WAGs - Love Them or Hate Them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,590 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

csk wrote: »
    dude i buy it cos i like smell. what's your problem?

Well im not talking about you then am i.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

“What kind of aspiration is that? Footballers’ wives are just as bad as benefit scroungers, it’s just a higher class of scrounger.”
    Is it any classier?

Sure, most if them are pretty but there's more class in being a full-time stoner imho (especially if said stoner models himself on el duderino).

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I doubt even their husbands love them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭csk

dsmythy wrote: »
    Well im not talking about you then am i.

I didn't say you were, dude. Do you think I'm the only one who buys it cos of the smell? The perfume may come to people's attention cos it's got a "star" name but people will only buy it if they like the smell. Seriously dude .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

Ah! leave the WAG's alone. They dont mean any harm.They fill the pages of the glossies. It's mainly women who buy that sort of tripe anyway. Let's just watch the footie and leave the WAG's to our wives and girlfreinds. They dont bother me cause i dont read about them. As for degsy Im just curious to know what sport he enjoys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cokehead Mother

3) Sluts who love money

Woah you say that like it's a bad thing! :mad::(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

WAG's, hmmm, WAG's suggest to me that a footballer has a Wife And Girlfriend's (and they wouldn't do that now, would they?)... Why not refer to them as Wives Or Girlfriend's?... Oh, maybe not then.....

Anyway they are a bunch of idiots, imo, who need to be put over my knee and have their bottoms smacked for being idiots and thinking they are special.... *u*** o* ****i** **a**.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I hate them. I can't believe alot of young girls aspire to be WAGs nowadays.

You can now be famous for shopping and for marrying/shagging/dating a football player.

Not really. Your get MADE famous because you married some dude who happens to be a footballer. And because your just a normal person you either have a job or do what most of us would do if our partner was really rich. Spend the cash and hang out.

Not really their fault the public is hung up on the lives of famous people's other halves. Sure, some of them love it, but some of them hate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Ffbf
    Tpt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭Lirange

WAGS will burn in hell.

But before that they will eat their babies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Degsy wrote: »
    I suppose it all boils down to WWWWWWWWWHHHHHHHIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

fixed that for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

dsmythy wrote: »
    From respected perfumists i presume who consistently come up with great fragrances. Then Colleen or whatever comes along says this is my perfume and people buy it because that well known person has something to do with it.

Well, I presume that Colleen herself doesn't actually make the perfume? To me, it would smell the same as any other perfume on the market. The latest 'designer perfume' (I have no idea what to call them, but you know what i mean) is bought for the same reasons as someone would buy Colleen's one; the name on the bottle/ associating yourself with the brand name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,160 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I suppose it all boils down to 1)football is crap 2)footballers are crap 3)footballers wives are crap 4)people who talk about football are crap(and never have anything else to talk about).

Off topic and.....
    Terry wrote: »
    Agreed. Especially number 4.
    I really don't care who scored the winning goal in the 1949 cup final.

Slow Coach has a good point though. Soccer it is.

Bunch of over paid prima-donnas.

....off topic.

No one asked you the merits of football or footballers. The thread is about wives and girlfriends not how much you hate football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Eire 4Ever

I hate WAGS

I feel sorry for the ordinary decent WAGS who live normal everyday lives as housewives/job workers who don't feed on the fact they are married to minted Soccer players

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭lizann

rb_ie wrote: »
    Everyone and their dog has a perfume out now so it's not really a big deal.

Besides, Coleen McLoughlin has made a massive business out of herself, rather than just sitting there and scrounging off Wayne Rooney. Sure enough his name is what got her there (and her desperation of staying with a boyfriend who was caught doing S&M with very old hookers).

She really is desperate to stay with him after that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Xavi6 wrote: »
    No one asked you the merits of football or footballers. The thread is about wives and girlfriends not how much you hate football.

So would you not be better to report the post than try and control the posting?

P.S - Soccer sucks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

jebuz wrote: »
    Don't you start again on football, you p!ssed half of boards off last time you went on about how much you hate it, in and around half anyway.

Just let the people who like football enjoy it and talk about it if they please, and maybe you should just stop being so bitter about it, talk about the things you like...e.g your favorite brand of butter or how come there hasn't been a boy born that can swim faster than a shark..etc.

Degsy hates everything expressive - don't worry about it. Come to think if it, I think he just hates eerything.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I wish I was one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Mrs Roy Keane

You hate them, with a name like Mrs. Roy Keane...?

just because thats my username i don't aspire to be like them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Here love...have a sandwich

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    Here love...have a sandwich

i hear the prefer spitroasts these days

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Off topic and.....

....off topic.

No,its about "wives and girlfriends" of footballers..Thats what the term WAG pertains to...one of the problems with people who live and breathe football is that they think everybody else wants to talk about it too.
    I reckon football was invented to give people with nothing in common something to discuss when they cant think of anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

I reckon football was invented to give people with nothing in common something to discuss when they cant think of anything else.
    Pighead reckons dumbbells and bench presses were invented to give lads with small todgers, bigger muscles.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Pighead wrote: »
    Pighead reckons dumbbells and bench presses were invented to give lads with small todgers, bigger muscles.

You wont get big muscles if you've a small todger,Pighead.Testosterone production and all that.You stick to crochet and let the grown-ups have a conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Maximilian

You wont get big muscles if you've a small todger,Pighead.Testosterone production and all that.You stick to crochet and let the grown-ups have a conversation.

I dunno, rumour has it he's called Pighead for reasons one wouldn't instantly think of. And wears a cowbell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Off topic and.....

....off topic.

ha ha ha good luck with that argument in AH!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Rio Ferdinand has described the 'WAG' culture that surrounded England in the days before Fabio Capello took charge as a "circus" and admitted that it was central to the squad's recent failures.

In a remarkably frank interview ahead of a World Cup qualifier with Belarus here on Wednesday, the Manchester United defender savaged the celebrity bubble which peaked during the 2006 World Cup finals in Germany, where the wives and girlfriends (WAGS) of the England squad generated as many headlines as the players themselves.
    Underlining the fundamental changes that have been instituted by Capello, England's stand-in captain also hit out at the Italian's predecessor, Steve McClaren, and his apparent desire to be best mates with "Wazza" (Wayne Rooney) and "Stevie G" (Steven Gerrard).
    "In the past we became a bit of a circus, if I'm honest, in terms of the whole Wag situation," Ferdinand admitted.
    "It seems like there was a big show around the whole England squad. It was like watching theatre unfolding and football almost became a secondary element to the main event.
    "People were worrying more about what people were wearing and where they were going, rather than the England football team. That then transposed itself into the team.
    "This regime in contrast is very water-tight. It feels as if we're going in the right direction.
    "I don't want to speak too soon, but you can see we're at the start of something and, hopefully, there'll be bigger rewards than what we've had in the past. Everyone's very focused and attuned to what we want to achieve."
    Ferdinand's comments amount to the breaking of a taboo. Until he spoke out, England's players had unanimously maintained that the media circus surrounding the team at Germany 2006 and subsequently had played no part in their failure to live up to the high expectations vested in what was once termed a "golden generation" of English players.
    "I didn't realise it at the time," admitted Ferdinand. "You were caught up in the bubble - we were in the bubble ourselves.
    "I'm talking with hindsight. But being somewhere like Baden Baden (England's base in Germany), walking around the town, there were paparazzi everywhere and we were in amongst the press as well - and our families were there too. When you step back and look back at that you think like it was a circus."
    With England on track to reach the 2010 finals after missing out on Euro 2008 under McClaren, Ferdinand is confident there will be no mass influx of WAGS into South Africa in two years' time.
    "I'm not going to tell the other players what you should or should not do. But, I just think that, as a squad, we were a bit too open in 2006, going out in and around Baden Baden, and probably had too much contact with families.
    "Some players may think they'd rather have that contact but I think you're in a tournament - and you don't get many tournaments in your career. To give yourself the best chance, you have to be focused."
    With that in mind Ferdinand was delighted when iron-fisted Capello arrived as England manager and produced a list of rules as long as Peter Crouch's right leg.
    "When the new manager arrived I just think that it was very much: 'I'm the boss and this is what is happening.' The lads appreciate that and have warmed to that because that's what happens at their clubs.
    "This new regime is a very, very professional regime. It is very result-orientated. You see how he is on the training ground, in our meetings, that there's a winning mentality there.

"He has a new way of doing things. He isn't shy of telling you what you're doing wrong. That's a big step in the right direction for this team, and that's maybe what we've needed in the past. This squad is in a different frame of mind to the ones I've been in for a while. We've got a very business-like state of mind."
    Central to that, according to Ferdinand, is the distance between the players and Capello.
    "Do you really know any managers?" he asked. "I don't know the real Fergie (Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson). When he comes to football, he's probably a totally different person to when he's at home with his wife and grandchildren," Ferdinand said. "That doesn't matter. They're not here to be buddies, talk about old times or be great friends. They're here to win football matches."

I cant stand WAGs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

JP Liz wrote: »
    I cant stand WAGs

I cant stand Rio Ferdinand, overpaid gobsheen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Rio's one of the best defenders in the world and I don't know what his WAG looks like at all as she mustn't be an attention seeking layabout, good for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Rio's one of the best defenders in the world and I don't know what his WAG looks like at all as she mustn't be an attention seeking layabout, good for him

Good point. You don't hear about most of the footballer's wives and girlfriends. Most of them keep a low profile and it's not that they aren't good looking enough for the tabloids to be interested. They just don't seek the attention that the other media whores do.
    Kiera wrote:
    I cant stand Rio Ferdinand, overpaid gobsheen!

Depends how you look at it. Does the amount of effort he puts in merit the amount he is paid? No. Of course not. But then a guy who cuts turf all day or does an 8 hour shift in a busy restaurant works much harder than someone in an office. Does that make the office worker overpaid? Not in my book.

It's all about how much money you generate. From that point of view, he is not overpaid.

He is a gobsheen though! ;)