Light weights....

• 16-02-2008 01:52AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

What do you do with people that cant last the pace...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Take the pish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,343 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I find it's the heavyweights that can't last. ;)

No stamina.

For other meanings, try viagra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I should have went to the pub with the men... the women are all light weights..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,343 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Quality wrote: »
    I should have went to the pub with the men... the women are all light weights..

Perhaps you mean lightweights? Most of the women I've seen wouldn't qualify as light weights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Women who can drink disgusting amounts and then look down on others for not being able to, are just that.

What do I do with lightweights? Nothing, why would I? They're on their buzz at a less cost than anyone else, let them enjoy it. "Keep up the pace"? So everyone should drink the same amount at the same speed?

Silly thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Oh god the light weights, i've a friend who's built like a tank, Rugby player, weighs about 15/16 stone and is very well built, and i kid you not, after 4 bottles, yes bottles the 330ml variety he's already WELL on his way. I've got no real problem with them as long as they're the kinda drunk who's fun.

When it comes to drinking, I'm a lightweight. I enjoy a fine glass of wine during dinner with good company, or a tall cool one on a hot day or during a sporting event. I'm into physical fitness and health, and can have a lot of fun without being a fuzz brain.

I am a dates nightmare so.... I love my drink, I enjoy a fine wine... Enjoy a chablis with my dins, which is usually the most expensive white there is....

Like to drink after... shots, shots. bottles... shorts..

Anyhow, I should have went to the pub with the lads...

I am a dates nightmare so.... I love my drink, I enjoy a fine wine... Enjoy a chablis with my dins, which is usually the most expensive white there is....

Shots? Noone enjoys shots, they do them to get drunk. So you enjoy being drunk, lightweights get drunk, just easier than you do, so why aren't you infact jealous of them? They're accomplishing the exact same thing as you are, only quicker and at less cost, so at the end of the day, it's you who's the sucker, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

So are you getting drunk to hide personality flaws? or are you just very insecure and need drink to become more out-going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Ooooh I cannot wait to see the response in the morning :D

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

rb_ie wrote: »
    Shots? Noone enjoys shots, they do them to get drunk. So you enjoy being drunk, lightweights get drunk, just easier than you do, so why aren't you infact jealous of them?
    I dunno, I quite enjoy the process of drinking shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

I take their drinks. They clearly don't want their drink enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

What do you do with people that cant last the pace...

Envy them, and do not rope them into rounds. I know lads who pride themselves on drinking huge amounts of drink to get drunk- nonsensical to me. I pity their wallets, I know a lad who used to sneak out and eat Chinese and burgers while in the pub. This will slow down alcohol absorption hugely. He was very overweight, the more body mass you have the more alcohol you will need to get to a certain blood alcohol level. Eating will increase your calorie intake, and also lead to you needing more calorie in take from alcohol to get to your desired level. So for this lad it was snowballing his fat levels. He would have ingest 3-4times the calories I would yet I could well be at a higher blood alcohol level than him. He was really proud of his "drinking ability", I could drink that amount and only get as drunk too, if I ate like a pig, but WTF would you want to?

It would be like specifically not taking medication at the recommended times, to lessen its effects. "you lightweights, I had tonsilitis and had to go on 2 courses of it, since I took all my antibiotics in the one go everyday, and they didnt affect me properly, aren't I a big hard man". "I have to take 10 sleeping tablets to get to sleep, I take them in the morning"

I would love to be able to get steaming drunk on 1 pint of beer. I never got the bragging thing about being able to "handle drink". It would be like bragging in work "I got a really inefficient SUV, takes me 2 gallons of petrol to get into work, you lightweights on your mopeds use far less than me, but get the same result".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

It would be good if this thread was a poll; 'What does it take to get you drunk?' (pints) *hint*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

This thread is more proof that Irish people have yet to grow out of the early teenage stage of drinking for the sake of drinking and being impressed at the fact that a) They are imbibing alcohol, b) they have a quantity target to meet and a timeframe in which to do it.

It all goes back to knocking back as much cider in the park as you can before you've got to go home to bed.

As to whether your mates are lightweights - are they fun? Do they have anything interesting to say? Are they intelligent?

Doesn't matter. Only matters what volume of liquid they managed to stick down their neck before collapsing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

All depends on what you class as a heavyweight and what you class as a lightweight.
    heavyweight: The somone who drinks a stupid amount or drinks not caring what they are doing to themselves or what others around them apart form thier other heavyweight so-called "mates" think, just out to get locked type???

Lightweight: The people who go out for night sticking to what they KNOW to be thier limit of drinks within a certain time so as not to get too drunk???

Ive been working in niteclubs for a couple of years now and from my point of view, its almost always the people who know thier limits that have the best time, Heavyweight drinkers in rounds shouting chuh,chug,chug every time somone puts a drink to thier lips are normaly the ones not knowing weather they had a good night or not as they cant even remember how they got home or how they got blood all over thier shirt or where thier wallet and phone is all to go out the next night and do it all again just so they can call themselves heavyweights:rolleyes:
    I used to go out most weekends and end up like this until i saw the light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Slow coach wrote: »
    Perhaps you mean lightweights? Most of the women I've seen wouldn't qualify as light weights.
    I know one who can gully beer like it's going in one end and out the other. she can knock back about 8/9 pints before she'll even feel tipsy at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

I would take the phrase lightweight to mean someone who can't handle even the small amount that they drink. I have friend who I think must be looking for some excuse to act like a drunken idiot. She'll have a drink or two and be falling about the pub, talking to total strangers, usually ends up insulting them, thinking she's god's gift. For some reason she just can't control herself.

I've had times when I'm arse-faced and still manage to keep control of myself. I know when I've had too much, know when the people around me are no good for me, and ask a friend to bring me home.

I try to aviod going to pubs with the above mentioned girl. I get tired trying to keep her safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

a mate of mine shes only 16 but she can have a litre of vodka over a night and be alrite...drunk but not falling about like

Jaysus... I really do talk some sh1te when I am drunk... I have seen the error of my ways...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

a mate of mine shes only 16 but she can have a litre of vodka over a night and be alrite...drunk but not falling about like

Everyone's body is different. What's ok for one person to drink might make someone else unconscious. You need to know your limit and stick to it, whether or not it's less than your friends can handle. There's no set amount of alcohol that everyone should be able to drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

and by alright you mean doing untold damage to her liver?

Lightweight can be slightly annoying if they're hammered way before anyone else. I don't care if they drink less but if it takes them that little to get pissed they need to slow it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I envy the lightweights.
    They're the ones who are less likely to suffer liver and kidney problems later in life.

I drank the recommended weekly allowance the other night and I was just a bit drunk.
    Damn tolerance.

Someone mentioned teenage habits.
    When I was a teenager, we never tried to out drink each other.
    We got our 4 or 5 cans and were hammered. That was enough for us and those who could get drunk on less were envied.
    We were poor, so couldn't afford to buy too much drink.

I was in a nightclub the other night.
    €3 a drink.
    I was at the bar and teo girls in their early 20's were beside me.
    They both ordered a double vodka and red bull, a glass of wine and a jager bomb.
    They knocked back the shot and then downed the wine at the same speed.

I turned to one of them and asked if she wanted to have to be carried home.
    Her reply was that she didn't really care and that it was her intention to get plastered.

I walked quickly away with my three pints (bar was packed with a ~15 minute waiting time).

Terry wrote: »
    Her reply was that she didn't really care and that it was her intention to get plastered.

Then they wake up with absolutely no recollection of the night the next morning, panic about being date raped and swear never to do it again, then go out that night and get out of it.

Fcking idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Expensive hobby where lads get paid on a Friday and are broke by Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

rb_ie wrote: »
    Then they wake up with absolutely no recollection of the night the next morning, panic about being date raped by Terry and swear never to do it again, then go out that night and get out of it.

Fcking idiots.
    Correction

What I don't understand is people who try to get as many drinks at the very end of the night before the bar closes. Ordering a round of pints and 2 rounds of shots so that you can be drunker on the way home? Why? These people are doing little more than making a potentially bad hangover even worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

OMG u can't be serious!!! I read that earlier as "lifting weights" and thought jesus not another one so skipped it now i've only realised it says "light weights"....Christ almighty!

Too much time in the fitness forum I'm tellin ya !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yeah I drink with the intention of getting a bit drunk and having that sense of well-being you get. It's very enjoyable. But I don't get plastered out of my mind any more - it's not good to be sick by the end of the night, to have memory gaps about the night before and to be suffering from an utterly hellish hangover for a good chunk of the day.

Your tolerance for drink depends on certain factors though - for instance how quickly you drink, how much you've had to eat beforehand, and if you drink spirits, how much of the accompanying mixer you use.