Fireworks: quieter this year...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

They're going off a lot where I live in Galway, but as long as they stay away from me it's grand. (Touch wood)

Came home tonight after college and there were little kids in costumes at my door. Obviously they haven't realised that it's not Halloween til tomorrow. Couldn't give them anything, except maybe a few chicken fillets, but then I would get egged and have fireworks fired at me....then again, that'll probably happen anyway.

I'm so glad I'm not at home in Cork because the bloody neighbours must have a fireworks factory in the shed, and they go off every night for about a week!! (And you can't even see them cos they're crap) (The fireworks, not the neighbours) (Although they are equally crap)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Its nearly 7:40pm, i'd say the amount of fireworks going off is probably around 70% of what it was last year.
    Funny thing is, i don't see any gardai hunting down the perpetrators of the fireworks going off to haul them up in court on €10k fines :D

Plenty of bonfires & fireworks but much quieter than last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

Plenty going on now. And passed the odd bonfire on my way home just now.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

a Screemer was launched at the bus i was on earlier....

little ****ers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Usual fare around my way now, same as any other year, the kiddie display started around 5, a lull at 8 and it's all kicked off again the last 10 minutes.
    If it was like this every year, I don't think anyone could complain too much...seems to me that anyone who managed to get them held onto them for tonight.
    Just reading in my local paper earlier however about some poor guy who's lost the hearing in one ear after some scumbags threw a banger in the driver's window of his bus out round the country someplace....bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,321 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Definitely much quieter tonight at this neck of the woods,not half as much as usual.I didn't hear more than a dozen or so in the pre-Halloween rehearsal month.

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

It's like WWI out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Like Beirut in Tallaght.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭Snowbie

Defo not as bad as previous years and very little bonfires again compared to recent years.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

tallus wrote: »
    Like Beirut in Tallaght.

So just like normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

You wouldn't know it was Halloween in my area tonight. It used to be a huge night around here. 500-1000 people attending the main bonfire which wasn't lit til midnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Silence around here. Guess they finally ran out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

A lot of them going off at the moment but it doesn't seem as bad as recent years.

Maybe kids are getting less pocket money these days.

Yeah waaaay less bonfires in town this year too....mainly for the fact, that at least in my locale, there's very little waste ground that's not been built on by now. 3-4 years back there was ample space for towering infernos of tyres and palettes...not anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Wertz wrote: »
    Yeah waaaay less bonfires in town this year too....mainly for the fact, that at least in my locale, there's very little waste ground that's not been built on by now. 3-4 years back there was ample space for towering infernos of tyres and palettes...not anymore.
    Where I live I think it's more to do with change of society. When I was a teenager everyone collected for Halloween. We'd be down in Sandymount (3 mile walk) every day of the week bring back absolutely enormous tires from A1 Waste. We'd actually get up at 5 or 6 in the morning a lot of the time too. It gets you used to hard work at an early age. :) The teenagers now have better things to be doing.

Yeah, probably looking out for their carbon footprint or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,190 ✭✭✭✭GBX

The run up has been quiet. went nuts around 6 onwards. still the odd one going off here in Dub 12

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

How much is that fine again? 10k? But still not enforced? :confused:

If the gardai even picked up a fraction of the people with illegal fireworks and if even a fraction of those paid their fine, that'd be a sizeable amount of money.

Could be used for a bonus for the hard-working fire staff. :)

It's fairly bad around here and the only way it'll quieten down is if it rains. Doesn't look likely though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭gyppo

The poor oul dog in the gyppo household is in bits. Spent all evening trying to pacify her.
    I'd love to get my hands on just 1 rocket and assosiated skanger - I could think of a place where i'd insert it before lighting the fuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭peasant

gyppo wrote: »
    The poor oul dog in the gyppo household is in bits. Spent all evening trying to pacify her.

Trying to pacify the dog is the exact wrong thing to do. By making a fuss around her you're just enforcing her impression that there is something to worry about.

Probably too late for today/this year ...but next time try to act as if fireworks is the most natural and uninteresting thing in the world ...it will rub off on the dog.

ON TOPIC:
    Yes, it has (thankfully) been very quiet this year.
    None of the usual prolonged run-up from the the middle of September. And even tonight it's only very intermittent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Josey Wales

Apparently there have been 840 calls to the Fire Brigade tonight. According to RTE news it is the busiest night ever for the Dublin fire service.

As for the area where I am it is certainly alive with the sound of fireworks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

peasant wrote: »
    Trying to pacify the dog is the exact wrong thing to do. By making a fuss around her you're just enforcing her impression that there is something to worry about.

True. You should completely ignore your dog, dont pacify or scold it and make sure that you allow it to go wherever it feels safe. My mutt goes into the bathroom and hops into the bath and stays there until things die down, so anytime I hear a banger or firework go off the first thing I do is make sure the door to the bathroom is open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Defo quieter the last 2 years, 3 years ago was Beiruit for several weeks, now its just the odd barrage.

Heard vet say its a good idea to condition your dog to loud noise before the event. Also play loud classical to mask the noise and soothe them. Best level is when their ears just start to twitch apparently.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

this is just the calm before the storm!!

give it a week or so and it'll be like Iraq, round my way anyways!:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

F**KING HATE THOSE BANGERS:mad:

You live in Tikrit, I take it? - or alternatively some lovely neighbourhood like Darndale perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭gyppo

peasant wrote: »

Probably too late for today/this year ...but next time try to act as if fireworks is the most natural and uninteresting thing in the world ...it will rub off on the dog.

I've no doubt that you're right. Unfortunately shes a very nervy dog - last
    year she actually vomited from fear. The missus was not too happy, so I very was conscious of the same happening this year :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

It was fairly quiet last night.

Usually there is a constant barrage of fireworks which lasts about 3 hours.

Last night it only went on for about twenty minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Had about a month's worth of the things last year. This year we only really had them last night. Happy days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

yea it's very quiet now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I remember various Halloweens turning Dublin into downtown Basra in the last five years.

There was even a type of firework that when let off created an intense low-frequency pulse that would rattle windows and set off car-alarms, and I haven't heard that one this year at all.

I believe that one of China's main firework factories burnt down this year (wouldn't you have paid to see that?!) so the selection of ordinance available to us Free Staters in Norn Iron must have been limited.