In your 20s? Everyone you know becoming boring sods?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

I'm 25 and I know exactly what your talking about. My friends are all settling down and have become boring as ****. One of them was a raging lunatic and now he won't even go to a club because his bird won't allow him. Only one of my friends is in the same boat as me. One year left to get my Masters and then I'm finished with the whole college thing after 8 years (I changed courses). Have absolutely no plans to settle down, the thought of living in this ****hole for the rest of my life is enough to kill me. Going out here is a load of ****e, 100euro for a few drinks in a club full of ****. No thanks, once I graduate I'm leaving this dump of a country for good. Life here is **** and once you have lived abroad you will know what I'm talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Your only 22 and you've noticed this already?
    Yeah, you're hanging around with the wrong people! That's bizarre. It really does depend on your circle of friends - I've certainly never encountered ones like yours at that age.
    My circle of friends are all in their late 20s and we've never had so much fun as we're having now. You've long enough to be settled down. My older brothers and their mates were the same - actually ARE the same! They're only starting to look into the whole mortgage thing now. And nearly everyone is paired up but we still want our social lives. Ok, we rarely go out during the week (because we have work in the morning) but we never stay in at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

K so I'll accept that some women want to have babies and get married. BUT they cant force this on the fella. If he really doesnt want it then break up with her. Blaming settling down at an early age on women is just silly, it takes two. Will a man really take on a 400 grand mortgage to keep a girl happy? A wee part of him must want that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

I'm 29 and have to say this Christmas was first where my mate's WAGs were more important than mates. Was a bit annoyed about it, but then maybe that's because I'm single.
    I have a mortgage but I still usually go out three or four times a week. The joys of singledom. Having spent more than 10 years in a pub though I've definitely started to get sick of it. This is my third year giving up drink for January; to be honest if I didn't work in a job where you get loads of free drink if you want it I doubt if I'd go out half as much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

Peared wrote: »
    K so I'll accept that some women want to have babies and get married. BUT they cant force this on the fella. If he really doesnt want it then break up with her. Blaming settling down at an early age on women is just silly, it takes two. Will a man really take on a 400 grand mortgage to keep a girl happy? A wee part of him must want that too.

of course. Many of my mates are chumps when it comes to women. They go all mushy and make pillow promises that turn round to bite them in the hole, And some of them do love hardship, but some of them were manipulated because they are not as sneaky as their birds. Now they are living in a nightmare. Ha Ha:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

of course. Many of my mates are chumps when it comes to women. They go all mushy and make pillow promises that turn round to bite them in the hole, And some of them do love hardship, but some of them were manipulated because they are not as sneaky as their birds. Now they are living in a nightmare. Ha Ha:p

Not getting your hole certainly makes you bitter doesn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

At the ripe old age of (nearly) 22 it’s beginning to depress me somewhat to see how much of a slave friends are becoming to their jobs, being so tied down with a girlfriend that they may as well be married already and being desperate to get that coveted car loan and mortgage.

At what point in the apparent majority of people’s lives do their brains switch into this mode?

I’ve actually noticed that I’m gaining quite a few friends that are younger (and therefore still fun, living life to the max kinda people) than me, something I’m probably subconsciously achieving to counteract the boring lifestyle which the majority of my older friends have began to embrace. I can’t continue to do this all my life though. God knows I don’t want to be a 35 year old, party-loving man whose social circle consists primarily of 19 year olds.

Am I alone? Does anyone else feel my pain?

look at the brightside. when your thirty you wont havne any friends. they'll all be parents and you'll be lucky to seem em twice a year.

thats life. get used to it :D

and hey, as a 34yr old partyloving man those 19ry olds can be just what you need. well the girls any way :)

stovelid wrote: »
    :D Such a beautiful turn of phrase, stovelid!

Tbh if you can be "manipulated" into marriage, kids, a mortgage and never going out then you get what you deserve. Or what you wanted but were too scared to tell your blokey mates so you claim you were pushed into it.

Nah not really. I get it when I go lookin for it, usually. Just not arsed spendin all my time chasin it only to have to turn around and keep her happy. but whatever does it for ya:rolleyes:

Tbh if you can be "manipulated" into marriage, kids, a mortgage and never going out then you get what you deserve. Or what you wanted but were too scared to tell your blokey mates so you claim you were pushed into it.

I'm not that blokey to be honest. I do plan to have a couple of kids eventually, But I'm not going to spend my 20's gettin sucked into a spiral of bull****. I'll have them when I'm good an ready. Not because some chick I've grown to like is in a bloody hurry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

ive seen this. begins with systematic isolation of the bloke untill the wifes all he see's/ is allowed out with. then comes on the preasure about "where we're going" next thing you know your married with kids

usually ends in divorce and bloke losing everything. :)

Angryhippie Id love to see you in 10 years time with some hard ass career woman who doesnt want kids and you getting all gooey eyed when you see them and snivvling over ads on the telly. "But they're soo cute..." :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

thats right, becuase its all the fault of those pesky wommin and their manipulating ways.

ive seen this. begins with systematic isolation of the bloke untill the wifes all he see's/ is allowed out with. then comes on the preasure about "where we're going" next thing you know your married with kids

usually ends in divorce and bloke losing everything. :)

Jaysus. Id say you're a big ball of fun :eek:

Angryhippie Id love to see you in 10 years time with some hard ass career woman who doesnt want kids and you getting all gooey eyed when you see them and snivvling over ads on the telly. "But they're soo cute..." :p

You could be right. dear god what have I been doing. All those parties, the drugs, the late nights, Why haven't I been changing nappies and late night feeding and working like a bastard to pay for a mortgage to put a roof over their heads and feed them. I have been such a fool. Just thinking of myself

OR

I could keep her lit as I am until I find a lass on the same page, at that stage, I'll have the gaff sorted bar some decoration, A decent wage without havin to work like a dog, and a head full of lost memories and unknown regrets. I know its a crazy theory but I'll PM ya in 7 or 8 years time and let ya know. If you're right I'll put the kids on e-bay :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

When life gives you lemons, eat some sugar.
    It will remove some of the bitterness.

I'd kill for a wife and kids.
    Single life gets really dull when you hit your 30's.

Meh, it's down to the individual - I have no interest in settling down until I'm in the second half of my 30s. The likelihood is I'll live until I'm at least 80 - Christ that's long enough to be settled down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Aww Terry! (I love your reason for editing)
    Op..maybe going out and making a few new mates might shake it up a bit.

You could be right. dear god what have I been doing. All those parties, the drugs, the late nights, Why haven't I been changing nappies and late night feeding and working like a bastard to pay for a mortgage to put a roof over their heads and feed them. I have been such a fool. Just thinking of myself

OR

I could keep her lit as I am until I find a lass on the same page, at that stage, I'll have the gaff sorted bar some decoration, A decent wage without havin to work like a dog, and a head full of lost memories and unknown regrets. I know its a crazy theory but I'll PM ya in 7 or 8 years time and let ya know. If you're right I'll put the kids on e-bay :D

why do you think that if youre not out being single partying all night, doing drugs and getting pissed off your head, then you must obviously be a slave to your job, unhappily married (after being manipulated into it by a mischievous and devilish woman, obviously) and spend all your time changing nappies?

Life is about what you want.

This is why its boring talking to people who think they know everything.
    They dont.

why do you think that if youre not out being single partying all night, doing drugs and getting pissed off your head, then you must obviously be a slave to your job, unhappily married (after being manipulated into it by a mischievous and devilish woman, obviously) and spend all your time changing nappies?

Life is about what you want.

This is why its boring talking to people who think they know everything.
    They dont.
    Find me a person who can go out partying all the time without having a job that pays at least €15 an hour (or having another form of financial support) and I'll blow them.

I think AngryHippie may be talking a bit of crap.

Terry wrote: »
    I think AngryHippie may be talking a bit of crap.

Now, I didnt say that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Terry wrote: »
    When life gives you lemons, eat some sugar.
    It will remove some of the bitterness.

I'd kill for a wife and kids.
    Single life gets really dull when you hit your 30's.

Is it time the community of boards found you a fine fertile wife?
    I think so.

dudess wears the pants now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Jrad

I love this phrase, what does it actally mean though? I think i know but if its what i think i am very surprised its so commonly used

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Ok, let's reprioritise,

1. The community of boards need to find pictures of dudess in her pants.
    2. The community of boards need to find a fine, fertile wife for Terry.

Now, I didnt say that :)
    Never said you did.
    Just giving my opinion. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

I find my group of friends are the exact opposite, bunch of no-major-commitments/no-responsiblity losers like myself in their mid-20s going out 4 nights a week still acting like we're 17!!! (im 25 now). Although 1 of them got a mortgage recently so i should probably be making plans to excommunicate him from our merry little band :D

Although 1 of them got a mortgage recently so i should probably be making plans to excommunicate him from our merry little band :D

Poor naive dreamy, you forget that as a nation we are first and foremost sheeplike in our thinking.
    It starts out with one lunatic and then 6 months later they have all bitten the bullet in an attempt to keep up.

The solution is to socialise incognito with young wans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭pid()

At the ripe old age of (nearly) 22 it’s beginning to depress me somewhat to see how much of a slave friends are becoming to their jobs, being so tied down with a girlfriend that they may as well be married already and being desperate to get that coveted car loan and mortgage.

At what point in the apparent majority of people’s lives do their brains switch into this mode?

I’ve actually noticed that I’m gaining quite a few friends that are younger (and therefore still fun, living life to the max kinda people) than me, something I’m probably subconsciously achieving to counteract the boring lifestyle which the majority of my older friends have began to embrace. I can’t continue to do this all my life though. God knows I don’t want to be a 35 year old, party-loving man whose social circle consists primarily of 19 year olds.

Am I alone? Does anyone else feel my pain?

Interesting thread.

I'm in a similar boat to you...kinda. Well actually I'm in a similar boat to your mates. I do not have a mortgage and don't plan on getting one for a while. I'm 24, was engaged but am now happily single. I used to love going out every weekend but I'm bored of that now. I haven't been in the pub since Stephen's night, and I left extremely early to get a good night sleep that night - even though I didn't have work the following day.

It's 5:30am and I'm currently working from home. I moved to Galway at the end of September and I'd say I have been out socialising.... four times? Two of which were work nights out. All I seem to do these days is work and sleep. I'm making an unreal wage for someone my age. In March I will be on double what all of my college mates are on.

I do wish I could do more in Galway though. I love this place, always have. It's just after working really hard for 8-10 hours each day I'm wrecked by the time I get home from work, shower, make the dinner and eat it. I usually have an hour or two to myself and then it's sleepy time. At the weekends I'll either go home to see my family and friends, or stay in Galway and chillax... watch a few DVDs, order some food, have a few cans, read a book.

That's pretty much what I do at the moment. When I think back on how much money I spent over the years getting blind drunk it's pretty depressing. I'm currently saving so I can travel the world... and not to travel the world to end up in an Irish bar doing exactly what I did here in my teens. I would actually like to see other countries for what they are. Go camping in the outback, go on safari in Africa... find myself a nice hobbit woman in New Zealand. Instead of making some publican extremely rich off my hard earned.

One of the reasons I'm single now is my ex had no ambitions to do these things. She was happy out never leaving Ireland again for the rest of her life. That depressed me to the core. I think it's very dangerous to be so involved with someone when you're 24.

One of my mates took out an 11 grand loan for a car a couple of months ago, and he now has 3 jobs trying to make repayments. Another one of my mates used his entire SSIA and his life's savings on a mortgage. Both were 24 in the last couple of months. Ridiculous.

Over the next year or two you might start to settle a small bit. I think the thing that kicked it all off for me was I was in my local night club at home and I realised I was the oldest person in there. I walked out and haven't been back since. I will die happy if I am never in another night club for the rest of my life. What's the point? You can't hear what anyone is saying. I don't like dancing unless it's music I really enjoy - and that's never played in any nightclub. I don't like chasing women in a nightclub... it's pretty degrading. And I certainly do not want to go home with anyone from a nightclub. That really is not my thing at all.

If I were you, I would be asking myself where I wanted to be in 2 years. Do you want to be exactly where you are now, same amount of cash in your bank account, but with a bigger beer gut and maybe one or two extra STDs? If you're happy the way things are then good for you, don't change yet! But you will eventually - you've admitted that yourself.