Killing burglars in ireland

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,459 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Think it's all about 'being in fear for your life'.

Hagar wrote:
    My Da always said "I'd rather be tried by twelve men rather than carried by six".

I like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

It is really stupid that someone who technically forfeits their rights when they break into your house still has more rights than you. Come on, in a real case if you woke up hearing something one night and you find someone nicking your stuff in the living room your hardly going to politely say: "hurry up and leave cuz I got work in the morning." In reality, if you heard someone in your house one night you'd grab the first thing you can find as a weapon, ring the Gardaí, and then proceed to beat the living fúck out of them.
    Hagar wrote:
    My Da always said "I'd rather be tried by twelve men rather than carried by six".
    Nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭WellyJ

If you bury him deep enough in your garden you will probably be fine.

Lowest scum of all tbh,

Up there with child rapists.

Anyone who can break into someone else's hard earned house doesn't deserve to live

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Mortmain

I think you should be allowed kill anyone - especially Dwarves, fat people, anybody different and people with freckles & purple hands who drink "backardee breezer - dortange one" - they're freaky - murder death kill all the way, think of how interesting the daily grind would become! BUSH FOR PRESIDENT OF THE WORLD!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

Personally, I'd deal out enough blows with my trusty 9 iron to ensure Mr Scummy Thief wasn't getting up to hit me back for a good while. Then call the Guards to clear up the mess. I'm happy to take my chances whether he survives or not, but I wouldn't deliberately kill him.

But I think it should be said that if you're not well able to look after yourself & you're reading threads like these & thinking "ok, I'm going to defend my property" - being burgled & also beaten senseless, stabbed, shot, killed...is far worse than just being burgled.

Sad fact of life, but if you don't normally reckon you'll win a fight, don't get into one. Claim the insurance & use some of it to improve your security as you see fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I don't think anyone should be allowed to blow anybody's head off for entering your house illegally. I can accept that a burglar may not necessarily be the worst person and circumstance/desperation may have lead him to that way of life but the law should be on the side of the home owner. Unless there's strong evidence that the home owner beat the living **** out of the burglar held him in the house rather than let them escape and murdered him then the law should forgive the home owner for just about anything that happens.

I don't agree with allowing a nation of drunks to own any gun they like but there could be a home defence gun just strong enough to cause allot of pain and break the skin but anyone that wants one should be trained to use it to cause harm without killing the target.

What would be even better though is if they stopped Ireland's head long run into metropolis environments where this kind of stuff happens, if there where proper community's where people respected each other these crimes wouldn't be as widespread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

It doesn't matter about the community respecting each other, there will always be some gutter level scumbag who has zero respect for anybody.

Plus we got scum being relocated to towns all over the country (mine included). Dirty fúckers specialise in burgling, nicking cars, èt all. Prison teaches them nothing except make them think they're "harder" for being on the inside!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Spyral

Anyone who can break into someone else's hard earned house doesn't deserve to live

it's not that hard to break into somones house...

additonally they may think they're hard but a shotgun stops them all the same 8D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

The usual nutjobs out again I see...why do you need to kill the person? Surely a good few slaps would be in order, if you happen to use a closy-by instrument, fair enough. If the burglar dies, tough sh1t. But people on here are actually talking about murder...big difference between defeding yourself and your home and killing somebody in cold blood.

So Collie, what would you do if the burglar turned vicious and attacked you? Would try to hit him a "few slaps" hoping he'd go away? What if he didn't feel like running? In this case I'd personally aim to kill the bastard or severely wound him enough to cripple him. There's no nice way of saying it, but force ferom an intruder needs to be met with extreme force from the homeowner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Duggy747 wrote:
    Plus we got scum being relocated to towns all over the country (mine included). Dirty fúckers specialise in burgling, nicking cars, èt all. Prison teaches them nothing except make them think they're "harder" for being on the inside!

Relocated? As in the councils are moving the skangers out of Dublin deliberately?

Id gladly shoot a stranger for breaking in to my house as long as I got away with it. Its their own fault and they really should have known better.

Well DarkJager. Nowhere in my post does it say let the guy terrorise you and your family and take your stuff. I completely condone the use of force in self defence if threatened or intiimidated. What I do not agree with is the shoot first ask questions later policy which is being put forward on this thread. Should this apply to all trespassers?

I think it should Collie. Being realistic, the scenario would be an unauthorised and unwanted person illegally in your home with the intention of stealing the contents and possibly even harming the occupants. I don't think there's any need to ask questions in this case. The burglar shouldn't be there and as such, should be subjected to the consequences for doing so.

So what other minor offences should we start shooting people for? People who don't indicate do my head in. What would you define as a trespasser by the way? Ever walked through a farmer's field as a shortcut? I just reckon there's a lot of "hard nuts" on here trying to sound tough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'm in the defence forces, and so as such I spend alot of time away from home either on duty here or oversea's.

I also keep two shotgun's and one .22 rifle at home, and since he's been a youngster my son has been taught to use them all and told its his duty that in my absence he's to shoot any intruder in the house or on our property.

Of course if I'm at home I'll galdly do it myself and take my chances in court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,652 ✭✭✭impr0v

DarkJager wrote:
    I think it should Collie. Being realistic, the scenario would be an unauthorised and unwanted person illegally in your home with the intention of stealing the contents and possibly even harming the occupants. I don't think there's any need to ask questions in this case. The burglar shouldn't be there and as such, should be subjected to the consequences for doing so.

I really don't want to get into this thread, it seems to be hang 'em and flog 'em territory, but...

How do you discern his or her intention if you've shot them to pieces, danced in their viscera and rubbed their blood on your face before you've challenged them or asked any questions?

Say your hypothetical twin brother stumbles home drunk one night to his fictional apartment block. He has just moved in a few days before, he's not familiar with the layout and is disorientated due to the alcohol, so he gets off the lift on the wrong floor. He stumbles up to the door that would be his on the floor above, can't get his key into the lock, but finds it's open and staggers in. He's making his way to the en-suite to take a piss when he's instantly killed with a shotgun blast to the head. Fair enough, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

To ask, does anyone actually care what laws they put in place? I mean supposing they brought in a law that says if I attack a burgler and broke his legs i'm doing a mandatory 1 year in prison.

In my eyes, breaking his legs = i've saved my families life and it's well worth that 1 year in prison.

Also trying to find a jury to convict you is near impossible.

Edit ::

impr0v wrote:
    I really don't want to get into this thread, it seems to be hang 'em and flog 'em territory, but...

How do you discern his or her intention if you've shot them to pieces, danced in their viscera and rubbed their blood on your face before you've challenged them or asked any questions?

That's the problem, you don't know their intentions.
    Say your hypothetical twin brother stumbles home drunk one night to his fictional apartment block. He has just moved in a few days before, he's not familiar with the layout and is disorientated due to the alcohol, so he gets off the lift on the wrong floor. He stumbles up to the door that would be his on the floor above, can't get his key into the lock, but finds it's open and staggers in. He's making his way to the en-suite to take a piss when he's instantly killed with a shotgun blast to the head. Fair enough, right?

Exactly the reason why guns should remain illegal.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Collie D wrote:
    The usual nutjobs out again I see...why do you need to kill the person? Surely a good few slaps would be in order, if you happen to use a closy-by instrument, fair enough. If the burglar dies, tough sh1t. But people on here are actually talking about murder...big difference between defeding yourself and your home and killing somebody in cold blood.
    If they don't tell all and sundry on the internet how they'd kill a burglar and defile his corpse, how else would they vent their Charles Bronson revenge fantasies?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Collie D wrote:
    So what other minor offences should we start shooting people for? People who don't indicate do my head in. What would you define as a trespasser by the way? Ever walked through a farmer's field as a shortcut? I just reckon there's a lot of "hard nuts" on here trying to sound tough.
    Have you EVER been the victim of a robbery in your home?

It is a very traumatising experience, I can tell you, and if I caught the bastard who did it, on my premises, I wouldn't be long about trying to kill them.

Your comparison of a burglar with a non-idicator is idiocy in the extreme tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭Rhonda9000

layke wrote:
    To ask, does anyone actually care what laws they put in place? I mean supposing they brought in a law that says if I attack a burgler and broke his legs i'm doing a mandatory 1 year in prison.

In my eyes, breaking his legs = i've saved my families life and it's well worth that 1 year in prison.

Also trying to find a jury to convict you is near impossible.

As if there wasn't already enough misinformation / faulty perception of the law surrounding this as it stands ... an even more defenseless homeowner hypothetical situation like above is just charming to contemplate.

Walking through a farmers field and trespassing in his house are 2 completely different things Collie. And this thread isn't about sounding tough. I'd happily do a few years in prison for murdering any piece of **** who breaks into my house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Id gladly shoot a stranger for breaking in to my house as long as I got away with it. Its their own fault and they really should have known better.
    Could be hard to get away with it. You might avoid the law but what about the scumbags mates.

My brother came home one night to find some scumbags looking into my fathers car in the driveway. He was saying "what do you think you are at", they were saying "do you live here or something?". He didnt want to say he did incase they came back later and just smashed the windows in, he just said he knew the people who did, scumbag went and the brother walked around the corner so he wouldnt think he did live there.

It is pretty easy to kill somebody by mistake if you were trying to just "knock them out". I dont know what I would do if I did kill a burglar by mistake, I would be worried about the law but even more worried about the scumbags contacts.

Keep a lot of biological washing powder at the ready, you can dissolve a body in it in a few weeks. Stick him in a plastic wheelie bin and duct tape up the lid to stop the smell, adding bleach will kill off most bad smelling bacteria too, but add after it is dissolved, then pour the bastard down the drain, hammer the bones & teeth to dust and ditch in the liffey- thats what my granny always swore by. Lidl have it on offer at the moment so stock up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

impr0v wrote:

That's the problem, you don't know their intentions.

Exactly the reason why guns should remain illegal.

You could always hack the body up to bits, put in a suitcase or a backpack, pick a nice day to take a boat from Dublin to Hollyhead and chuck the suitcase / backpack into the Irish Sea.

Anyways, always refer to C.S.I. A great manual in how to get away with it.

DesF wrote:
    Have you EVER been the victim of a robbery in your home?

Short answer, yes. And the cuplrit was later found and given a "stern talking to" without killing him.
    DesF wrote:
    Your comparison of a burglar with a non-idicator is idiocy in the extreme tbh.

It's called tongue in cheek. New phrase for you

rubadub wrote:
    Keep a lot of biological washing powder at the ready, you can dissolve a body in it in a few weeks. Stick him in a plastic wheelie bin and duct tape up the lid to stop the smell, adding bleach will kill off most bad smelling bacteria too, but add after it is dissolved, then pour the bastard down the drain, hammer the bones & teeth to dust and ditch in the liffey- thats what my granny always swore by. Lidl have it on offer at the moment so stock up.

LOL :D

Know what you mean though re revenge attacks, its like when there are skangers hanging around near my house, you have to get the right balance. Arrived home one day and some lads of about 14 were play fighting in my drive way, said "alright lads?" with a bit of a tone, not exactly threatening, not exactly concerned, more with that "and what are we up to tonight lads" tone of language cops talked to you with when theyd catch you with beer at 15 :) Anyway they said whats the story, headed back to the street, headed off about a minute later.

If you go barging in roaring get the fcuk off my property, theyll come back later and smash the windows. If you say "lads, come on, get out would yis" they will think you are soft, hang around all night shouting abuse through the window. If you manage to communicate the "move along lads, dont get me pissed off" message, they usually head.

Or "get the **** out of my driveway before you meet my Ak-47" works wonders as well :D

Its only in Limerick that people would genuinely believe you have an AK under the bed :D

Here in the dirty oul town a sawn off is your best bet.....

Who said I'm joking? ;)