Body discovered in Government Minister Office

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

It was "mentioned" on the review of thr papers on Morning Ireland apparently but that appears to be the extent of it.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

To be honest I'd be more impressed with the headline

Minister Found Alive and Well in Minister's Office

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Theres a blogger and a thread on it in politics.ie, besides that I can't see anything about this online. The Irish Sun apparently doesn't have its own website and a search of the UK site turns up nothing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I just saw it on TV for the morning papers. It's on the sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

it was on the frontpage of the sun only...
    dlofnep wrote: »
    I just saw it on TV for the morning papers. It's on the sun.
    That's me convinced then :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

I can't even find the irish sun on any of those online pdf newspaper readers...

http://www.rte.ie/news/morningireland/

its in what the papers say...

transcript

irish sun claims an exclusive, a body 34 year old women found inside a cupboard in the department of agriculture office

four days after she went missing last September

queries of to the dept of how such a tragedy could happen how in a busy government office were not replied to

Pat Kenny is leading with it now.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

" It says in the papers" reports that it was that of a woman worker, found in Kildare st. office last September. /jerryp
    They probably paid her 4 days overtime while she wasn't clocked out.

Amazed this was hushed up for 6 months, so much for transparent government.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭cheridere

It could have been worse, If the body was in the Dail it could have been months before it was discovered.....

well did you hear more of it, a suicide apparently, after the death of her partner too

Apparently she" took an overdose, climbed into the cupboard, wrapped herself in paper and died."

sad no more jokes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Heard about this months ago from someone in the Dept.

It's a pretty sad story alright and shouldn't be spread all over the media.

Fcuking Sun and their gutter morals.

somebody from the gov was just on

they simply decided to keep it quiet, person was reported missing on the friday, search carried out sat and sun found in unused office by police on the sun

how about you try this, a death occurs in your national parliament so you put out a press release with the necessary facts before its tabloid fodder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

somebody from the gov was just on

they simply decided to keep it quiet, person was reported missing on the friday, search carried out sat and sun found in unused office by police on the sun

how about you try this, a death occurs in your national parliament so you put out a press release with the necessary facts before its tabloid fodder.

And the tabloids agreed not to go to press with this in order to avoid hurting people? Seriously?

Wow. There is hope.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    And the tabloids agreed not to go to press with this in order to avoid hurting people? Seriously?

Wow. There is hope.

you can't hide deaths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

you can't hide deaths

I know, but you can limit the pain. This is genuinely a tragic case, but I would have thought that the tabloids wouldn't have cared about that and gone ahead.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

togster wrote: »
    Mike should be made ride mary coughlin senseless for inventing this story.

If he doesn't want to, I'll gladly step in. MILF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭missmatty

I heard about that not long after it happened (have my sources) :D It's a very sad story, although I was surprised it took so long to break in the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭Decuc500

And the jokes keep on coming even after you guys find out it was a suicide. I work in the department and this is a tragic story but lets keep up the jokes, eh?

This story shouldn't even have been reported. The body wasn't found in the ministers office but whatever sells papers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    Im more annoyed that it appears that despite their substantial holidays a TD didnt visit her office in 4 days during the "working" period.

Odd stuff alright.
    They have a Dail office and a constituency office. Just because they weren't in one over the weekend means nothing.

Since it was in Donegal, I have to ask...

....why did the Gardai put it there?

EDIT: Guys, there is a tradition in Ireland of not reporting suicides (a good tradition IMO).
    I really doubt that there is any conspiracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

That's exactly what they want you to think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Decuc500 wrote: »
    And the jokes keep on coming even after you guys find out it was a suicide. I work in the department and this is a tragic story but lets keep up the jokes, eh?

Life goes on. There have been far worse jokes than the above on these here forums, and you can't expect a load of people's sense of humour to disappear because of some random person who they never even met dying. You're too sensitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

Decuc500 wrote: »

This story shouldn't even have been reported. The body wasn't found in the ministers office but whatever sells papers...

If it was about a body being found in my managers stationary press in my office you'd be sure as junkies on a 67a that it would have been reported to the papers. But seriously when something like this takes place in a government building, a press conference should be held to clarify the situation. I understand you take this personally because you worked in the dept. but there is no point getting overly sensitive about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Here it is...

A very short run of the mill type of statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

mike65 wrote: »
    Amazed this was hushed up for 6 months, so much for transparent government.

Mike.

I'm sure I read about this in the Times when it happened in September - excellent "exclusive" scoop for the Sun - 6 month old news!

sure I kniow of one definite, possible two casesof this.

a woman had been missing and worked in the dep of agriculture kildare st. No one had seen her and after checking cameras, she went to work but didn't leave. eventually she was found hanging in a closet.

True story, last year.

Trojan911 wrote: »
    Here it is...

A very short run of the mill type of statement.

well imagine that!! am I right? This wasn't 'hushed up', it just seems the media weren't told, hurray!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

well fair play to mike65 for being right.

i cant belive this was kept so low profile. suicide or not a dead body in a government minsiters dept doenst happen everyday and its not like it doesnt look dodgy.

nice to know we can rely on the media to report the news :)

Had I been wrong I would have had my hands full.

Mike.