Lion Bar = €1.05

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

1.35 for a bag of crisps today. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,035 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

I remember when lion bars were 10 for 1 shilling and nine pence. Bleedin rip off now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

99c... 99c.... 99c 99 fcuking cent :mad: I was in a Londis yesterday. I'd 90c in my pocket and every bar was 99c. I eventually ended walking out in discust. :mad: Fcukers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

What is this thread about? Prices being expensive compared to years ago? Next we'll be talking about how we used to have to walk to school in our bare feet. Yes stuff was cheaper years ago. So were our wages.

I remember when I could buy a can of coke (at least 15 years ago) for IEP£.50. I earned IEP£100 per week. Now it's €.90 (not in the convenience stores but I bought one today outside work in the city centre) and EVERYBODY is earning way more than £100 pw.

My local shop frequently has bars (Lions included) for 4 for €2. They've 6 mars bars at the moment for €2 (and it's not a LIDL or Aldi). How about we start a thread for that.

Just shop around. I'm tired of hearing about rip off republic. That's the easy option. I've lived in 3 different countries and for what I could earn in each country I had the same standard of living in each. It's great to go abroad and see how cheap it is compared to home. Just ask them how much they get paid for doing the same job as you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭fobster

Another feckin thing about Centra, jaysus they're fecking everywhere. I know they're franchises and all but the worst case being in Fairview, at the fork in the road with Edge hardware at the topof it, go left towards annesley bridge and there's a centra there beside the opticians and fairview grill place or go right along fairview strand and there's another centra less than 100m from the other ****ing one!

What a fúcking plague!!

And another thing, freddos ftw! 20c you can't go wrong, instead of 80c for an 8-square dairy milk. 3 freddos will have more chocolate than them and another bonus is it's in frog-form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭The Walsho

We've crossed the €1 boundary for chocolate bars? This is a sad, sad day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 someuser90

isn't inflation great?

the banks create money out of nothing for loans, and we all get get shafted with higher prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

What is this thread about? Prices being expensive compared to years ago? .
    I think it is more about supermarket vs. newsagent/centra prices.

When I was a kid we knew the price of all the sweets. We would get our 50p and hit the newsagents. They were pretty much the same price as supermarkets in the 80's for bars and crisps. Cans were slightly cheaper in supermarkets, but never cold, and it was certainly not as big a % increase as it is nowadays. 95% of crisps had the price printed on the packet. I know guys who work in newsagents who say the manager refuses to buy stuff with "flashed" (printed) prices on them. There was also only a slight saving when you got multipacks of bars, cans etc.
    nd another thing, freddos ftw! 20c you can't go wrong, instead of 80c for an 8-square dairy milk. 3 freddos will have more chocolate than them and another bonus is it's in frog-form
    Yes, aimed to get kids hooked. They presume adults wont buy them. Also they will blow air into the same size bar and charge you a euro for it. Wispa, aero etc weigh feck all, probably more chocolate in your kids bar, and the exact same chocolate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I was charged 1.40 for a splash of lime for my Jack Daniel's in Dublin last week. The insanity of it just made me confused. I couldn't get my head around it. And still cant.

35 cent for Chicketees and Wheelies seems a bit harsh to me also. I remember them being 10p.
    Don't get me started on 10p crisps.
    I regard myself as somewhat of a crisp conissieur and the prices today really piss me off.
    Now I don't mind paying €1.85 for a large (175g) pack of walkers thai sweet chili, but 20 or 30 cent for a packet of burger bites is where I draw the line.
    The 10p crisps used to come in 20 gramme bags. They are now 16 grammes and twice the price they were six years ago.

Tayto cheese and onion come in three sizes.
    16, 35 and 50 gramme. The first being the multi pack bag size.

The 35 is the most popular. I wouldn't pay more than 50 cent for one.
    The local newsagents charge 50 cent, while the super market charge 55.

As for spar, I only go to the local spar because I can pay bills there and it's better than queueing in the bank or post office.
    I'll buy smokes there, but that's all.
    Ok, I buy nik naks, but that's the only place that sells them (but not the purple ones).

rubadub wrote: »
    RRP is "recommended", and you said "should" sell yourself. I do agree though cash & carries are a ripoff too, many things cost more in a cash & carry than in supermarkets. Some shops do charge a lot, I see no real problem, nobody is forcing me, and there is no real cartel/monopoly.

On the upside 15 years ago the cheapest can of beer I could get was £1 (€1.27) bottles costed even more. Now there is a massive selection of bottles and cans at €1, or as low as 60C sometimes.

Hash has gone down similarly, and other recreational drugs have plummeted in price. But then you end up in spar blowing it all due to a wicked dose of the munchies ;)

I'm paying the same price for cans today that I paid 16 years ago (less in some cases).
    It's the only thing that was effected by the groceries order act. Well as far as I can see anyway.

You think thats bad? I had to charge someone, for 2 cornettos- 4freakiin euro60! For 2 icepops! My heart sank when I saw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

NeMiSiS wrote: »
    They were 50p when I was a child. Inflation must have them up about that price no ? :rolleyes:

"Just one Cornetto,
    Give it to me
    You must be joking
    They cost 50p"

To the tune of some opera song by Pavoritti. Surely someone else remembers this. It was based on a TV ad

Twas a catchy song back in the day and back when 50p was lot of cash to a youngster. They were set at 50p for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭sharkDawg

I paid 95 cent for a brunch today, and i could swear they are getting smaller!

fobster wrote: »
    Another feckin thing about Centra, jaysus they're fecking everywhere. I know they're franchises and all but the worst case being in Fairview, at the fork in the road with Edge hardware at the topof it, go left towards annesley bridge and there's a centra there beside the opticians and fairview grill place or go right along fairview strand and there's another centra less than 100m from the other ****ing one!

What a fúcking plague!!

Are you being sarcastic? You do know that Centra Fairview has two entrances on two different streets :)
    It's the same store! I think you know this though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Terry wrote: »
    I'm paying the same price for cans (beer) today that I paid 16 years ago (less in some cases).
    It's the only thing that was effected by the groceries order act. Well as far as I can see anyway.
    I think you can get some soft drinks cheaper too. I remember dunnes coke was around 35p for a 2L, and I think you can get it for around 35c in tesco, but it is probably only fit for cleaning grease. Seems to be a bigger divide on own brand stuff. like Heinz beans might cost 4 times the price of supermarket own brand ones. Some stuff like that could be cheaper now, possibly eggs, flour, peas.

sharkDawg wrote: »
    I paid 95 cent for a brunch today, and i could swear they are getting smaller!
    Could be, but a lot of the time it is simply your hand getting bigger! like creme eggs, people are always claiming they got smaller. But I remember them always never fitting in egg cups. And obviously as a kid they seemed bigger in a small hand. I remember struggling with supercans, thinking they were gigantic.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Creme_egg
    When first introduced in Britain, the original Cadbury Creme Egg weighed 40 grams (1.4 oz) and contained 171.6 Calories. Cadbury Creme Eggs sold in the UK and Canada have remained at this size

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭fobster

micmclo wrote: »
    Are you being sarcastic? You do know that Centra Fairview has two entrances on two different streets :)
    It's the same store! I think you know this though

One is called Courtney's or something and then the other is a separate centra where Joe's newsagent used to be. Could be wrong!

I think you can get some soft drinks cheaper too. I remember dunnes coke was around 35p for a 2L, and I think you can get it for around 35c in tesco, but it is probably only fit for cleaning grease. Seems to be a bigger divide on own brand stuff. like Heinz beans might cost 4 times the price of supermarket own brand ones. Some stuff like that could be cheaper now, possibly eggs, flour, peas.
    Yeah, I never really noticed anything like that.
    I'm a sucker for brand names.

Proper coke is still relatively cheap for a 2 litre (€1.90 or so). Cans and 500 ml bottles are ridiculously over-priced though.

I still buy my eggs from the local butcher.
    €1.80 for a half dozen, but they have two yolks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

stick to chomps so, are they still 10c

MooseJam wrote: »
    stick to chomps so, are they still 10c
    That's a lie.
    You're a damed liar.

fobster wrote: »
    One is called Courtney's or something and then the other is a separate centra where Joe's newsagent used to be. Could be wrong!

Ah, I get you know. As you know you can walk straight through that massive Centra,it's huge!

Joe's shop shut down last year, it's a pharmacy now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

Terry wrote: »
    That's a lie.
    You're a damed liar.

thats true but not this time, I was asking if they are still 10c not claiming they were :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭vestanpance

Centra tried to charge me for a ham roll with 4 fillings when I only had 3? He tried to tell me that the pre-mixed tuna and sweetcorn was counted as meat plus one filling? I had tuna, lettuce, cheese and onion. They did not have tuna without the corn...!

I left everything at the till and walked out....t'was a few years back....was I wrong?

Did you have ham and tuna on the same roll????

chomps are 10 or 20c cant remember but still cheap

Chomps are 20c.

Could be, but a lot of the time it is simply your hand getting bigger! like creme eggs, people are always claiming they got smaller. But I remember them always never fitting in egg cups. And obviously as a kid they seemed bigger in a small hand. I remember struggling with supercans, thinking they were gigantic.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Creme_egg

Not true. On the David Letterman show (I think) they proved that cadburys creme eggs were getting smaller by comparing one from a few years ago and a current one.

Link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

When I was a kid in liverpool in 1980, I got 20p pocket money. Every week religiously down to the shop to get a curlywurly and a beano-style magazine called the nutty (it had bananaman in it). Then it increased to 22p and I cried !!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Ah small shops make a fortune... think about it, if you go to a cash and carry now you can get a tray of coke for €10. Now thats 24 cans.

€10.00 / 24 = €0.416 per can.

How much are they sold for in shops?? About €1.00.....

So thats an increase of over 100%

By that logic a case is €24.00 so a €14 profit on just a tray of coke. Also think about this one...

Back in 1997 in a cash and carry you could buy a box of 1p sweets for £2.00 and it contained 500 sweets. That is again over a 100% mark up.

I have worked in shops, managed them and set the prices, even though we went by the cash and carrys RRP guide everything had a 80+% mark up. In any given day we would take in approx £2,000.

There was and still is plenty of profit to be made in shops but its hard work. More small shops are going under because of robberies (as they are not going to hire security guards), staffing problems etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,664 ✭✭✭✭cson

I used to do a lot of travelling around the country with my Dad and I remember we used to compare Petrol prices in every town. I remember remarking that 60c a litre was extortionate in Dublin at the time when you could get it for 52c a litre back home.

Times they are a changin' :(

Edit: I remember the Woppa bars too. 50p would get you 10 chewy teeth destrying bars an hours of endless sugar highs. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭dubmick

Xavi6 wrote: »

And for some reason a 2 litre bottle of coke is miles cheaper than a 600ml bottle (they don't do 500mls)

Crazy.

The Aussies charge more for 'cooled' drinks if I remember correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

what fcuking muppet actually shops in centra?

they practically boast about the fact your paying for "convenience" :D

supermarkets for the win. litre of premier milk is inexcess of 1.50 in centra. same milk in supervalue is 97c. same for dunnes and tescos.

im not a lion bar fan so i cant talk about them but the price of crisps has gone beyond a fecking joke now. 70c for a packet of johnnies onion rings !?! no wonder the feckers wont make a six pack of them. theyre cleaning up in the shops . i can hand on heart say ive not bought a bar of chocolate or a packet of crisps i cant get en mass in a supermarket in years.

complete, utter and total rip off

seriously lads . i think its time we got back to supporting good old fashioned "criminality". my local small shop is selling stuff at ridiculously low prices. im sure the stuff is hot. how the hell else can you sell 4 medium mainstream eater eggs for a tenner? last time i was in they were flogging tubs of KP dry roasted peanuts (500ml,tub looks like a fecking mortar :) ) FOR 50Cent :eek: :eek: ! OK they were near theyre best before date but still the retail price is nearer a fiver.

we all know theres shops like these near us so its time to show them the love. getting back on topic im pretty sure my local ones doing a ten pack of lion bars (well, two five bar packs) for 2 euro :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

There is nothing more annoying than some bitter old **** with a wad of notes who has just spent about 25euro on fags who then complains about being charged 22c for a bag. Stingy customers can be a right pain in the bollix too.