Rip off home prices in crime ridden areas

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

I saw a three bedroom house "sale agreed" in Tallaght for €600K, is Tallaght twice as safe as Finglas?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

i like finglas, everyone is friendly and my neighbours are brilliant. if i won the lottery, i wouldnt move, most people refuse to believe this but its true. you shouldnt knock it until you have tried it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

ntlbell I'm not going to waste any more time with you.
    Terry wrote:
    I want to know your definition.

I sadly suspect you are hoping I say something like "people without college degrees" or something like that, but again my answer has to be "everyone knows what a skanger is."

I'll show you a picture if that helps -

http://cornerstonegroup.files.wordpress.com/2007/05/chavs.jpg

Note they aren't wearing the tracksuits because they're athletes, nor are they the type who loves to have friendly chats and ring ambulances when required.
    Terry wrote:
    I also want to know why you changed your location from "Guess" to "Finglas". That just seems like trolling to me.

It's a harmless joke, and also it's to make a point that I don't have a problem with Finglas, I am just stating the obvious that an area like Finglas is closer to being "crime ridden" than an area like Terenure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Dyflin wrote:
    I saw a three bedroom house "sale agreed" in Tallaght for €600K, is Tallaght twice as safe as Finglas?

as stated all ready it's a stupid compparison Tallaght is huge

In Tallaght you can live in places like Old Bawn, Kiltipper, watergate all beautiful aeras well sort after and would be regarded very safe.

You can also live in the top of Jobstown which is more like Iraq.

pretty much everywhere in Dublin is like this now, Tallaght is now a lot more middle class than people would like to think.

irishbird wrote:
    i like finglas, everyone is friendly and my neighbours are brilliant. if i won the lottery, i wouldnt move, most people refuse to believe this but its true. you shouldnt knock it until you have tried it

Ladybird, that's cool. No one is saying though that you shouldn't live there or like it there, we're saying in comparison with other parts of Dublin it would be considered more "crime ridden" or even "not as nice".

I think this is fair.

For example, I grew up in Stillorgan and I have no problem accepting Dalkey is "nicer" and "less crime ridden" than Stillorgan.

dublindude wrote:
    ntlbell I'm not going to waste any more time with you.

I'll show you a picture if that helps -

http://cornerstonegroup.files.wordpress.com/2007/05/chavs.jpg

Note they aren't wearing the tracksuits because they're athletes, nor are they they type who loves to have friendly chats and ring ambulances when required.

I know I put questions to you that you find it hard to answer without looking like an idiot, but try.

So you show a picture of some people hanging around their area, this to me looks like bored teenagers which in stilorgan are fine right?

you point out they wear tracksuits but are not athelete's? so what? people all over ireland from Ballymun to dalkey wear tracksuits who are not athelete's? what does this prove?

what does this picture tell us?

that you're small little minded boy who can't see past someone's clothes? that you lack so much in creative intellegince you have to put everyone into little boxes to try and understand them?

that picture tells me nothing about the people in it, but a lot about you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

How do you know they are not athletes?

I see plenty of people who look like that coming and going to the local GAA club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

ntlbell wrote:
    I know I put questions to you that you find it hard to answer without looking like an idiot, but try.

So you show a picture of some people hanging around their area, this to me looks like bored teenagers which in stilorgan are fine right?

you point out they wear tracksuits but are not athelete's? so what? people all over ireland from Ballymun to dalkey wear tracksuits who are not athelete's? what does this prove?

what does this picture tell us?

that you're small little minded boy who can't see past someone's clothes? that you lack so much in creative intellegince you have to put everyone into little boxes to try and understand them?

that picture tells me nothing about the people in it, but a lot about you.

Oh Jesus christ will you give it a rest man... if you think the guys in that picture are not scumbags then you must have the brain of youghurt..

With every post you embarrass yourself more and more..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

gurramok wrote:
    Funny this part :)

A 3-bed house in Finglas is going for about 300k. A couple would need to be earning about 35k each to afford this.
    So to sum up, if you wanna live in Finglas, you need a partner first and both of ye have be a good earners and in professional jobs to pay a mortgage for next 35 yrs.
    If you wanna live in Foxrock, you need to have won the lotto or made your dosh from your drugs empire or your law empire:D

Now translate above to an outsider who knows nothing about Dublin, they come to the conclusion that all areas in the entire city are middle-upper class due to house prices which just shows how crazy the housing bubble is.

I think this is the whole point the op is making i.e. that house prices have shot up all over the place.
    ntlbell wrote:
    surley where criminal lives = crime ridden area no ?

ding dong?

I'm with hopalong85 on this. There are not many criminals (I'm talking the likes of the Monk and people with that kind of profile) living in areas like Clontarf or Terenure and those that do tend to try and keep a low profile. They're not ones to go ****ting on their own doorsteps. Where an isolated criminal (again using Hutch as an example) lives does not equate to crime-ridden area. Crime-ridden areas are those where anti-social behaviour and other instances of crime are regular occurences. For the purpose of this thread, it has also been defined as a residential area. I've never lived in Finglas but I've got a lot of friends who do. None of them are scumbags but it's still got that reputation of being a 'rough' area, whether it's media portrayed or based on ignorant prejudice.

Orange69 wrote:
    Oh Jesus christ will you give it a rest man... if you think the guys in that picture are not scumbags then you must have the brain of youghurt..

With every post you embarrass yourself more and more..

I obviously do.

Maybe you been a bright spark can explain why, from that one picture they're scumbags?

why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Terry wrote:
    Prices ranging from €315,000 to €520,000 for a semi-detatched.

Which sums up, would you(not you personally but anyone) pay 315k or 520k tops to live in a so-called undesirable area called Finglas(Dublindude says so :))?

Would you pay anything over even 300k for a 3bed gaff in any area of dublin where all those 300k gaffs are in 'undesirable areas'?
    Alot of middle class types would say no(i know ppl like this) as those 300k gaffs are in the stereotypical crime ridden areas despite being near to the city centre with available facilities unlike the new legolands on the outskirts

It just shows how house prices are extremely out of whack with normality that 2 above average earners can't even afford to live in the 'undesirable' areas!

ntlbell wrote:
    I obviously do.

Maybe you been a bright spark can explain why, from that one picture they're scumbags?

why?

It is totally obvious ntlbell is tyring to disrupt this disussion by insulting and winding people up, so I suggest people don't continue to feed him.

dublindude wrote:
    It is totally obvious ntlbell is tyring to disrupt this disussion by insulting and winding people up, so I suggest people don't continue to feed him.

LOL

What gives you that idea...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

gurramok wrote:
    Which sums up, would you(not you personally but anyone) pay 315k or 520k tops to live in a so-called undesirable area called Finglas(Dublindude says so :))?

Would you pay anything over even 300k for a 3bed gaff in any area of dublin where all those 300k gaffs are in 'undesirable areas'?
    Alot of middle class types would say no(i know ppl like this) as those 300k gaffs are in the stereotypical crime ridden areas despite being near to the city centre with available facilities unlike the new legolands on the outskirts

It just shows how house prices are extremely out of whack with normality that 2 above average earners can't even afford to live in the 'undesirable' areas!

Peopl will buy where they can afford.If you cant afford to buy you cant comment on areas at all.

ntlbell wrote:
    LOL

What gives you that idea...

This may have something to do with it:
    ntlbell wrote:
    Not really, dublindude is one of them little girls who likes to sit on the back seat on the top of busses in his sailing shoes and lemon ralph lauren polo shirts. He often has to give up this as a confident 10yr old kid from shankill (south side ftw) walks up the stairs gives him "the look" and he has to hall is lemon polo shirt out of there.

So he goes home and constantly has to question why a 10yr old can be so confident wearing his cheap tracksuit his 0 all over hair cut and his cheap rave songs yet, he is still a scared little girl.

it's one of life's tough questions for the scared d4 men(girls) of ireland y'know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

An Citeog wrote:

touche ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭hopalong85

ntlbell wrote:
    surley where criminal lives = crime ridden area no ?

ding dong?

My god, what you're saying is so illogical. Let me try to explain this for you. When a criminal moves to an affluent area he remains in control of the crime in the area he has come from. It is these areas that remain crime ridden. One or two major criminals living in a particular area doesn't make said area crime ridden. Hundreds of criminals living in an area does.
    Hence the difference between areas like Finglas and areas like Blackrock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Holy smoke Batman, 10 pages, unreal.....

Can we not just all agree that the whole of Dublin is a sh*thole :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

troll trolly troll troll...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I wonder what Mr Hiberno-Chancer Ginger Cliche Man David McWilliams would make of all this.He has his Breakfast Roll Man and Botox Betty and RoboPaddy.What would he collectivley generalise the criminally-minded,tracksuit-wearing hordes that infest our Council estates as?

hopalong85 wrote:
    My god, what you're saying is so illogical. Let me try to explain this for you. When a criminal moves to an affluent area he remains in control of the crime in the area he has come from. It is these areas that remain crime ridden. One or two major criminals living in a particular area doesn't make said area crime ridden. Hundreds of criminals living in an area does.
    Hence the difference between areas like Finglas and areas like Blackrock.

Sorry missed that can you just one more time, run it by me again.

I'm easiliy distracted by my new shiney air maxors

so your saying blackrock is safer than finglas?

why didn't you just say that at the start?

An Citeog wrote:

sorry the LOL wasn't big enough for you

here...

LOL<---busted?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Toots85 wrote:
    Funny that, I live in Foxrock and not one person I know has ever taken coke.....

While i think this is an exaggeration I am faily mystified by the medias obsession with good looking D4 girls and wealthy playboys and their apparent coke habits. Im from a working class area and it would be tough to name too many people who have`nt taken coke (the vast majority of those who have taken it would be very occasional users, or have barely ever used, but I really have to laugh at surveys along the lines of "3% of 15-34 year olds have used cocaine"). Id reckon mosr D4 types (well, most men anyway) have tried it but the epidemic is in the working class areas. I doubt most people in Foxrock would have a clue where to get the stuff.

Which is all good, its rubbish mind destroying sh1te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Speaking of which the topic is about, in relation to double murder news this weekend, would anyone now consider Walkinstown a place to live at maybe 450k pop for a house?

With the Finglas analogy with was it Templeogue(?) earlier in the thread where someone mentioned murder as a detraction as where to live, Walkinstown would be in the same boat according that logic.

I would live in Walkinstown, as i know a bit of the area(northsider view).

Considering Templeogue is within spitting distance of the Greenhills road and reports that a prominent drug dealer(according to meejia who quote Garda sources as one line of investigation) could be involved in those murders, one could conclude that Templeogue is a no-no area to live in!

I would live in Templeogue too :D

Point being, where these gangland murders take place do not reflect on what a place is like to live in in real life.

In downtown Los Angeles they are building condos that are extremely expensive, but you would not want to get caught out alone at night on the surrounding streets!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Ruen

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Id reckon mosr D4 types (well, most men anyway) have tried it but the epidemic is in the working class areas. I doubt most people in Foxrock would have a clue where to get the stuff.
    Well you'd be wrong Gopher the epidemic is spread across the board, people from anywhere can get Cocaine easily. With the prevalence of Cocaine now the drug problem in Ireland is no longer confined to certain urban areas, it's everywhere and if anyone says that people in Foxrock or any like area arent affected by it they're either lying or just stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

In downtown Los Angeles they are building condos that are extremely expensive, but you would not want to get caught out alone at night on the surrounding streets!:eek:

LA being a metaphor for Dubland?:p

gurramok wrote:
    Speaking of which the topic is about, in relation to double murder news this weekend, would anyone now consider Walkinstown a place to live at maybe 450k pop for a house?

With the Finglas analogy with was it Templeogue(?) earlier in the thread where someone mentioned murder as a detraction as where to live, Walkinstown would be in the same boat according that logic.

I would live in Walkinstown, as i know a bit of the area(northsider view).

Considering Templeogue is within spitting distance of the Greenhills road and reports that a prominent drug dealer(according to meejia who quote Garda sources as one line of investigation) could be involved in those murders, one could conclude that Templeogue is a no-no area to live in!

I would live in Templeogue too :D

Point being, where these gangland murders take place do not reflect on what a place is like to live in in real life.

The analogy was with Terenure! ;)

I think it's important to point out that age-old saying of "one double murder does not a crime ridden area make". It's more about a large volume of smaller things than one major incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭MySelf56

LA being a metaphor for Dubland?
    Hmmm... its not actually Metaphor apparently dubland prices almost equivalent to Beverly Hills, its on the radio other day. Just only difference between Beverly Hills you don’t find any woman wearing track suits in Tesco’s. :D:D:D

(Probably German ambassador is right, he is not joking) :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

MySelf56 wrote:
    Hmmm... its not actually Metaphor apparently dubland prices almost equivalent to Beverly Hills, its on the radio other day. Just only difference between Beverly Hills you don’t find any woman wearing track suits in Tesco’s. :D:D:D

(Probably German ambassador is right, he is not joking) :p

Good one!:p

What's the equivalent for the show Beverly Hills 90210 though?

Remember that lovely series The Class from a 15 years ago? Nice!:D