6 years ago today (11th) - Where were you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭missmatty

In college doing one of the big experiment days for my Masters (lots of work). We went for tea at 4pm and the department was deserted, everyone was in the pav watching the big screen.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

OMG its so weird reading that thread from 6 years ago....talk about bringing the confusion of the situation back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

Jasus, its been 6 years already... How time flys.. Anyway.. I was working in the stores setting up SAP. I remember it came on the radio on 2fm i think. And i thought it was some type of joke. Went into the canteen just as the second plane hit the second tower. Then spent the next few days glued to sky news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭ekevosu

Was working in boston. When I got an email from a friend about a plane hitting the wtc I thought they were talking about the wtc in boston as I knew people working there and thought they were messing. It soon dawned on me when people in the office got up from their desks and started talking about it. Everyone was sent home straight away. Spent the day at home with the housemates (all sent home) just watching the tv.

As someone eluded to earlier on, it was definetely our generations JFK.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Far too many of ye were in school.. bleedin' youngsters...

Anyways, I was gainfully unemployed at the time and switched to read teletext. Saw a report of a plane hitting one of the towers but no newscast interruption (as of yet). Switched to Sky News, which were alone in covering it at the time. The reporters in their helicopter were commenting that it was perhaps a small glider plane where the pilot had been blinded by the sun. A minute or two after they said that, the second plane hit and the reports were left sort of stumbling over their words, in obvious shock. I spent the rest of the day watching the news.

It did make an interesting conversational piece for an interview next day, although not enough to get me the job..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

I was at home that day, I think someone rang me and told me to put on the news. I turned it on before the second plane hit, so saw all that stuff as it unfolded.

Im tempted to use the words 'highly entertaining' to describe the day, but 'gripping' is probably a more respectful term...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

By the way, how is it that the thread about September 11th posted above, a day when thousands of innocent people died, possibly a turning point in global politics and the relationship between the West and the Middle East, has 7 pages of posts, whilst the Madeline McCann thread is up to 64 pages and still going strong :confused: .
    It was locked so there was either a second thread in AH or there was already a thread in News & Media so they moved over to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

Cycling back to work (HSE) from home and I was running late.
    I had a small radio and was listening to 2fm (i think).
    The news came on at two and there was nothing. But a few minutes later the DJ said that a plane had hit one of the towers. Assumed it was a small plane etc...
    Got to work and the lads in the Comp room said the internet had grinded to a halt. Went over to A&E where there was a TV and watched the drama unfold.

Surreal stuff! Never forget it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,143 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

I was unemployed at the time and my brother was out of work with a broken leg. Watching the second plane hit live was surreal.

It's the most news I've ever watched in a single day and probably ever will again.

TV3 cancelled all their programming for the day and, in my opinion, had better coverage than Sky.

Definitely our JFK moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

i think there are so few pages about it because:
    1)everyone was watchin on tv
    2)the internet crashed(nearly)
    3)less people using this site

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭curiousxxx1

I was at Heathrow airport on my way to Dublin, it was the first time arriving Ireland. The airport was suddenly packed with Policemen from Scotland Yard and Army men. Security tightened and flights were delayed for more than 4 hours.... Heathrow airport was at a standstill, apparently some pilots refused to fly for fear of carrying a terrorist. It was an experience i would never forget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

ixoy wrote:
    Far too many of ye were in school.. bleedin' youngsters...

yep :D

I was on an oil rig in the North Sea, employed as helicopter co-ordinator for an American oil company.

After the initial shock, much discussion about whether we should continue flying operations.
    A call from the states told us to carry on, but there were a few nervous flyers that day! No-one refused to fly with a couple of Arabic trainees who were due home that day, but they were closely watched!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Working in a webhosting company.

There was no work done that day. It's like thewhole world stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭goose06

Sitting in a mates room playing Tekkan Tag, and winning, one of our housemates came in saying that America was being attacked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

Came home from school to find my brother and his girlfriend watching the tv, she was in absolute hysterics and I didn't know what was going on so I went into another room where my mum was watching it and she told me what was happening.

The reason my (now) sister in law was so upset is that her cousin was in there, he worked on one of the floors high up (I think) but still below where the plane crashed. He says everyone was told to stay where they were but he said no chance and legged it for the stairs, ran out of there, never looked back, he got out on to the street kept running, then the tower collapsed behind him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I was at home watching tv when there was a news flash. It really didn't hit home until I saw the second plane hit. It was really freaky.

One of my friends was an air traffic controller in Dublin airport at the time. He said he was watching the plane disappear off his radar screen and suddenly they started coming back. They hadn't a clue what was going on as all these other planes were heading for Dublin too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Bendihorse

It was very surreal, i was in college in letterkenny but had finished for the day and went into the pub for a nice cool one on the way home...

Walked in to be greeted by errie silence and all eyes on the TV, i initially thought it was a movie or something after seeing the images but the barwoman told us that a plane had crashed in to the WTC - at that stage people thought it was an accident.

I sat down in amazement, ordered a pint bottle of bulmers, took a sip and watched as the second plane flew in. I got a sinking feeling to the pit of my stomach...
    A similar feeling was felt again as i watched the almost live night footage of the first air strikes to take place in Iraq.

Spent the day in the pub watching from start to finish as the people jumped from the towers, and the collapse of tower 2, then tower 1... Something that ill never forget.

My sister was in the air flying from Heathrow to San Francisco, they were told the plane was being diverted due to a security incident in NYC, but were given no further information... Remember how all the flights were grounded and people ended up in random little airports all over USA...

I have a lot of memories from that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,035 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

I was off sick from school that day. I was messing around on the pc when my mam came home from the shops and told me Joe Duffy was talking about a plane crashing into the WTC. Ran down and turned on the telly to see the second plane and the two towers falling.

My sister was in New York at the time and we couldn't get in contact with her for a few days. We were a bit worried tbh. It turns out her and her boyfriend went to some remote part of Mexico a few days previously and they couldn't get in contact with us and didn't even hear about the WTC until about a week after it happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Raekwon wrote:
    I was on a bus from St. Louis to Kansas City. It was my first time visiting American and me and may mates were there for a two week trip, going from Chicago - Los Angeles via Route 66. Talk about bad timing!
    They changed the name of the city of St. Louis to St. Freedom back in ought 2, because it was named after a French saint/ king.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,272 ✭✭✭patrickc

i was watching crossroads when it was interrupted, never did get to see what happened in the rest of that episode.. (darn terrorists)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

I was in work looking at the TV, I remember emailing a buddy of mine, he's in the USAF (based in Texas) i emailed coz he was due to go TDY in DC around then. fecker thought i was yanking his chain, within 5 mins the TV was on and he just mailed back saying he just been officially notified and he couldn't talk any more and thanks for the heads up This was about an hour after it happened and they hadn't been notified. That night i was planning on packing my suit cases coz i was due to fly to NYC on the 14th. my original plan had been to fly on the 10th or 11th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

i was at home. It was a week before i started my diploma year in college. i turned on the tv to sky news just before the second plane crashed.

my mother was in new york that day, saw the towers burning and everything. We have photos of the towers the night before they fell, just as the lights are being turned on in some of the offices for the last ever time.

i like this post from Draco at 4.47pm:
    Quote:
    Originally posted by yellum
    Will there be a Nuclear retaliation ?

I doubt it. I suspect that severl places will be bombed back to the stone age and bush will want to send troops into a couple of places to clear them out. Expect a lose of civil rights in the states and a few other countrys as a kneejerk reaction.

Wow spot on mate, does he work for the american government :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭mcR

As most posters here I was in school. I had to go to the office, cant remember why now and i remember a bunch of teachers talking about it in the office says its terrible and all that and i was standing their wondering what the hell they were on about, then on the way home i went into my local shop were people were standing around watching the tv, i must of been there for half an hour just watching it and it was a small shop

:eek: wow looking at that thread for 6 years ago is just mad, good reading but in a sad way:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Oh great the "where were you" 9/11 thread, I've been waiting all year for this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭stcatherine

I was living in England and heavily pregnant, sat on sofa doing the ironing watching TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I was sitting in my call centre job playing snake on my phone when someone tore out of the kitchen saying about the mad stuff going on in NY. Finished work at 5pm and met with some mates and got a carry out and headed home and watched the news all night.

Mad day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

in work in bewleys, i remember the manager coming into me in the kitchen and saying that a plane had hit a building in new york but it was an accident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Reading a newspaper while listening to an audio cd. Sky News was on with the volume of the tv on mute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=fvj6zdWLUuk
    i feel physicaly sick after watching this!