Weekend Premier League Matches

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Still waiting for any Utd fans to say that Gerrard dives anywhere near as much as Ronaldo????

yea didnt think so

What's your point? Of course Ronaldo dives, as does Gerrard. If someone kills 20 people and someone else kills 10 people, they're both scumbag murderers. The former is no doubt "more" of a murderer than the latter, but fact is, they're both scumbags who should not be trusted and should be banged up in jail for the rest of their lives.

Gerrard and Ronaldo both dive, and both cheat. If Ronaldo dives once in every irrelevent match, and Gerrard dives once, in the Champions League final, to get a peno which wins the game -- who's worse?

They both show that they have no trouble with hitting the deck when it's going to benefit them. Both cheaters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

''Gerrard and Ronaldo both dive, and both cheat. If Ronaldo dives once in every irrelevent match, and Gerrard dives once, in the Champions League final, to get a peno which wins the game -- who's worse?''

Someone buy this man a pair of jeans where they're dong Bargains in town...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

''Gerrard and Ronaldo both dive, and both cheat. If Ronaldo dives once in every irrelevent match, and Gerrard dives once, in the Champions League final, to get a peno which wins the game -- who's worse?''

Someone buy this man a pair of jeans where they're dong Bargains in town...
    lol... :p I hear Motion Picture have a decent sale on ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,744 ✭✭✭✭Villain

I think the biggest problem with Ronaldo is his inability to take a tackle, in every match he plays you will see players tackling him and get the ball cleanly and Ronaldo jumps up and down waving his arms, as a commentator said last week its like he thinks people aren't allow tackle him, he moans and trys to cheat more than any other player in the Premier league and I honestly think ANY person that watches the Premier league weekly knows that. It doesn't take away from his ability as he is probably the best player in the League (after a fit Drogba) but it does take away from his image which is a shame imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Right so we're all agreed, if the player dives and he's from th team that you support it's justified and he's not a cheat. However, if the player is from an opposing team, especially a team where there's a history of rivalry, well then he's a cheating scumbag. grand, glad that's sorted.

Well done Sunderland, good win today considering Pompey's away form this season. And Makems almost saved me in th cup but not quite, ah well there's always next year!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

I dont for a second buy that the frequency of ones offences in regards to diving have no baring on the matter.

For example, almost every player will commit fouls, and a couple in their time, have made bad bad tackles (gerrard,Scholes), but yet people dispise the likes of Ben Thatcher, Michael Brown, Diouf etc because they consistantly bring the game into disrepute with their behaviour on the field.

Similarly, people dive, its the people that constantly do this that should be criticised, Ronaldo, Drogba, Deco et all. Not the people who "go down easily" occassionally, as much as i dont like it, virtually every player in the PL does that. Christ, Roy Keane was sent of for diving against Blackburn before, yet i'd hardly call him a diver

To say i am slating Ronaldo because he plays for utd is really just a lazy criticism. I am on record here as saying, at this moment, he is the best player in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

So it's just a coincidence that he's from the team that are your most bitter rivals? And it's also a coincidence that you're defending a player from your own team?

I went mad here when Gerrard dived against Villa but he doesn't do it every week like Ronaldo and as I have said many times here but no-one seems to address the point, its more about the way Ronaldo moans every time he gets tackled Gerrard does dive but can take a tackle Ronaldo can't without moaning.

I've also criticised Ashley Young on here for diving and said he should have been docked a weeks wages for it.

Everyone is avoiding the point about the way Ronaldo moans when tackled and throws the hands up the air etc, I think the silence speaks volumes as it can't be defended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Ronaldo gets pissed off because he gets so little protection from refs. It's the same for wingers in general, refs in England don't protect them enough.

Thats a joke in fairness PHB Ronaldo jumps up and down like a sissy after perfect clean tackles more than any other player, as I said I actually think its unlucky he can't cut that side of his game out as I think fans from every team would be more likely to applaud his obvious top class ability. I think Drogba is a good example when he came first he was throwing himself around like an idiot but has cut a lot of that out now and he gets praised a lot more for his talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

PHB wrote: »
    Ronaldo gets pissed off because he gets so little protection from refs. It's the same for wingers in general, refs in England don't protect them enough.

They go hand in hand though. Ref's know he dives a lot, so are going to be less inclined to give him things because it is hard to determine whats a foul and what isnt. so he's only likely to get teh real obvious things.

Boy who cried wolf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Attractive Nun

As a big big fan of Ronaldo, I do wish he would cut out some of the things that are being discussed here. However, I agree that there is a difference between 'diving' and 'going down easy' (hehe). Diving is when you pretend there was a foul committed against you, when in reality there was no contact at all. I haven't seen Ronaldo do this all season, I haven't seen anyone in the PL do that this year - though I haven't been able to watch too many matches this season. What Ronaldo, and most players - but Ronaldo more that most, yes mr alan including Gerrard - does is exaggerate. He goes down when he doesn't need to, when he could stay on his feet and keep possession. Often, he will look to draw this sort of contact too. This is not diving. I will say it clearly - with, probably, a few exceptions, Ronaldo is no longer a diver.

Do I like what he does instead? Not really, it's not particularly 'honest' and it's always nice to watch players like Rooney battling through four and five fouls and trying to stay on his feet, but at the same time he is perfectly entitled to do this imo. The sort of contact that makes him go down usually are fouls, very small fouls, but fouls nonetheless. Like PHB said, the ref wouldn't give them if Ronaldo didn't claim them, and more often than not he's better off with the freekick - in fact, I'd be surprised if SAF doesn't encourage him to go down when fouled. In reality, in fact, although it's always nice for the fans to see players playing on through fouls, it would probably be better for the team - and the prospect of future injuries - if they just went down.

Having said all that, there is a grey area in the 'is he/is he not a diver' debate for me. He does occasionally go down when there has been contact made and claim a foul, when the opposition player fairly wins the ball. Clearly, to me, this is not diving - he does believe himself to have been fouled, or at least not given protection from the ref. However, the way he complains and sits on the ground sulking for a few seconds strikes me as quite petulant. I think he has a valid complaint about not being given protection sometimes, and I can understand that it might be frustrating, but sometimes I just wanna say to him, 'just get over it'.

What I can't stand for is how people, on the other hand, villify him for the above. Mr alan yesterday called him 'a disgrace of a human being' I believe. To them I also say, get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Mr Alan will use whatever examples back up his opinion, and intentionally leave out examples of Ronaldo's charity work and selfless acts. To call him 'a disgrace of a human being' is just bitterness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Archimedes wrote: »
    Mr Alan will use whatever examples back up his opinion, and intentionally leave out examples of Ronaldo's charity work and selfless acts. To call him 'a disgrace of a human being' is just bitterness.

Obviously when i call him a disgrace of a human being, i mean on the football pitch.

I'm sure i could point out the charity work Diouf does, but that doesnt mean he is a pleasant person on and around the football pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

none are from this year. .
    LOL. Dont be so pedantic :p

I haven't seen Ronaldo do this all season, I haven't seen anyone in the PL do that this year - though I haven't been able to watch too many matches this season. .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sFjn2oF2OPc

First one that came to mind.

There may have been contact (not sure but only a sid eview could show that) but if there was its because ronaldo flicks his leg across into the debry player.

Well then honestly, I think you could have phrased it far better than you did. 'A disgrace of a human being' is a bit over the top.

Stekelly wrote: »

There may have been contact (not sure but only a sid eview could show that) but if there was its because ronaldo flicks his leg across into the debry player.

This scouse fan knows his captain only too well :p

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wFNE3opjOZQ&feature=related

Obviously when i call him a disgrace of a human being, i mean on the football pitch.

Yeah, but it's still ridiculously harsh.

Like, maybe it's just me, but if I see footballer X foul footballer Y, I think footballer Y immediately has the moral highground. If he decides that he wants to get a freekick from this foul, so goes to gound (because that's the only way really to get a freekick), then fair enough. I would prefer if he kept going if he could, but hey no big deal. Now if footballer X and his supporters start calling footballer Y a diver and a disgrace of a human being, my opinion of them starts to go down. Essentially what they are asking for is players to be allowed to foul other players a little bit (so long as they are not forced to the ground it's ok?), because it's a 'man's game'. To me, a foul is a foul is a foul.

Ahem, the new kid Torres aint too saintly when it comes to this sort of thing either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

jaysus that "30 greatest ronaldo dives" is pathetic. most if not all actually had the refs right beside the foul and resulted in a blatant free. some loser that actually made that video.

Sizzler wrote: »
    This scouse fan knows his captain only too well :p

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wFNE3opjOZQ&feature=related

I honestly cant make out anything on that. couldnt even tell you what match its from, lots of smudges running about tho.

Wrost footage (of anything) ever.

Looks like some of the lads have followed their captains example !

This is too easy ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YFp6Kigmuk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W75xQMTyU24&feature=related

And as good as a player Torres is he looks like he brought some 'form' with him from Spain :eek:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N1-kCvKNVX0&feature=related

I honestly cant make out anything on that. couldnt even tell you what match its from, lots of smudges running about tho.

Wrost footage (of anything) ever.

Did you listen to it with sound :rolleyes: It was the comment of the fan..

Fair enough, I actually meant to mention that. That was an extreme example of Ronaldo looking for contact. I reckon that sort of thing is a result his mentality of just trying to draw a foul, which is a totally legitimate tactic. However that is not a foul by the Derby player. It is a dive by Ronaldo, no question (a very good dive actually, I'm almost impressed)

Have you any other examples from this season? Because I did think of that one, forgot to mention it, but if there are too many more then I might have to revise my 'Ronaldo is no longer a diver' comment.

Ok I think thats enough of the youtube videos....

Looks like some of the lads have followed their captains example !

This is too easy ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YFp6Kigmuk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W75xQMTyU24&feature=related

And as good as a player Torres is he looks like he brought some 'form' with him from Spain :eek:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N1-kCvKNVX0&feature=related

? The first on eis the link you already posted and the 3rd is Torres before he even signed for Liverpool

Did you listen to it with sound :rolleyes: It was the comment of the fan..

Nope, my sound isnt working. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: Do I win for most rolleyes?

Fair enough, I actually meant to mention that. That was an extreme example of Ronaldo looking for contact. I reckon that sort of thing is a result his mentality of just trying to draw a foul, which is a totally legitimate tactic. However that is not a foul by the Derby player. It is a dive by Ronaldo, no question (a very good dive actually, I'm almost impressed)

Have you any other examples from this season? Because I did think of that one, forgot to mention it, but if there are too many more then I might have to revise my 'Ronaldo is no longer a diver' comment.

Being honest I have seen a few from him , but dont remember from what matches so it would probably be a long search for soemthin gwe know is true.

? The first on eis the link you already posted and the 3rd is Torres before he even signed for Liverpool

Nope, my sound isnt working. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: Do I win for most rolleyes?

Eh no its not? Sissoko-Alonso-Torres :confused:

Correct. Hence my comment about Torres bringing form with him....i.e. from Spain!

If your sound is working you'll get the scouse humour on the vid :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

OMG, that sissoko one is fecking brilliant. that has to be, the best dive of all time. he could have done himself serious injury there. he nearly had snow on him when he came down he jumped so high. launchpad he should be called from now on.

Sissoko hardly counts as a player though.

This is the best ever anyway. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZMyodSDQbXM

At least Ronaldo made the effort to flick his leg over to the defender.