What's so appalling about Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Terry wrote:
    Damn right.

People need to take responsibility for their own shortcomings.

Agreed 100%.
    Terry wrote:
    Karl, well said.

Wow. Thanks. :o

Honestly, I'm taken aback by the amount of sense displayed on this thread. I was expecting to be told to **** off by a load of self-loathers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

I'm also with Mr. Hingus on this one.

Where has all our national pride gone? IMO Ireland is a great country that we should be proud of. We have a rich culture and breathtaking scenery that most other countries could only dream about.

So begrudgers, quit moaning and look on the bright-side for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭bugler

You should see other parts of the world, I have been to parts of India, America, Vietnam amongst others. You havent a clue what a sh*thole is. Dublin, Cork, Belfast, Sligo... Amazing places, you just need to get up off your arse and do things.

I don't think the bar for Ireland is set by India, or any other developing country. We don't have a caste system or outbreaks of plague either, hardly cause to break out the balloons :)

Ireland should be aiming for two things at least:

Very good healthcare.

Very good transport, in terms of both infrastructure and obviously to aide the general populations movement.

We're in a funny sort of situation at the moment whereby people in their 20s or even 30s have always known Ireland as a place on the way up. No real doom and gloom about the place. When the economy eventually turns for the worse and we start seeing unemployment as a feature of life again and the consequences of that, people won't know what hit them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

It appears that everyone is out for themselves. It may not be the actual case, but it just appears that way. Its all about me me me.

I would genuinely like if someone came up with a defined, workable plan to fix things like the healthcare system, public transport, schooling etc. I would pay an extra 2 or 3% in income tax to cover the cost of it, as I'd hope many other people would.

There's no point in giving me great tax cuts budget after budget when I still have to wait 12 hours in A&E with a broken leg, or spend 3 hours a day travelling to work. What use is a tax cut to me then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Honestly, I'm taken aback by the amount of sense displayed on this thread. I was expecting to be told to **** off by a load of self-loathers.
    Give it time. :)
    bugler wrote:
    We're in a funny sort of situation at the moment whereby people in their 20s or even 30s have always known Ireland as a place on the way up. No real doom and gloom about the place. When the economy eventually turns for the worse and we start seeing unemployment as a feature of life again and the consequences of that, people won't know what hit them.
    I'll be sitting back and laughing, because then all these begrudgers and nay-sayers will really have something to moan about.

Someone mentioned it a few posts back and they were right. we have never had it so good.
    This is a golden age for Ireland and long may it continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Sure, we're not as awesome as Japan, but then again, who is?
    This is one of these rare occasions where I find myself agreeing with you Karl.

Seriously though I'd take a pint of plain and some Irish banter any day over a pot of frothy piss with your typical Aussie bloke who thinks that Australia is the best country in the world and AFL was invented by Aussies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Apart from the poor infrastructure, poor healthcare, poor telecoms, crap weather, begrudgery and little chavs with no respect, Ireland is a better place to live than probably 90% of the rest of the world, albeit rather expensive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭bugler

It appears that everyone is out for themselves. It may not be the actual case, but it just appears that way. Its all about me me me.

Definitely. There is an element of "If I'm doing ok, then the country is doing ok", which is not to say all the completely positive posters on this thread are using this as their reasoning.

I hope we all know what Maggie Thatcher had to say about society!
    I'll be sitting back and laughing, because then all these begrudgers and nay-sayers will really have something to moan about.

Well I won't be. Unemployment, disenfranchisement and indebtedness (according to the Financial Regulator Irish people are now the most indebted in Europe) all have very real consequences for our society. It might even encroach on our individual 1,000 Sq Ft fiefdoms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭grahamo

Ireland. A democracy ruled by a minority. Crap weather,total rip-off. Way too many low-lifes. A health service on a par with the Albanian Health service. A 1950's public transport system for a 21st. century country. Wouldn't live anywhere else though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Heinrich

zuutroy wrote:
    Yeah, I think all the Ireland haters haven't spent significant amounts of time anywhere else. I've spent almost 10% of my life living in other countries, and seriously....Ireland's not that bad, in fact its very good.
    If I could have the job I have here for the same money in Dublin I'd be back tomorrow.

La blague belge du mois! :D
    If I could have the job I have here for the same money in Dublin I'd be back tomorrow.

On your 10% stay abroad have you compared:
    • Health Service
    • Public Transport
    • Car Tax
    • Motoring along motorways at 5 kph
    • VAT or TVA
    • Politics
    • Education
    just to name a few.

Now I have lived abroad for 50% of my life and my views would differ greatly from yours. Main thing is not to get sick, try to buy a house, need to "commute" more than 10 k, not have a need to use public transport, be a non smoker, not have valuables to be stolen, keep out of trouble with skangers etc. etc.!

But yes, it's a great place, great night life, Temple Bar/Galway City vomit fields. Great stuff.

And I will not feck off as I am not a Ballymun Roundabout resident non Irish....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

If I was in charge, I'd hire a load of Japanese engineers, and build a NEW capital. Those guys know how to build a city like no others.

Can we get them to design it so that it can also transform into a giant robot?
    That'd be sweet.

bugler wrote:
    Definitely. There is an element of "If I'm doing ok, then the country is doing ok", which is not to say all the completely positive posters on this thread are using this as their reasoning.

I hope we all know what Maggie Thatcher had to say about society!

Well I won't be. Unemployment, disenfranchisement and indebtedness (according to the Financial Regulator Irish people are now the most indebted in Europe) all have very real consequences for our society. It might even encroach on our individual 1,000 Sq Ft fiefdoms.
    Perhaps I should explain a bit better.

I'll be laughing at all the petty little things they were complaining about, when the reality is that they will really have something to moan about when the shít hits the fan.

Can we get them to design it so that it can also transform into a giant robot?
    That'd be sweet.

I think we could at least have the city centre turn into a giant robot, yes. :D

Terry wrote:
    Perhaps I should explain a bit better.

I'll be laughing at all the petty little things they were complaining about, when the reality is that they will really have something to moan about when the shít hits the fan.
    Apart from the petty Health Service, Public Transport, Housing, Clogged Roads and the like what do envisage we will REALLY be moaning about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

cance wrote:

i suggest you spend more time researching your political facts before making an arse of yourself again.

HAHAHAHAHAHA

what makes it so funny is that you're deadly serious!!! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭purple'n'gold

Permanent and pension able, benchmarked protected civil servants who get huge bonuses even when they cannot deliver drinkable water to the people of Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

If I was in charge, I'd hire a load of Japanese engineers, and build a NEW capital. Those guys know how to build a city like no others.

yeah my dad managed a load of em when he was helping to build a desalination plant in Libya.
    He said it was amazing to see em swarm all over the building with those boots with the big toe in em.

He also said, if you changed the plans, they would take time to assimilate the change then of they would go again. but therein lies the problem, the japenese would build it, Its managemnt here that is utter Sh*te they couldnt do anything properly.

So to keep it on topic:

Public transport: I travel every day by rail. and for all the money invested it is utter crap.

Corruption: the nudge wink policy from top to bottom, allowing the corrupt to gain power and maintain it.

The lost opportunity: People are saying we never had it so good, and look what we got with the celtic tiger.
    I belive history will look back and say, look what you didn't get. All that money wasted when the real opportunity was there do do something with it. But because people have a few extra bob in their pocket, well thats ok then

But look at it 1000% budget overruns. PPars etc.

Money just thrown down the drain or into the back pockets of the guys who own the FF government.

50 million on e-voting.... what could you have done with that to improve the health service.

So finally, the utter stupidity of the electorate in voting them in time and time again.

Other than that, lovely and like it here very much

Heinrich wrote:
    Apart from the petty Health Service, Public Transport, Housing, Clogged Roads and the like what do envisage we will REALLY be moaning about?
    Eviction due to being unable to pay the mortgage.
    Reposssesion of cars, TVs and other material goods.
    Having to leave the country to get any work at all.

Terry wrote:

We could all go to Poland when they achieve THEIR equivalent of the Celtic Tiger.:D

Where would all the evicted people go?
    What will be done with the re-possesed cars?

I suppose we could all go and die of MRSA or summat:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Terry wrote:

"ah but sure we'll be grand"...
    That's the reply that most people will give to that, got to love the head buried in the sand attitude that most people have!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Terry wrote:

Terry: Bleak outlook but possible. There are warnings about that already.

Wonder who will be scapegoated when it happens?
    Not the people who have caused it thats for sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

bugler wrote:
    We're in a funny sort of situation at the moment whereby people in their 20s or even 30s have always known Ireland as a place on the way up.

I'm 34, in the eighties myself and a gang of friends hiked in the Wicklow mountains, canoed the rivers and canals, surfed the Atlantic, cycled accross the country, sailed the Irish Sea, went to art gallerys, visited musuems, went out in Dublin, Galway, Belfast, Sligo... and hundreds of other towns. Most of us had crap jobs and three of us were unemployed. We are doing the same things now, we just have better gear and nicer cars (that work) and some of us have our own sailing boats (we used to crew in the eighties)

What was said before, what you make of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Plissken1

The lack of infrastructure is annoying, because we are now married to our cars.

The fact the we are known first and foremost for being heavey drinkers, and secondly for being Cute Hoores
    who would rob the sugar outa your tea.

The way people say Tirty Tree and Turd (kidding)

.. and the fact that my mate insists in hanging out in Cocoon and Lillies even though they bore the **** out of him, but he is more worried about being labelled lower class if he doesnt (SAD fact of life).

But at least the countryside itself is still nice escpecially places like Kerry and Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

The deco's, paddo's, damo's and tommo's fuk the whole country up with their rotten chavness.

Marksie wrote:
    yeah my dad managed a load of em when he was helping to build a desalination plant in Libya.
    He said it was amazing to see em swarm all over the building with those boots with the big toe in em.

He also said, if you changed the plans, they would take time to assimilate the change then of they would go again. but therein lies the problem, the japenese would build it, Its managemnt here that is utter Sh*te they couldnt do anything properly.

Ah yeah, well I'd definetly hire Japanese managers too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭mountainyman

bugler wrote:
    Very good healthcare.

Very good transport, in terms of both infrastructure and obviously to aide the general populations movement.
    Why?

Why these two things why not 'very good housing and very good childcare' or 'very low taxes and very tall buildings'.

I don't understand why healthcare is seen as such a big deal. What exempts healthcare from the capitalist paradigm?
    If I have more money I get a better car, why not a better doctor.

By the way that is not a rhetorical question. Why healthcare?

MM

Dun laoire wrote:
    The deco's, paddo's, damo's and tommo's fuk the whole country up with their rotten chavness.

Bleedin' wah-cha!

Wat abouh bleedin' Anto?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The lack of intelligent leaders to elect, and the lack of the intelligence of those electing the cretins we do put in charge.

That imho is all that's truly wrong with this country. Every other problem we have stems from this one.

Aside from that, we're a pretty decent country with some beautiful scenery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Plissken1 wrote:
    The way people say Tirty Tree and Turd (kidding)
    Dude listen to your typical Australian ocker or bogan accent for a while and it would drive you frickin crazy. Every vowel is accentuated and ends up sounding as scumbaggy as your everyday Irish chav/culchie accent who can't pronounce their T&H's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Heinrich wrote:
    Bleedin' wah-cha!

Wat abouh bleedin' Anto?

Jesus no thats me bleedin name man. Anto's are sound as a pound man.

Well it's Tony