo/conditioner ads do the same

Toothpastes which claim to target all manners of conditions - acid erosion etc. etc - i think the latest one i saw yesterday refers to some kind of tooth condition 'you wouldn't know you had' - guess they ran out of ideas..

I heard a radio ad for Permanent TSB - the one advertising that you can save 30,000 when you move your mortgage to them. The terms and conditions bit at the end ( you know, where the voiceover goes at warp speed..) is longer than the main ad itself... ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,017 ✭✭✭✭yoyo

jergam wrote: »
    dot ie
    just login
    and save mon-ey

:mad:
    I agree totally, that bloody ads always on newstalk when the parents listening to it, does my head in, aswell as that Cara hotels one that always seems to be on (Think they sponsor a newstalk program), very irritating

Nick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

KNS wrote: »
    The B of I add (i thinks it's B of I) where the students go into the bank looking to con money from the manager. The students are asking for loans but subtitles say what they really want the money for.

Student "I need money for books"
    Subtitles "I want a computer"

Then the girl that starts rhyming "....train tracks bling bling you know what I mean...."
    Subtitles "Money for holiday" or some other sh!te

Don't think it's aired anymore, thankfully

In fairness its true , goes to show some banks are not impersonal bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭tampopo

Party Poker.

It took a few views to figure it was to 'encourage' betting not warn against it.

The set up.

20, 25 people lose at online poker. One person wins. That figures. It would put me off betting online. Oh, it's FOR online betting. How does that add up? Lots of people are losing. I don't get that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭gucci

tampopo wrote: »
    Party Poker.

It took a few views to figure it was to 'encourage' betting not warn against it.

The set up.

20, 25 people lose at online poker. One person wins. That figures. It would put me off betting online. Oh, it's FOR online betting. How does that add up? Lots of people are losing. I don't get that....

yeah i actually thought of that before when I was watching it, also racists and xenophobes wont be signing up because of the thoughts of some sneaky foreigner getting their cash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭daisy123

2. Where that bearded gimp gets a call for "beers in the Greeeeeeaaa at seven o'clock" and then proceeds to fcukin go apeshít,like a major earthquake hit his home town, checking every pub beginning with "G" hiring taxis with his frikken shirt hanging out.
    Big frikken deal!!!! its not a matter of life or death pony???.
    Its a few beers man... jeesh.

Yeah, and why did he not SEE there was a bar called that when he looked at the page??? Are we to believe that he started from the top of the GRs and looked ONLY at one at a time????

Also Yakult ads are disgusting, thank god they got rid of that bacteria guy, but the new one is still disgusting!!! I will NEVER buy a yakult. EVER.

noyeks newmans... ads that take well known songs and changes them slightly and put there own lyrics in...ugh..
    Such as the UK Halifax ads? I can't stand them, the Irish ones on the other hand don't really bother me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭tampopo

That girl (in fact a man) who lets out a big scream for all his three girlfriends (in fact men) to hear and meet him for a bottle of bud!

Enough to put me off bud for life. You can't reward stupidity like that. (along with the Bud Weiss Er frog ads)