Smoker?

One Funny Thread! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

i was a smoker in my twenties but i gave up (alan carr). im still a social smoker so when im on the piss which isnt very often these days(moved to the countryside) i could still smoke 40 a night ( lighting one off the other).
    anyhow i though i was cured of late but tonight i was watching "atonement" on the internet while my abandoning boyfriend is on the piss (bollocks)and if you havent seen it its set in war time britin and all the cast inculding kiera knightly are all smoking their brains out nearly all the way through the film.. well anyhow after a few glases of pinot grigio i was like a cat burgler looking for a cigarette around the house. i even text my 'boyfriend' to see if there was any 'hidden in the house' but he didnt reply (prick)and i toyed with the idea of driving to the 24 hour garage half cut. i havent had a cravng like that in years.....so moral of the story is ....it really never leaves you ... also .... dont watch 'atonement' if your giving up the smoking .

Better hope he picks some up on the way home, you're gonna be dying for one after all the make-up sex that it looks like is coming your way!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

IM nearly 18. smoking 20 a day. Fitness = 0%

conclusion.. Given these ****ers up.

doonothing wrote: »
    And no one knows what kissing an ashtray is like, surely!
    Metaphor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

I'm 15, thankfully haven't started yet, and hope to never ever start...

my friends smoke, and some just smoke because they're hopeless f#ckers with no future, and the rest smoke because they wanted to be just like those hopeless f#ckers with no future, and/or can't give up.

Well I have no problem calling them fecking eejits. and what do they have to say back to me?: "*cough*, *cough*, just one minute, now, while i get my breath back, *cough*, *cough*"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Smoke about 10-15 a day.
    started very late, about 23, was in my final year of college and the stress was killing me, i started smoking 1 a day, thinking i wouldn't get addicted.:(
    Tried to give up a few weeks back, just don't have the will power, but i have cut back since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Dudess wrote: »
    Lol

I'm grateful to be one of those lucky people who only smokes when cigarettes are at their best - with booze and after sex.

What about after Macgyver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

I started when I was about 16 - 17. Still on about 20 marlboro red a day. I quit for 3 days once....

That's depressing.

I'd quit but it's so difficult. Smoking is very enjoyable for me, but don't start!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Nope, smoking is ghey!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Don't smoke, can't stand it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Nope, smoking is ghey!

Jst the incentive i needed to quit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

No I dont smoke. Have the odd one when at a party/night out/poker, but that's it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Snyper, you started bafflingly late all right. But my mate's nan started in her early 50s when she was widowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

Dudess wrote: »
    Snyper, you started bafflingly late all right. But my mate's nan started in her early 50s when she was widowed.

I was told I started late at 16! My brother started at 25 and a college friend at 21. I thought they were late starters!

yea, i know.. its stupid,,

But i went through a really tough year last year.

I suffer from Manic Depression, and my medication wasnt helping very much..

Some how ciggs were brought in.. dumb move :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

snyper wrote: »
    yea, i know.. its stupid,,

But i went through a really tough year last year.

I suffer from Manic Depression, and my medication wasnt helping very much..

Some how ciggs were brought in.. dumb move :rolleyes:

So to summise, Ciggs are a cure for manic depression.

Is there anything those rolled babies can't do! :)

Nope

Durtyyyy habit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Babette08

I gave up three years ago with the help of a little book by Allen Carr :) Would highly recommend it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I've been smoking when I drink for the last few months, but nothing more than that. And I'd only drink once or twice a month.

Boggles wrote: »
    So to summise, Ciggs are a cure for manic depression.

Is there anything those rolled babies can't do! :)

:D.. Well there is no cure as such - just control, but it sure bloody helps calm the dam anxiety :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Suzywuzy

No, never smoked in my life and don't intend to. Stupid and expensive habit !!! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I smoke when I have a drink although recently I have started chewing nicotine gum when I have a drink and all the cravings go away. I just found that my throat was killing me the next day so I can't be bothered to smoke anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

nope, don't smoke, mad tho cos EVERYONE in my family puffed away, ma,da,gradparents, sister...
    its yucky me says

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I smoke Camel.

I like smoking.

I only smoke outdoors, or indoors if the other people there don't mind.

Non-smokers, get off your high horse, I know the risks and dangers, but I still choose to smoke.

Any smokers want access to the smoking forum, PM me. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

There was this guy in my college course who used to always be at us smokers with the usual tripe (How much we smoke, how much we spend, la la la) for 3 long years. College changed him, he turned into a crustie (grew the hair, surfer clothes and necklaces, groan!) and thought because he listened to Pink Floyd he knew everything about everything.

Recently he took up smoking because during last summer he said he got "addicted to THE DOPE" :rolleyes: and start claiming himself to be a smoker. I met him one night and being unusually nice towards him I told him 1) he wasn't a smoker and 2) get off them before gains a habit......................waste of time for an ignorant smart-ass. He kept saying he could quit anytime because "unlike most people I have the willpower" :confused: He gave them up around Xmas and the first thing he did was send me a text saying "Quit the fags, it CAN be done!"

GGGGGGGGGGGRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!! I hate those fùcking crustie bastards!!

Oh, I smoke, no plans for the forseeable future to get off them and I will punch non-smokers in the face when they start calculating how much I spend on them, it's none of your fùcking business. I enjoy the smooth, relaxing taste of B&H during a hard day's work *looks at camera, holds up a 20 box, smiles and winks*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Extraplus

Yep.

Probably around 6 a day but I will go through 20 on a night out.

I gave up for 15 months once but went back on them. I may try again eventually but I'm kinda enjoying smoking at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

No I hate it, its disgusting. My boyfriend took up smoking about a year ago and I don't kiss him any more. Even if you brush your teeth the taste is still there. He is trying to give up though. So I might get some kisses in the future.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Theres a lad on boards here who used to smoke 80 a day years ago:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

i always wonder when i see people smoking...
    if i gave you a clear liquid and on the container it said this will kill you would you still drink it????