World Suicide Prevention Day

• 10-09-2007 01:21PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,260 ✭✭✭Elessar

So today is World Suicide Prevention Day.There is a vigil in Dublin tonight at the Bank of Ireland, 8pm to mark the day.

Has anyone here known someone who killed themselves?

Personally I don't but it seems to be a big problem in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

As big as road-deaths and yet they do f-all about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Young males 18-24 I think its highest suicide rate in europe for that age/sex grouping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Elessar wrote:
    So today is World Suicide Prevention Day.There is a vigil in Dublin tonight at the Bank of Ireland, 8pm to mark the day.

Has anyone here known someone who killed themselves?

Personally I don't but it seems to be a big problem in this country.
    I knew three people.
    One teenaged boy and two grown men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭Shinners23

My best friend took his only life - its heart breaking. You think you should have seen the signs :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Rob_l wrote:
    Young males 18-24 I think its highest suicide rate in europe for that age/sex grouping
    And Wexford and kilkenny tops the Irish list.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

i knew 3 people that did it,
    and 2 others who attempted.

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

No one I know closely but about 4 or 5 that I'd half know.

Plug wrote:
    And Wexford and kilkenny tops the Irish list.

unsurprisingly Cavan is also fairly high on the list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

My mother tried when I was young. Very scarey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,043 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

World Suicide Prevention Day....

Oh does that mean I should help and prevent people from commiting sucide
    by killing them first ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

What's being done to prevent suicide?

All I saw was an article in the Irish Times with John Waters whinging that males kill themselves because we have no religion anymore and they've been turned into mere sperm-providers by modern society. :rolleyes:

I don't know anyone myself who killed themselves but I've heard of three cases from my wider social circle and over the space of a decade.

Know nobody who did but a few who prob should.(****ing rapist.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

simu wrote:

All I saw was an article in the Irish Times with John Waters whinging that males kill themselves because we have no religion anymore and they've been turned into mere sperm-providers by modern society. :rolleyes:
    Jesus. You'd swear some bald chick screwed him over. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭BeatNikDub

Someone very close to me killed themselves 6 years ago and I know of at least 3 others in my area who were young and successfully took their lives.
    Also spent some time visiting a very close friend who tried to do it a few years ago but wasnt successful.

The system you go through that is supposed to help you is a joke. Most people come out even worse and dependent on drugs or just the same.
    It does works for some people, I had a fairly ok experience myself as an out patient.... until you decide your better and only go back once a month or so. Then its practically a different doctor everytime you go and you have to go through everything again, its a such a waste of time.

St John of Gods sometimes do some good free group therapy sessions in the evenings but i dont know how easy it is to get a place on these things.

Good doctors are hard to come by and unless you have money (at about 75 quid a pop for sessions) youre kinda ****ed - you have no choice what treatment you get or who treats you. JUst hope for the best.

Also on the Eastern Healthboard I could get my medication for free, when I moved to Kilkenny to the south eatsern health board i had to pay. Its a small thing for me as I work but what if you dont?, why should you be penalised?

Anyway I could on and on and on about this - so many problems!

Anyone had any experience with AWARE? I think its great what they are doing.

simu wrote:

I don't know anyone myself who killed themselves but I've heard of three cases from my wider social circle and over the space of a decade.

My grand mother blamed the contraceptive pill.

All those young men would have gotten their gf pregnant and done the decent thing and settled down ( ie got married ) and worked to provide for their family and had something to live for if was what she believed.

Thaedydal wrote:
    My grand mother blamed the contraceptive pill.

All those young men would have gotten their gf pregnant and done the decent thing and settled down ( ie got married ) and worked to provide for their family and had something to live for if was what she believed.

there may be a kind of truth to her logic.

Many blame increase on young male suicides on a societal displacement for men, especially for males from rural backgrounds which can no longer support them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Am currently working on stuff for HeadsUp:

bebogirl.jpg

Its gotten a bit of attention lately with 2,000 texts to their line in the first 48hrs.

Someone I talked out of it once, that's it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Jack Bauer999

bluewolf wrote:
    Someone I talked out of it once, that's it.

talk about bad timing, good a call from mother at 9,o clock this morning
    to say one of the neightbour was found dead in his car at a local gaa club, committed suicide last night.

7 or 8 years ago two brothers committed suicude in our area also, one
    hung and himself from a tree and a cuple of years later the other brother
    did the same thing from the same tree.

its a much bigger problem that people think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I never heard of the vigil otherwise I'd have went in.

My bro-in-law took his life on his birthday almost three year's ago.

He did it while talking to my wife on the telephone too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Pinker

Thaedydal wrote:
    World Suicide Prevention Day....

Oh does that mean I should help and prevent people from commiting sucide
    by killing them first ?

I seriously dont' know how you can joke about suicide, it takes one life away and shatters countless others, have a bit of respect. I'm well aware thats it AH but that does not make it excusable. Grow up.

In the region 0f 530 people committed suicide in Ireland last year, many more attempted and thousands if not hundreds of thousands suffer from depression. Undoubtedly our high rate of alcohol abuse is a factor, but it is frustrating to see the public lack of awareness around suicide as it as a most serious issue. The govt have a plan called "A vision for change" which includes a radical shake up of the mental health service but it remains a plan at the moment and nothing more.

The taboo nature bestowed upon suicide victims, a legacy from the catholic church probably doesn't help either. I just hope that in the coming years Irish society takes the appropriate steps to control this abnormally high rate as it has tried with road accidents, which are responsible for considerably fewer deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

i know of a couple who have. midde aged men. found by their wives.

and my cousins best mate did

and a woman i know tried a few times, now shes in jail for murder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Pinker wrote:
    I seriously dont' know how you can joke about suicide, it takes one life away and shatters countless others, have a bit of respect..

Not to mention the sudden adult death thread comments :confused:

Pinker wrote:
    I seriously dont' know how you can joke about suicide, it takes one life away and shatters countless others, have a bit of respect. I'm well aware thats it AH but that does not make it excusable. Grow up.

I am a grown up and it is my sense of humour that has got me through the suicide of three of my cousins, one of my friends, attempts by other family member and my own suicidal depression. It can be hard being a recovering goth.

This is AH which allows for levity it is not humanities or personal issues.
    Pinker wrote:
    The taboo nature bestowed upon suicide victims, a legacy from the catholic church probably doesn't help either. I just hope that in the coming years Irish society takes the appropriate steps to control this abnormally high rate as it has tried with road accidents, which are responsible for considerably fewer deaths.

I agree it is cultural and I think it is spiritual, we are becoming more secular and more materialistic and the spiritual bankruptcy plays it part in this as well.

Having been at the thin end of the wedge and having had family members suffer due to the lack of services and be crippled by depression and all the health professionals can do is prescribe meds and 60 mins of therapy a month
    it is my sense of humour that keeps me going and honestly there are times
    with the horrors of the mental health services I do genuinely ask the question who has it worse a person and their family when they do commit suicide or
    a person and their family coping with the trauma and the long recovery and therapy and family therapy needed to put them all back together which can take a decade.

/me goes to look at http://files.kavefish.com/pictures/collections/bunny_suicide/_index-list.html
    to cheer herself up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

zuutroy wrote:
    As big as road-deaths and yet they do f-all about it.
    Well, they came up with a statistic around the 10% mark of road deaths that may be suicides. Mainly the one person in car, on a straight road, veers off and hits a tree at such a high speed, that they die.

=-=

On another note, ignore any crap from the churches, about the "recent" rise of suicides. The suicide rate is as high now as back then, as they never really counted the suicides back then. The only difference between now and back then is that there is more support and stuff to do now.

=-=

Thaedydal, cheers for the link. Always brings a smile to my face.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Rob_l wrote:
    unsurprisingly Cavan is also fairly high on the list
    Unsurprisingly eh? :rolleyes:

But you're right about Cavan being so high on the list. I know a fair few of the guys that I went to school with passed away in this horrible way. Some of the soundest lads you'd meet too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

the_syco wrote:

Well, they came up with a statistic around the 10% mark of road deaths that may be suicides. Mainly the one person in car, on a straight road, veers off and hits a tree at such a high speed, that they die.

=-=

On another note, ignore any crap from the churches, about the "recent" rise of suicides. The suicide rate is as high now as back then, as they never really counted the suicides back then. The only difference between now and back then is that there is more support and stuff to do now.

I know a few who have committed suicide. I'd agree with what you say about the church, a fall off in church attendance/belief isn't increasing the problem. The problem exists due to many complex issues, the majority of which have fu*k all to do with the catholic church.

Maybe I'm cynical buy i see everything the church does as a recruitment drive. At least the ban on burying suicide victims in graveyards is now gone.

I think it is that people don't' have the faith as it were to sustain them when things get tough, they are not going to go to a priest for guidance and counselling and we still have the stigma about going to see a therapists or a counsellor in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Thaedydal wrote:
    I think it is that people don't' have the faith as it were to sustain them when things get tough, they are not going to go to a priest for guidance and counselling and we still have the stigma about going to see a therapists or a counsellor in this country.

That's a fair point, maybe the ability to talk to a priest would be another option, I don't think it is necessarily a good option however, a trained professional with no agenda would be better.

On the whole stigma issue, i think this is fading away as well, people now know that these people are here to help them, not to commit them to an asylum. There is also great help out there with groups like the samaritans. IMO groups like this are doing an invaluable service that doesn't get recognized nearly as much as it should.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

1 direct family member attempted it, 1 cousin succeeded in an attempt and at least 2 more cousins have attempted it.

Unsurprisingly, the one that succeded was a 20 year old guy. What's always freaked me out is that even though I never met Tommy, everyone that knew him always tells me how alike we are. Didn't believe them until I visited my uncles house and saw my own CD collection staring back at me in his room.