Phrases your parents said and you swore you'd never say them when you were older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

Hahahahaha. this thread is very amusing so far. i like it.

"It'll all come out in the wash" thats another one Mammies use. i dont think mine ever did so i cant think why i sometimes say it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭slavigo

If I blocked the TV:
    Dad: Your a better door than a window!

Soon followed by:
    Dad: Go out and play with the cars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

When I was a teenager I used to swear I would never turn out like my mother.
    Now, when I am giving out, sometimes I hear myself, and I realise that I sound just like her.

When my Mam is in a major pisser, she will walk about the kitchen, banging doors and grumbling to herself, saying things like....

"Oh, they won't wash a cup, or make a bed, but when their friends call to the door their full of energy, wouldn't think to ask their mother if she needed a hand, Oh No, God No, God Forbid they should worry about their mother!".

Ha ha ha :D

Well now when I am in a pisser I find myself stomping about and banging things, whilst grumbling under my breath.

I bet you whenever I have kids, they'll pray to God that they don't turn out like me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭TontoMurphy

Not an oft heard phrase lately but
    "There's great dryin' out today"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Ger the man

"Heres the man!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,162 ✭✭✭BKtje

I do notice myself saying things that my parents used to say but can't think of any off hand.

One thing i promised myself as a youngun was that if i ever had children i'd never be as fussy as my parents were about the mess around the house.

Living with just my bro now and i'm already giving out to him for leaving his mess everywhere and not lifting a finger to help around the house.
    Technically i guess i haven't broken my promise to myself yet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,175 ✭✭✭✭L1011

"Don't say I didn't warn you"

Found myself using that on some coworkers, had to take myself out and slap myself around the head a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Contrary to most of the posts here, I love when I say something that my parents used too, happy memories. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,821 ✭✭✭Archeron

When given something for free : "Ah thanks, I'll see you right when I get me glasses".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

"Shut your mouth & eat your dinner"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Raekwon wrote:

OK :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭missmatty

What my dad said if we were makin noise

"There's a hammer down in the shed....."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

"Wear a ****ing condom" as I left the house to go drinking.

I now find myself doling out the same advice to friends when they are heading off with a dodgy girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 little nell

Niamho! wrote:
    Hahahahaha. this thread is very amusing so far. i like it.

"It'll all come out in the wash" thats another one Mammies use. i dont think mine ever did so i cant think why i sometimes say it!
    cap fit cap wear.ahhhhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

If I got hurt playing football etc......"sure you'll be better before you're married".

Quality :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

my dads old chestnut.

too do with getting a cable or a screwdriver into the correct position.

"if it had hair around it you'd have it in already"

used it recently to one of the comms managers, he wasnt in the convulsions i was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

"if (insert name here) asked you to put your hand in the fire would you!?"

Grrr!!! that one was really annoying!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I'm glad to other people's parents have they're catchphrases. Other's of my dad's gems include, "let's let a dog see a rabbit" when he's looking into something to see what's going on, "I see it all now, some of it" when you explain something to him and up the wooden hill to bedfordshire when he wanted us to go to bed (which he still said at 10pm every night when I was 18)... another of his favourites taken from Ronne Barker is "you'll miss me when I'm gone", thinking of his favourite phrases makes me realies that that's true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Cheese Princess

Anyone else notice the older you get the more you talk about the weather?
    I find myself coming out with "there's a grand stretch to the evenings"....just like my granny says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

watna wrote:
    I'm glad to other people's parents have they're catchphrases. Other's of my dad's gems include, "let's let a dog see a rabbit" when he's looking into something to see what's going on, "I see it all now, some of it" when you explain something to him and up the wooden hill to bedfordshire when he wanted us to go to bed (which he still said at 10pm every night when I was 18)... another of his favourites taken from Ronne Barker is "you'll miss me when I'm gone", thinking of his favourite phrases makes me realies that that's true!

awh, that actually brought a tear to my eye and a lump in my throat, very sweet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

"This is my house, my rules"

RRRRAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWWRRRR

That made me so bloody angry. It was usually about something completely trivial but it nearly made me crawl the walls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

layke wrote:
    "This is my house, my rules"

Ah yes remember that one well ! Got my own back when the folks came to visit in my flat. Put my feet on the coffee table to which my da tells me to put them down, I looked him straight in the eye and said "My flat my rules" :D

"There's great dryin' out today"

Watching a bit of old-school Billy Connolly t'other day and in one of the segments, he's talking about some aul'wan from NE England going to California and in particular Hollywood to one of her relations' houses or something.

Out on the patio at the back they can see the sprawling suburbs set into the hills with the sun beaming down and everyone in swimming pools etc. When asked what she thinks, she answers.....

"It's a terrible shame..........................all that sunshine and not one load of washing out on the line!!!"

On topic: Find myself using old Dublin phrases that my Da used when we were kids, that are hardly ever used anymore, e.g. "Hardchaw", "Sleeveen", "Janey Mack", "Birdbrain", "Gerrup tha' yard" , "holliers" etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Ah yes remember that one well ! Got my own back when the folks came to visit in my flat. Put my feet on the coffee table to which my da tells me to put them down, I looked him straight in the eye and said "My flat my rules" :D

This is even more impressive coupled with the fact that you got a job for 7 years based on someone knocking on your front door. :D

Anyone else notice the older you get the more you talk about the weather?
    I find myself coming out with "there's a grand stretch to the evenings"....just like my granny says.

I've started using a quote I found that I believe is from a Laurel and Hardy movie:

"a lot of weather we've been having lately"

Weather talk really deserves it's own thread...

a few classics

'It's too cold to snow'

'Sure that's that wet rain, that'd kill ye'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭I-like-eggs,mmm

When I was bold or about to do something bold.... "I'll get the wooden spoon....." :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭I-like-eggs,mmm

Raekwon wrote:

Haha! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

Mammy 00112984 always says-
    "Do that again and I'll plaster your head onto the far-over wall..."

Such a gentle lady, my mother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

"Stop that messing. Someone's going to get hurt and it won't be me"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭ceidefields

I'll polish my boot on your arse... which I sometimes use myself

Come here ya wee hoor (when he was really livid)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

"They're only a shower of c'unts", I used to say..."Hey Rat's face" but not anymore