Anyone going hunting Stephen's Day?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

ejmaztec wrote: »
    If red-coated fox-hunting was a British tradition, I would have thought it would be frowned upon as much as any other British tradition in Ireland. Must be some picking and choosing going on. Perhaps the participants are involved in some kind of snobbery, where they can pretend that they're lords ands ladies of the manor, when they're dressed up like second-hand tampons on horse-back.

Its French in origin. If some members of the hunt didn`t wear the pink coats would more people be alright with it?, say black or tweed instead. Is it the colour or the whole ensemble that gets people hot under the collar. I mean each there is there for a reason; hard hat (obvious reason), thick hunting jacket (generally wool or part wool) is to keep you warm and stop you getting scraped, the stock (white yoke around the neck) protects the neck, long boots/ gaitors/half chaps/jodphur boots gives you some support and protects your legs. One thing I would like to change is the beige jodphurs, designed to look good on 0% of the population.

depending on the type of hunt. shooting is grand, but the one with dgs where they purposely scare the animals sh*tless then let the dogs tear it to shreds while it still alive all for the sake of entertainment... bleh.

Its torn apart after its killed, generally by the lead hound. It runs because that is what it knows (if we still had wolves they would be running from them!), I doubt it cares about the horses that come after the hounds.

As for those on horses that come after the hounds and hunt staff they are there for the ride and enjoy the uncertainty of the terrain, very few will see if a kill is made. The hunt staff (master, whipper in etc) control the hounds and the field. It really is a tradition as there is all sort of rules about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

It's a barbaric tradition and anyone who takes part in it is a clown and deserves a good kicking.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭IRLConor

You Suck! wrote: »
    worst i ever saw was some idiot try to finish off a deer with a shotgun and **** it up.

I'm pretty sure that's illegal too. To kill deer in Ireland you need a permit, it must be in season and you must use a rifle with a certain minimum power (at least a .22-250 with a 50 grain bullet AFAIK).

Now humanely dispatching a wounded animal is a good idea, but it needs to be done correctly and legally by someone who knows what they're doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I hate hunting. I remember about 3 years ago I came across a hunt on St Stephens morning. I got out of the car and f*cked them out of it. I called them barbaric evil pricks. Got myself worked up into a bit of a state over it. Its something I feel strongly about. You've got to be pretty twisted to frighten, hunt down and murder animals in the name of "tradition" and entertainment.

"frighten, hunt down and murder animals "

Do your self a favour and stop anthromorphising. I take it you don`t eat meat or any animal derived products.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Dudess wrote: »
    But hunting?

It's great fun. Be a fox for a day, 'tis great sport altogether. Didn't you ever play chasing as a kid? It's something similar, except you don't ever get caught.

Nightwish wrote: »
    I hate hunting. I remember about 3 years ago I came across a hunt on St Stephens morning. I got out of the car and f*cked them out of it. I called them barbaric evil pricks. Got myself worked up into a bit of a state over it. Its something I feel strongly about. You've got to be pretty twisted to frighten, hunt down and murder animals in the name of "tradition" and entertainment.

Agreed.

"frighten, hunt down and murder animals "

Do your self a favour and stop anthromorphising. I take it you don`t eat meat or any animal derived products.

There is a difference between hunting for food and hunting for the sheer sport of it. I'd expect a sensical person to be able to tell the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

dlofnep wrote: »
    I'd expect a sensical person to be able to tell the difference.

so you have no problem with killing of animals then just a problem with killing them and not eating them?

i dont understand why they cant realease the fox and then follow its trial after its been captured or follow a fake trail or something thats why i dont agree with fox hunting.

hare coursing im undecided about

hunting game with guns i have no problem with and would love to taste some fresh game tbh

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

There's a hunt near where I'm originally from in south county Dublin. It's hard to object too much to their activities these days because they converted from a live hunt to a drag hunt quite a few years ago. What's not difficult to object to though are the people in the hunt. They congregate in the pub in the village afterwards and somehow manage to p*ss off just about every other person in the pub within minutes of their arrival. They're almost exclusively arrogant, obnoxious, toffee-nosed twits who seem to think that due to their social standing (i.e. loaded mummy and daddy who left/will leave them a packet in their wills) they have the right to discount everyone outside of their circle as being beneath them. They quite literally bully people out of their seats and are incredibly rude to the bar staff. It's only a few days a year and is good business for the pub, so they put up with it. Personally if I owned the pub I'd tell them to feck off somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Never gone but ive always wanted to go shooting never got around to it. I belive in most cases It is no we're near as inhumane as the way most meat is reared these days for human consumption. Man difference is that it is done behind doors. Where as hunting is in the public eye. But i respect peoples opipions on the matter.

PeakOutput wrote: »
    so you have no problem with killing of animals then just a problem with killing them and not eating them?

That's precisely my opinion on it. Killing so we can eat is natural instinct.. There is a cause... Reason.. Logic. But killing for fun? You're seriously not trying to tell me they both are the same thing are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

This thread should be moved to the hunting forum for the barbarians to discuss. Where's the modificators?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

dlofnep wrote: »
    That's precisely my opinion on it. Killing so we can eat is natural instinct.. There is a cause... Reason.. Logic. But killing for fun? You're seriously not trying to tell me they both are the same thing are you?

no i just wanted to make sure.....i agree with you as long as you agree that HUNTING for food is ok aswell as just mass producing of livestock and killing it

edit; not particularly directed at dlofnep but what about killing for clothes i dont have a particular problem with that either

PeakOutput wrote: »
    no i just wanted to make sure.....i agree with you as long as you agree that HUNTING for food is ok aswell as just mass producing of livestock and killing it

Oh alright.. Pardon my defensive nature.. 3 hours sleep! Bit sketchy.

Yes, to kill for food is fine. I wouldn't be able to kill a cow or pig or whatever myself.. I'm a little wuss when it comes to things like that, I'd have nightmares afterwards I htink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Dudess wrote: »
    I'm not posting this to the Hunting forum because I think it merits general discussion.

I disagree. :p

Take it to shooting, humanities, equestrian or wherever.