Carling Cup Final

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

DaveMcG wrote: »
    Chelsea shoulda had a peno there..... Flag didn't go up for offside, then Woodgate grabbed Drogba and (with help from Didier) threw him onto the ground. THEN the flag goes up, I think for offside.

Well done to Spurs anyway, I was hoping they'd win! Was hoping for penos though!

seeing that on tv it looked a clear penalty to chelsea, typical, robbed ;)

feck it, we still didn't deserve to win playing like we did for the first 100 minutes of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Flag didn't go up for offside (though he looked off to me), then Woodgate grabbed Drogba and (with help from Didier) threw him onto the ground. THEN the flag goes up, I think for offside.

But he was offside :) They don't put it up until they are interferring with play etc. Woodgate having to actually rugby tackle him was interfering with play :) Seriously though, what the **** was woodgate thinking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

PHB wrote: »
    But he was offside :) They don't put it up until they are interferring with play etc. Woodgate having to actually rugby tackle him was interfering with play :) Seriously though, what the **** was woodgate thinking?

True, if it wasnt given as an offside decision that was a stone cold peno, not that we deserved it, but it was. At one point i think both of woodgates hands actually interlocked:eek:, like he was wrestling a feckin bear!! He was good on the day though for the most part, with clinical finishing like he displayed for the winning goal im amazed its been 2 years since he scored:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

im so tired! up at 3am to watch that, and then off for a full days work!
    but still buzzing.

great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,014 ✭✭✭SuprSi

Absolutely delighted with the result. I didn't think it would happen, and going a goal down strengthened that belief but fair play to Spurs they kept on going for it.

Where the ref got nearly 6 minutes of injury time in extra time is beyond me though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

SuprSi wrote: »
    Where the ref got nearly 6 minutes of injury time in extra time is beyond me though.
    I'd say Tainio's throw played a small part in it, and Drogba didn't help either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭redspider

Congrats to Spurs on winning the League Cup. Its good to see another club for a change getting a trophy. In terms of the match, it was closely fought, and I think either team could have taken it. Neither team shaded it, it was evenly matched, and Spurs played very well to match Chelsea who seem to be lacking a killer instinct in terms of goals. Ledley King played a big part in Spurs defence. Without him and an inspired Woodgate, it would have been Chelsea's. But Spurs also attacked very well, which is their key attribute, and Cech saved Chelsea on several occasions. A good final.

And its good to see Robbie Keane getting silverware. This should help him and Ireland's cause, although for me he pops up on the wing a bit too much. He should lay it off and get himself into the box on those occasions. Also his wall work.

Redspider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,914 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

redspider wrote: »
    And its good to see Robbie Keane getting silverware. This should help him and Ireland's cause, although for me he pops up on the wing a bit too much. He should lay it off and get himself into the box on those occasions.

In fairness, I thought he was very good yesterday and his contributions from outside the box were meaningful. Was great to see that pride and emotion from him after the final whistle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I was far too drunk at 6pm yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

BaZmO* wrote: »
    I'd say Tainio's throw played a small part in it, and Drogba didn't help either.

But the ref clearly motioned that he had stopped the watch for that incident so he couldn't have added time on surely?? The 2 minutes after the first half of E.T, where was that from??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Mad_Max wrote: »
    But the ref clearly motioned that he had stopped the watch for that incident so he couldn't have added time on surely??
    That doesn't make sense. It's not like rugby where if the ref stops the clock the official clock stops too. In football, when the referee stops his watch it's only his watch that is stopped, that's where you get the added time from.

redspider wrote:
    Neither team shaded it, it was evenly matched
    I wouldn't say that, Spurs were clearly the better team on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,149 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

I will just say that yesterday was a very emotional day, tiring and emotional...:D

YOIDS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Lol, looks like a good night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

You can take the boy out of the estate...etc.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

Looking at the poll, a lot more people are predicting a Spurs win since the they won. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭ro2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

pd101 wrote: »
    Looking at the poll, a lot more people are predicting a Spurs win since the they won. :D

I noticed that actually, who votes after the event :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

PHB wrote: »
    I noticed that actually, who votes after the event :)
    Me, and im voting Chelsea:p