How far would You go with a Good Deed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

I was at a gig in London a few years ago & this couple who'd been chatting to me up the front all night, asked me for their bus/train fare home. Didn't have much money, but gave it to them. They asked me for my address so they could post it back me. Told them not to bother & thought I'd never see the money again, but a month or so later, £5 arrived in a letter..
    Found a wallet a few years ago with £150 in it & visa cards and arranged to meet the guy in town the next day to give it back. He was amazed that the money was still in it.
    It feels good to do a good deed..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

red_ice wrote:
    he stole the purse and took 50 out of it to give back to her so he wouldnt feel to guilty!

Boo urns, that was what i wanted to say.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

It's so true isn't it,

A GOOD DEED NEVER GOES UNPUNISHED

I sometimes I wonder why I bother :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Helped an American chap that got mugged after drinking one night and has his wallet and passport taken I was on my way back from the train station and he stopped me and asked me for directions to the American Embassy, I gave him about 4.50 in change and told him which direction to go to get a bus there. He shook my hand twice and thanked me over and over, he mentioned a son he had being the same age as me, he asked my age and i told him I was 17 and he was shocked ! Just before he walked away he said "Everytime I think of Ireland, I'll remember your face" As cheesy as it sounded it felt great to hear someone say that to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 T-Boner

Wacker wrote:
    I found a lad passed out on gear (I think; there were little balloons beside him, which I believe heroin is kept in) on my road at 5am once. I waited with him for an ambulance and checked up to see that he lived. Thats about as good as I get, other than donating blood every three months on the day, and I'm on the waiting list to donate bone marrow.

Sorry but I wouldn't give a junkie a second of my time. Lower than a dying rat in the gutter IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

T-Boner wrote:
    Sorry but I wouldn't give a junkie a second of my time. Lower than a dying rat in the gutter IMO.

It doesnt help that some people are born or forced into the gutter and it isnt their fault mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,168 ✭✭✭✭L1011

MikeHoncho wrote:
    It always gives me a nice little tingle to help someone out. The one thing I wont do though is step in on fights. Its just not worth it. Poor fella who got killed out in Sandymount a month or so ago. He tried to break up a fight and look what happened to him. Im all for helping out old ladies and blind people but no go to jumping in on fights.

I'd agree with fights, I'll generally get a vaguely safe distance away and phone the cops and only try to intervene if its obvious they aren't going to get there any time soon... with the Maynooth station at the end of the main street, its only been needed once.

Not allowed give blood, do give to charity, but haven't ever perceived a situation where a random "good deed" was really needed - maybe I'm not paying much attention.

I've called in a few fires on public spaces though, ones that I've seen people walking right past and have been told they were unreported; one of which actually damaged a house by the time it was put out - not sure what could have happened had I walked by too. That and gas leaks, nobody else ever bothers phoning them in it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭Recon

Pyr0 wrote:
    Helped an American chap that got mugged after drinking one night and has his wallet and passport taken I was on my way back from the train station and he stopped me and asked me for directions to the American Embassy, I gave him about 4.50 in change and told him which direction to go to get a bus there. He shook my hand twice and thanked me over and over, he mentioned a son he had being the same age as me, he asked my age and i told him I was 17 and he was shocked ! Just before he walked away he said "Everytime I think of Ireland, I'll remember your face" As cheesy as it sounded it felt great to hear someone say that to you.

Sorry about that, looks like I owe you €4.50...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Hagar wrote:
    I threw him out because he abused my good nature. He bragged that he did this all the time. A serial deceiver preying on the decency of others. He was a liar and proud of it. Do you really want to defend his actions?

Oh come on! He was a guy who needed a lift, you were willing to offer one. If he doesn't actually have a car then he's clearly just a drifter so he can be screwed, right? But if he did have a car then it means he's a normal person like you who needs a hand. Its not like he broke into your house or slept with your wife or anything. I think it was very petty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

eoin5 wrote:
    It doesnt help that some people are born or forced into the gutter and it isnt their fault mate.

Actually I'd agree with TBoner.

Fcuking junkie scum. I wouldn't do anything to help one either.

They made they're own choices, fvck 'em, let 'em O.D. and die for all I care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Hagar wrote:
    I stopped one day to give a lift to a guy walking along carrying a petrol can as we chatted going along in the car he admitted he hadn't run out of petrol, he didn't even own a car. He said driver's always stop for someone with a petrol can. Thought he was a very clever lad. I stopped and put him out miles from anywhere.

Well done. Years ago my dad picked a lad up on the side of the road, he asked him had he been walking far and the guy replied "I don't bother walking, my thumb does my walking for me", so he pulled over and let him out. Too smart for his own good, so my dad picked up the next fella looking for a lift while actually making an effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭kev_s88

"bears are no longer my friends"

i hope i get killed by a bear!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

T-Boner wrote:
    It's not like I prepared the needle for him or anything. I'm not even sure it was heroin that he was on; I'm no expert on drug culture. But that is beside the point. When your fellow man is lying on the ground and in a bad state, you set aside your opinions and you help him. To do otherwise is inexcusable.

Imagine this scenario: a guy (henceforth to be called Mr. A) who does not drink encounters a bloke on the side of the road who is passed out drunk (Mr. B). Mr B is unable to move, and has vomited all over the place, and lying with his face in it. There is an entirely decent possibility that he is about to drown on it. Could the fact that Mr A is against drinking possibly excuse him if he were not to assist Mr B? I certainly don't think so.

I don’t know if you were ever in a situation like mine, but if you weren’t, I’d imagine you would have done the same as me anyway. If you would not have done so, please spare me your opinions; they are of no use to me as I won't have my actions judged by someone that superior..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Wacker wrote:
    It's not like I prepared the needle for him or anything. I'm not even sure it was heroin that he was on; I'm no expert on drug culture. But that is beside the point. When your fellow man is lying on the ground and in a bad state, you set aside your opinions and you help him. To do otherwise is inexcusable.

Imagine this scenario: a guy (henceforth to be called Mr. A) who does not drink encounters a bloke on the side of the road who is passed out drunk (Mr. B). Mr B is unable to move, and has vomited all over the place, and lying with his face in it. There is an entirely decent possibility that he is about to drown on it. Could the fact that Mr A is against drinking possibly excuse him if he were not to assist Mr B? I certainly don't think so.

I don’t know if you were ever in a situation like mine, but if you weren’t, I’d imagine you would have done the same as me anyway. If you would not have done so, please spare me your opinions; they are of no use to me as I won't have my actions judged by someone that superior..

Em, yeah. Drinking is a socially accepted idea and not everyone that drinks will knife you. Where as someone in a such a state on the ground will likely rob your ass if they come around.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Mairt wrote:

i disagree. while its easy to walk away from the less likeably characters in the streets, its unfair to assume once a scummer always a scummer. We are all capable of reform. You know nothing about the individual, you are making a broad generalisation. The individual could lead a good life bar a crippling drug problem. Where the individual to die, he could orphan an innocent child or widow his wife.

faceman wrote:
    i disagree. while its easy to walk away from the less likeably characters in the streets, its unfair to assume once a scummer always a scummer. We are all capable of reform. You know nothing about the individual, you are making a broad generalisation. The individual could lead a good life bar a crippling drug problem. Where the individual to die, he could orphan an innocent child or widow his wife.

Not something for me to worry myself over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

This czech woman in her fifties came up to me and said she was looking for her a particular house. Turns out she was in the wrong area entirely because the road names are similar. She was about a half hour walk from the place and there were no buses going near it.

i only lived around the corner so i popped home, got the car and gave her a lift. Nice lady

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Mairt wrote:
    Not something for me to worry myself over.

as with any good deed situation, its completely your choice. How you act in those situations says something about you. You're not alone, millions would do the same as you suggested. Doesnt mean its ok or less moral tho.

how we treat our fellow human beings is what defines us as people imo.

(im off now to throw stones at the skanger kids hanging around outside my office! ;))

faceman wrote:
    as with any good deed situation, its completely your choice. How you act in those situations says something about you. You're not alone, millions would do the same as you suggested. Doesnt mean its ok or less moral tho.

how we treat our fellow human beings is what defines us as people imo.

(im off now to throw stones at the skanger kids hanging around outside my office! ;))

I know where your coming from, and I'm not saying your wrong either.

But I lived in Balcurris Rd (flats) in Ballymun for twenty years, my family still live in Ballymun. I've had some really good mates who turned to the needle, and have had some die. I've also had a nephew die too.

So I'm not ignorant to the whole thing. But I have absolutely zero tolerance to junkies and honestly I'd walk past a dying junkie on the street.

In an earlier post in this thread I posted a link to a heart attack victim who I gave CPR to. Had he been a junkie I'd have walked on by.

Mairt wrote:
    I know where your coming from, and I'm not saying your wrong either.

But I lived in Balcurris Rd (flats) in Ballymun for twenty years, my family still live in Ballymun. I've had some really good mates who turned to the needle, and have had some die. I've also had a nephew die too.

So I'm not ignorant to the whole thing. But I have absolutely zero tolerance to junkies and honestly I'd walk past a dying junkie on the street.

In an earlier post in this thread I posted a link to a heart attack victim who I gave CPR to. Had he been a junkie I'd have walked on by.

you dont need to justify yourself my good man, im certainly not judging you (im far from perfect myself!)

knowing people in the medical professions and knowing people who have been junkies in the past, i get to see and hear the good and bad tales. Ive know one junkie in particular who turned back from the darkside and now works with other people with addiction problems. would people have stepped over her many years ago when she lying in the gutter, probably yes. However look at how her life turned out and how now, she is helping others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

Mairt wrote:

Well, when you and TBoner are in that state, we shall leave you there and ignore you!

What happens if this guy actually sees the light of Day and sorted himself out after hitting his new low?

Everybody have a reason for making bad choices or things go horribly wrong taking that downward spiral in life, whenever it is their choice or not. Everybody needs help in some stage in their lifes.
    If that was you looking to drugs or alcohol because you could not bear life or lacking that drive or lacking self confidence within you and others ignore you at your worst. Would you (While in your right mind) want people to ignore, leaving you to dye alone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

maple wrote:
    Only about 8pm in the evening and everyone just walked past including a bunch of lads? I'm female and I still stepped in.

Because you female you can get away with it and it is self defense. A fella steps in no matter the situation, then it is always the fella fault and he gets done in court for assault and battery. It was done to a fella in my home town in similar situation.

If these women are vicious enough to beat anyone at random or in this case, an easy target, they are capable of getting you convicted in Court, because no one else wants to get involved. It is best to take a photo and pass it on anonymously to the Gardai, with as much details as possible, who, where and when.

I learnt along time ago, to never gets in between or stop b**** from fighting. They are absolutely vicious temper. Hit, push or anything physical to women/girls and you will be known as a female abuser and get continously done for it.
    They (Vicious) Women are far worst than any male thugs beating the pulp from you. That is why you will never see many males (Even the toughest) stepping in, when women are fighting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

Two American womaen there about mid 50's came up to me on Grafton st. there and asked for the directions to Pamela Scott...sent them in the wrong direction for the laugh...ah bless! Good times...I actually hadn't a clue where it was but ya know maybe I should have actually said "i don't know"!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I love how people think they have to do something physical for someone or else they're not helping. For petes sake, there are so many people out there for whom a smile, just the acknowledgement that they exist, makes a huge difference.

People walk around with dead faces unless they're with friends. You smile at a stranger, and the majority of them will think you're a complete freak! Yet I'll never forget a particular Saturday in Dublin city centre. I'd been working on Talbot St. in the morning, and we finished around 1.30/2 pm. I headed over to Henry St. for some retail therapy. Walking at the base of Bertie's pr!ck I slipped on the metal rings around the base and landed on my arse, mortified. Every time I tried to get up, I slipped again, until I was puce with embarrassment. Finally, two passing Italian students helped me up and I was never more grateful in my life. Plenty of people had just blindly wandered past me, and I was livid, as I obviously needed help and nobody wanted to give it until those teenagers passed by.

I thanked them, and headed off to Boots. I was absolutely fuming and felt like a complete tit. Boots on Henry St. is tiny, and there's very little room for people to pass eachother out on the aisles. As I was heading down one of the aisles, a few other people were coming up in the opposite direction, so I stood in the corner to let them pass. I automatically smiled at them, despite feeling slightly homocidal. They completely ignored me, didn't even smile back or mumble a thanks (manners?) and I got a wee bit thicker. I headed off to get what I was looking for. A short while later, I felt a tap on my shoulder. I was pretty much in the mood to bite the head off anyone who looked at me crooked, but I was really surprised when I turned around to see the old guy who had been one of the people I'd let pass by me a few minutes earlier there. He'd come back to thank me for smiling at him. He said it'd been over a year since anyone had smiled at him and he wondered if people even saw him anymore. Now maybe I'm a bit backwards, I don't always understand the urban way of dealing with things, but I still think that for something like that to happen is disgraceful. He felt so alone that he actually thanked me for smiling at him. I was gobsmacked, hadn't a clue what to say to him. I still wouldn't know what to say if the situation arose again.

So even if you're not willing to help someone up if they fall or do CPR on a dying person, a smile makes a difference. It costs nothing, it doesn't even take up any extra time, but it sure as hell makes a difference. Regardless of who or what anyone is, they still deserve acknowledgement as a human being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Have to say I agree with blush..It really makes such a huge difference if you smile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

The smiling thing doesn't work so great if you're a guy!

The best I can offer is once walking into college an old couple were having trouble changing a tire so I offered to help. I also learned that the nuts on car tires can be very very tight and that whole keeping your back straight isn't a myth.

limklad wrote:
    Well, when you and TBoner are in that state, we shall leave you there and ignore you!

What happens if this guy actually sees the light of Day and sorted himself out after hitting his new low?

Everybody have a reason for making bad choices or things go horribly wrong taking that downward spiral in life, whenever it is their choice or not. Everybody needs help in some stage in their lifes.
    If that was you looking to drugs or alcohol because you could not bear life or lacking that drive or lacking self confidence within you and others ignore you at your worst. Would you (While in your right mind) want people to ignore, leaving you to dye alone?

Oh cry me a bleed'n river :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

bronte wrote:
    Have to say I agree with blush..It really makes such a huge difference if you smile.

Bloody Barney generation, if I ever see another false smile it'll be too soon.

eoin5 wrote:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

eoin5 wrote:
    Who says these smiles are false? Nothing wrong withpassing on some good will to your fellow man.

Blush, if you ever go out of your way to smile at me, count on my stopping you for a high-five!