Q&A with nicnicnic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

poorbarman wrote: »
    Keep up the good work nic.No questions,just keep it up.Just one....what site you playing those STTs on?(for obsverational purposes only)

I'm keeping the alias I'm playing ATM private but if you have any specific ?s in relation to stts just pm me and I'm only to happy to help

And another, boxing match HJ V R4AD..who wins?

Well I don't know any of the two lads personally so don't know,.

connie147 wrote: »
    Hi Nicky,
    Well done on your well so far. Cant sopend too much tiome on it this week as I've the snooker in the Glen to attend to. Couple of questions before I go though

Tks Connie did the Waterford team win again

1)... My belief is that a 15,000 stack with a 1 hr clock is virtually the ideal game for a 3 day tourney. Maybe 1 every 6 weeks in different locations by various good operators and then maybe 2 or 3 majors (ie IO IPO etc etc). Do you feel the buy-ins are getting too big generally?

LOL I've answered this in the Rocks ?s and nearly duplicated what your saying before I read your ?s great minds.... what!

No I probably don't think there's enough. I'm not going to count side events at the IO or EPT so last year we had five events that cost either €1000/€1500 ( the IPC and GJP the two Macau festivals and the one in the emporium ). this year we have more with JP and bigslick having €1k games planned. I think there is a real opportunity for all the promoter's to come together and tie all these type of games together into a type of tour ( along the lines of the of the GUKPT ). Have one every six weeks rather then them all falling on top of each other like the joke we had last year, and have one of the events as a bigger buy in grand final.

I totally agree with you re the 15k stack 1 hour, also the way you introduce the antes at the 500/1000 with a repeat level and 100 ante is excellent

2).. Are you a better live or online player?

I'm a fraction of the player online that I'm live when on my game

3).. Why are you so reluctant to become more of a cash game player? (selfishly,I'm asking this because I find myself in the same boat)

Wish I had a clear answer Connie because I know logically I should at least be playing both but I just don't enjoy playing cash

4)..Oh just enjoy your well, I'll be back on Monday for more

Connie
    ty

Hey Nicky, good stuff so far, just a few quick ones for you.

1.in the last Waterford fest when i doubled you up on the bubble do you think i should have folded considering the stack i had and especially when i picked up info on you earlier when you showed AAs KKs a couple of times?

No that hand was a cooler and you cant fold QQ in that spot against me esp with the blinds being what they were.

the fact that I showed the AA KK should make you want to call more. Setting up a play is the only reason I'm showing these cards.

2.when you sit down and play on line do you play only stts and how many hours do you put in?, or do play sats and mtt as well.

If I'm playing stts I just play, them Mtts can tilt me online I generally play one or two small ones when I'm finished for the day late at night on stars while watching a movie and browsing.

3.We have been on the same table quite a few times, what do you think of me as a player?

I think you have improved ( no pun intended ) emmencely since I first played with you, you have become much more positionally aware and you seem to put a lot more thought into what your doing while in a hand these days. but as with myself I think your still capable of the odd complete brain fart

Best of luck Keith.

tks Keith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

8. If you had a gun with just one bullet left would you prefer to shoot

a) Roland De Wolfe
    or
    b) goodluck2me

one of those amour piercing ones would be nice I could just line both up then
    I can tell you know, that`s one race that fat hoer wouldnt win!

Also stop being a bitch and answer the personal questions, you didnt see Devore saying "i couldnt possibly answer that"...grow a set...

rag2gar wrote: »
    Nicky you are considered one of the top players in the country thanks to some very impressive results in Irish tournaments. What do you believe is key to making the step up from an average run of the mill tourney player to a top successful tournament winner?

This is going to sound cocky but TBH Gary I've never been a run of the mill player and played the bigger games right from the start and was competitive straight away in them. I was asked A similar ? to this in my blog recently and this is what I came up with

*** its very hard to quantify what makes a good tournament player and many different styles can be successful. All I can really advise you on is to play as much as possible, no amount of books can teach you experience. Yes you need basic poker maths but people can get boggled down with all the literature out there. Learn how to win first you can learn why your winning later.

I think you will learn a lot more by making mistakes and thinking about where it went wrong then reading about what mistakes to avoid. I consider myself very much a situational player and can play hands very differently then the pure theorists will dictate. All I can advise is play as much as you can and go with your reads don't be afraid to look silly if you think your right. I still make plays that would be laughed at in $10 stts but its these same plays that have made me a winning player for the last three years now.

I know all this is very vague but you just cant put into a box what ultimately makes a winner of tournaments. I will say that understanding playing the player and understanding when to gamble are very important, again this cant really be thought you must learn it through playing. I think these two areas are what separates the OK players and the good to great players. When I talking about gambling I'm not talking pot odds but rather taking a shot at a race considering the holistic effect this will have on your chances of winning the tournament. Or if a player is running over a final table it could mean taking a stand with a marginal hand to slow them down and swing the balance of power on a final table in your favor.

My goal is always to win the tournament and I always think in this context rather then cashing or sitting up the money ladder. This year if I was a more conservative player in these areas I could probably of sat into cashing for €200k+ more then I have with the situations I found myself in, but I firmly believe over my poker life my philosophy is + EV.

Having played countless hours of live poker over the last few years what is the most impressive attributes eg good stategy and worst flaws eg going on tilt you see in quality/poorer players?

Well patience is hugely important but I think one of my best assets is that I always have a complete understanding of where I stand in the overall picture of a tournament. I mean a good awareness of whats needed/dictated by my stack the blinds in the holistic context of a given tournament.

In a deep stack the worst mistakes I see by novice players is impatience and not understanding the value of there stack. You see guys with 6k of there starting 10k in the second level thinking there shortstacked and throwing the rest of the chips away all the time.

If you were to rate yourself as a poker player today on a scale of 1-10 where would you be and why?

Well I'm not going to rate myself ( we've played a few times you can rate me ) I will say that I'm learning and thinking about the game all the time and that my game is in a state of constant change and always evolving

Is it correct to never do deals in tourneys under normal stuctures/payouts in your opinion?

Well I always say no and know that doing deals is -Ev for me but end up doing them anyway. The payout structure of many events lends itselt to deal making, first in the IPC this year was 180k and forth 35k this is two big a gap in my opinion for a field of that size and business will always be done with that kind of gaps

What percentage of your attitude to playing poker is considered working or entertainment? (EG 60% for work ie making money element, 40% for entertainment)

God I dont know probably 70/30 live 85/15 online but thats the last few weeks it was 10/90 on line for 7 months before january

Your blog seems pretty well received with 14 comments on your last post. Do you plan on keeping it up in the future and to what extent? As in a post a week/month after a big tourney etc?

well all the comments stem from people feeling sorry for me after a post I made here last week I think. I enjoy writing the blog I was kinda doing one anyway on the bigslick forum for six months with a challenge I was doing and I always did review/reports on the bigger events I played. In its current form it was just really to let friends see how I was getting on in Vegas last summer, texting twenty different people the same is just time consuming. I have grown to enjoy keeping the blog its a good personal diary if nothing else but I do get good feedback about it in general which is nice

Who's your tip for next months deepstack game? Are you playing and if so how do you rate your chances in what shall be a truly unique tourney?

Well I could probably pick 30 players and have 5 final tablets but like any event its wide open as you put me on the spot I'll go for Muldoon. I'm 50/50 about playing it ATM I just don't fancy a week in a Drogheda hotel room as we speak but I know what I'm like so will more then likely be there

Thanks a mill

NP

I'll get to more later but gonna take a break from them now

I can tell you know, that`s one race that fat hoer wouldnt win!

lol

Also stop being a bitch and answer the personal questions, you didnt see Devore saying "i couldnt possibly answer that"...grow a set...

well if you mean the ones like whose the biggest prick in irish poker that's just it its bitchy and im way above that, as for ?s like do I own property well that's not anyone's business here whether i do or don't, no offence to the people who asked those type of ?s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭SIDESHOW BOBs

cheers for doing this nicky, it's grate to be able to see inside the head of a real life poker professional.

my question is this how do you find the time to be ram vaswani's personal trainer and log all those hours online and traveling must take a fair bit of planning ? how often would you meet up with ram to discuss his progress etc.

again thanks for this:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

Great thread Nicky, well done

When did you first play Texas Hold 'Em & where, was it online or live.

How did you do in your first few games, did it come naturally or did you struggle for a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭Blip

Hi Nicky,

Great well and very interesting read. My attempt at some Qs.

1. When playing live MTTs do you have stage goals i.e. 70 runners 10k starting stack by the first break I want to have approx. 15K etc.

2. Early stages of an mtt do you pay much attention/importance to the average stack size?

3. If there are one or two runners with super tankers in the early stages would this focus of hindrance your play.

4. Read about this one a couple of times…..Online riggaments lol. Do you have any thoughts on the “large stack syndrome” i.e underdog suck outs against best hand, "again"

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭bantee

Hi Nicky,

Thanks for answering the questions so far. Just have a couple for you on live play. If similar ones have been answered already you can ignore this.

1. How much of your success in live tournaments do you put down to the "feel factor" and "gut instinct" part of your game; on knowing when to bet and raise to accumulate chips from opponents?

2. Can you tell by body language, a person's eyes, or even the way they pick up chips to bet that they have a weak hand and its time to raise them? And does this aspect of anyone's game need to improve to be successful in live tournaments?

3. Can you spot the weaker players after a few minutes on the table and do you mark those out to gather chips from and increase your stack?

4. Do you get an adrenaline rush when you pull off a crazy bluff in a big tournament?

Thanks,
    bantee

Van Dice wrote: »
    good thread nicnic

TY VD

dacman wrote: »
    Hi nicky good read so far

TY

Here are some questions of mine.

1.If you are chatting up some really nice bird in a pub/club and she is really interested and then she asks you what do you do for a living what would you say.

just say I'm independently wealthy, she will obv assume that I'm a drug dealer but a lot of chicks go for that sort of thing so I'll probably pull

2. Say you had 200k in the bank would you find it hard to take a 100 freeze out in waterford seriously.

In general no but it would be player dependant, if they were people I like or enjoy playing with or players I want to own then I'd be interested

3. Whats your favourite/least favourite site to play online and why.

Well I think everyone likes the first site they played on and I always liked the old crypto sortware. As time passes you come to understand that you will get used to any software. Its a bit like when you start playing live and think this dealer is unlucky for me or I hate JJ as time passes this type of thing goes from your mindset.

4. Whats your biggest online tourney win besides the prague ept.

I've never really had that big a touch online but I don't really play that many Mtts online. I chopped a tournament on stars earlier this year getting $5000, I got £2500 sterling in one earlier in the year also. I won the old £12000 and £8000 guarantees on crypto a few years ago but cant remember what I got

5. Do you think young people aged between 18-22 who make say 40k a year at poker and have given up there jobs/college career goals are making a wrong move in the long term.

Well if they were in an unskilled dead-end job I'd say why not, I would strongly be against anyone in college or a good job with prospects doing so

6. Do you get a weird reaction of non poker people when you tell them what you do for a living.

I honestly have never told anyone that I'm a pokerpro If someone is very inquisitive I will tell them that my income comes from poker but I have a real problem with the term pokerpro

thanks nicky

np

eagle eye wrote: »
    Fair play Nicky for doing this, just a couple of easy ones for you.

ty

1. Whats your preferred structure for a freezeout with a €500+ buyin?

the two bigslick monkey events last year and more recently Connies festival had a 60 minute clock and 15000 starting with all levels were all great games so I'll go with that

2. Who is the player you find it most difficult to play against?

A good aggressive LAG on my left but they are few and far between, no individual springs to mind

3. Whats your best piece of advice for someone starting out at poker?

read and learn all you can about bankroll management and position

4. What is your biggest goal in life pokerwise?

To make three times what I would of made working every year

5. Who is your favourite golfer of all time and present time if different?

LOl its usualy the most recent winner I've had a few quid on, I always liked Seve he was special when on his game Greg Norman was always great to watch also.

6. You find an old dusty lamp and rub it and a genie pops out and gives you three wishes, what are they?

lifetime suppley of coke cola bottles the jellys, hair, inner peace for Mike Tyson

7. Who is your favourite poker player of all time and present time if different?

I dont really go for Fav players so the answer has to be me

8. Who is your least favourite poker player of all time and present time
    if different?[

that Khan guy was pretty annoying at this years wsop

Brayruit wrote: »
    Just two questions Nicky...

(1)

Folded round to you and you hold J2o in the cut off.

You respect the play of the BB but you think that the button and SB are weak.

Fold, call or raise?

I can think of situations where I push but generally fold

(2)

How long do you remember the way a player played certain hands / situations?[

I have excellent recall of hands and players I can remember hands from over two years ago but always assume that a player can improve or played a bad hand in isolation until I see different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Q - above you say that you dont like a good aggressive lag on your right as he is the most difficult to play against.

care to elaborate? if you have confidence in your own game id av thought that was the place for him?

Rossibaby wrote: »
    great thread nic thanks for doing it!

TY

1.whats the best advice you would give to a young poker player at low stakes?

I really cant add anything except play and study lots

2.when i have a bad run or make a stupid decision i tend to dwell on it as i dont play really often[once/twice a week],do you expiefrence similar feelings?

Yes very much so, a badly played hand can be on my mind for months but I think this is a good thing as you wont make the same mistake again

3.sometimes i kind of know im behind but find it hard to let a good hand go,say hitting something on the flop then danger cards on turn and river.i almost call out of stubborness...ne advice

I have the same problem, online more so then live, just tell yourself the second best hand never wins no matter how pretty it looks

4.do you think tight players ultimately do better in tourny's,i find that aggro ones often bow out needlessly,as you say that pot where 2 guys were knocked out got you 25k.tight players can get a little stick but i find the respect you get can lead you to pull of bluffs better and consistently win pots playing premium hands with the odd suited connecters thrown it.

Being tight will only get you so far, yes you will get the odd result but you must be able to open up your game when needs be. When I went out in 6th that was worth 30k to the players left and I suppose a tight player will fold 22 in that spot but would they of gotten into that spot in the first place!

5.do you think players often think they are better than they are?i mean local club players,often they say '' oo you should have folded there'' etc i find them a bit idiotic to claim suc things`after a hand

I often pull players up on ridiculing others play on a table, the table coach is one of the most annoying things I encounter playing. Having said that if someone asks me for advice re a hand or I see someone I know making stupid mistakes I will talk to them away from the table. Last year three tables left in the IO the Fox had just had a couple of raises snapped off. I know his game very well and could see he made a bad move which he got away with through frustration I immediately called him off the table and gave him some strong worded advice.

6.how did you learn?and what do you think are your main attributes

I learned through playing, I'd like to think intelligence and strong analytical thought processing

Q - above you say that you dont like a good aggressive lag on your right as he is the most difficult to play against.

care to elaborate? if you have confidence in your own game id av thought that was the place for him?

missprint ment left, i love them on my right, I like you at either side

Only Aces wrote: »
    nicky,if ur brother gary hdad kept playing do you think he would have developed into as good a player as yourself?

Who knows both my brothers that play are regular and decent/good players but they play for totally recreational purposes. Mainly a pub game every monday and the bigslick game in Tramore during the summer but while there competitive its really a social game for them

if you keep playing until ur 65 do you think you could become as good a player as butch?

I'll be happy just to reach 65 TBH

Butch is my dad for those that don't know him and would be known as a super seven card stud and draw poker from back in the day. One of my greatest pleasures I've got from this game is that I was able to reintroduce my dad to playing cards again. I brought him to a bigslick charity game over two years ago, it was the first time he played NLH and he has been playing regularly since. Every-time I enter my parents house I get a great buzz seeing him on the laptop playing $1/2 Omaha which he inevitably is

If I had played with Robbie, Gary and Butch in the four man team event in Waterford last february our four finishing positions would of won the event by a wide margin

cheers m8;)

np

Shortstack wrote: »
    Nicky, well done for doing this.

TKS Mike

1: When was the first time you ever played a hand of poker and what were you initial thoughts on the game?

I played cards all my childhood some of my earliest memories are watching my dad playing poker in the C Y an old club in Waterford that had three snooker tables and a card playing room. I played a lot of seven card stud in my early teens, I lived close to the city center and on summer nights there was always a card school going on some street corner. The first hand of holdem i played was on betfair in Sept 2004 my initial reaction was yes I'll have some of this; I maxed a credit card that day.

2: If you were asked to compile a top 20 Irish Live MTT players where would you put yourself in the list. What about Pat?

I'd have both of us in the top 10

3: What is about your game that has made you so consistent?

I donno Mike all I can think of is that I'm very good at it

4: Why are you so offended about being labelled as a "character" on the Irish poker scene. Do you feel it detracts from your image as a successful player? Would you rather be a money making "character" or a losing "He's a great player"?

I wasn't offended at being labeled a character. This is about a piece that Mike wrote on antesup in the run up to last years IO. He listed about 15 Irish players that he considered had a good chance in the event ( I don't think any of them cashed ). Then in the next sentence he said and then you have players...... like bob battersby, the chief and Nicky Power. I took offence to being categorized with the two biggest running joke of players on the Irish scene. Can you please write something similar this year it was obv a great motivator.

5: If you were to live your life again from the age of 11 and were allowed to make only one different choice down the route of your life what would it be?

Well I've made many mistakes in my life but they have made me what I am and while I haven't and don't lead an orthodox life I'm happy with what and who I am. Hmm so it will have to be never start smoking, they will kill me but I don't think I'll ever give them up

thats it for today get to the rest tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 GoodEnough

Nicky dont know if ur after covering this but

How important is it too have poker bank-roll management?

Tomsy

Flushdraw wrote: »
    Cheers Nicky...great read so far...

TKS Tony

Oh and the questions from Michael McGumshious..obv for the purposes of a bet with Ste05, technically MrMcGumshious didnt post on boards....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Great Read Nicky, and your blog is excellent btw...

Just a few questions....

When your out smoking do you sometimes wonder "mmm what cards are being mucked on me".

Do you take advantage of players who look like there going to explode unless they can get out and have a "smoke"..

What do you think of the recent "tournament players" V "Cash players" etc., debate on boards.

do you think that players who play mostly online, find it hard to adjust to the slowness of live play...

Whats the funniest thing you've heard at a poker table.

Whats the weirdest thing you've ever heard at a poker table.

Is Valor really as good a player as I think he is?

do you coach
    (I don't mean that smartly. Have you ever taken a player under your wing and helped them with their game).

You never really seem that interested in the early levels in deep stack tournaments, i.e. your more than often away from the table, is that a tactic or just the way it is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Hi Nicky,
    Congratz on a great well. Very informative reading. Couple of questions:

1-How do you like to spend your spare time,like say when you decide to take 2 or 3 days off from poker?
    2-Is the tin of biscuits the most unusual prize you ever won?
    3-Why dont you bring Butch to Killarney with you anytime you come for a tourney?Manys the great week-end I had with him in the Glen eagle.
    4-Are you a believer in a constantly similar preflop raise(ie: 3xBB's,4xBB's etc etc regardless of holding asnd position?
    5-Not counting the IPC in Galway,how many early exits have you had in major tourneys?

And thanks for doing the well.I've enjoyed it. Top man!!

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Good job Nicky. Great read as anticipated. Just the one (rambly) question:

TKS L, rambly answer follows

- In your opinion, how important do you think it is to have self confidence in your own ability that borders on arrogance?

I don't know how important it is but I've always had it although I'm a lot more pragmatic about the game in general now then when I started.

If you are completely honest with yourself, have you ever been sat at a table and thought "oh balls" when a certain opponent wanders over to take their seat?

No but following on from what I said above, in the 2006 Irish open I was on the starting table That the blogging sites called the table of death. the line up was Marty Smyth, Dave O' Callaghan, Rob Young, Mike Caro, Simon Trumper, Steve Jelinek and a good Scandie pro. I ran all over that table for 6 levels before being one outed for the chip lead in the tournament. The point im trying to make is about being more pragmatic today, at the time of the 2006 Irish open I thought I was something special if I had cashed in that tournament for what I did in 2007 I would of held this totally unrealistic view of how good I was. Now dont get me wrong I think I'm a very good player but I thought I was Ivey lol at the time but in reality knew very little about the game except I knew how to win. Fast forward a year and I cash for €100,000 I didnt think this made me a better player then the week before. I knew I was lucky to run so deep in such a big event and didnt think I was the best player in the world which I would of if it had happened a year earlier.

I suppose the thre biggest names I've played with are Vaswani De Wolfe and Annette, I can tell you honestly what my thoughts were when they came to the table.

2006 IPC starting table Vaswani sits directly to my left, I think lovely I want a slap off this fellow, 7 levels later the table breaks he has 70k me 50k, good days work now I look back at it.

2007 Irish open, 4 tables out De Wolfe sits to my right, my thought are great I'll be able to snap off a good few raises here

EPT prague, I sit down and Annete is my cutoff, My thought are, this will be interesting I'm glad she is to my right

And finally, do you think it is possible to be a winner longterm if you do think "oh no" when someone sits down at your table?

Well In cash for sure isn't table selection a huge factor in successful cash players profits

Cheers.

Describe some of your most interesting experiences from Henrys

I don't think I can come close in any words to describe the good times I had in that place. The atmosphere was totally unique and sometimes there was just so much energy in the place it just seemed like the whole building would explode. The building itself was a **** whole and wasn't far from really collapsing I'd say in reality. I became fairly good friends with resident djs Shane & Greg and remember one night in the dj box with Shane ( it was over the bar looking down on the floor ) Just watching the way a tune would take hold of the crowd was something else. Sweat ran for 13 years and was the longest running club night in Europe and also won numerous awards including mtvs best club. Greg and Shane started producing there own stuff and released an album about 4 years ago operating under the name fishgodeep ( I don't think either played tournaments) and a track from it topped the British dance charts. Shane Johnson the best DJ I ever herd play. There's a **** load of mixes from sweat nights on fishgodeep.com but the site is down for some reason

Do you still listen to house music?

Yes all the time but don't go clubbing anymore and what I listen is mostly stuff from 1993/2003 I've kinda lost contact with most of the people that I used to knock with from that time and am not really with whats going on atm in the contemporary dance scene

Give a broad explanation of some of your Speech Play tactics

Its hard explain really and I seldom use speech play during a hand these days. I do talk a lot at a table and much of it is to affect, influence opponents perception of me to basically setting up plays. A good example of this what I told DE Wolfe at last years IO, from my blog

Got the start I needed when after an hour I found AA and got them in pre-flop Vs 88, which got me to about 150k. Then Roland De Wolfe is moved directly to my right there were about 32 players and we were heading for 14k payday at 29 players. He starts talking about how 10k is a lot of money asks me what I do and is this a lot of money to me. I copped straight away what he is at. I tell him I do some part-time teaching and that 10k is a huge amount for me as I won my entry in a free-roll but 14k would be unreal as I could change the car and have a holiday. Three times in the next three orbits I came over the top of his bets. Each time he says you must have a big hand I tell him a monster I'm not risking that 4k without the goods.

9 handed tournament, you have about 50 blinds. Would you prefer kk on the button or AA utg?

KK on the button and its not even close

Where was that stooped and mealy-colored old man I used to call poppa when the merry-go-round broke down?

Where are the Snowdens of yesteryear?

Macspower wrote: »
    Only getting to this one now.... Great read Nicky...

No real questions that havn't been covered...

WD and contnued success.... you've come a long way from the CPT days.... lol

Mac

TKS Mac, the first post i ever made on boards was titled " CPT are the bomb " and got me barred as a shill lol

BTW I finally found how to link other blogs on mine ( how retarded am I, took me seven months and I still cant do a screenshot or post a picture ) I've linked you and a few others. If I've missed anyone or anyone wants wants me to link them just post a comment or pm me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭poorbarman

Brilliant stuff,great read well done Sir.........

What did you dislike about the Rio?

the place is soulless with no atmosphere, i thought it was like a big warehouse filled with poker tables, I kinda felt like I'd imagine a cow would feel in a cattle mart

Why did you consider Vegas a 'sh1thole' (i read your blog !), personally I'd have thought if a poker player /gambler dislikes Vegas then he is going to struggle to find places he does like.

I think you have one line of what I wrote here and misunderstood the context of what I was saying

My first impression as we travelled to the house from the Airport is this place is a ****hole and on the journey to the airport on the way home my opinion hadn’t changed but what a ****hole. .............All in all I enjoyed my time in Vegas.

the What is the key word here and could be misunderstood but I'm saying its some spot

Do you think Irish players chances at the WSOP would be increased if they did far less 'socialising'?. Would you ever consider an ultra-professional approach yourself one year?

I think this one has been done to death in the past and the short answer is yes, I was finishing up a 24 hour drinking session 24 hours before I played the main vent last summer which is stupid but then again I often drink the night before an event in Ireland.

Any fundamental rules of HoldEm you would like changed (for example I've never liked counterfeiting and think that 22 should beat Ax on a double-paired board)?

No, being counterfeited is one of the worst feelings in the game but the game is the best 5 of seven.
    Thanks for doing this by the way, a very good read.

ty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

very good read so far nicky, fair play to ya
    I'll throw a few random questions at you.

You say if you wernt into poker, you'd work in a bank job - isnt there something else you would have liked to do?

Have you ever travelled - such as the australia trip?

I often find that i couldnt be bothered replying to some theory threads, that although i may know the "correct" answer in some situations, or have the bones for a decent argument in others, my manner in structuring my comments into defined areguments is lacking - unlike some other posters, and this has me not bothering as such - Are you in the same boat??

If not can you explain why you dont post as much in the theory section, as when it comes to tournie situations people would obv value your and ollies opinions highly (amongst others)

What handicap do you play off in golf?

Would you rather go to the ryder cup in america, all ireland final were waterford are the favourites, champions league final or the WSOP 2008 (your not playing in the ME)

What was the omaha book like you read, and do you think you;; ever get your head around it?

Tell us a story that still makes you laugh when you look back on it, something of the same varietty as the geansai story in waterford last year

do you regret not playing the ETP dublin seeing you were in such a rich vein of form??

Poker players tend to destroy their bank roll with sports bets - is it only those with bad bankroll management that do this? do you bet on horses/football alot of golf??

And finally do you know the whereabouts of mr flash??? we miss him

thanks nicky

-What is your Degree & Masters in and do you feel that you'll ever use them?

BBS accounting stream and a 12 month thought masters in accounting, I hope not

-What does "enpea" mean/originate from?

its just my initials phonetically

-Do you often get strange looks from people who recognise you?

I'm not sure I'm getting the question but if you mean people whom I don't know recognising me through poker. Well I wouldn't say strange looks but I do get people who speak to me who I don't know speaking to me as thought they know me well but with the forum here and my blog ect I suppose this is to be expected as I put a lot of stuff about myself out there, just like this tread I suppose.

-When you were interviewed by Liz Bonnin straight after you got knocked out of the final table of last years IO she acted like she knew you for years. Is this the case?

No but I think its clear from the interview that she fancies me like mad

-Have you secretly practised your acceptance speech with Normon chad after you win the WSOPME?

I'm constantly doing interviews with Norman in my mind. A bit like the guy in the commitments is with terry wogan

Thank you.