How far would You go with a Good Deed?

• 02-10-2007 11:25AM
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Was listening to the radio yesterday and a woman wrote in today say that on friday gone, her purse was stolen from her handbag on a packed luas. When she discovered her bag was open, she saw her purse, all her idea and cards were gone. She was en route to heuston to get a train to galway. she got a wee bit upset on the luas and got off. she seemingly had no one to call to give her a lift home to galway or help her out.

Anyway she decided to go to irish rail ticket office to explain her situation in the hope of getting a ticket which she would pay for when she got some cash. While queuing and still upset, a man approached her and asked if she was the upset girl on the luas. He gave her €50 and said make sure you get home safe and walked off. She asked him for contact details etc but he had none of it and kept walking. He was dressed in business attire.

Granted yer man was probably loaded but doing what he did was quite honourable in my opinion. Have any of you ever gone that extra mile?

It's always a great idea doing good deeds. There's something about it, that makes you feel fantastic. Especially when there's nothing in return.

I've often found myself late for work/other things helping other people out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I'm a fan of the old random acts of kindness. They are a good way to feel good about things and make yourself feel better and a great way to improve what might be a bad day for a stranger.

One Saturday night in town a few weeks ago I was waiting for a taxi on Camden street. 3 girls on the far side of the road and one of them was very upset over something. None of them seemed to be very drunk but this poor lass was pretty inconsolable. I got the impression from overheard conversation that there was likely a death in the family. Anyway, we had all been waiting for cabs for a while, I was there abot 35 mins, they were there about 20. I eventually got a taxi and called the girls over and told them to take it. They couldn't believe it and I got myself 2 nice hugs for my kindness. For me a hug can pay for just about anything. What kind of hacked me off was a group of lads standing beside them who got a cab and had just gone on home.

What ever happned to being a gentleman?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

I heard that on the radio yesterday, made me cry. Random acts of kindness are great! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I wouldn't go that far. I would take the 50 quid though. Even if I'd to dress up a a little girl :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,825 ✭✭✭Archeron

When I left a pub in Wexford town a couple of years ago, I was walking towards that big long bridge that they have, when I seen a dude hovering ominously in a dark bit near the bridge, and right beside the drop into the sea. Me and my two mates went over to see if everything was okay, and the poor dude was in tears and said he was gonna jump in and end it all because his girlfriend has just dumped him in front of all his mates. (he was really pissed).
    We all sat down and had a good long old chat with him about how nothing is worth jumping into the sea for, and so on and so forth, and after about half an hour, he got up, walked over to the main road and got into a taxi. He seemed a lot cheerier too, and seemed to just need to get that off his chest.

He probably wouldnt have jumped either way, but I felt better knowing we might have prevented a young drunk dude doing something silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

connundrum wrote:
    I wouldn't go that far. I would take the 50 quid though. Even if I'd to dress up a a little girl :o
    You charged me 100 for that:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Well this one isn't for me.. REad this thread;

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055080021&referrerid=&highlight=cpr

(I had to ask a Mod to close it because of people acting the fvck in it).

Anyway, re. the woman I mentioned in the thread. While other's looked on, and one chap wouldn't move my army car for me ("none of my business mate") this girl came over and gave me a dig out.

I had hoped to trace her through boards, but couldn't at the time. I'd still love to trace her to tell her that her good deed saved a life, I've met the chap and told him another lady helped me also. I've also got a thank you card from him and his family which I'd like that girl to share in too.

That was one kind deed which the person doesn't realise just how much she touched another's life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

faceman wrote:
    Was listening to the radio yesterday and a woman wrote in today say that on friday gone, her purse was stolen from her handbag on a packed luas. When she discovered her bag was open, she saw her purse, all her idea and cards were gone. She was en route to heuston to get a train to galway. she got a wee bit upset on the luas and got off. she seemingly had no one to call to give her a lift home to galway or help her out.

Anyway she decided to go to irish rail ticket office to explain her situation in the hope of getting a ticket which she would pay for when she got some cash. While queuing and still upset, a man approached her and asked if she was the upset girl on the luas. He gave her €50 and said make sure you get home safe and walked off. She asked him for contact details etc but he had none of it and kept walking. He was dressed in business attire.

Granted yer man was probably loaded but doing what he did was quite honourable in my opinion. Have any of you ever gone that extra mile?
    It is becoming a harsh and lonely world out there, as she discovered when other ignored her and went off with their buisness, while he felt sorry for her, and then step up.
    He may even be hard bosses to work or a pain in the arse, or does not want to stick their head above water, for or whatever the reason he does not want to be known. He saw a suituation easy to fix and did not want to benefit from it. Far play to him.
    A "Thank You" is more than enough for them.
    May they be many more people like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Its all about how your raised. My parents instilled the idea that everyone is a bastard but if they are in need you help them. End of. How hard is it to russle up some cash so a girl can get home? Fair play limklad, your a good man.

One thing I've always done, 'cos me Da always did it when we were kids (so I just presumed it was the norm), is give blind people a hand across the road/onto the bus/etc. 'Twas only when I was about 15 and i did it in front of my (ex-)mates, and got a roasting from them for being a "boy scout" that I realised a lot of people just don't want anything to do with blind people. For some odd reason, it just seems like people are afraid or something. I've crossed roads (out of my way) before and even once got out of a car to help a blind person.

I probably posted it here somewhere, but I stopped to help a man who wasn't totally blind, just very bad eye-sight, cross the road there about 5-6 months ago. It was a very dangerous/busy road and had to wait a few moments before crossing. As we were waiting and chatting, it transpired that he'd been there for nearly 15 minutes :mad: . He'd even asked a couple of people for aid, and they'd just breezed past him w/out a word.

It's weird, but I just see it as common as say giving up a seat on a bus or holding a door for someone or helping someone with a buggy up a flight of stairs. Just see it as a normal, everyday thing to do. I've come close to losing it before, just watching people ignore someone who might just need a bit of a hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I stopped one day to give a lift to a guy walking along carrying a petrol can as we chatted going along in the car he admitted he hadn't run out of petrol, he didn't even own a car. He said driver's always stop for someone with a petrol can. Thought he was a very clever lad. I stopped and put him out miles from anywhere.

Another day I saw a guy with a can and gave him a lift to a petrol station about 5 miles up the road. He was surprized when I waited and gave him a lift back to his car. No point half doing something I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

Its all about how your raised. My parents instilled the idea that everyone is a bastard but if they are in need you help them. End of. How hard is it to russle up some cash so a girl can get home? Fair play limklad, your a good man.
    I did not do it :eek: . I have an alibi!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

It's weird, but I just see it as common as say giving up a seat on a bus

Only if they were really damn old or sick or something. I hate standing on buses :)
    or holding a door for someone

I just don't get people who don't do this!
    or helping someone with a buggy up a flight of stairs.

Every time I have ever done this I've been practically ignored, given no thanks whatsoever. Grr.
    Hagar wrote:
    I stopped one day to give a lift to a guy walking along carrying a petrol can as we chatted going along in the car he admitted he hadn't run out of petrol, he didn't even own a car. He said driver's always stop for someone with a petrol can. Thought he was a very clever lad. I stopped and put him out miles from anywhere.

I'm sorry...you threw him out of the car when it turned out he didn't actually own a car? That was a bit childish. I moderate my tone cos we're on boards...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

A few years ago my ex-bf was so srunk on a night out that he couldn't remember his ATM. This older man (in his late fifties, I'd guess) asked him to stand aside, took out some money and handed my ex-bf €50. How generous is that? Giving someone money just so they can go drinking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

One Sunday last summer, I was on my way to work and was approached by this really camp dude. He seemed to be in a very distressed state and was pulling a suitcase. He told me that he'd just got off the ferry and was mugged in Dun Laoghaire and needed some money to get the bus home to Mullingar. I gave him a tenner and went on my way.

The next day I was walking along the same street and I saw the guy trying to cadge money off some people. Obviously he was telling them the same spiel as he was still pulling the suitcase. He spotted me, greeted me with "Howya" and scarpered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Mairt wrote:
    I've also got a thank you card from him and his family which I'd like that girl to share in too.

Is that the card in your sig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

It's always a great idea doing good deeds. There's something about it, that makes you feel fantastic. Especially when there's nothing in return.

There's a contradiction.

watna wrote:
    A few years ago my ex-bf was so srunk on a night out that he couldn't remember his ATM. This older man (in his late fifties, I'd guess) asked him to stand aside, took out some money and handed my ex-bf €50. How generous is that? Giving someone money just so they can go drinking!

We call that robbery around here.

When some drunken lout intimidates a gent into giving him €50e to fúck off and stop bothering him. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

The-Rigger wrote:
    There's a contradiction.

God not this cynicism again :rolleyes: Get nothing as in no money. Feeling good about doing something good is well good! I hate this notion that feeling fantastic about doing a good deed somehow negates your good work.

vorbis wrote:
    God not this cynicism again :rolleyes: Get nothing as in no money. Feeling good about doing something good is well good! I hate this notion that feeling fantastic about doing a good deed somehow negates your good work.

I didn't say there was anything wrong or unhealthy with the trade, I feel the opposite.

But just because he didn't get money, goods or services, doesn't mean he didn't 'get anything from it'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭david1two3

You either help or you dont, I do it all the time. Muggers, thieves, rapists ,the lot .I dont get much thanks at times ,other times you know they will never forget you.

In August 84 a guy gave me a lift ouside Plymouth to the M4 services, I was trying to get to London. He was in an old Citroen Dyane and had a woman with him. He gave me 2 quid and I said only if he gave me his address .Of course I lost the address and have been helping out ever since. It was instilled in me as a child and is now second nature, no, first nature. I have done so much for so many and it rarely crossed my mind not to and in those situations it was the danger that stalled me.The one time I did nothing I was on my way home from a race and was so tired and the level of aggro so great and in such numbers that I just kept going.

In 2000 or so I took on a gang of petty criminals who had just assaulted the old guy who used to be security on the back gate of Trinity. A 12 year old girl had whacked him over the head with a bag as she and ten others passed him. I was wearing two rucksacks and ran up beside him and said do you want her arrested. He said yes so I grabbed her. Instant mayhem as they all attacked me only to be joined by two of their mothers. At first I had her by the wrist and in the end it was the ankle.They beat my bags to bits but never even touched me. It was on Westmoreland st and at least two of the giants that do security in the tourist shops near the bridge came out and defended me, both of them were from elswhere in Europe(actually Im not sure of that or even the year). One of the mothers said to a ten yrear old to go and get a bottle, he arrived back with a small lucozade plastic one. Of course this had me in hysterics and I laughed and ridiculed him for all he was worth, the poor lad has never lived it down.It went on for ten minutes before the law turned up even though the station was forty seconds away. Not one member of the public intervened and the place was choca. She was taken away by the law who said she would be out in half an hour. I would do it again and so should everyone else, crime would cease instantly. I have been knifed, forked and spooned and that wont stop me.

My brothers reaction in Skerries that evening when I got off the train was " what did you do that for".The old man was 77,it was 2000 as he was the same age as my da and he was assaulted in broad daylight for no other reason than his job which made him the enemy. The contemptous attitude to those who help out is of no real use to any one and only goes to point out the cowards need to ridicule bravery in the hope that no one will notice how lacking they are. I am 6 foot three and up to 15 stone and can handle myself so Im not saying everyone should do this but if we all say our piece the odds change dramatically.It is now reminding me of the wildebeast crossing that great river in africa ,theres so many of us the crocodile wont pick on me.

Like I say I have done this many times and will for the next episode pat myself on the back.

In 1971 I was coming or going as the case may have been thriogh the dump in Cornelscourt down to the lane to South Park .What I found astounded me ,it was a traveller man in the 50 years or so and his whole face was wide open from a bottle.I went straight to him as he was not well. I took him by the hand and led him to his horse wagon and put him lying down in his bed, then I went and got the ambulance. Im not sure if the police came or not . I never batted an eyelid as I had a job to do and couldnt get sidetracked. I went back down to him and showed the men where he was and they took him offf in the deedaw. I have no idea what happened after that and although I dont remember properly I dont think anyone one at home believed me. All I wanted to do was help and this very drunk man was the ideal candidate, he couldnt escape my clutches, blood and flesh every where and I hardly noticed although I did wonder how it could be fixed. I was 8 years old and if I witnessed that today I would be on the march for a medal for the boy but it was to be three more years of waiting before I did, 2nd place in the long jump on the sports day in 1974. I find it quite easy now to blow my own trumpet today as that little boy was the saddest human being I have ever met in my life, yet he had no thought that day other than for this man who was in a worse state than him that day in history of which Im so proud.

I wonder how those who ridicule me and Mairt will feel when Im not around to save them, somehow I dont think we will be hearing from them after that.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

watna wrote:

that didnt happen in tallaght, thats for sure! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Zillah wrote:
    I'm sorry...you threw him out of the car when it turned out he didn't actually own a car? That was a bit childish. I moderate my tone cos we're on boards...
    I threw him out because he abused my good nature. He bragged that he did this all the time. A serial deceiver preying on the decency of others. He was a liar and proud of it. Do you really want to defend his actions?

Keep the personal remarks ie "childish" to yourself, they are neither warranted nor accurate. As for moderating your tone, don't do me any favours. Go ahead, say what you really think and make a total utter fool of yourself.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

I was in Centra yesterday and there was an old fella ahead of me at the till paying for his groceries, it came to almost €25 but the old chap only had €15 with him so he was having to take out things from the bag and have the guy behind the till remove it from his bill so he was saying "That's down to €23.50...€22.75...€21.15....etc". Anyways there was a builder behind me in the queue and he went up to the till and handed over €10 to make up the difference. I thought it was a nice thing to do, though it made me feel guilty that I didn't even think of doing the same though (even though I didn't have enough money).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

I saw a pregnant woman a few months ago pushing a buggy up a hill. It had just started raining so I pulled my cab over and gave her a lift home, no charge either.

I do this every now and again if I see someone stuck or in a situation.

TJ911...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

I always help blind or visually impaired people cross the road. There's a blind guy who I meet practically every morning on the road to work and it enrages me to see people tutting and side stepping him as the poor man tries to make his way across an extremely busy junction. It only takes two minutes to guide him and i'd hate to think of a member of my family in the same position as that guy and someone refusing to help him/her.

Once stepped into a fight on O'Connell Street to stop this girl getting a hammering from these four young female skangballs who'd just picked on her for no reason other than the fact that she was standing there with a rucksack on her back. Only about 8pm in the evening and everyone just walked past including a bunch of lads? I'm female and I still stepped in.

Always stop to help pregnant women or old people too. Its just the way I was raised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

I found a lad passed out on gear (I think; there were little balloons beside him, which I believe heroin is kept in) on my road at 5am once. I waited with him for an ambulance and checked up to see that he lived. Thats about as good as I get, other than donating blood every three months on the day, and I'm on the waiting list to donate bone marrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

It always gives me a nice little tingle to help someone out. The one thing I wont do though is step in on fights. Its just not worth it. Poor fella who got killed out in Sandymount a month or so ago. He tried to break up a fight and look what happened to him. Im all for helping out old ladies and blind people but no go to jumping in on fights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

faceman wrote:
    a man approached her and asked if she was the upset girl on the luas. He gave her €50 and said make sure you get home safe and walked off. She asked him for contact details etc but he had none of it and kept walking.

he stole the purse and took 50 out of it to give back to her so he wouldnt feel to guilty!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭starlight07

Hagar wrote:

LEGEND!:cool: