If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The poker forum - my take

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

I propose HJ and R4D to meet up for a series of events to prove to the poker world and the good people of boards who is the better.

Round 1 will consist of a deepstack, best of 3, heads up NLH poker game.

Round 2 will consist of a 4 round boxing match where the 2 players have knock 7 different colours of shiiite outta each other

Round 3 will consist of players debating over the colour of the shiite they just knocked outta each other, which will be pointless because there's no way they could agree on the colour of shiite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

They dont have sh1te in d4 or wannabe-d4 land....it's excrement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

They dont have sh1te in d4 or wannabe-d4 land....it's excrement.

lol

POO FTW !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

Hit a little too close to home have i?

Yeah you have, im really upset at how this whole thing has panned out!

Are you always this unobservant? I responded to your last post in detail, you must of missed it since you didn't reply to it.

1. My average buy-in in 2007 was $86.

My average buy-in in 2006 and the few weeks in 2008 is $61.

Wow, thanks for this invaluable information. I'm not sure if I could of gotten to sleep tonight wondering what the average buy-in was for the tournaments you played for the last two years. I see it rose by $25. OOOO, id say the players are really hard at the $86 level.
    2. Living with my mom is fine by me, i love her and would do anything for her. Sue me. Part of the reason i didnt play as much in 2007 is my mom was sick and my dad had a lung tumour. But anyway listen whatever helps you sleep at night.

Here we have the implication that part of the reason you had a losing year last year because your parents were sick? Wow thats distasteful. I almost wish Id never checked your results now. You realise I dont care less about your results do you? Im happy for you to do well. But when you start posting comparing are two stars records, you open yourself up to a bit of abuse, especially considering you were a net loser in the last calender year. Frankly I find this whole thing so amusing. I would be deeply ashamed of your record. Perhaps if you moved to cash games you might reduce your varience and make a bit more money. You might not get to the top of the pocket fives spank-a-meter though, or get to rub shoulders with poker greats, so maybe it isnt for you.

Anyway look if you need some coaching for mtt, PM me. I'll see if i have time to help you at an affordable rate for a 1/2nl pro.

To be totally honest, even if your results weren't so meagre, I wouldn't hire you because I don't think you are capable of coaching. Transferring knowledge is a skill, and I have never seen any evidence to suggest you have it. As I said before Id like to have your work ethic. If someone said to me, listen daragh, just take it easy this year and play 1000 odd $3 rebuys on stars. It will only cost you several thousand dollars and most of your waking hours. I would probably turn them down. But then I am lazy like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

Yeah you have, im really upset at how this whole thing has panned out!

Here we have the implication that part of the reason you had a losing year last year because your parents were sick? Wow thats distasteful.

If someone said to me, listen daragh, just take it easy this year and play 1000 odd $3 rebuys on stars. It will only cost you several thousand dollars and most of your waking hours. I would probably turn them down. But then I am lazy like that.

I said it's a reason i played less or are you always this unobservant? The only thing implied is i would have played more otherwise, not better or worse but more.

Look, i brought your mtt record into this for 1 reason and 1 reason alone. lloyd accused me of levelling you. I'm not psychic, i can only check things like recorded results. 5 cashes from 60 odd tournaments over 3 years. that's not "evidence" of consistent winning results in mtt. You may be a winner but, as i said, i'm not psychic and in the absence of any proof to the contrary i'll maintain my hunch that you're probably not very good at mtt.

You're placing great emphasis on my losing year of 2007 where i played for 3 months. Cool. Over 3,000 tournaments i'm a proven consistent winner. You can isolate periods and sub-samples within that sample and show losing periods. Of course. I could also isolate winning periods (like january 2008), but both are irrelevant, all that matters is over the whole sample i'm a consistent winner. Over a 3 month period in 2007 i played bad, ran bad, tried harder games and finished up -19% ROI. i should be ashamed of myself obv but weirdly i'm not because i'm attempting to use the knowledge i gained on how to compete in the harder games to my benefit. If it ends up costing 7k to do so, fine.

If someone said you should play 1000 $3 rebuys in a year they would be probably also as unobservant as you, they have 2x $3 rebuys daily on stars. I know maths isnt my strongest point (:rolleyes:) but 365x2 = 730, and that would assume you dont sleep or leave the house. Leaving the house requires having a life so you could probably get close to 730 played imo. (i play 30-40 mtt a day before you hit me with your usual smart-alec comeback pandering to your mates!)

What i do in poker is try win a few quid, if that means grinding out a few thousand tournaments a year for a relatively low ROI so be it. I'm not ashamed of playing small stakes, and there's a sense of achievement when you win a 3000 runner tournament.

Anyway listen i previously said i dont have a problem with you etc played football together etc no problem with ya. i take that back. You're not my type of person (sorry to break your heart!! :p)

So anyway this next paragraph is my final contribution to this thread and any thread (bar my EPT diary) for a while:

enjoy:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=yW2RbcHWjqU&feature=related

Scroll to 3:57 ---> 4:14

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

So anyway this next paragraph is my final contribution to this thread and any thread (bar my EPT diary) for a while:

Scroll to 3:57 ---> 4:14[/B]

I hope this is not a genuine comment as it would appear that you have been hounded out of posting.

Fwiw I think you have come across very well during this whole sorry episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭pok3rplaya

wow this thread is real serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

pok3rplaya wrote: »
    wow this thread is real serious.

gotten a little to serious, ffs chill gents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

Q stupid picture to lighten up

ColtsRexpoker.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

What a quality thread. Hector wins by an absolute mile though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭TommyGunne

Mr.Plough wrote: »
    Q stupid picture to lighten up

ColtsRexpoker.gif

L O L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

Mods,I think you've allowed things to get a little out of hand.Should have been locked before things turned nasty/personal IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

Does HJ have a fake hand? If so this way out of order.

(I'm kidding,I'm kidding.Jeez take it easy)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

It occurs to me that if R4aD had a digital camera and ruler then we could have indisputable facts and there could be no argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Icarus152 wrote: »
    Mods,I think you've allowed things to get a little out of hand.Should have been locked before things turned nasty/personal IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Icarus152 wrote: »

I don't know, I think it's fairly tame, tbh. Although maybe I'm just de-sensitized to the pain from years of experience on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Daithio wrote: »
    What a quality thread. Hector wins by an absolute mile though.

Dave, of all your 1300+ posts on boards which i think are fantastic, this is the only post i've ever seen from you that is bs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

I don't know what you expected us to have done. This all happened in the middle of the night for us working stiffs. We can't be here 24/7.

But TBH, it's been bubbling for a while now, and it's probably best to just let the lads have at it and be done with it once and for all.

And TBH, HJ was called out and answered the calling. No-one on here gives a sh1t about people's results and they're never really talked about. But R4D brought up HJ's record as indicative of his MTT skills and so he did likewise. IMO what's good for the goose is good for the gander.

So for the moment I won't lock the thread (cos it's bloody entertaining) but I would ask the lads to calm down.

Although R4D seems to have said he's not going to post anymore so it's probably over now anyway. (P.S. nice work on the youtube clip... nice reference). But just because you have a disagreement with one person shouldn't stop you from posting altogether and I'd hope you'll continue posting.

Flushdraw wrote: »
    Dave, of all your 1300+ posts on boards which i think are fantastic, this is the only post i've ever seen from you that is bs
    OK, now I will step in here. Just because HJ and R4D are having a disagreement, I don't want this to develop into some sort of split in the camp. We don't have the massive tourney v cash divide some other forums have and so we don't want this to start one.

So can people not comment on who is winning or losing or just throwing their weight behind one or the other. If you want to give support to either to say fair play or whatever do it through PM. But I don't want a massive public split and fight developing in the camp. If this begins to happen I will lock the thread immediately. Feel free to comment on anything as per usual, but not to just comment on who is pwning who or whatever. Just use your common sense for what this means, I think everyone knows what I'm trying to say.

Ste05

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Taxipete29

Ste05 wrote: »
    And TBH, HJ was called out and answered the calling. No-one on here gives a sh1t about people's results and they're never really talked about. But R4D brought up HJ's record as indicative of his MTT skills and so he did likewise. IMO what's good for the goose is good for the gander.

At no time did R4D bring HJ's personal life and living arrangements into this arguement. This was unnecessary and had no place in an arguement about poker. TBH I find personal attacks of this nature to be very off -putting and it certainly doesnt encourage newbies like myself to post if this is the sort of level debates can descend to. Just my 2 cents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

No-one on here gives a sh1t about people's results and they're never really talked about.

Thats not true Ste. Peoples results are a big part of this forum and i'm sure a lot of people want to know and like to see who won what/where/when/how etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

....Feel free to comment on anything as per usual, but not to just comment on who is pwning who or whatever. Just use your common sense for what this means, I think everyone knows what I'm trying to say.

Ste05

Bring on the cat pics?

Taxipete29 wrote: »
    At no time did R4D bring HJ's personal life and living arrangements into this arguement. This was unnecessary and had no place in an arguement about poker. TBH I find personal attacks of this nature to be very off -putting and it certainly doesnt encourage newbies like myself to post if this is the sort of level debates can descend to. Just my 2 cents
    Yes Personal Attacks like that are not allowed, although from the sounds of this post, they happen all the time. They don't. And if they do, the person is dealt with at the moderators discretion. Just as I will here, I have PM'd HectorJelly about it.

But TBH I'm getting pretty sick of all the back seat modding going on here lately. In future can people save these kind of comments for my PM box or for the Feedback forum.

Ste05

Thats not true Ste. Peoples results are a big part of this forum and i'm sure a lot of people want to know and like to see who won what/where/when/how etc
    That's to congratulate each other, and I don't think anyone would have a problem with that. But results are not used here as a basis of who's better or who has the bigger XXXX. This isn't Pocket5's. If anyone uses people's results to judge the merit of a post, above the logical sense of it, then more fool them.

Again, let's get it back on topic. Anyone having a problem with anything I've posted here PM me and I'll take it on board.

Also Imposter. that's a No to the cat pics... :rolleyes::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Surprise Surprise another thread gone down the cat fighting road, posters should grow up and leave the schoolkid antics in the past. It seems every thread that starts of with a decent argument turns into drivel towards the end.

Grow up, my 2 cents

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 218 ✭✭CelticPhantom

zuutroy wrote: »
    Can't find the big thread from last year where Tourneys vs. Cash was discussed at length....anyone got a link, I'd like to read it again...
    Not so much an I am better than you debate than We are better than Youse:p

Cash vs Tourney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Not so much an I am better than you debate than We are better than Youse:p

Cash vs Tourney

Thx, good thread..and the one that moved me from a tourney player to cash player.

I particularly hotspur's line: tourney's are to cash what russian roulette is to chess :D

Taxipete29 wrote: »

The only reason R4dD didnt bring my personal life into it is because he doesn't know anything about my life. He has spent the last few weeks trying to bait me. Did you realise he came into a thread in the HH forum (http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055221315) with the sole intention of complaining because people were complimenting me. Even if he had a point, any sane and rational person would realise that he was not the person to point it out because of our history. On page he two he insults me for no reason. This is just one example of many in which he gets involved in threads for the sole reason of getting into an argument with me.

Also, he keeps going on about his "hunch" that I would be terrible at mtts. The only reason he brings up this nonsense is to insult me. He doesnt actually have any evidence or reason to think that, just a desperate kind of hope. On the other hand him living with his parents is a matter of record on this forum, he brought it up of his own volition is some lengthy and pointless post he made a few months ago. Even if this was a strictly personal matter, which ill come to in a minute, by posting about it here he has to expect some stick about it considering how he behaves. He made the argument personal long ago.

And its not actually a personal matter, it intrudes on his poker life as well. I think its very telling that one of Irelands supposed best MTT players lives at home with his parents. Living at home is a a huge safety net, the type of thing you need if you can fail to turn a profit for 12 months.

Unfortunately this is just one of many of a similar ilk! At least R4ad doesnt use a proxy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Man It really tilts me when there is a really entertaining argument happening and you have people saying please close this mods, don't want feelings to be hurt. So annoying

Anyway my feelings for poker forums is it's not results which get the most respect it content of posts which matters. For example if I was asked whose posts I rather read Redjoker or Jaymimator, I would choose Redjoker every time. This is not a pop at Jay, I am choosing him because he had such a fantastic year in 2007 but Redjoker has posted better content continually despite playing at 50nl and winning far less money then him.

The same goes for HJ and R4AD. HJ may or may not win less money then him but that is irrelevant, what is relevant is the fact he has consistantly for years posted high quality stuff and for me (and I suspect many others) is the crux of the matter