Irish thread on polish forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

teetotaller regarding your last post,

Now that's the kind of thing I'm on about. A Polish person willing to integrate into Irish society. Welcome (Failte) to my country. Hope you enjoy you're stay, as long or short as it may be.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I think that, outside of the more cosmopolitan areas, people have a greater wariness with regard to foreign immigrants. This probably results from the fact that the last foreigners to arrive here in huge numbers i.e. the English, ended up running the place for eight hundred years:)

Where do these Irish people live ? On mountains where there are no roads etc ? drivel ! Bet you're from Dublin, or as we country hicks refer to it "The Pale" :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭teetotaller

teetotaller regarding your last post,

Now that's the kind of thing I'm on about. A Polish person willing to integrate into Irish society. Welcome (Failte) to my country. Hope you enjoy you're stay, as long or short as it may be.

Dia dhuit bunny shooter, conas ata tu?

( I'm going to get mortgage next year to buy a house in Dublin, so it won't be short stay unfortunately for few of u.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,350 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Where do these Irish people live ? On mountains where there are no roads etc ? drivel ! Bet you're from Dublin, or as we country hicks refer to it "The Pale" :mad:

I'm from a lot further away than Dublin, but am currently residing amongst the wary ones.

I'm assuming from your post that you are outside one of the more cosmopolitan areas, therefore proving my point about people in those areas being wary of foreign immigrants.

I'm from a lot further away than Dublin, but am currently residing amongst the wary ones.

I'm assuming from your post that you are outside one of the more cosmopolitan areas, therefore proving my point about people in those areas being wary of foreign immigrants.

You haven't read my previous posts (notice no question mark)

looks like you've integrated there then :D

Dia dhuit bunny shooter, conas ata tu?

( I'm going to get mortgage next year to buy a house in Dublin, so it won't be short stay unfortunately for few of u.

Dia is Mhuire dhuit. Ta me go mhaith, go raibh mhaith agat (no 'fadas available ?)

Excellent ;);););)

Dia is Mhuire dhuit. Ta me go mhaith, go raibh mhaith agat (no 'fadas available ?)

Excellent;););)
    if u are ok that's ok then. don't need to thank u :P

no I can't use irish fadas as I have polish "fadas" installed

what is mhaith ? shouldn't it be maith??

The extra 'h' is a grammer thing. Not 100% I'm right ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Yes it should be go maith but an mhaith

As for fadas

á é í =ALT GR + letter or Ctrl + Alt + letter

is_that_so wrote: »
    Yes it should be go maith but an mhaith

As for fadas

á é í =ALT GR + letter or Ctrl + Alt + letter

Honours Irish obviously ;)

And Honours computer too ;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Terry wrote: »
    The Celtic tiger destroyed the long term memories of many people here.
    Plenty of others grew up knowing no better. A long recession would sort them out. :)

Totally agree, I was 18 years old when I left Ireland in 1991. The unemployment rate was at 15%+. I still remember how things were back then, it wasn't too long ago. Now a family can hardly get by on €60k/yr, like Terry said a recession will sort everybody out!!!

DonJose wrote: »
    Totally agree, I was 18 years old when I left Ireland in 1991. The unemployment rate was at 15%+. I still remember how things were back then, it wasn't too long ago. Now a family can hardly get by on €60k/yr, like Terry said a recession will sort everybody out!!!

I left in 86, country was on its knees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

Originally Posted by teetotaller View Post

bunny shooter: The extra 'h' is a grammer thing. Not 100% I'm right ?

Teehee... Irish grammar lessons from the polish guy; Fail! ^_^

Ahem... Apologies. But in general, I agree with your points. I'm living in France this year and, while I could survive talking only to my English speaking friends (well, survive daily life, let's not talk about exams...) it is important to make a conscious effort to speak French, even when it means expressing myself much worse to somebody who would fully understand fluent English.

Strangely enough though, all the polish and chinese people here have much better English than French... maybe all the ones you're complaining about back home are fluent en francais? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

"When in Rome, do as the Romans do". If I ever went to Poland I would learn Polish

Again I'll say I've not come across the vast number of Polish who can't speak english that you mentioned. I know plenty and they can all speak english, just some better than others.
    Terry wrote: »
    The Celtic tiger destroyed the long term memories of many people here.
    Plenty of others grew up knowing no better. A long recession would sort them out. :)

I agree with you Terry. Ireland of the 80's was a tough old place but unfortunately we have a whole generation of people who never went without or wanted for anything.
    They want to live here they should have English and/or Irish same as the emigrating Irish had to forsake their own language to learn English so they could go to England, America etc. (Famine onwards ...) When the irish had to emigrate, and i was one of them (1986 - 1994), we had to go to an english speaking country or learn other languages. We weren't demanding that other countries translate everything into our language/s cause we were glad to get out of here so we could get a job ! :mad::mad:

The Irish had to forsake their own language when they were emmigrating to Ireland and the UK? Ehhh in the time frame that you are speaking about we hadn't spoken Irish for a long time. We were already speaking english as our first language.
    Don't forget the camouflage combats! Is that something extending from conscription?

Why do they have such a bad taste in music? Worked with a good few polish and don't have a single bad thing to say about them EXCEPT their taste in music. Their national charts seem like a weekly edition of the eurovision.

As another poster pointed out, music is subjective. Our charts are nothing to be proud of. I would never slander another culture's music. If you don't like it, don't listen to it.
    I ain't your mate.

C'mon now, there's no need to start talking like that. That's just cheap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

Tom, first off kudos for taking such initiative. I've a few shall we call "problems" with you bunch...

First off, POlish women! What do Irish lads see in them! Stick figures (nah, not gonna go there, could get personal) but anyways, they walk around the place, head up high as though they own it! Like helloooo! WTF? You're guests here........:rolleyes:

Also, I don't like this whole polish women thinking Irish women are tramps thing, ridiculous! You Polish women need some copping on to yourselves.

Secondly, I'd have to agree with the contruction worker on page 2 :D with his comment about his Polish co-workers, arrogance, I've yet to come across a friendly "smiley" Polish guy.

Now onto the food business....o'briens, bagel factory, subway, you lot are taking over our whole bloody country. The day where I used to be able to say what I wanted on my roll and actually get it is sooooo gone! If I ask for mayonnaise you give me butter, if I ask for chicken you give me ham. Aaaah!
    Then! When I say "eh I actually asked for mayonniase, you lot seem to look at me as though I have 10 heads and I'm the one with the problem!" Eeeeh hello!!! :mad:

And for the record I completely agree with all other Irish when I say it's complete arrogance and ignorance that yous won't learn some English! In a few years there'll be so many of yous here that your language will over power ours and we'll have to learn Polish....my God please shall that day NEVER come (no offence Polish people)...

Now saying all that, there are Polish girls in my gym and at first I thought "stuck up bitches" but now, I was wrong. They're still stuck up but they're actually pretty sound. Not my cuppa tea now but sound none the less.

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    First off, POlish women! they walk around the place, head up high as though they own it! Like helloooo! WTF? You're guests here........:rolleyes:

should they walk around the place, with head down low ? ???

why ?

I don't feel like a guest in your country. I have resident's status. I pay taxes, buy irish food, pay prsi etc an give huge part of my incomes to different irish companies.

Would u like if living abroad to be named as guest in country where u decided to stay and live already few years , have a car, house etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,350 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

...yous won't learn some English! In a few years there'll be so many of yous here...

There's English and then there's English:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭tomster

As per all above posts I see there is a need to open the thread I mentioned earlier. I hope that my idea gets approved by administration and you will get a chance to express your feelings, ask questions, tell us about your perspective and also hear a voice from the "other side". I expect all of yous to be there and to be even more pro-active than in this thread. I will paste the link as soon as I get it sorted.

Thanks people!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

why ?

lol excuse my arrogance but it's a figure of speech...doesn't necesarilly mean you physically hold your head up high, it's just your general attitude to others around you, no smiley faces or anything of the sort in other words.
    There's English and then there's English:D

ha ha! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,068 ✭✭✭✭Terry

why ?

I don't feel like a guest in your country. I have resident's status. I pay taxes, buy irish food, pay prsi etc an give huge part of my incomes to different irish companies.

Would u like if living abroad to be named as guest in country where u decided to stay and live already few years , have a car, house etc?
    I'd agree with this.

If you are living here and paying taxes, then you are not a guest. You are part of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭DemocAnarchis

I worked for about 6 months as a waiter last summer, and 95% of my coworkers were polish or georgian. Out of about 25 of them, there werent more than 5 with anything approaching a basic level of english. The rest had literally about five phrases, mostly some variation of yes, ok, good etc. I ended up with more polish after three months than they had english. I had to use hand signals to request them to do something, or bring them with me to where something needed to be done and physically show them, despite them having done it before. Definately the biggest source of stress in the job.

Tom, first off kudos for taking such initiative. I've a few shall we call "problems" with you bunch...

First off, POlish women! What do Irish lads see in them! Stick figures (nah, not gonna go there, could get personal) but anyways, they walk around the place, head up high as though they own it! Like helloooo! WTF? You're guests here........:rolleyes:

Also, I don't like this whole polish women thinking Irish women are tramps thing, ridiculous! You Polish women need some copping on to yourselves.

Secondly, I'd have to agree with the contruction worker on page 2 :D with his comment about his Polish co-workers, arrogance, I've yet to come across a friendly "smiley" Polish guy.

Now onto the food business....o'briens, bagel factory, subway, you lot are taking over our whole bloody country. The day where I used to be able to say what I wanted on my roll and actually get it is sooooo gone! If I ask for mayonnaise you give me butter, if I ask for chicken you give me ham. Aaaah!
    Then! When I say "eh I actually asked for mayonniase, you lot seem to look at me as though I have 10 heads and I'm the one with the problem!" Eeeeh hello!!! :mad:

And for the record I completely agree with all other Irish when I say it's complete arrogance and ignorance that yous won't learn some English! In a few years there'll be so many of yous here that your language will over power ours and we'll have to learn Polish....my God please shall that day NEVER come (no offence Polish people)...

Now saying all that, there are Polish girls in my gym and at first I thought "stuck up bitches" but now, I was wrong. They're still stuck up but they're actually pretty sound. Not my cuppa tea now but sound none the less.

I can't speak for other Eastern European women, but I am certainly a fan of Polish women. They are friendly and approachable, much more so than the irish ladies. Sure they are thin, but they have lovely personalities to make up for it! :p
    In my 3 years of being around different Polish ladies I've only encountered one that I didn't particuarly like.

When it comes to food lets face it, your average Irish Joe Soap isn't going to work in O'Briens or the Bagel Factory so if you get rid of the Polish (because you seem to be struggling there) then the only other group who could serve you your food would be scumbags. Which would you rather?
    Really though, is it such a struggle to order your food? I quite often get my lunch from O'Briens, Centra, Spar etc and I've never had too much trouble ordering what I wanted. I speak clearly and smile at them and I get what I ordered. I've never experianced anything like the hassle you seem to be having.

As pointed out by another poster Cheeky_gal perhaps your difficulty in dealing with the Polish is yous grasp of our own language.

I dunno though, it's just speculation on my part.

Edit : The whole 'guests' thing really bothers me. As Terry and another poster pointed out. Our FELLOW Europeans are here contributing to society. They work jobs that the Irish gave up on long ago. They pay taxes and are a part of society ad Irish life. They are not guests. T'would be a far duller place without them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭stratospheres

Most of them are thin due to their diet! Are you sure you're not just jealous Cheeky_gal? :P
    Seriously though, the Polish girls I've met have been very friendly and if talking in Polish one of them will often translate what they're talking about so we don't feel left out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,013 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Don't forget the camouflage combats! Is that something extending from conscription?
    how many polish people do u know ? can u say I know 10 polish people wearing this = all polish are wearing camouflage comabts? I'm polish , live here since 2004 and I don't know any polish wearing this.
    As an example: Last place I worked in, there were about 20 polish lads. Roughly half wore combats regularly. Please point out where I said all polish people wore combats. And if you can, find where I suggested anything bad about them.

Why do they have such a bad taste in music? Worked with a good few polish and don't have a single bad thing to say about them EXCEPT their taste in music. Their national charts seem like a weekly edition of the eurovision.
    u know only few polish and u want to say that 40.000.000 people has bad taste in music ?

btw can u tell me something about irish taste in music ? every time I switch on the radio I can hear only pop music, britney spears and other ****

I listen rock music - pink floyd, the doors, etc do I have bad taste?
    eo980 wrote: »
    As another poster pointed out, music is subjective. Our charts are nothing to be proud of. I would never slander another culture's music. If you don't like it, don't listen to it.
    Please point out where I said Irish chart music is good. I have merely grown an immunity to it. But its hard not listen to it when your next door neighbours are blasting out polish music (not the best descriptive term) every day during the summer from their house and cars.

Floyd and the doors - nice. Listen to Vader or Decapitated?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭princess-sprkle

Please point out where I said Irish chart music is good. I have merely grown an immunity to it. But its hard not listen to it when your next door neighbours are blasting out polish music (not the best descriptive term) every day during the summer from their house and cars.

kinda related, but i know a few polish guys who are well into their hardcore. some of the soundest dudes i've come across.

lol excuse my arrogance but it's a figure of speech...doesn't necesarilly mean you physically hold your head up high, it's just your general attitude to others around you, no smiley faces or anything of the sort in other words.

I know what u wanted to say so I don't need exact translation

actually Poland has a little bit different culture - what is normal here is something strange for us, especially if u are new in Ireland.

What I mean is we use official language to everyone we don't know.

we say mr, mrs if talking to shop assistant. we say aunt, uncle to our family members - almost never use "You" of course older people says to younger "you " but not always - it depends what's the situation like.

Usually we don't smile and say hello how are you to people on the street.

That's why Ireland is on the top of most friendly countries in the world !!!!!!

not so long ago in Poland there was an election of most friendly country in europe - and we voted for Ireland there was also UK in first top 10 and Norway.
    Ireland won as country that has the best atmosphere to live and work.

As an example: Last place I worked in, there were about 20 polish lads. Roughly half wore combats regularly. Please point out where I said all polish people wore combats. And if you can, find where I suggested anything bad about them.

u didn't suggest I understood your post wrongly - my mistake I'm sorry

Floyd and the doors - nice. Listen to Vader or Decapitated?

U didn't say it - I mentioned about this, cos I think that u shouldn't say badly about others if u are not perfect.

I can say the same about lithuanians - in my previous place and now I'm surrounded by "foreigners" - polish and lithuanians and lithuanians are having loud party few times per week. I called gards once, but after they heard that I'm foreigner as well they left me alone with my problem. [/quote]

I don't listen vader as this band is not popular in Poland and it is not so easy to get vader's cd's in Poland !!
    kinda related, but i know a few polish guys who are well into their hardcore. some of the soundest dudes i've come across.

the worst thing for me is that unfortunatelly some of polish scumba** came to Ireland and live here.

there are plenty of good hardworking people and just a few who are trying to change opininons about polish in Ireland. Believe me I'm getting sick when I hear from my manager stories like gards cought few polish who were emptying oil tanks in area where he lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭tomster

I don't listen vader as this band is not popular in Poland and it is not so easy to get vader's cd's in Poland !!
    Really? I've never had any problems... Vader, (a polish band btw) isn't popular in Poland because polish public loves cheap crap (like Doda)... Sick.

the worst thing for me is that unfortunatelly for my some of polish scumba** came to Ireland and live here.
    Believe me I'm getting sick when I hear from my manager stories like gards cought few polish who were emptying oil tanks in area where he lives.
    Very true, smelly feckers - shaved heads, primitive, arrogant attitude, with no english - the only way is to kick them out to where they came from. I AGREE 100% !!!

tomster wrote: »
    Really? I've never had any problems... Vader, (a polish band btw) isn't popular in Poland because polish public loves cheap crap (like Doda)... Sick.

some of polish public loves sh... music not everyone thanks to god !!

but different country , same story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

theres a large proportion of polish ppl living in ireland that refuse to learn the native language; english (during the summer, was dealing with a group of contract cleaners, the translator was one of the cleaners 8 year old sons for christ sake!) if u live in a country, the very least you can do is make an effort to learn the language.

polish people tend not to integrate too much with the irish, they mainly socialise within their own groups and thats it!

I lived in Belgium for 5 years and most Irish over there behaved exactly as described above, hung around in groups and didn't learn the language.

professore wrote: »
    I lived in Belgium for 5 years and most Irish over there behaved exactly as described above, hung around in groups and didn't learn the language.

Who would've thought eh?