Didier Deschamps for manager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

not all of us share them Des..

Yeah but most of us do. THB I don't how anyone could think that they weren't a shambles. Staunton was sacked 3 months ago and they haven't even thought about who they're going to approach. England had a new manager within a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,567 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Yeah but most of us do. THB I don't how anyone could think that they weren't a shambles. Staunton was sacked 3 months ago and they haven't even thought about who they're going to approach. England had a new manager within a few weeks.

To be fair the FAI didn't have Capello throwing himself at them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

DesF wrote: »
    Yeah, some of us have blinkers on when it comes to the FAI.

They are a shambolic shambles in everything they do. Everything. Every hour of every day of every week.
    Yet you still think they shouldn't go with the fans choice for this manager? :) I'd much rather go with someone the fans want (we're not stupid) over Venables or Stan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

Think this thread got a mention on Newstalk there, that off the ball show, just barely heard it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Think this thread got a mention on Newstalk there, that off the ball show, just barely heard it.

Did they say my name?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭dc69

yeah,twice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

Did they say my name?
    No, just OP I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭dc69

No, just OP I think.

what?

dc69 wrote: »
    yeah,twice

dc69 wrote: »
    what?
    They mentioned flanzer, because he started the thread. I assume.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Amazing...did they mention Boards? Or did they say Flanzer texted in.

we are famous!!!!11111

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Deschamps is a good move imo. Better than Venables one would think.

Amazing...did they mention Boards? Or did they say Flanzer texted in.
    Prob mentioned boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,159 ✭✭✭flanzer

They mentioned flanzer, because he started the thread. I assume.

Lads, get in line for autographs. You must pay me to have a photo with you. €5 per photo. Max 2 photos as I haven't got much time. My PaddyPower shares went through the roof, cashed them in and I'm heading for Mexico! :D

In all seriousness, Newstalk have yet to contact me. I'm hoping I haven't created a monster, Deschamps takes the job and we're all happy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Whore! (thats at least 2 mentions in the national media for boards.ie today!)

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Did they mention Flanzer is due to be estebancambiaso's bitch if this all goes tits up lol

I just heard on the radio that THE reason Deschamp's odds have plummeted is because some crazyass dude put €6K on him to be the manager this lunchtime. Frankly though I dont know any bookies who would take such a bet, I tried to put €20 on Roy Hodgson a few weeks before Xmas at 25/1 and the max bet with Mr.Power was €15 ! LOB.

Lol..Flanzer you better be on your toes. Il hunt ya down.

If he is made manager, then me and you can head over to Dublin Airport for a meet and greet. Drinks on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

Sizzler wrote: »
    Did they mention Flanzer is due to be estebancambiaso's bitch if this all goes tits up lol

I just heard on the radio that THE reason Deschamp's odds have plummeted is because some crazyass dude put €6K on him to be the manager this lunchtime. Frankly though I dont know any bookies who would take such a bet, I tried to put €20 on Roy Hodgson a few weeks before Xmas at 25/1 and the max bet with Mr.Power was €15 ! LOB.

Ye, but if you want to wager a larger sum they can ring up HQ to get it approved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭kaisersose77

Deschamps is 8/11 now and Venables is 2/1 :(

Flaanzzzzerrrrr!!!!!!!

He is now 10/11

die

http://blog.paddypower.com/index.php/2007/10/26/next-ireland-manager&promo=BET&creaRAYBLOG

Houghton speaks(just seen this now its been around for ages). What a muppet. This numpty responsible for selecting the next manager.

We need to be realistic? Eh is beating Cyprus, Slovakia and Wales home and away being unrealistic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭kaisersose77

the thought of having a continental manager was fun while he lasted

any excitement in ireland playing in the qualifiers will be gone when Venables gets the job next monday :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

will you give the FAI credit if they appoint Deschamps Des? Seriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I would love it if Deschamps got the job but I can't se this happening. Seems too good to be true.

Will probably be Venables or McCarthy. :(

If this was a year later, and Drogheda did well in Champions League and at home, Doolin would be a prime candidate in my opinion. He should be our next manager. He needs to be involved with the next Irish set-up.

I hope Dolan goes about getting his badges, I really like him. He was right what he said if you manage in Ireland, you are considered a joke, which is wrong.

Doolin-2006 and 2007 Setanta cup.

2007 Eircom League title

FAI Cup 2005.

Very good record. I think managers would get more credibility if an All-Ireland league was formed, with 20 teams(or 18) in the league.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

lolwtf?

correct me if i'm wrong, but didn't Didier leave Juve because the place was a shambles? why would he want to walk straight into another shambolic setup so?

He yearns for adventure? Hopefully he buys a house over my side of the city(Its Bono country), we could form a close bond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

If this was a year later, and Drogheda did well in Champions League and at home, Doolin would be a prime candidate in my opinion. He should be our next manager. He needs to be involved with the next Irish set-up.

I hope Dolan goes about getting his badges, I really like him. He was right what he said if you manage in Ireland, you are considered a joke, which is wrong.

I'd rather not see Doolin get the job because I really don't rate him that highly. He was given bucketloads of money to assemble that Drogheda squad and still managed to get them playing dour football.

I admit I am not that familar with Eircom League, I go to a few games a season and watch Fat ass(TV3 guy) with Osama(?, the Paths guy) and that Mulligan guy on Mondays. Hopefully RTE will have better coverage and at a better time. 7.30 please on a Monday, seriously who cares about a God damn Hippo.