Culchies day out

• 16-11-2007 02:53PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭

December 8th is the traditonal day out in the 'big schmoke' :rolleyes:

Does it happen any more though? Would you be arsed :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Sizzler wrote: »

It does happen. Last year Dublin city was packed anyway. My boyf's family will be down from Mayo anyway.....Must be weird not to live in Dublin! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Must be weird not to live in Dublin!

You'd be surprised how fast you'd get used to it if you've never lived there...

I can only imagine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Must be weird not to live in Dublin!

Clean air, no traffic jams, no M50 commute, less crime, less socail problems, less heroin muggers, cheap pints, a decent football and hurling team, knowing your neighbours..........etc etc. 70% of the Irish population

Poor bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

SetantaL wrote: »
    Clean air, no traffic jams, no M50 commute, less crime, less socail problems, less heroin muggers, cheap pints, a decent football and hurling team, knowing your neighbours..........etc etc. 70% of the Irish population

Poor bastards.

All this, in Limerick!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,937 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Poor bastards.

So 70% of the population live in Galway and Cork then? They are the only two counties that have a decent Hurling and Football team. Limerick threatened to, but they didn't quite make it.

Also, cheaper does not mean cheap, and the crap about knowing your neighbours and less crime does not really fit either to all parts of the country. The countryside, yes, other cities, no.

Poor bastards.

Have to say I know all my neighbours and don't use the M50. I spend a lot of time on Clare Island, off Mayo (the boyf's home "town") and love it but I have to get a boat to go to the bank and the pub doesn't open until 8pm. That said, obviously that's an extreme example of "the country" I realise!

I also spend a lot of time in Enniscorthy (with my other boyfriend :D) and it's grand. Sundays are crap though because nothing opens. I dunno, I just like Dublin, warts and all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

I knew what this thread was about the second I read the title. I remember it years ago when I was young. All the country kids being afraid of the escalators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

ah let them come up i say, the one day a year they get to experience what being a stinking townie crammed together with nasty foreigners feels like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

cance wrote: »
    ah let them come up i say, the one day a year they get to experience what being a stinking townie crammed together with nasty foreigners feels like.

Don't hold back there ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

"Frantic Friday" is olde Irelande, old habits die hard for those of a certain age group but why would anyone else shlep up to Dublin these days. Not for a grand day out, thats for sure.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Massey Fergusons blocking O'Connell Street. :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Rob_l

5starpool wrote: »
    So 70% of the population live in Galway and Cork then? They are the only two counties that have a decent Hurling and Football team. Limerick threatened to, but they didn't quite make it.

Also, cheaper does not mean cheap, and the crap about knowing your neighbours and less crime does not really fit either to all parts of the country. The countryside, yes, other cities, no.

I would like to object to you saying cork and galway have good football teams

Rob_l wrote: »
    I would like to object to you saying cork and galway have good football teams

i see your objection, and raise you this. 90% of us inside of the pale dont give a shíte. :D

When did we refine the parameters to one couty Vs one county? I was speaking about Dublin Vs the rest. Look I'll even give you the pale counties as they might as well be re-named Dublin beag + 2 hours drive (with traffic).

Look you can be as pedantic as you like. I spent 23 years living in Killarney, Galway and Cork and I've had three in Dublin. The dubs seeem to be like Americans with only 5% with passports thinking anything outside their own area is dark and backward. The country has a better living standard in general for the majority of the persons living in it.

I didn't even mention the difference in house prices..............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

cance wrote: »
    i see your objection, and raise you this. 90% of us inside of the pale dont give a shíte. :D

This may be true but that doesn't mean you should go around saying it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Not for love nor money would I drive all the way to Dublin to do Christmas shopping. We do have shops out here you know and just this year we got the internet. :)

The only reason I'd go to Dublin these days is to get a flight. Either that or some concert, it would have to be someone pretty special though. The Apocalypse featuring Jesus would be about the only thing I'd be willing to go see. That'd be a bit of craic, watching Dublin burn. :p

mike65 wrote: »

Classic :D

Pity you didnt have the rear pic so we could see the towbar ;)

When did we refine the parameters to one couty Vs one county? I was speaking about Dublin Vs the rest. Look I'll even give you the pale counties as they might as well be re-named Dublin beag + 2 hours drive (with traffic).

Look you can be as pedantic as you like. I spent 23 years living in Killarney, Galway and Cork and I've had three in Dublin. The dubs seeem to be like Americans with only 5% with passports thinking anything outside their own area is dark and backward. The country has a better living standard in general for the majority of the persons living in it.

I didn't even mention the difference in house prices..............

Laughable, you believe 5 percent of dubs have passports obviously this statistic is bullcrap or budget travel wouldn not be the booming succes it is here and as result of you using bullcrap statistics to prove your point that thusly makes everything else you say highly doubtful.

ScumLord wrote: »
    The only reason I'd go to Dublin these days is to get a flight

For a second there I thought you said fight ;)

ScumLord wrote: »
    Not for love nor money would I drive all the way to Dublin to do Christmas shopping. We do have shops out here you know and just this year we got the internet. :)

The only reason I'd go to Dublin these days is to get a flight. Either that or some concert, it would have to be someone pretty special though. The Apocalypse featuring Jesus would be about the only thing I'd be willing to go see. That'd be a bit of craic, watching Dublin burn. :p

should this not be in the dublin forums mods?

Typical backwards bogger thinking here Dublin cant be the site of the apocalypse because it is already built on the original site of the Garden of Eden and when god has scoured the world of all others but the chosen(where chosen is typed enter DUBS) it will once again return to its former state

should this not be in the dublin forums mods?

Typical backwards bogger thinking here Dublin cant be the site of the apocalypse because it is already built on the original site of the Garden of Eden and when god has scoured the world of all others but the chosen(where chosen is typed enter DUBS) it will once again return to its former state
    England?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

zuutroy wrote: »
    All the country kids being afraid of the escalators.

Where did they come from? The 1850's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Sizzler wrote: »

No, we live in a world of on-line shopping these days. December 8th has become the day culchies power up the diesel fueled generator that runs their laptop and go then wild with the 56k modem.

Laughable, you believe 5 percent of dubs have passports obviously this statistic is bullcrap or budget travel wouldn not be the booming succes it is here and as result of you using bullcrap statistics to prove your point that thusly makes everything else you say highly doubtful.

Only 5% of Americans have passports. Learn to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Where did they come from? The 1850's?

:D Well, I wouldn't say your average rural 7 year old came across them too often in 1985.

Pigman II wrote: »
    No we live in a world of on-line shopping these days. December 8th is the day culchies power up the diesel powered generator that runs their laptops.
    I don't know who came up with this laptop lark, the owl BBC micro has the legs burnt off me I just had to go back to leaving it up ontop the silage.