"fvck Off"

• 10-10-2007 05:46PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭

Almost forgot to relate this one to the board.

I was sitting at traffic lights yesterday evening in Clontarf, waiting for the filter light to take me onto the Alfie Byrne road (just painting the picture).

I looked to my left at the traffic stopped there, and waiting beside me was a respectable looking woman (I purposely won't call her a lady) in her late 20's, driving a nice Merc. She smiled over to me ( this happens to me all the time :p ) and I smile back, but noticed her young child standing between the back and front seats.

Now I wouldn't be a smart arse with anyone, but I just pointed to the baby and said "Your going to kill her child" ... "WHAT" ... "your going to kill that child, he should be strapped in" ... "FVCK OFF AND MIND YOUR OWN BUSINESS"... was the reply, flipped me the middle finger and fvcked off up the road!.

What a wagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Stupid Bitch tbh. Fair play for saying something Mairt.
    Mairt wrote:
    Almost forgot to relate this one to the board.

I was sitting at traffic lights yesterday evening in Clontarf, waiting for the filter light to take me onto the Alfie Byrne road (just painting the picture).

I looked to my left at the traffic stopped there, and waiting beside me was a respectable looking woman (I purposely won't call her a lady) in her late 20's, driving a nice Merc. She smiled over to me ( this happens to me all the time :p ) and I smile back, but noticed her young child standing between the back and front seats.

Now I wouldn't be a smart arse with anyone, but I just pointed to the baby and said "Your going to kill her child" ... "WHAT" ... "your going to kill that child, he should be strapped in" ... "FVCK OFF AND MIND YOUR OWN BUSINESS"... was the reply, flipped me the middle finger and fvcked off up the road!.

What a wagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

The Dozy bint doesn't deserve kids. I wouldn't even put a cat into a car without restraining it in some way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭JohnnyStones

tallus wrote:
    The Dozy bint doesn't deserve kids. I wouldn't even put a cat into a car without restraining it in some way.

your right i always put my cat in the boot;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

your right i always put my cat in the boot;)

Do you take the corners at high speed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

mmh, very insightful thread (I'm stuck in college waiting for the next bus :()

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

In fairness you were a bit blunt about. You'd be pretty pissed off too if someone told you that you are going to kill your child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

The poor woman was obviously overwhelmed with desire and your well meaning suggestion that she was going to kill her kid cut her to the quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Mairt wrote:
    beside me was a respectable looking woman (I purposely won't call her a lady) in her late 20's, driving a nice Merc. She smiled over to me ( this happens to me all the time :p ) and I smile back

Ouch, how fast situations change. Instead of getting laid, you got fingered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Mairt wrote:
    She smiled over to me ( this happens to me all the time :p ) and I smile back, but noticed her young child standing between the back and front seats.

lol. fúcker. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

|Cookies wrote:
    Her child, not yours. Mind your own business.

Yeah, that makes perfect sense.

It's her child, if she wants to put the child's life in danger, that's her right. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

|Cookies wrote:

While it may have been a bit of an abrupt way to put it (although in those circumstances there wasn't much time for subtlety), I think it's responsible to point things like that out. The child's safety was obviously in potential danger in that situation, and it may not be the first time that it had happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭Aoife9

if she had a waterford crystal vase in the back I'll bet she'd make sure it was safe:(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

|Cookies wrote:
    Unless it's you or yours it hits as it sails out the windscreen at 30/40 miles an hour should she have a collision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

How many of us were strapped in as children?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

There was no child was there Mairt?
    There was no initial smile from her to you, was there Mairt?

You were leering at her weren't you Mairt?
    You had drool dribbling down your chin and you done that gesture that hornbags do to indicate a lady has a fine rack on her. You were in caveman mode and she didn't appreciate it did she Mairt?

Only then did she tell you to fvck off. Pigheads right isn't he Mairt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

you shoulda called the guards on her :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

boreds wrote:
    Yes, hands up all those who didn't die in road accidents!

You should google the Anthropic Principle if you still don't understand why thats a logical fallacy :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

DeVore wrote:

You should google the Anthropic Principle if you still don't understand why thats a logical fallacy :)

DeV.

Wouldn't that be more applicable if he/she were asking who wasn't strapped in. Not that it's of any consequence, the kid would have been better off wearing a seatbelt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

DeVore wrote:
    You should google the Anthropic Principle
    DeV.

I really wish i hadnt. Chemistry is what the universe is about. pfft physic. pfft i say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

|Cookies wrote:

This kind of connundrum happens in work to me sometimes. I think I know the happy medium. If the parent isnt watching the child and the child is putting him/herself in obvious danger then you tell the parent. If the parent is watching the kid and the kid is in obvious danger a firm accusing glance will generally do the trick. If the kid is in immediate danger (ie. young kid picks up something small enough to fit in the mouth but big enough to choke on) then try to help directly no matter what the consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

DeVore wrote:

DeV.

*googles "logical fallacy" *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

I remember years ago on holidays,my dad witnessed a lady slapping her little girl full force across the face for getting ice cream on the lady's jacket.
    He stepped in and told her it was way out of line, and he got a bollocking himself. :rolleyes:
    It's hard to know what to do sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

DeVore wrote:

DeV.

And so I did. That Rupert Scopwick must have been some guy! lived to be about 635 he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Unpossible

What Mairt said (or should that be mouthed, as I guess the windows were up):
    "Your going to kill your child"
    What she understood:
    "I'm going to kill your child"

Mairt: "He is not strapped in"
    her understanding: "I will do him in"

Poor woman was probably scared s**tless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I'm more head in the sand than this. If I'd seen this I would have of course disapproved but I don't reckon I would've been roaring at someone at the traffic lights.

OP's motives were 100% sound though and I could not criticise him at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭6ix

"You're going to kill your child"?

I hope you're not that blunt in everything you say. Of course the parent was wrong not to have the child strapped in, but surely you could have worded it better. If someone spoke to me in such a condescending tone, I certainly wouldn't respond well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭BanzaiBk

Unpossible wrote:
    What she understood:

I see this carry on all the time, I agree with the poster who said if she had a crystal vase in the backseat she'd make sure it was secure. Sad but true:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Doesn't surprise me... seems some people don't care about strapping in their kids.

Example: driving down.. Kylemore road (?) towards ballyfermot - after the Shelbourne hotel along there, just before the bridge, waiting to go straight and a big white Hiace comes from the left turning towards me and the guy has a BABY ... maybe 12-18mths on his LAP... one arm round the child, one on the steering wheel. WTF like? .. one crash and that childs crushed... how did he intend changing gear? let go of the wheel or the baby? AND there was someone in the passenger seat too... I just sat in shock going.. "is that for real?" :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Unpossible wrote:
    What she understood:

"I'm going to do your child"
    I have a strap-on".

boreds wrote:

Well, when I was growing up, cars didn't even have belts in the front let alone the back.

Did see one kid at school with scars after leaving the car @30mph via the windscreen. :(