I hope Brazil thrash us...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Boggles wrote: »
    They will make 3 million from gate receipts tonight.

3 - 4 (Brazil) - 1.25 (Gaa) = -2.25 million euro

Your friend is blowing smoke up your arse!

so your the accountant for the fai now ya? first off, they will make about 5 million from tonight, 3. 3 million approx from gate receipts and dont forget hospitality, corporate boxes, tv rights and advertising. also remember, this is a 2 game set up, alot who have bought tickets for tonight, have also bought them for serbia, that is where the money is made up. your 2.25 millions loss is about 3 million wrong my friend, the fai will not lose money on this, but overall, from the 2 games, there not making the fortune that everybody says. brazil could have played anywhere tonight, what way do you entice them to a cold and wet croker? throw an extra million or 2 on to them.

remember, the FAI, under Delaney, know how to make money, what ever about running football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Mr Alan wrote: »
    where do bordeaux play?
    Our next two games are on the next 2 Tuesdays in St Columbas College, near Marlay park, at 21.30.

Are you coming for a look?

I could probably arrange one of the lads to pick you up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

you ever play anywhere closer to home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    lol. bitter eircom league "true salt of the earth supporter" fan alert.

The hate for Don Givens is small minded and forgetful.

Bitter? Seems you have an agenda.

you ever play anywhere closer to home?
    Alan, I do enjoy the banter with you on here, but that doesn't actually extend to stalking you in real life.

I have absolutely no idea where "home" is for you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

oh yea, sorry forgot! its homerjay who has my address

northside, howth out to fairview would be perfect :)

Must get it off him so I can send you a Xmas card.
    I live Northside too :)

I get a lift every Tuesday.

Come on out man.

to pay a bet i may add, which has been paid online.....

EDIT: this is a classic example of how threads on here get totally off topic.

back on track , Come on you boys in green!

so,who is actually going to this game? i am anyway

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,454 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Looking forward to it. Must wrap up well.

Anyways, if Brasil do beat us it will be made light of, as 'it is Brasil after all'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

Going too. Hopefully we'll see some good stuff from the likes of Robinho and Anderson as they should be able to come out of their shell more I'd imagine with the more high profile players out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,914 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

gimmick wrote: »
    Bitter? Seems you have an agenda.

Me, agenda? No. Plus, I'm not even your problem. I attend a few EL games a year and understand a thing or two about football. So I'm not the type that needs converting.

But, as much as you are bitter about the fact that the EL is small fry in this country - and a meanginless show friendly against Brazil will create more coverage and attention and money than 15 EL matches: you should hold your tongue when it comes to Don Givens.

He may have nothing to do with the EL, but he has busted his ass off for football in this country. As a player who gave 100%; and as a manager who traipses around with a succession of underfunded, underskilled and uncared for U21 teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,935 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

so your the accountant for the fai now ya? first off, they will make about 5 million from tonight, 3. 3 million approx from gate receipts and dont forget hospitality, corporate boxes, tv rights and advertising. also remember, this is a 2 game set up, alot who have bought tickets for tonight, have also bought them for serbia, that is where the money is made up. your 2.25 millions loss is about 3 million wrong my friend, the fai will not lose money on this, but overall, from the 2 games, there not making the fortune that everybody says. brazil could have played anywhere tonight, what way do you entice them to a cold and wet croker? throw an extra million or 2 on to them.

remember, the FAI, under Delaney, know how to make money, what ever about running football.

No but you sure sound like it. You forgot to mention they have to pay other people aswell, like staff???

If Brazil are getting 4 million for tonights match I will eat Eamonn Dunphys Tweed Jacket.

Cold & Wet night, your fogetting most of the Brazilians are used to this considering most of them play there football in Europe.

Your also controdicting yourself, "The FAI know how to make money" - But your saying they will not make a substantial profit?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

DesF wrote: »
    I hope Brazil win.

did u not draw a line from where u were born and see that Ireland was the closest country to ya? ur supporting system confuses me Des

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

well can u prove me wrong so? i came up with a figure that i have been told and i stand by that. The lad that told me this, also told me this game was happening about 6 weeks before it became common knowledge so i trust him that its correct.

Brazil charge $1m per game.

Much as I don't want to do it..... FACT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

These type of posts came up around the time of the San Marino game, "aw fuk Stan, Ill be cheering for SM". Childish stuff.

Is the match live online anywhere for free? Cant make it down the pub tonight and this gaff only has poxy old ntl cable (not my descision I can assure you)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

For the record, one thing that fundamentally gets on my nerves is Ole Ole barstoolers who wouldnt be caught dead at any Irish game below the senior side giving out that the FAI are 'cashing in' on glamour ties like this.

They need to because people like you cant be relied on to attend any other games and fund the association like every other group of fans do.

No doubt the same guys who want the players in 5 star hotels and first class seats on planes.

Jazzy wrote: »
    did u not draw a line from where u were born and see that Ireland was the closest country to ya? ur supporting system confuses me Des
    Did you forget to turn on your sarcasm radar this morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭joe316

wheres the best place to park for this tonight, normally wouldnt drive but bringing two smallish kids to it. Coming from kildare direction

joe316 wrote: »
    wheres the best place to park for this tonight, normally wouldnt drive but bringing two smallish kids to it. Coming from kildare direction
    Find a parking place in Dublin CC and walk out to Croker, or else get a bus.

It's about a 15 minute walk from O'Connell St.

All of the streets around Croke Park will need Parking Permits, as is the case on Gah Big Days Out, and other International Soccer and Rugby games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Is it on live on any channel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭joe316

cheers des, someone mentioned the old des kelly place in phibsboro, not too familiar with the area, and they are coming from the n3 direction so it probably suits them better to use a more northern place.

zuutroy wrote: »
    Is it on live on any channel?

ART Sport
    NTV Spor
    Polsat Sport Extra
    SI Live 24
    Sky Sports 1 (uk)
    Sport TV2
    SportKlub (Slovenia)
    Sportsmax
    TV Avala

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Ta.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

by the way, i have heard from reliable sources, that the fai will make very little from tonight. they have had to pay a good few million euros(i have heard 4) to get brazil here and are paying the GAA 1.25 million euro. so add up all other expenses and maybe you realise that this game is not about money. The serbia game maybe, but not this. These typs of posts are total crap and anyway, theres already an ireland brazil thread, why couldn you post in that?

Well then there even more of a joke.

Its obvious it's about the money. If it wasn't we should be playin over in Ukraine or Belarus tonight for experience that we need for September and not the FAI just trying to make money where they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭joe123

your a true supported so ya? you want your country to get beaten, this sickens me

listen, i dont give 1 f**k about the FAI, i really dont. i only care about 1 thing and 1 thing only, the 11 lads that wear the green on the pitch, representing the country that i was born in. your a disgrace, you really are. take off your anti fai tinted glasses and support your country ffs.

Exactly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

What kind of **** is this? no matter who is in charge of the team, no matter who is in the the starting XI you support your country

have a bit of national pride in you please

im aware of the farce that is the irish football organisation, but i have never once wished defeat on my nation. and i never will

i support my country regardless of any other **** around it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,474 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

I don't give a flying **** who wins tonight. A 7 all draw would be nice.
    Its a meaningless heap of ****e against a 2nd or 3rd string Brazil side.
    Will be in the upper cusack.

at last people are talking sense on this thread and slowly the number of people that want ireland to win is rising. its a pity that we cant see who voted for brazil :mad: it makes no sense what so ever that an irish person would wish for their team to lose. none what so ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

I hope we get thrashed because i have Brazil backed.
    Simple as that :D

Theres your reason!