Rip off home prices in crime ridden areas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

This is ridiculous..... I've been searching for dublin crime stats but there's nothin available really. Had a look at CSO and Garda reports and they're not helpful at all. There was a site dublincrime.com or something, but it aint workin anymore.

There are far too many people in this thread who think they're James Connolly.

Unfortunately there is a lack of stats available, but you would have to have your head in the sand (or perhaps somewhere else) to think that Finglas or Ballymun or Tallaght have less anti-social behaviour and crime (incl. violent) than Terenure and Blackrock. Ask a Garda.

It may be the case that white collar criminals are more prone to live in affluent areas, but when it comes to buying a house (as is the topic of the thread), most people are concerned with bullets flying through their windows and their bags being stolen. Not money laundering.

By the way,
    The internet is a pretty good place to go digging up facts to support your argument

You forgot to add a footnote for that, please provide stats. Cheers :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

dublindude wrote:
    O-K. I'll explain slowly.

Stillorgan is a fairly wealthy area. It has two tiny council estates, with the majority of the houses in each estate being privatly owned for many years.

There is a small bit of crime such as bored teenagers robbing wine from Tesco, and a bit of spray painting here and there. There are two dodgy families in the area. They are well known by the police and in general are unseen.

In Finglas, there are tons of council houses. There are serious crimes commited there on a weekly basis (I read the newspaper.)

How is the difference between each area so difficult to grasp? This is not about being a snob but about being able to think properly and be able contrast and compare two items, such as two different parts of Dublin.

We just happen to be talking about crime, but we could be talking about anything.

Are you very young?

You really seem to have some strange hangup about council housing.

I live in Cabra and I drive through Finglas daily, I also know a lot of people form Finglas. I'm not sure what makes you think it's a "poor" area do you live there? have you walked or drove around the area? did you notice all the 07 cars? extensions? etc? what industry was/is currently booming?

have you noticed all the roofing/building contracting 07 vans in the gardens? I don't know any poor builders, ok they're not all driving around in the banks merc but does that make you poor? is your bank balance relative to your deceny?

Stilorgan has it's fair share of real HARDENED criminals belive me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

"Stilorgan has it's fair share of real HARDENED criminals belive me."

Please provide stats.

It's ok for the pro-finglas homies to make sweeping comments about:
    - areas that aren't Finglas.
    - people who live outside Finglas.

But the realists are asked to provide facts and figures to back up widly believed facts?

DaveMcG wrote:
    This is ridiculous..... I've been searching for dublin crime stats but there's nothin available really. Had a look at CSO and Garda reports and they're not helpful at all. There was a site dublincrime.com or something, but it aint workin anymore.

There are far too many people in this thread who think they're James Connolly.

Unfortunately there is a lack of stats available, but you would have to have your head in the sand (or perhaps somewhere else) to think that Finglas or Ballymun or Tallaght have less anti-social behaviour and crime (incl. violent) than Terenure and Blackrock. Ask a Garda.

It may be the case that white collar criminals are more prone to live in affluent areas, but when it comes to buying a house (as is the topic of the thread), most people are concerned with bullets flying through their windows and their bags being stolen. Not money laundering.

I think the problem is it can't be argued is it's apples and oranges

Rathfarnham / finglas might be a better comparrsion.

Tallaght is just TOO big to compare to anywhere.

the youngest person in terenure is probably about 85 and I think about 9 people live there in total ;)

SheroN wrote:
    "Stilorgan has it's fair share of real HARDENED criminals belive me."

Please provide stats.

It's ok for the pro-finglas homies to make sweeping comments about:
    - areas that aren't Finglas.
    - people who live outside Finglas.

But the realists are asked to provide facts and figures to back up widly believed facts?

I'm not pro finglas, I'm anti-retard.

Ironic. Have you read some of your arguments on this thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

ntlbell wrote:
    Are you very young?

There is no link between sprawling council estates and crime?

Get a grip :rolleyes:
    ntlbell wrote:
    I live in Cabra and I drive through Finglas daily, I also know a lot of people form Finglas. I'm not sure what makes you think it's a "poor" area do you live there? have you walked or drove around the area? did you notice all the 07 cars? extensions? etc? what industry was/is currently booming?

Yes, I've been there loads of times. As stated, in comparison to Terenure, it would be consider a dodgy area with more crime. I am not saying everyone who lives there is horrible, but compared to large parts of Dublin, Finglas would not be consider a "nice area".
    ntlbell wrote:
    Stilorgan has it's fair share of real HARDENED criminals belive me.

I grew up there. I can name the criminals*. Yes they are hard, but there is less than 5 of them.

How many criminals live in Finglas?

Seriously, this is just stupid now.

* By "criminals" I don't mean people who have broken the speed limit or take cocaine every now and then. I mean people who commit serious crimes such as robbing banks.

dublindude wrote:

There is no link between sprawling council estates and crime?

Get a grip :rolleyes:

Yes, I've been there loads of times. As stated, in comparison to Terenure, it would be consider a dodgy area with more crime. I am not saying everyone who lives there is horrible, but compared to large parts of Dublin, Finglas would not be consider a "nice area".

I grew up there. I can name the criminals. Yes they are hard, but there is less than 5 of them.

How many criminals live in Finglas?

Seriously, this is just stupid now.

your right claiming you know for a FACT there's only two criminals in the WHOLE of stilorgan and are known to guarda is just plain stupidity.

SheroN wrote:
    Ironic. Have you read some of your arguments on this thread?

I've read your facinating insight.

Finglas is a kip.

"Finglas is a kip."

I never called it a kip. I just thought it was laughable people were looking for stats and figures to back up that it has a higher crime rate than Terneure.

Now, I must jump in my 07 bmw and head off to my mansion in the burbs. Untill tomorrow.

PS: enjoy the slums :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

ntlbell wrote:
    Are you very young?

have you noticed all the roofing/building contracting 07 vans in the gardens? I don't know any poor builders, ok they're not all driving around in the banks merc but does that make you poor? is your bank balance relative to your deceny?

lol. Bad example mate. builders are the biggest crooks of them all.
    and anyway the 07 cars are probably all bought on the nevernever and will be repossessed when the housing market slows properly and these clowns are up shit creek.

ferdi wrote:
    lol. Bad example mate. builders are the biggest crooks of them all.
    and anyway the 07 cars are probably all bought on the nevernever and will be repossessed when the housing market slows properly and these clowns are up shit creek.

they don't rob banks tho generally...and the fact they hide most of there tax under the bed also doesn't count and they can take drugs and rob bottles of wine from tesco they're not crimes! :D

SheroN wrote:
    "

I never called it a kip. I just thought it was laughable people were looking for stats and figures to back up that it has a higher crime rate than Terneure.

I think there was a bit of piddle taken there BUD it is after hours!

I'll get my belt and get back to what i do best...in the slums..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭jimmychin

found this on tripadvisor for anyone wishing to visit this crime ridden city...
    Walking arount the city centre is generally OK but can be unpleasant after midnight as drunks spill out of the city’s many bars and clubs, especially around the Temple Bar area and Dame Street. Popular perception is that the southside is safer than the northside but statistics do not appear to back this up. Some bus services to the rougher suburbs suffer from loutish and drunken behaviour though visitors are unlikely to need to travel to these locations. In summary, after midnight you might want to consider taking a taxi if you are unsure about your route, but at other times you should not encounter problems.

OK, you win.

Most criminals live in wealthy areas like Blackrock and Foxrock. It has been proven by Boards.ie that coming from an area with more poverty (and the other problems that brings, such as less education) actually causes crime and criminals to be even fewer.

Finglas is a lovely area full of rich, friendly, chatty people, and all the crimes (if you can find any) are committed by middle class students, travelling by BMW from Terenure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

ntlbell wrote:
    I've read your facinating insight.

Finglas is a kip.

It dont matter whether you think it is or not,i made 170 k equity in my house in four yeras and there are apartments going in finglas for 500k.

jimmychin wrote:
    found this on tripadvisor for anyone wishing to visit this crime ridden city...

Thats amazing.Completely unique to Dublin.I've been to Paris,Rome,London,Manchester,Liverpool,Belfast and **** knows where else and i can say with my hand on my heart that Dublin is the only city i've ever seen suffering from "loutish" behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

dublindude wrote:
    OK, you win.

Most criminals live in wealthy areas like Blackrock and Foxrock. It has been proven by Boards.ie that coming from an area with more poverty (and the other problems that brings, such as less education) actually causes crime and criminals to be even fewer.

Finglas is a lovely area full of rich, friendly, chatty people, and all the crimes (if you can find any) are committed by middle class students, travelling by BMW from Terenure.
    made me laugh:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,043 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

dublindude wrote:
    Come on... this is just really silly now.

Have you ever been in Mountjoy? I used to visit someone I know who was imprisoned there. From the visiting rooms it was overwhelmingly clear the vast majority (in fact, it seemed to be all) of the people imprisoned there are not from middle class areas.

Because if they were they or thier parents would pay the fines and get a good solitor so that thier precious darling would not have to do any time in prison.

Oh and 'petty crime' done by bored teenages IS antisocial behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Thaedydal wrote:
    Because if they were they or thier parents would pay the fines and get a good solitor so that thier precious darling would not have to do any time in prison.

Certainly not because there's any relation between poverty and crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭jimmychin

here's some stats from 2002 report if anyones actually still interested...

http://www.garda.ie/angarda/statistics/report2002/stats2002.pdf

offences per 1,000 of population 2002

DUBLIN MET. REGION 50,770
    Eastern 5,961
    North Central 10,806
    Northern 6,542
    South Central 11,734
    Southern 7,488
    Western 8,239

not much difference between north, south east west no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

dublindude wrote:
    O-K. I'll explain slowly.
    Spanner! You can't explain slowly, it's the internet. I read every post at the same speed.
    Stillorgan is a fairly wealthy area....
    In Finglas, there are tons of council houses. There are serious crimes commited there on a weekly basis (I read the newspaper.)
    Have you bothered to compare the populations of both your estates, because I'm assuming you have and they're roughly the same. Eitherways I couldn't give a flying fu(k about Finglas - my beef is with the anti-ossory road (unthooks.
    This is not about being a snob but about being able to think properly
    ...perhaps not, but you are a snob though.

Snobby-snob-snob.

Zulu wrote:
    Spanner! You can't explain slowly, it's the internet. I read every post at the same speed.

You still read it slowly though, right?

Thaedydal wrote:

Oh and 'petty crime' done by bored teenages IS antisocial behaviour.

Good point.Look at celebrity nonce Tim Allen..he should'be been locked up but he paid 50 grand to some charity and walked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

jimmychin wrote:
    here's some stats from 2002 report if anyones actually still interested...

http://www.garda.ie/angarda/statistics/report2002/stats2002.pdf

offences per 1,000 of population 2002

DUBLIN MET. REGION 50,770
    Eastern 5,961
    North Central 10,806
    Northern 6,542
    South Central 11,734
    Southern 7,488
    Western 8,239

not much difference between north, south east west no?
    South Central is a fu(kin kip. Full of skobies and nackers, man they need to build a wall around D2 and D4 - they're full of scummy knackers that ride their sisters and rape there mothers. In fact I heard that 1 in every 3 girls in Ballsbridge will have been raped by their own father/brother by the time they have their confirmation, and will go onto take coke and steal cars. FACT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

This is without doubt the most retarded argument i have even seen on the internet..

Awsome! :)

Orange69 wrote:
    This is without doubt the most retarded argument i have even seen on the internet..

Are you trying to say people on the internet argue more than people in the real world? How dare you. People in the real world argue way more often than people on the internet. In fact, the only time I have ever seen anyone argue on the internet is because they were from the real world.

Being on the internet has nothing to do with arguing. You will need to back up your point with statistics.

HEAD EXPLODES

* to nesf: I'm not being serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

dublindude wrote:
    Being on the internet has nothing to do with arguing. You will need to back up your point with statistics.

Welcome to AH, people post idiotic inane arguments all the time. The Politics forum requires people to back up their points, this forum doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Nermal

Degsy wrote:
    No,the clever dealers live in big houses in the 'burbs or mansions in the middle of nowhere.John Gilligan didnt live in Finglas,nor did The Dunne family or Martin Cahill.If kids are setting fire to bins in your area then there is some crime,sure..but if a major heroin importer lives two doors up from you and uses his house as a base then you live in an area with a *serious* crime problem.

We're not elitist. If the nouveau riche skobes have the sheets to move in next to me that's fine, they're not about to key the Z4 in the middle of the night. So long as they keep their goons in focking Finglas I'm all for diversity.

Degsy wrote:
    It dont matter whether you think it is or not,i made 170 k equity in my house in four yeras and there are apartments going in finglas for 500k.

ok but try and follow the thread....