Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greatest Living Irishman ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Chakar wrote:
    Living Irishmen Legends

Bono (Paul Hewitt)

Bob Geldof (did anybody see the interview with Gerry Ryan man he was so honest)

Bob Charlton

Close enough, Paul Hewson

Bob Charlton is Irish? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭blahblah1234

You should pick people that made an impact on Ireland to improve it greatly, the best ones of those are :

1. Eamonn De Valera ( Considered Irish )
    2. Michael Collins
    3. Sean Lemass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭GAA widow

You should pick people that made an impact on Ireland to improve it greatly, the best ones of those are :

1. Eamonn De Valera ( Considered Irish )
    2. Michael Collins
    3. Sean Lemass

I'm guessing you're a Fianna Fáil supporter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

1) Erwin Schrodinger (Aer Riannta seemed to think he was Irish and ranked him with Hamilton - (although he is dead))

2) Germaine Greer - just to piss everyone off including herself hopefully

3) Shane McGowan - for defiance of gravity and musical ability without being able to sing.

I've seen nations that have given state funerals to entertainers - buried them alongside state leaders and scratched my head...

There's no way this would ever happen in Ireland - Behan hinted at the problem.

Think a vote on this will never be agreed on tbh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭DilbertPartII

There's no way this would ever happen in Ireland - Behan hinted at the problem.

Think a vote on this will never be agreed on tbh!

What did Behan say?

/More head scratching

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

What did Behan say?

/More head scratching
    Behan hinted that we are a nation of begrudgers, bigotts and a nation that is still coming to terms with its own identity.

His most famous quote is : "Fúck the begrudgers".

As proof of this some mod will now move this thread to the literary forum and I am going to be hoisted onto my own petard! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭ismynametoolong

As an honorary Irishman Sven Goran Ericsson has got to be up there for taking £5 mil a year and making such a mess of Englands world cup hopes !! :p

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Gay Byrne <--true legend
    me. xD
    eh,Dustin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Mick Lalley. "Well holy God, why didn't I get a mention? Sure I'm a legend!"

brc80s_glenroe425x250.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

1. Ray D'Arcy cos he's everyone's best mate
    2. Ardal O'Hanlon cos he's hilarious
    3. Colin Meaney cos of the commitments "the lord sent him, on a ****in Suzuki"

Strange choice I kno, but I think the best Irishmen are dead.
    RIP: Philo, Rory, Gaybo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Cy Kotic

I'm surprised to see Bono in so many lists. How anyone could see him as being great is beyond me. I suppose it's the times we live in that such a tosser could be even mentioned in a list of great irishmen.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Cy Kotic wrote:
    I'm surprised to see Bono in so many lists. How anyone could see him as being great is beyond me. I suppose it's the times we live in that such a tosser could be even mentioned in a list of great irishmen.:rolleyes:
    Concur.

My 3:

1) Chippy Brady

2) Michael D. Higgins

3) Senator David Norris

As PogMoThoin said though, "the best Irishmen are dead."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 HellOrConnaught

1) John Hume
    2) Christy Moore
    3) Shane McGowan

AND...

4) Daniel O'Donnell (King of Granny Rock)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭david1two3

Slow coach wrote: »
    Eamonn Coghlan
    Ronnie Delaney
    Stephen Roche

Delaney used to live in Southpark and we managed to get a look at his medal, it was a long haul to get to see it after which I never spoke to him or his son again, he bored me senseless and I was only ten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭david1two3

1. Norah Harkin (97)

2.David Norris (21)

3.Gerald Fitzgarret(eighty odd, a leader should not play hide and seek while running the country)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Would I be shot if I said Bono?

Just jokin'

Mary Harney.

• Registered Users Posts: 342 ✭✭Matt Santos

The one and only true legend living Irishman is

Jimmy Magee

Different class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

The little man himself Bosco a true Irish legend :D

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

~Marky~ wrote: »
    The little man himself Bosco a true Irish legend :D

man :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Mrs Roy Keane

Roy Keane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Joe duffy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

I'm curious as to what people think Bono has done to warrant a title of greatest living Irishman?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭thusspakeblixa

Mine would be
    1. Dylan Moran
    2. Roy Keane
    3. Pat Ingoldsby (now THERE'S a legend for ya)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

tallaght01 wrote: »
    I'm curious as to what people think Bono has done to warrant a title of greatest living Irishman?

Together with the rest of the boys in U2 he has created the best body of work of any rock band over the last 30 years and he has used his fame to try to effect change for the better in the world with regard to justice, climate change, equality of opportunity etc

He can be a bit of a bore to listen to at times but so can 100% of men, Irish and foreign - just most people dont have the same amount of positive attributes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

1.steve staunton
    2.brian kerr
    3.mick mc carthy

*clicks down laptop throws it on the floor*

• Registered Users Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Roy Keane

Roy Keane gets my vote as well. A real legend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Jason McAteer

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭Dashticle

Who's this Bono chap? Never heard of him. He must keep his head down and out of the limelight?

I'd say Roy Keane.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Sean Og

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭PH01

Michael O'Leary - Ryanair Boss