How far would You go with a Good Deed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

Mairt wrote:
    Oh cry me a bleed'n river :rolleyes:
    You know, one could say exactly the same thing about someone getting the head beat off them by four lads. I'd help in that situation too, without pausing to think "that guy must be a child-rapist" or something. When I see a passed out bloke (who may or may not be a junkie, like a guy on the receiving end of a beating may be a serial killer) in need of assistance, I help him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Wacker wrote:
    Who says these smiles are false? Nothing wrong withpassing on some good will to your fellow man.

Blush, if you ever go out of your way to smile at me, count on my stopping you for a high-five!
    That's how it all starts.

First the smile. Then the high-five. Then you stop and talk every time you pass.
    Pretty soon nothing is done because everyone is too busy being nice to everyone else.

Don't ****ing smile at me unless you are about to give me head.

Terry wrote:

Don't ****ing smile at me unless you are about to give me head.

I ain't guaranteeing nothin'.

Actually, reagrding the high-five, the whole point of it is that you don't subsequently stop and chat. You essentially say hello by sticking your hand in the air. All that goes next in any quick stop-and-chat conversation is perfectly contained in the whacking of the other person's palm. That's all you need! Hit the guy's hand and move on. Perfect.

No. It doesn't work like that.

It's the smile, the high-five, the exchanging of pleasantries, the brief conversation, the quick chat and then you go for a pint.

This is a gradual thing. Not all in the one day. It happens over time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Wacker wrote:
    You know, one could say exactly the same thing about someone getting the head beat off them by four lads. I'd help in that situation too, without pausing to think "that guy must be a child-rapist" or something. When I see a passed out bloke (who may or may not be a junkie, like a guy on the receiving end of a beating may be a serial killer) in need of assistance, I help him.

Well when I see four lads beating the sh*t out of another I usually think to myself ... ... ''Fvck it, he's not getting that for nothing''.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Mairt wrote:
    Well when I see four lads beating the sh*t out of another I usually think to myself ... ... ''Fvck it, he's not getting that for nothing''.

Unfortunately mate, that is sometimes exactly what happens, no reason just a random attack, had it happened to my brother a few years back, he was walking home from the pub, four guys came up behind and jumped him, at one point they tried to drop a cavity block on his head (missed thank god), my bro is as soft as ****e and couldn't start trouble if he tried. Now get back to the feel good stuff.

Would you give it over, I'm winding the dude up!.. ***but don't tell 'em***

I've tried looking for the thread detailing where I fought an armed robber at Botanic Road Post office, it was May 6th 2005. I submitted him, and detained him until the cops arrived. But the search engine here is sh*t and can't find the thread. Its in the Self Defence & Martial Arts forum.

Apart from oversea's work with the UN I've also voluntarily worked at the Tibnine Orphange in Lebanon, plus the Hospice/hospital in Baidoa (Somalia).

As for helping people, I sincerely hope no one here on Boards.ie were any of the people who stepped over me as I held the robbery as he continually tried to stab me. Then as I 'tended to wounds on another lad who'd tackled the robbery first (he was African and I was a medic) NOT ONE person would help us. I asked people to get me towels etc and the lad thought he was dying and wanted his bible from the shop (he dropped it). Not ONE person helped.

People talk BS and don't know what they'll do until they're confronted by a situation.

Mairt wrote:
    Would you give it over, I'm winding the dude up!.. ***but don't tell 'em***

As for helping people, I sincerely hope no one here on Boards.ie were any of the people who stepped over me as I held the robbery as he continually tried to stab me. Then as I 'tended to wounds on another lad who'd tackled the robbery first (he was African and I was a medic) NOT ONE person would help us. I asked people to get me towels etc and the lad thought he was dying and wanted his bible from the shop (he dropped it). Not ONE person helped.

People talk BS and don't know what they'll do until they're confronted by a situation.

True, but I don't think I could live with my concience if I passed by a situation like that, I don't shave but I still have to be able to look in the mirror in the morning.

Its nothing to do with your concience, its 'fight or flight'. Or 'fight, flight or freeze'.

I seen a child get knocked down a few years ago and the first thing I did was run away from the scene. But I turned and went back.

Most people don't stop and think if they should involve themselves in a good deed. Its just a reaction 'fight, flight or freeze'.

Mairt wrote:
    Its nothing to do with your concience, its 'fight or flight'. Or 'fight, flight or freeze'.

I seen a child get knocked down a few years ago and the first thing I did was run away from the scene. But I turned and went back.

Most people don't stop and think if they should involve themselves in a good deed. Its just a reaction 'fight, flight or freeze'.

I understand that, and have offered assistance in one or two situations, my first reaction usually is to look and see if someone more qualified (or someone who seems to know what they are doing ) is getting involved and if not then I will step in. Only happened to me once or twice but I was happy to know that I offered assistance, even if it's only to be told, no thanks it's under control.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Mairt wrote:

no truer words can be said. That is the unfortunate issue with the human condition and why we hear of so many stories of people just standing idley by. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Mairt wrote:
    In an earlier post in this thread I posted a link to a heart attack victim who I gave CPR to. Had he been a junkie I'd have walked on by.

I agree. You just don't know what diseases these types will pass onto you. I have access to a face mask/shield for CPR in my car & would use that on any person but not a junkie.

TJ911...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Trojan911 wrote:
    I agree. You just don't know what diseases these types will pass onto you. I have access to a face mask/shield for CPR in my car & would use that on any person but not a junkie.

TJ911...

you wont catch anything from giving CPR through those shield yokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

Trojan911 wrote:

TJ911...

I heard just looking one in the eyes can give you deathmumps :eek:

faceman wrote:
    you wont catch anything from giving CPR through those shield yokes.

Fair point, but won't be taking the chance in any case...
    eoin5 wrote:
    I heard just looking one in the eyes can give you deathmumps

:eek: (makes note to avoid eye contact with junkie types)

TJ911...

Trojan911 wrote:
    Fair point, but won't be taking the chance in any case...

er, you're not taking a chance.

if our doctors and nurses had the same mentality, the mortality rate in this country would be alot higher!! :eek:

besides, "normal looking people" (for the want of better expression) have HIV, hep C, herpes, the flu too. Disease dont discriminate!

Even without a facemask you'd be safe enough. You could only catch something if both of you had open wounds on your mouths, as far as I know. Not that I'd take that chance, but I'd be happy to oblige in the hypothetical instance of my having a face mask to hand.

faceman wrote:
    er, you're not taking a chance.

Correct, I won't be taking a chance, in any case.... They chose their path in life to stick needles in their veins that is my major reason for refusing to assist them. To me, junkies are the reason drugs, misery & death exists.

As for doctors & nurses, my hat off to them, brilliant people, but I am not bound by their code of ethics.

TJ911...

Trojan911 wrote:
    Correct, I won't be taking a chance, in any case.... They chose their path in life to stick needles in their veins that is my major reason for refusing to assist them. To me, junkies are the reason drugs, misery & death exists.

As for doctors & nurses, my hat off to them.

TJ911...

i respect your decisions obviously but like i say, there is no risk so you are not taking any chance. How do you know what path their life has taken? You dont know anything about the individual, what their life is/was or what it will become.

faceman wrote:
    i respect your decisions obviously but like i say, there is no risk so you are not taking any chance. How do you know what path their life has taken? You dont know anything about the individual, what their life is/was or what it will become.

Fair question.

We all are susceptible to the up's & down's of what life throws at us. Some of us stay on the side of law & order when the chips are down, others stray over to a life of crime.

The latter choose this murky path & in my book are, in some cases, not worth bothering with. i.e. junkies, alcoholics etc.

They blame everyone else bar themselves for their problems & believe society owes them. Sure, there have been some people who have turned themselves around & fair play. I have very little or no time for the latter.

TJ911...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Saw a woman on O'Connel bridge today colapse and start spasming and having some sort of fit, she hit the ground hard in front of about 50 people, they all watched on and not one person stepped in to help. A huge crowed formed around her. I was shocked at the amount of people standing so close and watching, some people were even stepping over the woman as she spasmed !! I was digusted. I was driving by on a bus at the time so couldn't exactly jump off off in to traffic and help the woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭MOH

Mairt wrote:

When I see five weirdos in togas stabbing a man in plain view of a hundred people, I shoot the b***ards, that's my policy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Drift

MOH wrote:
    When I see five weirdos in togas stabbing a man in plain view of a hundred people, I shoot the b***ards, that's my policy.

That was a Shakespeare in the Park production of Julius Caesar, you moron! :D

Wacker wrote:
    Even without a facemask you'd be safe enough. You could only catch something if both of you had open wounds on your mouths, as far as I know. Not that I'd take that chance, but I'd be happy to oblige in the hypothetical instance of my having a face mask to hand.

As a matter of fact.

I enquired about this. And there's not one documented case of someone contracting anything through giving CPR.

Having said that I'd still walk past a junkie dying on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

Mairt wrote:
    As a matter of fact.

I enquired about this. And there's not one documented case of someone contracting anything through giving CPR.
    The Flu, cold, any air or touch transmitted virus :p .People are too :o to mentioned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Pyr0 wrote:
    Helped an American chap that got mugged after drinking one night and has his wallet and passport taken I was on my way back from the train station and he stopped me and asked me for directions to the American Embassy, I gave him about 4.50 in change and told him which direction to go to get a bus there. He shook my hand twice and thanked me over and over, he mentioned a son he had being the same age as me, he asked my age and i told him I was 17 and he was shocked ! Just before he walked away he said "Everytime I think of Ireland, I'll remember your face" As cheesy as it sounded it felt great to hear someone say that to you.

Funny that, I met the same guy a while back. Although I didn't give him any money.

He owes you €4.50 I'm afraid, but at least your heart was in the right place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭david1two3

T-Boner wrote:
    Sorry but I wouldn't give a junkie a second of my time. Lower than a dying rat in the gutter IMO.

You might find you fit just below again with your attitude.

Mairt wrote:
    Actually I'd agree with TBoner.

Fcuking junkie scum. I wouldn't do anything to help one either.

They made they're own choices, fvck 'em, let 'em O.D. and die for all I care.

you and the other one above this are in a worse position than the junkie.

Attack the post, not the poster.

Mairt wrote:

And if the child had been a junkie.