First Gen iPhone Unlock / Sourcing (non subs) [Post these questions here *ONLY* !!!]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭tibor

cdebru wrote: »
    Tell them the Nephew already has a contract its a surprise

I have bought in AT&T they were not happy but they still sold it to me

Ahh, that's the angle!
    Tried saying he'll probably sign it up under my brothers name(his da) as he isn't 18, but went round and round in circles saying no contract, no phone. Bah.

Home now, sickener! :o

Basquille: I was on that 5am flight back from JFK. 2 guys hanging around the customs desk just having a coffee. Didn't see anyone get stopped despite many people strolling through with their trolleys full of shopping bags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Now I know how people become axe murderers.

The iphone is the most frustrating piece of crap I've ever had to work with in all my life. No matter what anyone in this thread says, nothing works. My phone is a worthless brick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,201 ✭✭✭✭Basq

tibor wrote: »
    Basquille: I was on that 5am flight back from JFK. 2 guys hanging around the customs desk just having a coffee. Didn't see anyone get stopped despite many people strolling through with their trolleys full of shopping bags.
    Ha ha.. heard the exact same thing off my girlfriend who was chatting to her parents. Her mother said there was 2 guys just waiting around the customs desk but they didn't see anyone getting stopped. So my IPhone got through - huzzah!

Unfortunately probably won't be getting it til tomorrow night..! :(

By the way, should I check the bootloader and firmware version before following the instructions on http://iphone.unlock.no to unlock it? As i read problems with specific versions (probably older versions).

Also would ye recommend using ZiPhone or an alternative method (e.g the example on http://iphone.unlock.no)? As i've heard of problems with ZiPhone. Any recommendations would be much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Gryzor

basquille wrote: »
    Ha ha.. heard the exact same thing off my girlfriend who was chatting to her parents. Her mother said there was 2 guys just waiting around the customs desk but they didn't see anyone getting stopped. So my IPhone got through - huzzah!

what shop did they buy it in, was there a need for any elabrate story to get around contracts?? I'm heading over in a couple of weeks, just wondering what kind of resistance, if any i can expect??

thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭cdebru

NickyOD wrote: »
    As suspected, as soon as I click on Install Appsnap my phone falls back to the "Activate iPhone" screen with a message saying "incorrect SIm, Insert an unlocked and valid sim to activate iPhone".

I'm just going round in circles here.

Simple solution connect the phone to itunes till itunes recognises it then shut itunes down

Then install appsnap

Should work then

lassykk wrote: »

No

Yes ( some say the O2 store is the easier to buy in sure someone who has bought one will fill you in)

yes and yes

No ( although some claim otherwise )

By the way, should I check the bootloader and firmware version before following the instructions on http://iphone.unlock.no to unlock it? As i read problems with specific versions (probably older versions).

Also would ye recommend using ZiPhone or an alternative method (e.g the example on http://iphone.unlock.no)? As i've heard of problems with ZiPhone. Any recommendations would be much appreciated.

Unless you are completely flukey it will be a bootloader 4.6 and either 1.1.2 or 1.1.3 I would not bother checking unless by some miracle it is a week 44 or younger phone

Ziphone seems fine now the unlock.no is just a GUI for ziphone The only problem with it might be that they are still using an older version of Ziphone the current one is 2.4

Gryzor wrote: »
    what shop did they buy it in, was there a need for any elabrate story to get around contracts?? I'm heading over in a couple of weeks, just wondering what kind of resistance, if any i can expect??
    They bought it in the huge Fifth Avenue store.. there was no resistance as far as I know but I'll get the full story of the conversation that occurred between the Apple employee and my girlfriend's father and let you know.
    Unless you are completely flukey it will be a bootloader 4.6 and either 1.1.2 or 1.1.3 I would not bother checking unless by some miracle it is a week 44 or younger phone
    So ZiPhone will be fine with anything after BL4.6 and firmware 1.1.2 and above? Might check it to be safe.. but it was bought in the huge Fifth Avenue store so I'd say they shift enough of them to have old stock.
    Ziphone seems fine now the unlock.no is just a GUI for ziphone The only problem with it might be that they are still using an older version of Ziphone the current one is 2.4
    Grand so. I use a Mac mainly so I have the Mac port (ZipPhoneOSX or something like that but will check the version later).

Cheers for the info cdebru.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Simple solution connect the phone to itunes till itunes recognises it then shut itunes down

Then install appsnap

Should work then

That worked thanks. Continuing.....

Now on 1.1.1 the first time I open installer it tries to refresh sources but eventually returns a failure error. Now when I click on install all that's there is all packages and recent packages and there is nothing within those. I tried re-installing the installer but nothing happens.

They bought it in the huge Fifth Avenue store.. there was no resistance as far as I know but I'll get the full story of the conversation that occurred between the Apple employee and my girlfriend's father and let you know.

nice one basquille, any info would be appreciated ;) i don't want to come back from the states disappointed..:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭trant

I have a 16GB 1.1.3 BL4.6 iPhone coming from the UK to replace my 8GB 1.1.1 BL3.9.

Am I right in thinking that the all iPhones can be unlocked using ZiPhone, including the new 04.03.13_G BL4.6 ones? Does this involve downgrading the bootloader to 3.9 from 4.6 in order to be able to unlock it?

The reason I ask is that the below Tutorial mentions downgrading the bootloader while unlocking it (see OTB 1.1.2/1.1.3 instructions).

http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/showthread.php?t=30238

Thanks,
    Justin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭chabsey

Possibly stupid question but anyway: I'm going to buy a 16 gig IPhone in the US and use it on the O2 network here (Ireland). O2 will 99% definitely be the providers in Ireland so will I need to unlock it? I'm pretty damn sure I will, but just to avoid any possible pitfalls, I'd like to avoid unlocking if it's not necessary.

People seem to be experiencing problems with Wifi and signal loss, which is a little unnerving.

chabsey wrote: »
    Possibly stupid question but anyway: I'm going to buy a 16 gig IPhone in the US and use it on the O2 network here (Ireland). O2 will 99% definitely be the providers in Ireland so will I need to unlock it? I'm pretty damn sure I will, but just to avoid any possible pitfalls, I'd like to avoid unlocking if it's not necessary.
    Yeah, it's a US iPhone so it'll expect an AT&T simcard. You'll need to unlock regardless.

(correct me if i'm wrong though!)

Yeah pretty much what I expect. I'm not that bothered, and am just hoping that all these signal issues are related to some mistake the people have made rather than a 'lukc of the draw' scenario when buying an IPhone.

Gryzor wrote: »
    nice one basquille, any info would be appreciated ;) i don't want to come back from the states disappointed..:eek:

I'll post here in a couple of days, plan is to buy in that 5th ave store as well. If all sold out or problems encountered, there are other apple stores, and AT&T stores (where I think you have to claim it's a gift to get away without contracts being mentioned). Either way I'll post and let you know.

Yeah pretty much what I expect. I'm not that bothered, and am just hoping that all these signal issues are related to some mistake the people have made rather than a 'lukc of the draw' scenario when buying an IPhone.
    Christ.. I hope not. I assumed any problems with regards with signal and such were difficulty with the unlocking process but don't really know much about it.

Should be getting my iPhone tomorrow evening so i'll let ye know how I got on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 baggyboy

Thanks for the help on the upgrade :-)

Just finished upgrading to 1.1.3 and unlocking. All is well so far.

NickyOD wrote: »
    That worked thanks. Continuing.....

Now on 1.1.1 the first time I open installer it tries to refresh sources but eventually returns a failure error. Now when I click on install all that's there is all packages and recent packages and there is nothing within those. I tried re-installing the installer but nothing happens.

Ok install iphone browser on your PC and transfer the installer files over onto the phone

Have you tried to refresh the resources after you open the installer

Yeah, it's a US iPhone so it'll expect an AT&T simcard. You'll need to unlock regardless.

(correct me if i'm wrong though!)

No your right

trant wrote: »

I have a 16GB 1.1.3 BL4.6 iPhone coming from the UK to replace my 8GB 1.1.1 BL3.9.

Am I right in thinking that the all iPhones can be unlocked using ZiPhone, including the new 04.03.13_G BL4.6 ones? Does this involve downgrading the bootloader to 3.9 from 4.6 in order to be able to unlock it?

The reason I ask is that the below Tutorial mentions downgrading the bootloader while unlocking it (see OTB 1.1.2/1.1.3 instructions).

http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/showthread.php?t=30238

Thanks,
    Justin.

No you do not have to download the bootloader

The only benefit of downloading the bootloader is that you can then have the 04.03.13g baseband on the iphone however the phone will work fine without it and there may be problems in the future with soft downgraded bootloaders so it might be advisable to wait and see what happens before downgrading the bootloader

So ZiPhone will be fine with anything after BL4.6 and firmware 1.1.2 and above? Might check it to be safe.. but it was bought in the huge Fifth Avenue store so I'd say they shift enough of them to have old stock.

Grand so. I use a Mac mainly so I have the Mac port (ZipPhoneOSX or something like that but will check the version later).

Cheers for the info cdebru.

No Ziphone is fine on bootloader 3.9 as well

No need to check really but knock yourself out if you want to Ziphone checks the bootloader for you and applies the unlock to suit the bootloader

If you use a mac then use the MAC gui from zibris blog

Or alternatively use independence there is a guide on hackthatphone.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭greglo23

if you use a Mac then you only need to download iJailbreak from here http://ijailbreak.com/
    it should take about 3 mins for full unlock and jailbreak

If you use a mac then use the MAC gui from zibris blog

Or alternatively use independence there is a guide on hackthatphone.com
    Cheers.. the tool I've got is the ZiPhoneOSX as illustrated in the guide here!
    greglo23 wrote: »
    if you use a Mac then you only need to download iJailbreak from here http://ijailbreak.com/
    it should take about 3 mins for full unlock and jailbreak
    Cheers greglo.. though ain't seen this application before now. Is it reliable.. anyone else tried it?

EDIT: Gave it a download anyways (v0.5.3) ;)

Planning on unlocking it when I get it tomorrow evening so just wanna analyse the best way of doing it before I start. As i heard of problems using ZiPhone etc.

Cheers lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭greglo23

i already posted this a few pages back but this thread has got so big i expect nobody noticed :rolleyes: i used it myself and it does exactly what it says on the tin. to get some of the third party apps working you have to have the bsd subsystem installed.

I'll post here in a couple of days, plan is to buy in that 5th ave store as well. If all sold out or problems encountered, there are other apple stores, and AT&T stores (where I think you have to claim it's a gift to get away without contracts being mentioned). Either way I'll post and let you know.

cool, thanks chabsey...hope u've no hassle getting one yourself..:)

greglo23 wrote: »
    i already posted this a few pages back but this thread has got so big i expect nobody noticed :rolleyes: i used it myself and it does exactly what it says on the tin. to get some of the third party apps working you have to have the bsd subsystem installed.
    Ah right.. found a discussion on Ziphone Vs iJailbreak here.

Will decide tomorrow on which one to use.

Ah right.. found a discussion on Ziphone Vs iJailbreak here.

Will decide tomorrow on which one to use.

Its just a GUI for Ziphone

Ah, I see. But the copy of ZiPhone I have already has an interface. Is it just an alternative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Gr1f

Just to update my experience.
    Had 112 OTB that was jailbroken and unlocked using StealthSim.

Wasn't too pushed on updating to 113 but got bored this evening and did it.

Simply did the following:
    Downloaded ZiPhone 2.4 Mac GUI (OSX)
    Downloaded 113 Firmware
    Removed Stealthsim and o2 sim.

Plugged in iPhone and launched ZiPhone. Clicked put phone into DFU mode.

Open iTunes option-click restore, select 113 firmware and let it restore.

Ran ZiPhone Jailbreak, Activate and Unlock.

Launch installer.app and install BSD Subsystem and community sources.

insert o2 sim

Launch iTunes Set phone as "new Phone" (restore from backup seemingly causes issues). Only downside to this is that i lost old sms messages. I did, however, back them up previously using SyPhone from Micromat.

Thats it.

Like to see if there's any way to get old sms conversations back on to the phone.

Nice to not have to deal with the StealthSim becoming misaligned and causing sim error every now and then. A pain if you don't have a paperclip handy.

I set location/international to UK for now as it doesn't americanise the phone numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭whiteshadow

Okay used Ziphone and worked perfectly.. except now when i plug into itunes i get an error

"An iPhone has been detected but could not be identified properly.. Please disconnect and reconnect the iPhone, then try again"

Takes ages and then comes up with same error...
    It's just not recognising it.. i acutally then uninstalled itunes (backing up all my music files) and then downloaded latest version of itunes... but still with a blank canvas it wont detect my iphone.

Any ideas